Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weekly Jackpot SNG league idea (youngins only)

• 29-01-2007 4:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭

Alright,

Following the success of last thursdays €50 sng, there has been talk of making it a weekly occurence, I pm'd some people about it earlier but decided to just start a new thread to make it easier for everyone to input.

Basically the idea is that every week (thursday possibly) nine/ten of us get together to play a €50 sng in the Jackpot. The idea being that the same ten play everyweek give or take the odd week where someone is unavailable.

20% of the weekly prizepool would be added to a fun for the overall winner,
    10 weeks, 10 sngs, 1 winner. 10 pts for the winner 8pts for second and 5pts for third, everyone else receives one point for taking part(therefor being a part incentive to play every week)

Last thursday was such a success because everyone took it seriously and there was a good standard of poker being played, therefor I would prefere that the nine players were the same as last week give or take (obviously Carlos wont be coming up from galway every week)

If we were to this every Thursday it means that people dont play the 20 freezeout.

Anyone with any suggestions feel free to post.

Provisional list might be:
    Myself
    Cooker3
    Goodluck2me
    AKQJ10
    Jbravado
    DITTag
    Delanec8
    Anto (AOD)
    DITpoker
    L-Dog
    BCB
    TITPAT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

yeah i though this wasnt foin to be a thread! im game for it. i dont mind other boardsies in too.have a pool of 15, and regardless of who plays there is 50 taken out each wee k for the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I would like to play this. Beats the other options on a Thursday night. Like the league idea aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

I too would like to play this, as Lloyd says it beats the other options with a stick. Can I be placed on the list and I will play when regulars are not available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

Ye i'd always be up for this. Was plannin to play on Thur but had i nice stack in the tourney when it started so couldnt jus abandon it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

If there is enough demand We could have it as a two table weekly tournie...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

Im looking forward to this again. I dunno about the two table idea though as they might not allow us to have another long game like that when they want cash games to fill up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

nice idea luke. a few thoughts,

i think this should start at 11.30 or 12 to give people a chance to play the 20FO and if you're running well in that no need to play the SNG, maybe the first 10 players out from the tourney from the agreed pool of players get to play the SNG on a given week. The jackpot will probably prefer that as it means more custom for them, and either way from a players point of view you're getting a night of cards for apporx 70 euro.

This should be open to anyone who wants in and expresses and interest here, i.e the likes of everyones favourite "student" duo BCB and Lloyd (really, how did you two pass as students!!!)

aodea will win this.

i'll offer 6-1 on everyone right now!?!!? (im the worst and best bookie ever!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭delanec8

I can't play this thursday but would play most thursdays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

i like this idea put me in coach.....although i may or may not have been banned from the jackpot last week.may be room for a reprieve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

rule me out of this as i wont be able to commit to it as ill be away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭DITTag

shoutman wrote:
    Provisional list might be:
    Myself
    Cooker3
    Goodluck2me
    AKQJ10
    Mellor
    Trippie
    Delanec8
    Anto (AOD)
    DITpoker
    L-Dog
    BCB
    TITPAT

Cough

DITTag wrote:
    Cough
    those cigarette are not only bad for your eyes, they are giving you a nasty cough too.
    Also please change your sig to "why don`t..." that "doesn`t bit is quite annyoing.

those cigarette are not only bad for your eyes, they are giving you a nasty cough too.
    Also please change your sig to "why don`t..." that "doesn`t bit is quite annyoing.

Yes Sir GL2M!!! But why do it bother you?;)

jeez tag its clearly proper grammer to say: "Why does it bother you?"

lads this has potential to be a home game if somebody can accomodate it. It just makes sense to have it as a home game.

as the man says... i propose a wednesday home game though so i still have option of tilting 20 quid away on a thursday, and its really my only opportunity to see Pat.

mr fibble.......

i think the jackpot has everything avaialbel to us without having to rign around to make sure people are coming and other letting us down etc, there will always be ten willing to play it. i realise the 30 euro reg is annoying but mayeb they`d do it for 20 and we`l throw the rest into the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

ill play love the idea love stts and this could be my only oppurtunity to play them live so jackpot ldogs house tags skip i dont mind im in!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,232 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

this is looking good, but I wont be able to make it every week,
    is there anypoint in me playing with the league if I dont show up for most,
    might have to stick to the €20 FO and rail this

I think there would be little point to play the league unless you can play the vast majority of the weeks...

Would people agree that we should all pay up front as it would make it a near certainty that everyone would turn up (50 quid is a good few pints on a monda night) Or do you think not playing is enough of a penalty and just accept some randomer to play the sng to fill the numbers and add to the prizepool.

As regards jeff suggestion of starting it at 12 or there abouts, I think that is far too late as with the structure we were playing last week it would not be over for a few hours....

I think people would sacrifice the 20 freezeout to play this.

Anyway if we start this on thursday week? That way people have plenty of notice and wont have already made plans or whatever.

What % of the weekly sng should go towards the league winner?
    Is everyone agreed on the points structure?

ditpoker wrote:
    its really my only opportunity to see Pat.

..............:confused::confused::confused:

ITT-Pat wrote:
    ..............:confused::confused::confused:

.................... :o:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I might play this the odd time if there's a spot to fill, can't commit to the league thing tho.

So will the people from the list at the start say whether or not they can commit to the league idea please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

shoutman wrote:
    So will the people from the list at the start say whether or not they can commit to the league idea please?

aodea is a big in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭delanec8

shoutman wrote:

Im in

im in aswell, starting next week though yeah. giving everyone a chance to head down to rappers and slappers this thursday in tripod.

Fo Shizzle M-Dog.

Im a defo for this providing jacks are mellow.

jbravado, why are you "possibly" banned from the jackpot? what you do?

i say start this thursday to give all the non-tripodders a head start! just an idea, but could this not be done like poker superstars, i.e. on a given week 8 players play, 6 buy ins go to prize money, 2 buy ins to grand final. everyone plays say 6 8 table matches, and points awarded over these 8. then top 8 players get given stacks based on their points total for final event. anto knows more about this, but it means that if someone cant make a certain week they are not at a disadvantage, once the line up is agreed upon before the off.

Jeff the poker superstars is a great idea,
    Would need 16 players. or 32 if enough interest
    And will be ok for people who cant go every week

Seems like a good idea, so like there would be like nine/ten players and everyone gets a week off kind of thing?

The only thing I dont like about this is the fact that despite doing the best overall if you were to be competely card dead at the final sng you can still end up with nothing to show for it.

I know you start off with more chips at the final table but still....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭boba_fett3099

Poker superstars thing seems a little akward but i guess it could work. I still like the idea of starting when the first 9 or 10 that are on the list start it at 11.30 or whatever.

Dont know if this is any help but I like the idea of it
    http://www.pokersuperstars.net/tournament.htm

Ye i'll commit to it every week

How many players do we need.
    How many rounds are to be played? Four rounds a person, and a final table?
    12 players @ 4 rounds a person would take 6 weeks, plus a final table week
    16 players @ 4 rounds a person would take 8 weeks, plus a final table week

So 12 or 16??? Time to start listing names

So we are changing the format to use that pokerstars thing? Grand by me if everyone else agrees to it.

no no!! i want the points frm last week to count towards it! it was MY idea to be fair, are you with me delanec8?
    also if you were card dead at the final SNG you would still have all the prizemoney from the previous weeks!something like 225-125-50 and take 100 a week to the GF.

ditpoker wrote:
    jbravado, why are you "possibly" banned from the jackpot? what you do?

Im easy for any layout cheers for letting me jump on board lads.Im a willing participant every week.So is there a game tomorrow?

Destroyed a few weeks ago and went there-was dumping money to lady roullette for about an hour befoe I headed over to play but was then told I was too drunk to play cards.At the time I felt it was unfair as I play there about three nights a week and there was no problem alowing me in the pit area.
    The bouncers and a few dealers spoke to the pit boss but I was told I was out.
    Obviously this is a homersimpsonesque monicule in the eye tppe of hazy recollection and Im sure I was totally in the wrong.

Here's my suggestion starting next week Thursday 8th Feb.

Same starting stack and blinds (6k and 20 min levels all levels incl.)
    Same buy in 50+3
    As for the league go for 10th-0, 9th-1, 8th-2, 7th-3, 6th-4, 5th-5, 4th-6, 3rd-8, 2nd-10, 1st-14.
    I simply think we should arrange that the first 10/18 if we can get it it and have 2 tables of 9 to put there names in for this should be allowed to play and commit to it for 6 weeks.
    So far definites are Myself, shoutman, aodea, delance8, goodlucktome, jbravado.

I prefare ten as its easier to manage and more likely to be consistent.
    Prizepool of 500 each week so take out 100 each week for the league and payout 1st 200, 2nd 125, 3rd 75.

Then after 6 weeks are up we have a double pts final sit n go where everyone still starts with 6k and points are just doubled. Same payout as the regular sit n go's. then there should be 700 in the league pot which could go 400, 200, 100.

Well this is definately not on for tonight, I'm happy doing it either way so its up to everyone else.

anyone playing the 20fo tonight? will there be a sng anyway, non league based?

I would play a SNG tonight

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    I would play a SNG tonight

what time?

what time?

I figure turn up at 8:45ish and see if we can tempt some of the 20 freezeout regulars to play. If not, I will donate to that sham tourney and round up the wreckage for one later on in the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

Are you still pushing ahead with this poker superstars idea, and do you need numbers? If so I'd be up for that if that's alright.

bump.. latest??

I'm happy with this pokerstars idea if everyone else is!

Timing issues is another story,

Could we do it for tenpm, this way you people still get to play your beloved 20e donkfest and it means that the sng will finish at a reasonable time.

Someone needs to take charge of this and work out the points system and the whole idea of it. Also you need all names before it starts.