Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Military convoy on the M50

• 20-04-2007 6:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭

Just saw something interesting, and perhaps someone may know what it was. Came down the M1, and was just before the roundabout to turn right onto the M50, when a Gardai motarcycle wnt by, getting all the cars to move into the side. Fair enough, so went into the side. Probably some minister, I thought. But no, it was several army land-rover type viechles going by. And then a (civiliain) large truck. And another one. And one with no trailer (a backup, perhaps?). And they all went by, with several more of the army land-rovers, each full with armed soldiers.

Caught up with them again, on the M50. The Gardai were keeping the traffic back, and any traffic up ahead coming off slip-roads were stopped, untill the convoy went past. Was behind them untill the car I was in went right at the Liffey Valley off ramp. The convoy kept going in the direction of the Red Cow roundabout.

Now, I know the E-Voting machine's are meant to be moved from some company storage (which is costing a few grand a month), to some military building, and this may be it, but the amount of cops on bikes, and the armed soldiers... I don't know.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Military coup perhaps? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Could just be a few new guns or ammo for the Curragh or something.

Probably better in Dublin or Military forum tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Ibid wrote:

Aye. As for the choice of forum, it was either AH, or Military, but I chose AH, as more people would see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Plus it had a Garda escort and those in the know may use Military and cannot share with us and...so on. It's fine where it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Could be a load of cash, or guns, or somethin.

Any pics? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I'd say it's a truck full of Bertie's cash on its way to Manchester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

could be the ranger wing going on some secret mission lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Ibid wrote:

I read that as "could be just a few nuns" which created some odd mental images. Oh no, they've upgraded from starlets to military trucks!!!!

Hey I know what it is -- Mary Harney's dinner being delivered! :D

(yes, it was posted before, but it's still funny :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Captain Trips

the_syco wrote:
    ...And then a (civiliain) large truck. And another one. And one with no trailer (a backup, perhaps?)....

It's Mary Harney's dinner. The third with trailer is because she doesn't do second's on desserts.
    EDIT: Must remember in future to see who else posts this first. (!) - almost like reflex these days - not even checking the rest of the posts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

That was lots and lots of lovely 20 and 50 yo-yo notes for the Irish public.

Ireland prints the tenners some other EU country does the 20s and 50s

That was a Cash Escort you saw on its way to the Central Bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Hard Larry wrote:
    That was lots and lots of lovely 20 and 50 yo-yo notes for the Irish public.

Indeed.

Large volumes of cash receive military and Garda escorts almost daily, quite common tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

sounds like your larger than average escort tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Didnt see the convoy but I saw almost the entire air force fleet (2 choppers) (No, not the bkikes) circling over the M50 at the Navan road. If its Harneys dinner, she must be having Cowan over!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

DaveMcG wrote:
    (yes, it was posted before, but it's still funny :D)

Only for the new members Dave...as for the rest of us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mathew

deswalsh wrote:
    If its Harneys dinner, she must be having Cowan over!

LOL:D :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I heard em singing...

'Cause we got a little convoy rockin' through the night
    Yeah, we got a little convoy, ain't she a beautiful sight
    Come on and join our convoy, ain't nothin' gonna get in our way
    We gonna roll this truckin' convoy 'cross the USA
    Convoy!

True story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

id be fairly sure that this could be paper on the way to the mint, the special paper that is hall marked etc, on way to be made into new fivers(and so on)!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

connundrum wrote:
    I heard em singing...

'Cause we got a little convoy rockin' through the night
    Yeah, we got a little convoy, ain't she a beautiful sight
    Come on and join our convoy, ain't nothin' gonna get in our way
    We gonna roll this truckin' convoy 'cross the USA
    Convoy!

True story!

LOL - Excellent!

That's a big roger, 10-4 good buddy :D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

deswalsh wrote:
    If its Harneys dinner, she must be having Cowan over!
    The convoy was actually taking Harney home! She filled one truck and the other two had some snacks for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

the_syco wrote:
    Now, I know the E-Voting machine's are meant to be moved from some company storage (which is costing a few grand a month), to some military building, and this may be it, but the amount of cops on bikes, and the armed soldiers... I don't know.

The e-voting machines are going to be stored in Gormanston, but they are going in the wrong direction.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

DMC wrote:
    The e-voting machines are going to be stored in Gormanston, but they are going in the wrong direction.
    The entire e-voting strategy has been going in the wrong dorection so nothing new there then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

was probably a cash escort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

was probably a cash escort
    Does it make you feel special to be able to repeat what has already been said? :D

I'd say it's a cash escort TBH

Same goes for you dave :rolleyes:

hehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

probably a cash escort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

I was just thinking, could it have been a cash escort?

Oh no I just didnt!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭purple'n'gold

Most probably it’s a load of ammunition going to the curragh. The guard was just there to get the traffic out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Cash escort maybe? ;)

Hmmm, it got me thinking though *imagines robbing it and fleeing to mexico

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I saw this myself about 8 or nine months ago, coming off the N4 heading Northbound on the M50.
    I have no idea what it could be, but felt like backing you up a little!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Copper

Probably unrelated, but I was driving around the back of the airport (very near to where the OP saw the convoy) at around half seven yesterday when 5 marked Garda cars with flashing sirens passed me on the other side of the road, one after another. They were heading towards the M1. Then Garda cars started pulling out of every side road as I passed, all heading towards the M1. I counted 2 marked cars and 2 unmarked cars. Also, I think most of the cars had 3 Gardaí in them so thats a lot of Gards. Anyone know what was up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭insafehands

davyjose wrote:
    I saw this myself about 8 or nine months ago, coming off the N4 heading Northbound on the M50.
    I have no idea what it could be, but felt like backing you up a little!

I'd hazard a guess and say it was probably a cash escort. All the new notes heading to the CB or something. Yeah, I'm probably right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Copper wrote:
    Probably unrelated, but I was driving around the back of the airport (very near to where the OP saw the convoy) at around half seven yesterday when 5 marked Garda cars with flashing sirens passed me on the other side of the road, one after another. They were heading towards the M1. Then Garda cars started pulling out of every side road as I passed, all heading towards the M1. I counted 2 marked cars and 2 unmarked cars. Also, I think most of the cars had 3 Gardaí in them so thats a lot of Gards. Anyone know what was up?

Might have had something to do with a cash escort .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 290 ✭✭Tak3n

Im in the army and was part of the convoy...

It was just a standard transport of high quality german fetish porn for our ministers in the dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Maybe it was the cash to settle Harneys account with McDonalds....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

jhegarty wrote:
    Maybe it was the cash to settle Harneys account with McDonalds....

Genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Does it make you feel special to be able to repeat what has already been said? :D
    Does it make you feel special that your sig is about eleven times too big?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Cash or Guns. My dad used to get them all the time when he delivered guns. He used to drive 140kmph down O Connell st. with an escort, the guards would tell him to floor it!. This is 25 years ago mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭deecom

Yup! cash escort alright, this was posted before from what i can remember. Happens once in a while alright, nothing to see, (well loads of money in a truck, but other than that!) ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Not 100% sure, but i heard it was a cash escort. Can anyone confirm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Flowers, delicate lovely flowers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

I heard it was condoms in transit for berties daughter.. (after the twins)

Ibid wrote:
    Does it make you feel special that your sig is about eleven times too big?
    Smart arse :rolleyes: my speedtest.net sig is 10 pixels too big in height...and lots of other people in this forum have the exact same sig so :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

deswalsh wrote:
    Didnt see the convoy but I saw almost the entire air force fleet (2 choppers) circling over the M50 at the Navan road.

What a stupid statement another Joe Public who know fcuk all about the DF.

A cash Escort would have a Military Helo or Military Fixed Wing Aircraft overhead alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Oh, and you being in the RDF makes you military expert analysist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

I'd love some photos of the convoy! Tell me you got some!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Giblet wrote:
    Cash or Guns. My dad used to get them all the time when he delivered guns. He used to drive 140kmph down O Connell st. with an escort, the guards would tell him to floor it!. This is 25 years ago mind.
    Are you sure it didn't go along the lines of "get down on the floor and spread your arms and legs..." :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

im sure that its the new notes on the way to the central bank to be printed, if it was cash, they wouldnt have so many trucks of it, its notes, which are very valuable to a scammer if they could get they're hands on them!!