Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

God Save The Queen in Croker

• 12-02-2007 7:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭

What think ye?

Step in the right direction imho, but are there still those of you who are adamently opposed to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Hey look, its another potential "Oh God, how I hate them British bastards" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I suggest people read the charter before even thinking of posting in this thread.
    There's your warning. Don't come crying to me when you get banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I think it should be played.
    If she is going to play scrum half at her age she needs all the support she can get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Heh! :D

They played the anthem of those Nuke exploding/Rainbow Warrior sinking Frenchies on Sunday so I don't see why not.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Already done on the History / Heritage forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Judt

Anyone want to suggest that we hold our grudge forever? "Come on lads, I'm bored, let's sit around and have a bit of a circle jerk and lambast the Brits. Damn them Brits, investing all that money in our country, buying all our booze, being there to ward off suicide bombing terrorists and rescue our drowning sailors. Damn them all to hell!"

Ah no-one expects the Monty Python analogy.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Hey look, its another potential "Oh God, how I hate them British bastards" thread.

Not what I'm goin for, I'm half British myself. I merely would like to discuss this as a benchmark of Irish society and how its has changed in the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I just hope that the Irish fans won't embarass themselves on a global stage by booing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

obl wrote:
    Not what I'm goin for
    I'm sure it isn't, but thats typically what these types of threads degenerate into.

I just hope that the Irish fans won't embarass themselves on a global stage by booing it.
    Rugby fans tend to behave themselves a little better than the fans of some other sports we could mention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

well as everyone here seems to realise already its going to happen whether anyone likes it or not, so any begrudgers can just get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

prefer jerusalem meself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Judt wrote:
    Rugby fans tend to behave themselves a little better than the fans of some other sports we could mention.
    Roysh, I'm glad someone noticed Tarquin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sure, why not. They're here as sportsmen and not as aggressors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Nature Boy

As long as we beat them, they can play whatever they like :)

btw i'd appreciate if this shite is not moved to Rugby if any of you AH mods were feeling that way inclined ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I don't see any reason why not. They are coming to play a game of rubgy and nothing else.

moved to Rubgy *activates cloaking device* :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Em... I've just copped that the the match will be played 1 year (-1 day) after the Dublin riots due to a Love Ulster Parade.. hmmmm. :(

I really hope that everything passes of without incident, but I just have a bad feeling about it. Note that it is't the rugby fans that I have a doubt over, its the scumbags who will set themselves up outside the ground who I don't trust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

two pages in, and not one "feck dem sasanach bastards!" response.

welcome to the twilight zone.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

If this does get booed then in part it will be down to the media hype around it. It's a boring dirge of a song, and who really cares? If the orangemen played the pre match music I don't think it'd bother 95% of the population, but there are always the morons.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

two pages in, and not one "feck dem sasanach bastards!" response.
    Use 40 posts per page, that way you will get more of a chance before you make your pronouncement ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

I won't enjoy it, that's for sure, but I've accepted that it's only right that they get their national anthem played. You can't stop a country from singing their national anthem based on something that happened 80 years ago.

I won't like it, I never do, but I'll respect it enough not to boo the thing if I get a ticket for the match. I've reasonable confidence that we won't either. It rarely got booed at Lansdowne from what I remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I remain opposed to the use of Croke Park for all British Games, and to hear god save the queen played there will be the ultimate sell-out to our culture our history and our fighting cause. As has been said earlier about the riots. I will not be one bit surprised if I turn on the news and see riots there as it is totally unacceptable to have a English team be allowed into Croke Park after the genocidal ethnic cleansing they did there. Rugby and Soccer are not Irish games, GAA is period.

The GAA was built by the same people that built this country and for these proud men and women to see this carry on is completely unacceptable. However though I have no doubt though that the visiting English supporters and their Dublin 4 cousins will get the same generous welcome that was extended to Jeffery Donaldson and his love ulster last year.

There is a narrow tolerance for things like this and I can see this ending is water cannon and injured Gardai, expect Celtic Soccer jersey to add irony to it. You wave the red rag at the bull and he will come a charging. Pity as it may make the GAA and its good supporters like myself look bigoted and backwards.

let the games begin....*

*Please note that the above is partially tongue in cheek (this is after hours) although I do remain opposed all the same and I acknowledge Terry's warning at the beginning of it. Anyway howcome I am here near 5 yrs and this is my first time seeing "Terry" modding After Hours?

all complaints to the joe duffy show:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Here here.

But, its not just gonna be rugby fans on the day.
    The GAA made sure that they sorted out their own crowd with tickets. There could be plenty of cork/kerry/(insert county that can play gaa here) mucksavages going in there specifically to act the maggot.

God i hope its not booed. What a shower of idiots we'd look like.
    Can you quit talking through your arse?

Obviously a soccor fan, GAA fans generally are the best behaved. Not only do they not need to be segregated but they often are very friendly to supportors of the rival team sitting beside them. This isnt romanticism, this is a guy whos being going to matches all his life.

I dont need to make any point about soccer, and as for rugby fans - the student bar in ucd goes into lock down around school rugby matches.

It would be a shame if the match was spoiled by anything unsportsman like - like the english team snubbing the president again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

netwhizkid wrote:
    Rugby and Soccer are not Irish games, GAA is period

how did you feel when American Football and Australian Rules were played at Croke Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

netwhizkid wrote:
    I remain opposed to the use of Croke Park for all British Games, and to hear god save the queen played there will be the ultimate sell-out to our culture our history and our fighting cause. As has been said earlier about the riots. I will not be one bit surprised if I turn on the news and see riots there as it is .................... [/SIZE]

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 flanger20002003

Can't see it making much of a difference tbh. Think it's just a tad more significant that they're actually playing the match there...reckon it'd be a very small, petty minority that would make a big deal out of it by booing etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

netwhizkid wrote:
    I remain opposed to the use of Croke Park for all British Games, and to hear god save the queen played there will be the ultimate sell-out to our culture our history and our fighting cause. As has been said earlier about the riots. I will not be one bit surprised if I turn on the news and see riots there as it is totally unacceptable to have a English team be allowed into Croke Park after the genocidal ethnic cleansing they did there.

Said like a True "Irish" man:rolleyes: , grow up, by the way can ye hear me all the way back there in the 20's?:rolleyes: The past is in the past leave it there please, come on il help you join Europe, were all friends now dont you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Better get some practice in...

God save our gracious Queen, Long live our noble Queen, God save the Queen.
    Send her victorious, Happy and glorious, Long to reign over us,
    God save the Queen.

Steyr wrote:
    Said like a True "Irish" man:rolleyes: , grow up, by the way can ye hear me all the way back there in the 20's?:rolleyes: The past is in the past leave it there please, come on il help you join Europe, were all friends now dont you know?
    Read to the end of the post :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

i really cant see it happening without some minority of the crowd booing i will be more suprised if it isnt booed to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Judt wrote:

I did but his true narrowminded feelings were all at the start of the post, i will be one seriously unhappy Irish man if i hear "boos" at this Match, it will show to the entire world that Ireland cant move on and has not grown up and matured and we would look very petty indeed to a World audience if GSTQ gets booed. Shame on all the people who even contemplate doing it:mad:

Judt wrote:

The original comment may be tongue-in-cheek, but unfortunately, there are too many people out there who still believe it.

with a blindfold on by any chance?
    Dont try to tell me that GAA fans are angels just because there not segregated.
    At last years munster final, i witnissed a drunken 'fan' pissing in the centre of the terrace, during the game, being watched by 2 stunned german tourists.
    Thats one incident. I wont tell you what i saw at the All-Ireland.

The point that i'm making is that somehow, scumbags get their hands on tickets for every major sporting events. There will be 82,000 people at the game (hopefully myself included) and it is almost guaranteed that some of them will act like maggots.
    Kerry and Cork are the hotbeds for the Anti-Opening of Croker side. They're the more die-hard nationalists in the country.

But, GAA fans in general are a decent shower, especially in comparison with the soccer shower. At inter-county games, there's rarely any of the really nasty crap you hear from soccer matches (eg. I went to a United-Liverpool match a couple of seasons back and one of the songs were 'Are You Watching Michael Shields?'). Usually whatever happens on the pitch is left there, and GAA fans can go for a couple of pints after a game without any hassle.

Of course you'll get the odd gob****e, every sport has them, but they're still not half as bad as many other sports' fans.

Why is anyone talking about GAA-heads? Its a rugger match they won't be there bar a crazy few.

Mike.

mike65 wrote:
    Why is anyone talking about GAA-heads? Its a rugger match they won't be there bar a crazy few.

Mike.
    Wondered the same. I just didn't want to let yer man away with ridiculing GAA fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭mobby

Hope England dont win 19-16 :D

I'll be the first one to stand up and say my memory isn't the greatest, but I seem to remember something happening during a soccer match in landsdown road a few years back.
    Apparently some english fans started a mini riot there.
    All I see here is 'god I hope the Irish there behave themselves'.
    You would be under the impression that scumbags are indiginous to this fair isle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

We're the home team, do we hope the final score isn't 19 - 20 or 19 - 22. If it is 19 - 16, then we'll have won. It should be a lot more comfortable than that though.

I am a GAA fan myself, but as an Irishman and a sports fan, it will be great to see the Irish Rugby team play in Croke Park, even if I won't be there, not having the contacts. For many GAA fans that thought it might, including a contributor to this thread, the world did not end yesterday. Fortunately the majority of GAA fans, who are also soccer fans, rugby fans, horseracing fans, golf fans etc. do not think that way. 1920 is long gone and an awful lot has changed since then. So roll on England!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I seriously doubt there will be any booing. If there is they will be quickly told to shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Terry wrote:
    I'll be the first one to stand up and say my memory isn't the greatest, but I seem to remember something happening during a soccer match in landsdown road a few years back.
    Apparently some english fans started a mini riot there.
    All I see here is 'god I hope the Irish there behave themselves'.
    You would be under the impression that scumbags are indiginous to this fair isle.

yeh good point

Terry, rugby fans, English and others, are generally well behaved. It is only the English soccer fans, and at that a very small minority of them, that cause problems.

I taped the BBC coverage yesterday, to see what they'd say about it. Beamed across homes in Britain and beyond were images of Gaelic Football and Hurling, and much of its history and the significance of the day. They spoke about 1916, 1920, Michael Hogan and other such things. Many would have seen all that for the first time. The British public watching would have been left under no illusions as to what happened there on that fateful day. It was very well and honestly done. I am sure they will do something similar before the England game, for those that might not have watched yesterday's match.

To those that were afraid that the GAA were promoting "their" games, in fact the "Brits" were promoting "our" games! It was great promotion for Gaelic games and Croke Park. People all over the world were watching it too. My brother was watching it in the Caribbean and there would be many seeing Gaelic Games and hearing about the GAA for the first time. A great day, except for the result of course. I'd love to have been there.

Fury at Hain's rugby wreath plan

Minister wants to pay tribute to 13 shot dead by British soldiers at Croke Park in 1920

Henry McDonald, Ireland editor
    Sunday February 11, 2007
    The Observer

While history is being made today when Ireland's rugby union team run out on to Croke Park to take on the French, a row is raging about the next Six Nations clash at the home of Gaelic sports.

The Observer has learnt that, before the Ireland v England game in two weeks' time, the Northern Ireland Office is considering plans for Secretary of State Peter Hain to lay a wreath at a memorial to 13 Gaelic sports fans shot dead by British forces inside the stadium in 1920 and issue an apology from the British government for what has become known as the first 'Bloody Sunday' massacre. Both Irish rugby veterans and Unionist MPs are up in arms at the proposals.

Article continues
    Former Ireland international and British Lion Trevor Ringland said last night that the proposal for such a politically charged ceremony posed great dangers for peace and reconciliation. Ringland, who runs the anti-sectarian 'One Small Step' campaign in Northern Ireland, said: 'The fact that this game is being played at Croke Park, thanks to the generous decision of the Gaelic Athletic Association, will have positive ripple effects for the future.

'But plans for a wreath-laying ceremony and the apology will only mix sport with politics. It will bring the politics of the 20th century into the attempts at reconciliation in the 21st century. The government should think again before going ahead with something like this.'

Democratic Unionist MP Jeffrey Donaldson accused the Northern Ireland Office of 'monumental stupidity' in contemplating the wreath-laying ceremony: 'Whoever thought up this bright idea ought to consign it now to the dustbin of history. Rugby has always been a community where politics and sports do not mix. I sincerely hope this plan is dropped immediately, as it would outrage thousands of rugby fans, not only in Northern Ireland but also across this island.'

The Northern Ireland Office has yet to decide finally if the Secretary of State will take part in the ceremony. He is scheduled to attend the match.

Meanwhile, English rugby fans are likely to encounter republican protests at the historically resonant clash with Ireland. The breakaway nationalist group Republican Sinn Fein (RSF), which opposes the peace process, has confirmed it will picket the match. The organisation was one of three republican groups that organised protests against a loyalist parade through Dublin city centre last year. Demonstrations against the 'Love Ulster' march degenerated into some of the worst rioting Dublin had seen in decades.

Garda sources in Dublin told The Observer they were monitoring the RSF and several other anti-Good Friday Agreement republican factions in the run-up to the clash at Croke Park.

'They managed to turn O'Connell Street upside down last year and we were caught napping. They brought hundreds of young men looking for trouble on to the streets. We can't afford for that to happen again,' one senior officer said.

The political allies of the Continuity IRA said playing the game at Croke Park - the home of Gaelic sports in Ireland - was part of a process to 'normalise the occupation of Ireland'.

Des Dalton, RSF's vice-president, said: 'The political symbolism of inviting the national team of a country which forcibly occupies part of Ireland to Croke Park is something Irish republicans are determined to publicly protest against.'

Dissident republican groups are focusing their protests on the playing of 'God Save the Queen'. They have viewed Croke Park as hallowed ground since the 1920 massacre, which took place hours after an IRA hit squad, set up by Michael Collins, killed some British agents in the city.
    http://politics.guardian.co.uk/northernirelandassembly/story/0,,2010645,00.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

jesus, sooner the game is over the better