Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"D'ya like Dags?"

• 25-04-2007 9:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭

Was looking at the BBC Website and came across this.

Apparently the Traveller Magazine "Voice of the Traveller" has put together a calander called "Beauty has no Boundries" which features 12 Traveller girls from Ireland aged 17-24.

Fair play to them for doing it, hopefully it will help erase some of the stigma attached to the travelling community here. Have to say, the one I've seen here is a very attractive girl.

Has anyone seen this or the rest of the images. I can't say I'm not curious.

Original BBC article here. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Aged 17? Hmmm.

Right. Since virtually every previous thread about (Or even mentioning) the travelling community gets hijacked by several small-minded bastards, let me get this clear to you from the start: Pull this crap and get banned. Focus on the topic, and don't use the thread as an excuse to air your racist views. It's as simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

She's a cracker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

She is very savage in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Karoma wrote:
    Aged 17? Hmmm.

Right. Since virtually every previous thread about (Or even mentioning) the travelling community gets hijacked by several small-minded bastards, let me get this clear to you from the start: Pull this crap and get banned. Focus on the topic, and don't use the thread as an excuse to air your racist views. It's as simple as that.

I worried about that, but in fairness, if there is one thing I've found, that erases men's prejudices, it's hot women.

Anyone got the full calander? *ahem*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I don't see how this changes perceptions, its how travellers behave when parked down the road from you that decides that. Ugly or beauty is not skin deep its how one is that matters.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

mike65 wrote:
    I don't see how this changes perceptions, its how travellers behave when parked down the road from you that decides that. Ugly or beauty is not skin deep its how one is that matters.
    Hush or Karoma will ban you for calling a spade "a spade".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

/me bites lip

I still *wouldnt*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Karoma wrote:
    Focus on the topic, and don't use the thread as an excuse to air your racist views.

Anywhoo, 17? Is the money raised going to charity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

You're my wife now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Schwing! She's a babe! She's magically babelicious! She's a robobabe! If she was a president, she'd be Baberaham Lincoln!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

I don't often comment on or defend the Travelling community, but I have this to say to the OP: the thread title doesn't exactly help with the purpose of the campaign: "D'ya like Dags?".
    Surely you could have come up with something a little more tasteful. Just a thought.
    And that girl is beautiful, simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

Regardless of what my opinion was about any group of people, seeing 12 attractive women from that group wouldn't change it.

Unless my opinion was that they have less than 12 attractive women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Ruen

She aint no Dag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I don't think the OP was calling HER a dog.. he was merely referring to a quote said by Brad Pitt in his performance in 'Snatch' (in which he played a member of the Irish travelling community).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

What is a dag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Ruen

basquille wrote:
    I don't think the OP was calling HER a dog.. he was merely referring to a quote said by Brad Pitt in his performance in 'Snatch' (in which he played a member of the Irish travelling community).
    Do you mean dag?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

I'm sorry but how does that aim to "break boundaries"?

It's a pretty desperate state of affairs if you need to ask women to make themselves look pretty so that the other 'tribe' will accept you. That's about as primitive as it gets.

There are better ways of educating people about travellers. I'm sure at least a few of those girls have something significant between their ears.

Needs more tits TBFH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

psi wrote:
    Was looking at the BBC Website and came across this.

Apparently the Traveller Magazine "Voice of the Traveller" has put together a calander called "Beauty has no Boundries" which features 12 Traveller s from Ireland aged 17-24.

Fair play to them for doing it, hopefully it will help erase some of the stigma attached to the travelling community here. Have to say, the one I've seen here is a very attractive .

Has anyone seen this or the rest of the images. I can't say I'm not curious.

Original BBC article here. :)

I do admit that is very good looking. However it is not down to beauty contests. Until the situation changes whereby the vast majority of travellers I encounter dont engage in anti social behaviour I could nay give a bollix. If you want to google it, travellers make up between 3% (according to the government figures) and 10% of the prison population (the 10% a figure quoted by a journo on the late late a few months back. Admitedtly i dont know what his source for the difference is). Unfortunately, I do not have a government commisioned report that proves that the majority of my and my friends encounters with travellers are negative, I am sorry (usually somebody on boards living in D4 will ask for one). Compared to something like 0.7% of the general population, either the gov or journo figure is a bit disproportionate. The likes of Pavee Point and other pressure groups standing up for the likes of Frog Ward and the Dunsink rioters does absoloutely nothing to boost their image. As a north Dubliner I care little for scumbags from my community, and would never seek to justfy their bull. Until the traveller pressure groups start doing the same and distabncing themselves from the scum in their community they will never make progress. Honestly, how many times have you seen north dublin communities march/protest in honour of people who rob the elderly. It is a disgrace and PP makes a show of itse3f campaiging for these people.

I noted the warning. That is not racist Karoma seeing as

1- One of the figures is by a government body. As admitted, I dont know where the journo gotr his figure, but that Martin Collins guy was on the show the same night and didnt challenge it

2- Travellers are as racially distinct as the settled community as hippies. white hare krishans, or any other group that goes away from the lifestyle of the general irish

And btw the question was basically asked as to whether this would lift the stigma. I answered that pretty girls do not undo decades of disrespect and so on against the law. I know I will probably be banned for racism against a group that are as racially different from me as people from Tallaght, but thats life./boards these days. Opinions are not welcome.

upmeath wrote:
    I don't often comment on or defend the Travelling community, but I have this to say to the OP: the thread title doesn't exactly help with the purpose of the campaign: "D'ya like Dags?".
    Surely you could have come up with something a little more tasteful. Just a thought.
    And that girl is beautiful, simple as that.

D'ya like Dag's is a quote from snatch - Brad Pitt played a traveller in it (seems more realistic given the calender).

It was supposed to be ironic - but I guess it was lost on ya :(

[edit] Hulla got there first.

basquille wrote:

Does Brad Pitt not portray a stereotypical Irish traveller in that film? Why I think he does. This campaign is aimed at removing those stereotypes, incase you didn't notice.
    And regardless of the OP's intentions, the words dag, dog, bitch or otherwise may be taken up as somewhat slanderous toward female members of the Irish travelling community.

Tha Gopher wrote:
    I do admit that is very good looking. However it is not down to beauty contests. Until the situation changes whereby the vast majority of travellers I encounter dont engage in anti social behaviour I could nay give a bollix. If you want to google it, travellers make up between 3% (according to the government figures) and 10% of the prison population (the 10% a figure quoted by a journo on the late late a few months back. Admitedtly i dont know what his source for the difference is). Compared to something like 0.7% of the general population. The likes of Pavee Point and other pressure groups standing up for the likes of Frog Ward and the Dunsink rioters does absoloutely nothing to boost their image. As a north Dubliner I care little for scumbags from my community, and would never seek to justfy their bull. Until the traveller pressure groyups start doing the same they will never make progress.
    And we could go into the correlation -v- causation thing again and again, but we're not going to.
    Was the warning in the second post too hard to understand? (Rhetorical question. Post anything in this thread again and you're banned.)

Folks, stay on topic. ¬_¬

Tha Gopher wrote:
    I do admit that is very good looking. However it is not down to beauty contests. Until the situation changes whereby the vast majority of travellers I encounter dont engage in anti social behaviour I could nay give a bollix. If you want to google it, travellers make up between 3% (according to the government figures) and 10% of the prison population (the 10% a figure quoted by a journo on the late late a few months back. Admitedtly i dont know what his source for the difference is). Compared to something like 0.7% of the general population. The likes of Pavee Point and other pressure groups standing up for the likes of Frog Ward and the Dunsink rioters does absoloutely nothing to boost their image. As a north Dubliner I care little for scumbags from my community, and would never seek to justfy their bull. Until the traveller pressure groyups start doing the same they will never make progress.

Errr, I dunno, I was talking to a few guys here and when we saw the articles, they all gave the same stereotypical view that travellers were dirty and unpleasant. I showed them the picture later, without saying who it was and they all thought she was hot.

I think perception of attractiveness goes a long way towards how you relate to someone. When I was much heavier, I found people far less likely to talk to me, in just idle conversation - I lost a tonne of weight and now I get smiles and hellos.

People are shallow at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If you look real close, you can still make out her tache. :)

She's looking well all the same.
    psi wrote:
    Errr, I dunno, I was talking to a few guys here and when we saw the articles, they all gave the same stereotypical view that travellers were dirty and unpleasant. I showed them the picture later, without saying who it was and they all thought she was hot.

The phrase "the clothes do not make the (wo)man" comes to mind though.

She might look slightly different in her "civvies" and after a few days on the campsite mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I would :o

upmeath wrote:
    And regardless of the OP's intentions, the words dag, dog, bitch or otherwise may be taken up as somewhat slanderous toward female members of the Irish travelling community.

Again, irony.... they're clearly all beautiful - *gah* ok, I think perhaps if a mod wants to retitle the thread for something less hard work for the general populace, it might be an idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Anyone see the article about the 2 traveller sisters who married 2 traveller brothers in a lavish ceremony in Limerick ?

What's your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

ned78 wrote:
    Schwing! She's a babe! She's magically babelicious! She's a robobabe! If she was a president, she'd be Baberaham Lincoln!

:D totally agree

Karoma wrote:
    What's your point?

Oh jaysus.

Karoma, seriously I am not trying to be personally offensive to you but the original question basically asked whether a showcase of pretty irish traveller girls would change the image of the community. People have opinions based on lifelong experience. I dont know where in Ireland you live, but I would bet my house that it isnt down the road from me. A showcase of travellers grauduating from college- yes, that might change perceptions. A couple of pretty girls in photos will not, seeing as travellers are more renowned for other activites than having ugly women. As Psi said, his mates had the view they were all ugly/smelly. Now, Im not going to deny it, a large amt of them Ive encountered in my personal life have chronic B.O but there are more important issues, like regarding where my tax money goes, and exactly how much tax they contribute.

Example: I cant say I am particularly fond of Israelis seeing as most live on land which was robbed from Palestinians either in the late 40s or late 60s. It doesnt mean if you show a picture of a cute Israeli I wont fancy her, but it will do nothing to change my perception of a nation that was built on stolen land.

See my point? In my 5 years of working I have worked with scores of Nigerians, and even a handful of Roma (both stereortyped as workshy, in fairness most of the roma did noit work hard, the Nigerians were/are largely grand) but no travellers. Enouugh said.

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Oh jaysus.

Karoma, seriously I am not trying to be personally offensive to you but the original question basically asked whether a showcase of pretty irish traveller s would change the image of the community. People have opinions based on lifelong experience. I dont know where in Ireland you live, but I would bet my house that it isnt down the road from me. A showcase of travellers grauduating from college- yes, that might change perceptions. A couple of pretty s in photos will not, seeing as travellers are morwn renowned for other activites than having ugly women.
    Example: I cant say I am particularly fond of Israelis seeing as most live on land which was robbed from Palestinians either in the late 40s or late 60s. It doesnt mean if you show a picture of a cute Israeli I wont fancy her, but it will do nothing to change my perception of a nation that was built on stolen land.

See my point? In my 5 years of working I have worked with scores of Nigerians, and even a handful of Roma (both stereortyped as workshy, in fairness most of the roma did noit work hard, the Nigerians were/are largely grand) but no travellers. Enouugh said.
    I see your points. However, you went too far and started spouting the usual tripe we hear time and time again. My point, which I thought I kept simple enough for all to understand: Discuss the original post/topic and nothing more (your comment re: whether a few pretty faces would change things overnight is valid and acceptable, the rest of your post is not. You've made your points and were permitted to justify them in the thread; No further input from you is required or desired in this thread again. Again, post in this thread and be banned. I'll be happy to discuss this with you via PM though.

psi wrote:
    Again, irony.... they're clearly all beautiful - *gah* ok, I think perhaps if a mod wants to retitle the thread for something less hard work for the general populace, it might be an idea?

Ah come on now psi, this is After Hours. If we retitled it to "hot traveler women exist" someone would still end up posting a link to that lad who cut off his penis in a restaurant.

The thread title is grand. It's not the title that is the problem. :)

Karoma wrote:
    I see your points. However, you went too far and started spouting the usual tripe we hear time and time again. My point, which I thought I kept simple enough for all to understand: Discuss the original post/topic and nothing more (your comment re: whether a few pretty faces would change things overnight is valid and acceptable, the rest of your post is not. You've made your points and were permitted to justify them in the thread; No further input from you is required or desired in this thread again. Again, post in this thread and be banned. I'll be happy to discuss this with you via PM though.

Unbelieveable.

Well, actually its very believeable, but anyway, off to PM..... (I hardly thinki that even counts as a post seeing as I was disallowed from saying pretty much anything but anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

psi wrote:

I think it's more that this thread doesn't really have a point for the general populace. I doubt many of them are hastily revising previously held convictions that all traveller women were ugly.

And to be fair, she's nothing special tbh.

nesf wrote:

Ah come on nesf. If she were at a boards' beers everyone would be all over her. :D

nesf wrote:
    I think it's more that this thread doesn't really have a point for the general populace. I doubt many of them are hastily revising previously held convictions that all traveller women were ugly.

If I had a serious point I wouldn't have posted in AH ;)

I just wanted the rest of the calender.....

scojones wrote:
    Ah come on nesf. If she were at a boards' beers everyone would be all over her. :D

In that she's female?

psi wrote:
    If I had a serious point I wouldn't have posted in AH ;)

I just wanted the rest of the calender.....

Yes, but this is a controversial topic that tends to bring up a lot of crap for us to clean up. To be blunt.

nesf wrote:
    In that she's female?

Touché. :)

psi wrote:

That's more or less all I'm asking for. I know it might be After Hours and ironic/satirical/sensational/sarcastic thread titles may be all the rage, but this one has fallen on deaf ears, with me anyway, and normally I'm nonplussed by that sort of thing.
    Maybe it's the food I ate today, maybe it's just a mood I'm in, it just seems to contradict the purpose of the campaign. It may be very dry but "ITC launch calendar to battle stereotyping" would be much more suitable IMHO.

upmeath wrote:
    It may be very dry but "ITC launch calendar to battle stereotyping" would be much more suitable IMHO.

What led you to the conclusion that this thread's purpose is to 'battle stereotyping'?

I love the title.

It's not the thread's purpose, it's the calendar's purpose, just read the accompanying article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I'd hit that till the axles fell off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

scojones wrote:
    And they'd get bet off with a stick. Most knackers are deeply religous, who, if the woman doesn't drop a baby within a few years of marraige, get sent of to Lourdes. Also, the wedding that someone linked to: not unusual for knackers.

upmeath wrote:
    It's not the thread's purpose, it's the calendar's purpose, just read the accompanying article.

Exactly.

You would have a point to your argument if the calendar was titled 'D'ya like dags'.

The OP's intentions here are to share with the rest of us some pictures of hot chicks.

His witty ironic thread title is his way of doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

A photo of all twelve girls was in yesterday's Irish Daily Mail.
    In fairness, the bird pictured was probably the best looking of the lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Id throw one into her for sure, but id probably wear about 3 rubbers and insist she showered and scrubbed herself down with bleach beforehand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I dunno, most cream crackers arent oil paintings. BUT i remember in town one night and these two stunning spanish looking young wans walking up past trinity, dressed up and wearing sweet f** all at the same time. You could actually see every bloke they walked past gawking even though they were probably jailbait. I was wondering how the hell their mothers let them out looking like that

Anywhoo a wee while later they walk past again talking pahvee with two pikey young fellas ... the mystery solved but such a shame lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

mike65 wrote:

Mike.

well said mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

Do you not mean pavish??:D