Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

drinking raw eggs

• 11-01-2007 12:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭

Anyone ever try it? I normally eat about 8 eggs in a day ands it a pain in the ass scrambling them, i tried one egg the other day in a glass and it was no bother, just wondering is it dangerous with salmonella bla bla?? rocky can do it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

...rocky can do it...

As can Bruce Lee, often with the shells still in em (milkshakes) the mucky, mucky bastard. I think it's safe enough. I did it myself for years with no ill effects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

one yes there is a chance of salmonella, however the bigger thing is that the bioavailabilty of the protein in cooked eggs is a lot higher then in raw eggs, so with raw eggs your body won't be taking in as much protein per egg as per cooked eggs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Raw egg is undigestable. There is also a high risk of nasty bugs in there due to the soaring industry of battery farms.
    8 eggs a day is nothin! I'd have that in an omlette :-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I dont reckon its safe to eat raw eggs these days,anyway,whats teh point?You can boil twenty eggs at a time with no effort (apart from getting a big pot) and they'll keep for days and are easy to transport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Lads, for the last time, eating raw eggs = hardcore. I mean, c'mon!

Dragan wrote:
    Lads, for the last time, eating raw eggs = hardcore. I mean, c'mon!

Oh yeah?Well you try eating ten hard-boiled eggs..NOBODY will stand near you for a week!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭turbot

Mm.... I think the trick is to have good digestion and to have only the egg whites. And smoothie it, with Soya Milk and Banana.

turbot wrote:
    Mm.... I think the trick is to have good digestion and to have only the egg whites. And smoothie it, with Soya Milk and Banana.

i think the trick is to cook the man some ****ing eggs, woman!

Failing that you could try www.eggnation.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Jon wrote:
    Failing that you could try www.eggnation.co.uk

eggcellent find there Jon, you could also use http://www.myprotein.co.uk/mp-max/liquid-egg-whites/ (if you check daveirl's sig I think he has a 5% discount code for new users as well on the site)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

If you are still unsure about raw eggs, drink milk.

100ml of milk contains approx 3.2g of protine. Drinking a liter will povide you with the same amount of protine as a portine bar. Plus it has many more added benefits. Drink the avenmore super milk.. it's got reduced fats and increased vitamines and minerals. Bodybuilders who prefere not to take sups. drink a gallon a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 andymulligan

I think you are watching to many rocky movies,its ok to drink raw eggs but to get any good from them they must be at least partly cooked,scramble 5 whites to one yoke small drop of milk,nice amount of proteen there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭trollybus

I eat all my eggs raw. I don't even cook meat either, I just find the nearest cow or chicken and take a few bites out of it. Rocky was a pussy :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

nice comments dragan :)

I can eat fifty eggs

Dragan wrote:
    i think the trick is to cook the man some ****ing eggs, woman!

Once Were Bog Warriors eh Dragan?:D

trollybus wrote:
    I eat all my eggs raw. I don't even cook meat either, I just find the nearest cow or chicken and take a few bites out of it. Rocky was a pussy :cool:

For some reason I actually believe that :p

Degsy wrote:
    Once Were Bog Warriors eh Dragan?:D

Damn straight. If you think Jake the Muss can throw em, you should see me going at the barn dance!!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

trollybus wrote:
    I don't even shell my eggs - I just hold a hen over my mouth & wait. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭hardtrainer

Eating raw eggs, particularly free range eggs, is probably not the best idea in the world, from a health standpoint. For protein intake, cooking the eggs dramatically increases the bioavailability of the protein.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 shewolf

i eat the chicken and the egg before it even lays the egg, so the egg hasnt even had a chance to become raw, and plus it gives the protein from the chicken too

Are you girls talking about CHICKEN eggs???Pffh!I only eat eggs from nile crocodiles,then i throw the crocodile in the george forman and inject myself with creatine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Degsy wrote:
    ,then i throw the crocodile in the george forman
    Ladyboy! I make george foreman himself eat the eggs, go 12 rounds with him until he pukes them up, then eat them.

I have never heard a single person say they actually like raw eggs, it is always "I can stomach them", "I can handle 4 if mixed with X", or "I dont mind them" at best. Seeing as when cooked they have a higher bioavailability why would you not cook them. "boiling an egg" is a common joke about people who cannot cook, that is since it is so simple. I like a nice omlette, or french toast. Why suffer when you are depriving yourself of a potentially nice meal?

Reminds me of idiots who order tequila, hate the taste and suffer it since they think it is "hardcore", why not order a nice liquer of the same strength and the same price and enjoy it....

rubadub wrote:
    Reminds me of idiots who order tequila, hate the taste and suffer it since they think it is "hardcore", why not order a nice liquer of the same strength and the same price and enjoy it....

Because its gay,thats why.I only drink rotgut whiskey straight from the bottle,or meths if there's any going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Degsy wrote:
    Because its gay,thats why.I only drink rotgut whiskey straight from the bottle,or meths if there's any going.

Pfft meths, thats for the w@nkers on the street, i drink lighter fluid a far superior pwo shake. (bonus points for getting teh reference)

Pah!You dont drink meths because you cant afford it,i suppose youbuy your lighter fluid from Tony Quinn as well?

Course i do its the only thing to get me hyooge so the great one said, not like your poncy whey ****.

Withnail and I.

Give me your mancore points. :D

Dragan wrote:
    Withnail and I.

Give me your mancore points. :D

I got it before you son..i am The Ultimate Warrior!!

Degsy wrote:
    I got it before you son..i am The Ultimate Warrior!!

The Ultimate Weekend Warrior more like.

Lads i don't think you want the mancore points. You'd be really scared if you knew how i earned them. And Degsy did get there first

Not by being a "toilet trader" i hope!!:eek: