Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I think I'm turning Ginger....

• 07-03-2007 9:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭

Over the past few months I've started to spot some ginger hairs in my stubble. Thankfully Mr Quatro has been quick to dispose of them on all occassions. Recently people have remarked about how my hair appears to be ginger when the light is shining directly on it. This worries me because my hair used to be blonde and over the past few years slowly started turning brown. I decided thaI could live with this, sure I would lose the appeal of being blonde but I always came to the conclusion that no matter what, it would be better than being ginger!

Has anyone out there had a similar experience? Is my ginger beard a sign of things to come? Or is it merely due to inner-Viking within me? If not, how does one go about stopping this horrific process?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Peroxide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

bah hah hah hah hah hah hah

you're place in heaven is guaranteed now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Has anyone out there had a similar experience? Is my ginger beard a sign of things to come? Or is it merely due to inner-Viking within me? If not, how does one go about stopping this horrific process?

I'm the same in reguards to the hair, used to be blond when I was a kid, but turned brown then. My beard is kinda gingerish also, but it's never bothered me at all. I think you're just making too much of a big deal out of this, nobody has ever really made light of it, or has it affected anything.

Although, it did come in handy when I was introducing myself as "The Dread Pirate Redbeard" one drunken birthday party. ;)

That said, if it bothers you that much:

http://www.blushingbuyer.co.uk/acatalog/jfm-gel-light-med-brown-lg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Kill yourself now while you still have your wits about you.

It won't be long before the 'ginger gene' becomes dominant and takes over your mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Over the past few months I've started to spot some ginger hairs in my stubble. Thankfully Mr Quatro has been quick to dispose of them on all occassions. Recently people have remarked about how my hair appears to be ginger when the light is shining directly on it. This worries me because my hair used to be blonde and over the past few years slowly started turning brown. I decided thaI could live with this, sure I would lose the appeal of being blonde but I always came to the conclusion that no matter what, it would be better than being ginger!

You didn't say if you're male or female so can't help ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

You didn't say if you're male or female so can't help ye.

Hmm...
    Is my ginger beard a sign of things to come?

No offense to the bearded ladies of this world, but I'd assume anyone with a beard is a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Gingervitis is a very serious condition that can affect your life in many ways. Consult your GP for an information pack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Hmm...

No offense to the bearded ladies of this world, but I'd assume anyone with a beard is a man.
    Unless he was alluding to the other beards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Feral Mutant

I'm the same in reguards to the hair, used to be blond when I was a kid, but turned brown then. My beard is kinda gingerish also, but it's never bothered me at all.
    Same here.

Don't worry OP, it takes more than red hair to be a ginger, you also need pale skin and freckles. Without these, you're at most a daywalker. If these develop however, there's only one solution *cocks shotgun*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

this is some funny sh1t lol..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭antSionnach

The first thing I think about in the morning and the last thing I think about at night is how glad I am that I'm not ginger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

-Viking within me

I'd hate to have a Viking within me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Kill yourself now while you still have your wits about you.

It won't be long before the 'ginger gene' becomes dominant and takes over your mind.
    LOL !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Yeah my beard has a good bit of ginger in it, which is pretty annoying coz my hair is jet black. Had to shave it off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Celebrate good sir, happy days are coming your way, for you will be truly blessed with the rusty hue of your forefathers. Blessed are you among men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

haha you're ginger, unlucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

I was a complete ginger when I was a kid, but over time it went blonde, and now its dark brown. I still have some freckles, so I think I'm 40% daywalker and 60% normal human. Sadly, my beard is also still Irish Colleen red, so I am destined to live a facial hair free life. Oh the humanity.

And you should get to know your inner viking. Mines called Olaf and he likes burning straw huts, pillaging, and drinking Meade from hollowed out bull horns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Daywalker -_-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

connundrum wrote:
    you're place in heaven is guaranteed now

Ginger-heaven maybe. Definitely not the real one.
    Don't you know that those people have no souls?

Archeron wrote:
    I was a complete ginger when I was a kid, but over time it went blonde, and now its dark brown.
    Jaysus, the Gingers are evolving to disguise themselves as "norms" in later life. * shudder *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

You can look forward to going Grey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Hill Billy wrote:
    Jaysus, the Gingers are evolving to disguise themselves as "norms" in later life. * shudder *

Mwahahahahahahaha!!! You should see our global base on ginger skull island.

I went out with a red-head once.
    She had no hair - just a red head.
    She had lots of hair on her back though.
    Oh, & her lovely, long, black curly teeth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭brown*eyed*girl

Well an ex of mine has brown hair (blonde as a child) and when he grew a beard it had auburn tinges in it! I thought it was sexy tbh. So use the word auburn instead of ginger and you'll be grand. ;)

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I've dark hair but my beard has a bit of ginger in it. To hide my shame I have to shave before I am driven out of town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Murdy, how's things down below loike? Any ginger pubes popping up? You know your in trouble when that happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I found a ginger hair in my otherwise dark hair once. I burnt it off with acid.

layke wrote:
    Murdy, how's things down below loike? Any ginger pubes popping up? You know your in trouble when that happens.
    Yep... That means your reproductive system has been contaminated and all your kids will be ginger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I have some auburn in my beard aswell.

For shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Thats if he can trick a woman into sleeping with him... No woman in her right mind would sleep with a ginger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭cold_filter

dont worry about it, ive brown hair yet my stubble after 3-4 days does have a ginger tinge to it. thats why very rarely do i let it grow beyond 3 days growth!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

This thread is ridiculous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Correction.

Ginger hair is ridiculous. :D

OctavarIan wrote:
    This thread is ridiculous

Says s/he with the ginger-haired avatar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

My beard has been turning ginger for a long time now. ITs ******* annoying i tell the.

Especially as i dont like shaving :(

Does back to black work on yore face? And if i see one ginger pube its time for a brazillian !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

Can someone please tell me what's so bad about being ginger? I've been one all my life, freckles and all. Maybe it's a cultural thing, but guys have always admired my hair and milky skin here. Should I not move to Dublin as planned then? Will I be an outcast?? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

There are many many women paying a fortune to turn their hair auburn and put red highlights/tints through it! I'm a natural blonde (yes really) but I actually like some shades of red hair. Auburn/Strawberry Blonde/Dark Rich Red tones are lovely (on man or woman) but Carrot :eek: is a bit scary in my opinion!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

free2fly wrote:
    Will I be an outcast?? ;)

Without doubt.
    In fact, thanks for the heads up, we can prepare for your arrival now....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭tamburlaine

Have you given downstairs a thorough inspection too?

Beruthiel wrote:
    Without doubt.
    LMAO! But what's the big deal? I really don't get it. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

free2fly wrote:
    LMAO! But what's the big deal? I really don't get it. :rolleyes:

Did you not see that South Park Episode when Eric turned ginger?

I couldn't sleep after it and made my other half do a thorough check of the house for any stray ginger kids hiding under the bed or in my cupboards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭tamburlaine

Beruthiel wrote:
    Without doubt.

Where are the cliffs of insanity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Is my ginger beard a sign of things to come? Or is it merely due to inner-Viking within me? If not, how does one go about stopping this horrific process?

Don't worry this happened to me but didn't progress any further than the beard, fortunately I started to go gray shortly afterwards, so now it's not a problem at all :D

free2fly wrote:
    Can someone please tell me what's so bad about being ginger? I've been one all my life, freckles and all. Maybe it's a cultural thing, but guys have always admired my hair and milky skin here. Should I not move to Dublin as planned then? Will I be an outcast?? ;)

Despite the slagging - personally, I think that there's nothing like a bit of ginger muff. :p

Ireland is actually one of the more ginger-friendly nations. So move to Dublin by all means. But you'd probably get a better reception in the north-western rural areas (Donegal, Sligo, Mayo).

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Where are the cliffs of insanity?

Somewhere between Guilder and Florin I expect

Hill Billy wrote:
    Ireland is actually one of the more ginger-friendly nations. So move to Dublin by all means. But you'd probably get a better reception in the north-western rural areas (Donegal, Sligo, Mayo).
    :D When I was down in Baltimore, in West Cork, I got some very unfriendly looks of evil from the fisherman. I never fully understood why. I thought it was because I was an American woman! :p Now I figure it's because of my hair! :eek:

free2fly wrote:
    :D When I was down in Baltimore, in West Cork, I got some very unfriendly looks of evil from the fisherman. I never fully understood why. I thought it was because I was an American woman! :p Now I figure it's because of my hair! :eek:

They're a superstitious lot those West Cork fishermen.
    But you were really pushing it, being:
    (a) A Yank (southwesterly squalls)
    (b) A Woman (prawns will be small & diseased)
    (c) A Ginge (boat will be sunk by WWII Soviet mine)

Hill Billy wrote:
    They're a superstitious lot those West Cork fishermen.
    But you were really pushing it, being:
    (a) A Yank (southwesterly squalls)
    (b) A Woman (prawns will be small & diseased)
    (c) A Ginge (boat will be sunk by WWII Soviet mine)

Ah! That makes it much clearer. I had a guy growl at me on Sherkin Island! :D