If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

bigslick team event at waterford 18th feb

• 19-02-2007 11:42AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭

I like to say congrats to all at bsp for a fantastic all round day.
    apart from the bollix of the bar closing at 11pm and not having the pleasure of being on the same table as sideshow bob, it was absolutely superb.............and getting to see at first hand nicnicnic misreading a flop bet and muffing on the river.......no really quality play all round and only saw one fishy bad cawl (a pot size flop bet for a gutshot by a gjp player v mr d diamond) second level methinks?
    Top poker all round.
    Only one sour note; the winner on knocking out the 3rd place finisher when coming from behind on the river ' now go and f*** off u culchie****'
    totally unacceptable and nearly caused a punch up.......ah drat always next time tho...........
    We all cant wait for the next event.......somewhere near us......
    top marks for top event with top players.......o yeah....congrats to the winning team...........top stuff from the runners up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,743 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Who was the individual winner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭gocall01

Where can we find the results for this event?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭The Istanbul

Well done to Neil, Richie and all the guys at BSP on a superbly organised event (unfortunately we couldn't come near winning:o ).

Great to play with so many good players in a quality structure. Roll on a successful BSP tour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Thanks a million lads for a really well run event, with superb structure and blind level, It was great to catch up with people and Side Show Bob was in cracking form. Drove back last night after going out in 40th Blinds were 800 1,500 with 500 ante and i had 19k, so my raise UTG with J9 sooooteeeed was no match for Side Shows AK and myself and Hector Jelly (4s4c) went out in the same hand.

Great atmosphere, and I will certainly going to more BSP events in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

meh,

played poker, very badly it must be added, made an error early, went on donkey tilt, busted 97th after some short stack ninja...

drank large bottles of cider, plenty of them. played cash game got rivered for my stack, drank large bottles of cider, plenty more of them. say Bops go all in with bottom pair, 3 kicker (6 3 he was holding) and his hand was good against a bluffer. Bops explained to him that he had been "bopped", to which the opponent told him he was gonna elbow him in the face and break his nose. I dont think my laughing did anything to appease the situation.

played and dealt 12 handed stt, split it 3 ways, wandered around looking at poker. Thought it was very nice of Flipper and HectorJelly to mind that poor old lady playing the Omaha game. Maggie I think her name was, wanted to see every flop, blinds and raises were only a serving suggestion... very nice of the two lads all the same, loooked after her very well.

I didnt see how the table was carrying on up to that point but I though SideshowBob was way out of order at the tourney table with HJ at one point. HJ is always quiet at the table and anytime ive played or watched him play he hardly says a word and doesnt court contreversy. Way out of line for Bob to be in his face and giving it loads after winning a pot, and Bob was really giving it loads singing his version of "Do you really like it"... Certainly somebody of a different personality might well have reacted differently and it could well have lead to an ugly scene.

Edit: Well done to NK and all at BSP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

smurph wrote:
    Thanks a million lads for a really well run event, with superb structure and blind level, It was great to catch up with people and Side Show Bob was in cracking form. Drove back last night after going out in 40th Blinds were 800 1,500 with 500 ante and i had 19k, so my raise UTG with J9 sooooteeeed was no match for Side Shows AK and myself and Hector Jelly (4s4c) went out in the same hand.

Great atmosphere, and I will certainly going to more BSP events in future.

40th Thats like winning it after being on table three. Oh my good god was i tilty worst dealer every a hand with an uncalled pre flop raise took over six minutes from start to finish im pretty sure i was crying at one point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

Well done to all at Big Slick for a really well run event.

Unfortunately I believe, and I have to say I didn't witness it myself but, there appears to have been a number of unsavoury instances at the final table or between supporters of teams at the final table.

From what I gather there would be a few "guests" not too welcome back. It's a pity if yobbos are going to spoil the game of poker because this was an excellent event.

Can anyone shed any light on the subject :confused::confused:

Witnessed two incidents myself (but went home before things seem to have heated up a bit more!).

1. Dub V Dub confrontation with 3 tables left.
    One Dub called Tony Baitson down all the way to river with A6 giving pair of 6's: Tony had nothing. This guy then proceeded to rant that 'I knew youse was at it......and goad Tony who, fair play to him, didn't take the bait. No need for this though.

2. Guy ready to clock Sideshow Bob. In fairness his antics give me a pain in the hloe and I'm glad I wasn't at the same table as him. Somebody should tell him that he should save his singing:eek: shouting etc for a theatre not a poker table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Witnessed two incidents myself (but went home before things seem to have heated up a bit more!).

1. Dub V Dub confrontation with 3 tables left.
    One Dub called Tony Baitson down all the way to river with A6 giving pair of 6's: Tony had nothing. This guy then proceeded to rant that 'I knew youse was at it......and goad Tony who, fair play to him, didn't take the bait. No need for this though.

2. Guy ready to clock Sideshow Bob. In fairness his antics give me a pain in the hloe and I'm glad I wasn't at the same table as him. Somebody should tell him that he should save his singing:eek: shouting etc for a theatre not a poker table.

There were quite a few unsavoury moments towards the end of this event, The player above with the A6 was the same player that that directed a torrent of abuse at the player that finished 3rd (not sure of his name but a really nice bloke and fun to have at the table, ul). There was no need for the outburst when the eventual winners KQ beat the chaps AK. Telling someone to fcuk off and calling then a cnut is unacceptable.

I dont think theres any need to comment on sideshows antics. We all kno he tried to get into players heads and tilt them so i wont say any more on the subject....

My team managed to take this down. We didnt have a player on the final table and were team leaders in the clubhouse so needed results to go our way which they did. I hought Nicky's team would have taken 1st, do for them to bubble must be a huge dissapointment for the lads.

All in all, the tournement was superbly ran. Trying to cut a field of 220 to a single winner in a day is tough and Neill done a great job getting this done while keeping the game as far from a crap shout as he possibly could. He altered the blind structure 3 times to allow more play and he clearly knows what players are looking for in a big event. Laura did a great job organising dealers despite being let down by a few no-shows so hats off to her for helping to event run without a hitch. I advise anyone that hasnt played a big slick event to try it out and you'll find an event that allows great play with a great structure. So keep the 18/19/20 may free for his next big event which is sure to be a sellout.

Great buzz all day. A great bunch of lads down there and a tense battle to the end. Well worth the trip. I'll see you down Waterford for the Munster cup Neill, best of luck in the meantime.

Tony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Flipper

Thought it was very nice of Flipper and HectorJelly to mind that poor old lady playing the Omaha game.
    lol! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Flushdraw wrote:
    There was no need for the outburst when the eventual winners KQ beat the chaps AK. Telling someone to fcuk off and calling then a cnut is unacceptable.

the guy slow rolled myself and bob in two separate pots, classy bloke; thought Kelly handled it well fair play to him
    Flushdraw wrote:
    I dont think theres any need to comment on sideshows antics. We all kno he tried to get into players heads and tilt them so i wont say any more on the subject.....

Bob is a sound a bloke as you'll ever meet and although a lot of people cant handle his table antic's Irish poker would be a much duller place without him

Flushdraw wrote:
    I hought Nicky's team would have taken 1st, do for them to bubble must be a huge dissapointment for the lads..

it was a hard one Tony we had 6th and 4th of the 220 runners and finished forth if my QQ beats the A8 all-in pre that guarantee's us second and gives me a good chip lead with three left; I'm pretty sure i own the table if they stand and a 2nd place finish by me would of been enough to pip your team.

Flushdraw wrote:
    Great buzz all day. A great bunch of lads down there and a tense battle to the end. Well worth the trip. I'll see you down Waterford for the Munster cup Neill, best of luck in the meantime.

Tony

for me having travelled the length and breath of the country playing poker over the last 18 months it was great to see all the friends I've made playing a game in Waterford. One guy's stupid behaviour should not tarnish what a great bunch of lads that made the trip down from the smoke for the game and i hope this is the way everyone views the incedent. Its guys like yourself Tony, Ianmac, OCallagh, Halfbaked, PPPspecial, Hector, Flipper, Bob and many more made it such a great event and I'm sure all the locals really enjoyed the challenge of playing in such a top class field.

Finally well done to flushdraw and his team and to bigslick on a excellently run event.

nicnicnic wrote:
    the guy slow rolled myself and bob in two separate pots, classy bloke; thought Kelly handled it well fair play to him.

As he did most things throughout a 12 hour marathon

nicnicnic wrote:
    Bob is a sound a bloke as you'll ever meet and although a lot of people cant handle his table antic's Irish poker would be a much duller place without him

A really sound bloke and a buzz to have at the table. I did think the big lad was gonna deck sideshow for going on about him moving allin on sideshows BB

nicnicnic wrote:
    it was a hard one Tony we had 6th and 4th of the 220 runners and finished forth if my QQ beats the A8 all-in pre that guarantee's us second and gives me a good chip lead with three left; I'm pretty sure i own the table if they stand and a 2nd place finish by me would of been enough to pip your team.

You started off the FT well with both yourself and Eoin staying out of trouble. A 4th and a 4rd would have put your ahead of mine but the QQ was a sickener. I had the same expectations as yourself about what the final result would be and thought you had it in the bag. Shame you didnt at least make the money for the team.

It was great to see such a high quality field in a good structured event and if i had of got at least 1 hours kip today, i would have stayed down there the extra night to go on the p!ss with you lot and leave the poker behind for one night..hopefully next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Flushdraw wrote:
    A really sound bloke and a buzz to have at the table. I did think the big lad was gonna deck sideshow for going on about him moving allin on sideshows BB
    That confrontation really helped the dynamic of your table imo. it did wonders for a) the poker played at the table and b) the chances that some or all of you would progress further in the tournament.

I think Sideshow is a great charater for the game, and a very intelligent one too. what he did, although to the outsider might have looked like he was just being a pr1ck, was very much calculated and im sure you`ll agree tony that it probably was to yours and tables benefit.

That confrontation really helped the dynamic of your table imo. it did wonders for a) the poker played at the table and b) the chances that some or all of you would progress further in the tournament.

I think Sideshow is a great charater for the game, and a very intelligent one too. what he did, although to the outsider might have looked like he was just being a pr1ck, was very much calculated and im sure you`ll agree tony that it probably was to yours and tables benefit.

I know Sideshows game Joe. He picked on a weak link with a lot of chips and totally tilted him. If Sideshow happened to pick up a hand at this stage, he was going to get the other blokes complete stack.

It actually worked wel for me because i was on the button to their blinds and i was looking for a tilty reraise when i raised from the button both times(with big hands) before he got moved.

Their banter and Sideshows antics also slowed the play down something terrible and in a team event where survival is the key, it didnt do us any harm whatsoever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Flushdraw wrote:
    Their banter and Sideshows antics also slowed the play down something terrible and in a team event where survival is the key, it didnt do us any harm whatsoever

at one stage with 13 players left he took about 18 munites to make a decision when facing an all in. Great i got a smoke brake the other table lost two players and eventualy Bob made a monster lay down, his hand 84os:rolleyes:

Final Table results please and overall team winners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,304 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

I was there till the very end and that was absolutely disgusting behaviour on the final table, ive never seen anything like it. bad etiquette doesnt even begin to cover it. slow rolls of Bob and Nicky were made to look minor in comparison to the reaction when the 3rd place guy got knocked out. fcuking disgrace.

that aside it was a great tournament and it was good to see so many good players make the trip to Waterford. Tonys team were deserved winners but Nickys team made it a very exciting finish and were really unlucky to not finish in the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Team 1st - €10,000

Tony Baitson
    Fergus Atkinson
    Will Scanlon
    Paul Curran

Team 2nd -€6000

Matty Sheridan
    Brendan Dunne
    John Hendricks
    Declan Murphy

Team 3rd - €4000

Martin Doyle
    Shane O Rourke
    Colin Darcy
    Emmett Goff

Singles Event - Final Table

1st - Emmett Goff - €4000 Dublin

2nd -Peter Cleary - €2000 Clonmel

3rd - John Hendricks - €1500 Wexford

4th - Nicky Power - €1000 Waterford

5th - Kevin hickey €800

6th - Eoin Tobin - €600 Cork

7th - Mj Booth -€700 Wexford

8th - Damien Kent - €600 Dublin

9th - Muriel O Neill €500 Tipperary

10th - Ciaran Cryan €300 Sligo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭SIDESHOW BOBs

firstly may i thank neil and his crew for yet again putting on a top class and very player friendly ( apart from early bar closing) event. Superb buzz in the bar pre cards in the air which managed to kick off about 4 . There was a real ripple of excitement in the air and much friendly banter in evidence.

got off to a flyer when for the first hand which i played ,by which time there was already 2 players down 1 my own team mate kieran mc kenna, looked down in ep to see KK . 4 BB raise to 200 is re raised to 900 in mp and called in big blind after consideration. **** it says i , i have the new aces and push whick is insta called by the new kings the big bling makes a huge laydwn declaring his jj was probably behind . Ofcourse the new aces beat the new kings courtesy of a k 7 7 t 2 board.

managed to turn 22k into 4k in about an hour due to a nasty club on river giving my opponent the nut flush. i recommend not trying to bluff a guy with the nuts. Then i had to start playin poker . Regrouped and doubled up QQ v AK .

Sorry to see my table broken after 4 hrs as i had managed to get back to 20k and had started to motor due to a mixture of good reads and abc Tag poker.

New table saw me reaquainting my self with fran from Drogheda a quality bloke who i had played with in the summer macau 1k. Picked up a nice pot when i snapped off an ep raise and mp call with a strong reraised AK. Next hand picked up JJ raised to 2.5k an ep limper and was reaised all in for 11k. Decision time was sitting on about 25k . Factors to consider

1. average stack was 20k
    2. 2 team members down therefore fcuked
    3. TD just announced an Omaha table was opening
    4. what did this guy have?

I looked into his eyes and said you dont have AK your queens are good then flipped over my cards. In fairness to the geezer he smiled and showed his queens to gasps from the table. Great read good poker type comments were being bandied about and the feel good factor was real high. a buddy of frans was all in 2 hands later and his reraised AJ was no match for his opponents KQ . Which led to usual berating of " how do u call whole stack with KQ " etc etc Standard handbaging.

INTERLUDE

this post has taken a life of its own with many issues yet to be addressed but Masters is goin for a chinese across the road from the towers and i need to have a shower so will finish later . Have to go on the slash with ppp special nfr and the big slick crew

so to be continued featuring smurf hj nic nic and slow rolling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

so who won the last longer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

so who won the last longer?

Lloyd won - incidently they were both all in for their tourney life at the same time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Brilliant tournament.....Congrats to Tony and the crew......I knew your team was one of the strongest in it, Paul and Will are both top class.

Bottom Feeder is probably kicking himself that he ended up on my team, lol......I have been suffering badly from fancy play syndrome lately so was a bit annoyed with myself.

The atmosphere at all of these Big Slick Events is always brilliant......Kelly is a master with the microphone and Richie and Keith run the floor extremely well.

There was definitely a problem with one or two dealers so maybe send them up to Liam Flood's next master class lads.

The real winners in this event were Richie and MD......They were laughing all the way to the bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

LOL.... well done to tony and the lads as they played a great game......

i couldnt get a card all day and when i finally did pick up a hand, the blinds are 400 & 800 and ive about 6k with AK in the cut off so i make it 2.5k, guy on the button goes all in for about 4.5k and BB goes all in with about 10k and i call because of the value and if i win the pot im back in the game, anyway the guy on the button has Ah 10s and the bb KJo - so i was very surprised to see my AK was ahead.......

anyway the flop is no good to anyone all rags with one spade and yes you guess'd it the turn is a spade as too is the river...... runnnner runnnner flush....lol

i did win the side pot off about 3k which didnt last long when i chip'd it in with A6c and got 2 callers - NO JOY...

there was a bit of sh@t on the final table but i wouldnt let that put me off going to another one of these events as i will be looking forward to the 500 game in May,
    keep up the good work Lads....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭aidankk

really enjoyed the tourney, great standard of play at my table, Table one, no cards after the break finished my tourney..

Well done to neill in getting such a good number of Quality players for this game, roll on the 500 game in may.

Any other boardsies at my table, Loyd was, apart from that i wasnt sure...

carfax wrote:
    Brilliant tournament.....Congrats to Tony and the crew......I knew your team was one of the strongest in it, Paul and Will are both top class.

The real winners in this event were Richie and MD......They were laughing all the way to the bank.

Cheers Ste,

Yeah the 2 lads are cracking players and everyone on the team pulled their weight all the way til the end. Richie and Mick done well out of the book but we had a little €200 on ourselves at 14/1 so we pocketed an extra €2800 courtesy of the lads :D

Yeah Aidan: I was on Table 1:3. You played a good agressive game with loadsa blind stealing. Enjoyed the game-quality of play was excellent. Sure to see you at future BSP events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,304 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

I was in the 1 seat on table 1, kakak1 was in the 8 seat and Shortstack was in the 9 seat, a lot of boards ppl on the table plus a few local lads who are also good players so i knew it would be a good standard of play on our table at least.

myself and Richie didnt do as well as you might think out of the book, Tonys team was a bad result for us and ppp special had a sneaky few quid on his mate that won at the start of the ft. think ill leave the book to you the next time Stephen....:D

btw i agree with Stephen re the dealers, we had a girl on our table at one stage who after an all in and a call on the turn was about to award the pot to the best hand when we pointed out there was another card to come, needless to say a swift dealer change was in order.

edit- just to be clear it was only a couple of dealers that were dodgy, on the whole it was ok and i know Neill was under pressure trying to find decent dealers.
    goodluck2me should have been there early training them all up to his standard anyway ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Pharell_st

yeah a great event and really well run, had no luck at al running AK into AQ early on for a medium sized pot and AA into JT after i RRPF. fair play to neill and all for a great tournament and a super tournament. I was at Dave masters PPPspecials table nice to meet you for a while and seen the seat change/AA hand you were lucky to get away with that! i know the dealer situation was mentioned before but i heard from a few people that they were badly let down before it and there were a couple of Noobs however there were 2/3 dealers who i have seen there and other events like PE 1500 game who were top class imo, i think our table got an unnatural amount of hands in the first few levels.
    WD neill see you in May

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Lauralashes

mdwexford wrote:

btw i agree with Stephen re the dealers, we had a girl on our table at one stage who after an all in and a call on the turn was about to award the pot to the best hand when we pointed out there was another card to come, needless to say a swift dealer change was in order.

edit- just to be clear it was only a couple of dealers that were dodgy, on the whole it was ok and i know Neill was under pressure trying to find decent dealers.
    goodluck2me should have been there early training them all up to his standard anyway ;)

Glad to hear that everyone enjoyed the tournament but just a note on the dealer situtation. We were let down by 2 dealers that we had been promised but didnt get, and there was also 2 no-shows which put a huge amount of pressure on everyone, and due to other circumstances we also were down another dealer :( . We had to use one girl who was only supposed to be there to watch and gain more experience who offered to deal as we were in such a tight situtation. I believe this is the girl that mdwexford is speaking about, however without her offer to deal ,(which would obviously have been extremely nerve wracking for her considering her inexperience), we would have been left with no option but to have a self deal table which is a route that neither Neil or I wanted to take, considering the stake and size of the tournament.

On another note, Id just like to thank all the dealers for the hard work that they put in for the event. As always their willingness to help is second to none and although the start of the tournament was tight for everyone the pressure did ease as the day wore on. Thanks guys, much appreciated ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,743 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

aidankk wrote:
    Any other boardsies at my table, Loyd was, apart from that i wasnt sure...

Which seat were you?