Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JP Poker Monthly Deepstack, EST €15k - Green Isle Hotel - This Sunday 25th March

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Bah....

28 odd players left as we come back from dinner break and im 3rd overall in chips with 51k. 2nd hand im BB with JJ - random donkey makes 3k (blinds 500/1000), im pretty confident he is weak and repop to 9k. he goes all in I insta call he tables 99 - turn = 9. I lose 60k pot and instead of having more chips than god im pushbotting within 30mins - A10 v KJ to get enuf of chips to play a bit and KJ is good - im then home here typing this!! lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,213 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Jeff - that could only happen to you or Anto!!

I rule at cards. But still was out well before the money. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Jeff - that could only happen to you or Anto!!

I rule at cards. But still was out well before the money. :rolleyes:

ninja-like call for your stack with 44, shocked everyone at the table

DeadParrot wrote:
    ninja-like call for your stack with 44, shocked everyone at the table

Yup. Quite proud of it tbh. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭digiman

Anyone know who won this or who was at the final table?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Yup. Quite proud of it tbh. :D

Care to explain how it happend? I'd love to hear

• Registered Users Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

Rnger wrote:
    Care to explain how it happend? I'd love to hear

Ah ya know yourself, on the river and ya make a call for your stack with 4 overcards.
    Standard stuff, nothin to be discussed:D :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Firstly I would like to thank everyone for playing yesterday and congratulate the lads that cashed.

When we were down to the final 10 players everyone agreed to take €100 from both 1st and 2nd so the bubble would get €200. There was also a deal done between 1st and 2nd at the end of the night.

1st Murtagh Ward €3150 (Originally €3500)
    2nd Nigel Clancy €2150
    3rd Conor Bergin €1000
    4th Mark Kenny €700
    5th Darren Mc Ginn €600
    6th Mick Frisby €500
    7th Richard De Barra €425
    8th Stephen Farrell €350
    9th Daryll Notaro €300
    10th Kevin Mc Carville €200

I would like to thank all staff who conducted themselves perfectly in what became a very difficult situation in the supporting tournament. A player who didn’t play the ME became very abusive to other players, staff and myself.

An incident arose after clock was called on the player, looking back now I should have removed him from the game at this point as we had to stop the game to try calm him down. I decided not to as it appeared that Sean Fagan (a true gentleman of the game, thank you) had managed to calm the player down and as he was short stacked; I wrongly guessed that he would be knocked out of the game without any further incident.

This was not to be the case and the player continued to use bad language at the table. I warned the table as a whole that I would not tolerate the use of bad language (even if it was in jest) and that time penalties would be issued if it continued. A few minutes later the player was at it again and so I issued him with a 10 min penalty and warned him that when he returned to the table if he continued he would be issued with a 20 min penalty and if it happened again he would be removed from the game.

Some time later he went to call someone on the table a name but didn’t finish the word. So I addressed the table as a whole again and told them that if anyone was to even half say a foul word that they would receive a time penalty. With this he called me a F***ing P**** stood up and head butted me.

Needless to say the incident that followed was not a pleasant experience for everyone that was in the room at the time. Not myself nor anyone else that was there raised their hand to this person but several (including myself) did try to restrain him as he went off the rails.

As a result the Garda were called. I was asked if wanted to press charges against the player, which I didn’t.

I can’t apologize enough to everyone that was there, I am embarrassed that this happened at one of my games. Not just is this bad for myself I think this incident is bad for Irish poker in general. In an ideal world I would run tournaments with no bar from here on out. But this is not practical, as hotels make most of their revenue from having a bar. With a closed bar the hotel would charge alot more for room hire(i.e reg would go through the roof).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

Bah....

28 odd players left as we come back from dinner break and im 3rd overall in chips with 51k. 2nd hand im BB with JJ - random donkey makes 3k (blinds 500/1000), im pretty confident he is weak and repop to 9k. he goes all in I insta call he tables 99 - turn = 9. I lose 60k pot and instead of having more chips than god im pushbotting within 30mins - A10 v KJ to get enuf of chips to play a bit and KJ is good - im then home here typing this!! lol.

UL Noel.

After the break (10k) I got myself back into it with a few steals and a few decent hands.

I'm sitting on 37k, blinds 1k/2k with 100 ante x 8. Player in MP limps, I flat call with KhJd in LP and BB checks his option.

Flop Jh7h3h - so I have top pair with Kh - decent flop for me.

BB leads for 3k.
    MP calls 3k.

Pot is now 14k. Worth stealing in my opinion.
    I push to take the pot whilst also thinking I'm ahead. I'm sure neither opponent have made the flush on the flop and the Kh gives me scope to improve if I need to.

BB folds. MP dwells for an age. Its 33k more to him which leaves him with about 10k behind.

He calls with Ah10x and hits the 5h on the river and at the end of it says sorry mate that was a terrible call.:D

Out in 15th. Lesson learnt.

Gonna play Fitz EOM game on Thursday and maybe one more before the IO.

Holy Jaysus JP!! That's shocking behaviour!!

jesus JP that sounds like it got right ugly - you ran a propper good show yesterday and you dont need that sort of crap.

On a side note. That dealer bird Sam, as a result of cracking my JJ with 99, has fallen out of my "top ten women working in the dublin poker industry that id like to have it off with" list. A sad day for her! She will forever lament dealing with a rigged deck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭pokerscene

Hi JP, cannot begin to tell you sorry i am to read that post, In any of your events you run a very fair game and you are always a pleasure to deal with. a perfect gentleman IMO. I think this player should not only be barred from your games but from playing poker in Dublin, This behavior must not and cannot be tolerated in any card room, Casino, Pub or hotel. We only had a discussion about this last week and if their is anything i can do please let me know.

Tony.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Who was the guy who did it?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Sorry to hear this Jp hope u are ok mate ....

I have Hired this guy for TD in all our events pheww just in time

more_2006_08_27_7_14_chuck_liddel.bmp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

On a side note. That dealer bird Sam, as a result of cracking my JJ with 99, has fallen out of my "top ten women working in the dublin poker industry that id like to have it off with" list. A sad day for her! She will forever lament dealing with a rigged deck!

LOL!! can i make this my sig noel?! :D:D

JP, that is shocking stuff. no one deserves that, especially considering the amount of effort you go to to provide entertainment for people.

ditpoker wrote:

LOL!! can i make this my sig noel?! :D:D

go ahead if you want. its true!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭30something

Sentiments echoed here. While I had a cr&p tourney, it was very professionally run and I could not for the life of me think that a player could possibly be justified in behaving that way knowing the manner you would have dealt with the tricky situation.

See you at the next event (subject to creche facilities etc)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

my gawd, that's shocking that the guy actually head butted you.

Fair play that you didn't lose it. It's a tough situation really. I've seen this type of thing at other tournaments also where the boys who can't handle the booze lose it. It's only a matter of time before someone somewhere in this country gets seriously hurt. Some drunk/abusive player will rub up some other supressed looney into teaching him a serious lesson. It sounds like you did your best to stem this. I think though in situations like this when a person is getting noticably aggressive and you have warned him. It's up to the establishment to eject the guy not the TD. You are there to organise and rule. Hotel security should handle the drunks. My advice next time is A) Give your normal warning B) If he persists, get security to speak to him.
    You should not be in the firing line. What if some turd had a knife?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

JP

I'm really sorry you had to experience that yesterday, sadly its something that you have to expect at some stage when you are dealing with the public.

I run a convienence store and have been punched (by women), threatened with serious violence (knives etc) all completely without provocation and in instances where I was doing my job. Like yourself I'm not in any way an agressive or 'bolshy' person.

Don't let it dishearten you or get you down. For every 10,000 who have a great experience at your events there will always be one nasty/dangerous incident. Speaking from experience I know it can shock you quite badly and you get a big fright after the incidient happens but as we're males we have to just take it all quietly.

Chin up, no need at all to apologise for anything that happened, I'm already looking forward to your next tourney.

Phil.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

Sorry to hear this Jp hope u are ok mate ....

I have Hired this guy for TD in all our events pheww just in time

more_2006_08_27_7_14_chuck_liddel.bmp

Hey Neill, what about Andy, wheres your loyalty

I hate to say it, and some people will vigourosly disagree; but Drink + Poker = Negative EV for all involved.

The event was really well run as per usual. You just won't get much better value for €150. As stated above, JP is extremely competant, fair and polite. He doesn't deserve that crap. Unfortunately, some of the regular attendees from JP's pub circuit might not be the most gentlemanly bunch.

I for one will attend his next event. And I would urge anyone reading not to be put off by the actions of one drunken idiot.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

PiperT wrote:
    UL Noel.

After the break (10k) I got myself back into it with a few steals and a few decent hands.

I'm sitting on 37k, blinds 1k/2k with 100 ante x 8. Player in MP limps, I flat call with KhJd in LP and BB checks his option.

Flop Jh7h3h - so I have top pair with Kh - decent flop for me.

BB leads for 3k.
    MP calls 3k.

Pot is now 14k. Worth stealing in my opinion.
    I push to take the pot whilst also thinking I'm ahead. I'm sure neither opponent have made the flush on the flop and the Kh gives me scope to improve if I need to.

BB folds. MP dwells for an age. Its 33k more to him which leaves him with about 10k behind.

He calls with Ah10x and hits the 5h on the river and at the end of it says sorry mate that was a terrible call.:D

Out in 15th. Lesson learnt.

Gonna play Fitz EOM game on Thursday and maybe one more before the IO.

Unlucky Tim,

Tought you and Mick had a right chance of winning this (albeit with not much chips), so was surprised to see your name not on the money. But your post explains it a bit more, very unlucky.

Gary

• Registered Users Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

shocking stuff JP, you ran a great tourney but I'm sad to say I'm not 100% surprised.
    Even at my early exit point ( :) ) there was several lads visibly swaying, swamping beer. I really cant talk as I was nursing a massive hangover but I'm wise enough not to mix beer and poker when its not a home game.
    Hopefully this bloke is banned now in all your games and you will not have to suffer the embarrassment of dealing with that sort again.

• Registered Users Posts: 510 ✭✭✭WH BONNEY

Sorry to hear about that JP. I didnt make it there yesterday but have attended your events in the past and will continue to do so. You run an excellent show and are a gentleman to deal with. Keep the head up & dont let the actions of one scumbag get you down.

FWIW I would name the scumbag so that we (the poker community) can try and make it as difficult as possible for him to sit at a poker table amongst us again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

i'd press charges - u owe him absolutely nothing

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭The Istanbul

Is it the same drunk scummer that caused so much aggro at the Waterford team event?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I'd say she's delighted:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

JP

Sorry to hear this, I didn't hang around after my exit from the main game.

As always, you ran a great show. Great structure, great dealers, very professional and a good sporting atmosphere. I don't know who the culprit was but he should not be allowed near a card room or tournament ever again. I could never understand why guys play poker and get totally locked in the process.

You have a great following and a lot of supporters and I have no doubt they are all behind you 100% - I really don't think you need to be apologising to anybody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭AS_PokerKing

First of all i'm digusted to hear about how the day ( which was brilliant and run perfectly) ended up, thats just shocking JP and no place in a card room.

Secondly I am also disgusted at how i went out of this tournament, with a 65k stack at the break made one STUUUUUUPID mistake that cost me 35k, went on TILT CITY and never recovered, ended up going out on what turned out to be the bubble in 11th place after playing some really good cards earlier on in the day, with one player commenting " Jesus Al, i think JP should just give you the trophy now " lol

And BIG CITY BANKER... "that dealer bird Sam " is a quality dealer...she gave me more pocket pairs during her time at my table than all the other dealers put together :) LOL

And LUCKYLlOYD..."some of the regular attendees from JP's pub circuit might not be the most gentlemanly bunch".....as a regular in JP's Pub Circuit i can say that someting like this has never happened before and that the majority i.e 99% of the lads are alright, with that idiot being the exception, just that one f**king eejit ended up ruining the day for all. (who also by the way has a reputation for throwing cards at people and being aggressive/abusive ) ... BUT NOT ANY MORE COS HE'S OUT !!!

Piper T, very unlucky mate, i was sitting at your table when you got knocked out, dodgy call and even dodgier explanation to boot offered to you, you looked like a man who was going home to kick the dog lol but anyway "thats poker"... man i hate that phrase lol

Alan

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Heard about it today and given the individual concerned, I'm not at all surprised - people like that shouldn't be tollerated ever. In fairness though, the signs have been there in the past and there's have been other instances of needless aggression from him - nothing of that magnitude though.