Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arise "Sir" Paul Hewson KBE

• 23-12-2006 2:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭

Ah yes it had to happen, he sued over a bad hat, he's shuffled his band off to the Netherlands for tax purposes and now he's taking the Queens shilling! :eek: ;)

Traitorous, West Brit short Arse :D

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

mike65 wrote:
    Ah yes it had to happen, he sued over a bad hat, he's shuffled his band off to the Netherlands for tax purposes and now he's taking the Queens shilling! :eek: ;)

Mike.

Let the brits do and call him what they like.

But the first time I hear him refer to himself a 'sir' or an Irish commentator call him 'Sir Bono' I'll be sickened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

Whatever tbh. As was said, they can call him what they like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Irish people accepting crap like that should have their passports revoked.

Seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Let him have his knighthood, no one really cares anymore.
    "Refer to me as Sir Paul, damnit!"

*TRAITOR, out with teh Brits!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,786 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

I would have told the queen to stick the 'honour' where the sun doesn't shine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Mairt wrote:
    But the first time I hear him refer to himself a 'sir' or an Irish commentator call him 'Sir Bono' I'll be sickened.

Agreed, although it wouldn't surprise me if he started calling himself "Sir Bono". A bit like Bob Geldof

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I very much doubt that she had anything to do with it. Probably Bliar who nominated him, or maybe the ambasador doesn't actaully like U2 and wanted a chance to take the sword to his kneck. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

mike65 wrote:

Mike.

You've forgotten his share in Forbes magazine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Apparently, he won't be called "Sir" beacuse he is Irish.

Don't see anything wrong with him getting knighthood. It would be a bigger issue if he turned it down. It's no real biggie...

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

dotsman wrote:
    Apparently, he won't be called "Sir" beacuse he is Irish.
    Sir Bob Geldof??

http://www.breakingnews.ie/entertainment/?jp=CWSNAUOJCWQL

7th Paragraph. Can't say I'm an expert in the matter, don't know why everyone includes "sir" with Bob Geldof. Maybe they're not supposed to?

As Mr. Hewson is not a British citizen, he cannot get a knighthood with the 'Sir' bollox. He is getting an honorary knighthood which is just as contemptible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Zebra3 wrote:

Seriously.

This kind of attitude is pathetic. What bit of difference could it possibly make to your life whether some other bloke accepts a knighthood from a foreign queen?

You must have a comfortable life if this is a significant worry for you, I wish I could trade my problems for yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Wikipedia says re:Bob Geldof, the media will probably just stick to Bono.
    Geldof has received many awards for his fund-raising work, including an honorary knighthood from Queen Elizabeth II; as he is not a citizen of a Commonwealth realm, Geldof is precluded from using the title 'Sir'. Regardless, the nickname 'Sir Bob' has stuck, and even media reports will frequently (and erroneously) refer to him as 'Sir Bob Geldof'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

It'd hardly be worth the bother, just neglect to turn up at the knighting ceremony, if he even gets one. Even if he does take it, who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Zebra3 wrote:

Seriously.
    qft

I never had much respect for the guy anyway, but that's just a disgrace. ffs.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Zebra3 wrote:

Seriously.
    He's already accepted the equvalent honour from the French though so they must have already taken his Irish passport off him for that offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Quite so. Amazed that some take this sort of thing so personaly. What am I saying?! :D

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

As an Irish person I have to say I'm disgusted that Bono would accept this award from the British people.

Anyway, must dash. The Premiership has just started on RTE.

qft

I never had much respect for the guy anyway, but that's just a disgrace. ffs.

What's it to you? Who cares? How is it disgraceful? If I was offered one, I would take it (probably get a few free drinks at the ceremony:D )

I am unable to understand why people are getting upset over this? As I said before, it's no big deal.

Shocking! How dare he receive something from a country other then Ireland!

Myth wrote:
    Shocking! How dare he receive something from a country other then Ireland!
    Those damned Chillieans giving out awards all over the place to foriegners they are. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Wow, a foreign head of state compliments the great work of one of our fellow countrymen by making him an honorary knight, and all we can do is be bitter and complain about it?

I suppose it would be better if he was some yob in a Celtic jersey down the pub singing 'go on home you british soldiers'

Lets just get over ourselves and such petty ideology. This is a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

InFront wrote:
    This is a good thing.
    Me bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Pigman II wrote:
    As an Irish person I have to say I'm disgusted that Bono would accept this award from the British people.

^ A particularly fine example of the pathetic attitudes aired in this thread. If you believe that he is somehow selling out to the Brits it's time you changed your antiquated and disgusting mindset. What's the bets that many of the people spewing the likes of above would, for example, follow a British football club.

Bono, intolerable as he can sometimes be, has done a service to humanity. He is to be acknowledged for this. It's very simple, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

My god the list of reasons to hate that ar**hole is just constantly getting longer.

InFront wrote:

I suppose it would be better if he was some yob in a Celtic jersey down the pub singing 'go on home you british soldiers'

Why don't you ask if he was a yob immaterial of what he wears or what he sings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

Hating Bono is one thing, I can understand that. Taking offence from the fact that he's getting an honourary knighthood from another country is absolutely stupid. Would anyone like to enlighten me as to why this is a bone of contention?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

^ A particularly fine example of the pathetic attitudes aired in this thread.

Did you not read the next line in Pighead's post?

The sarcasm was dripping from it, I tell you...

Personally I say fair play to him and would have no bad feelings towards him specifically for accepting it, but if I were ever to be offered the same thing, I'd be very sorely tempted to make a point of (politely) turning it down.

It certainly was :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Pigman II wrote:

Subtle, but excellent.

So what if he accepts an award off the Queen? If you disagree with it so much then why not reject everything British? Never speak English again, eat only Irish produced foods and wear Irish produced clothes, and never have anything to do with the Brits. Alternatively, you can not be xenophobic, leave the past where it belongs, in the past, and move on.

Edit: I think Bono is a bit of a self serving prat too, btw, but there's no reason to go on about people accepting honourary Knighthoods just because he accepted one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Bard wrote:
    The sarcasm was dripping from it, I tell you...

I don't think it will ever wash out of these jeans.

Why don't you ask if he was a yob immaterial of what he wears or what he sings?

Because a guy wearing a celtic jersey singing 'go on home you british soldiers' is a very distinctive sort of yob that many people will be able to relate to and view in a more negative light so as to further my argument.

InFront wrote:
    Because a guy wearing a celtic jersey singing 'go on home you british soldiers' is a very distinctive sort of yob that many people will be able to relate to and view in a more negative light so as to further my argument.
    I'd keep labouring that point if I were you. It makes you appear terribly intelligent (and possibly hunky).

I'm just going to assume that when you say "This is a good thing", you mean for Bono, and not for Ireland...

Bard wrote:
    I'm just going to assume that when you say "This is a good thing", you mean for Bono, and not for Ireland...

Bono? Perhaps, I hadn't considered it. And no of course it doesn't have any significance to Ireland the country or Irish society. The main reason why this is a good thing, is because a head of state is rewarding this man for his humanitarian work and recognising the valiancy of such efforts. What exactly is the problem with this, is it a 'how dare they honour an irishman, he's ours' mentality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Pigman II wrote:

:D , brilliantly done .

InFront wrote:
    What exactly is the problem with this, is it a 'how dare they honour an irishman, he's ours' mentality?

If that's directed at me, then you clearly didn't read my first post. I've no problem with Mr. Hewson getting this award from Mrs. Windsor. Fair play and good on the lad, etc. Probably wouldn't be my own "cup of tea", so to speak, but there you go.

If it's just directed at people on this thread in general who don't like the idea, etc., then can't you just allow them to have an opinion that conflicts with yours without trying to convince them that they're so horribly wrong? How about offering your own opinion on the story instead of just putting other peoples opinions down, eh?

Bard wrote:
    If it's just directed at people on this thread in general who don't like the idea, etc., then can't you just allow them to have an opinion that conflicts with yours without trying to convince them that they're so horribly wrong? How about offering your own opinion on the story instead of just putting other peoples opinions down, eh?

It is directed at people who have a problem with the decision to award Bono with an hon. knighthood, or his decision to accept it, not you in particular.

And I did offer my opinion on this, part of which was the above statement. This is a public forum. We discuss things and ask questions...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Do the British commonly dub people knight who are from countries they have never occupied, or do they keep it special for ex-occupees? (Or for embarrassingly servile ex-occupees?)

When was Bono ever a resident in an occupied country? As such he's not an ex-ocupee. I'd surprised if anyone on boards.ie were "an ex-occupee" save some of our more foreign friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Resident of a formerly occupied country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Nick_Object

so now we call him Sir Arsewipe

luckat wrote:
    Do the British commonly dub people knight who are from countries they have never occupied, or do they keep it special for ex-occupees? (Or for embarrassingly servile ex-occupees?)
    Yes, and they espcially like to give honours to Irish people becasue they know that it infuriates certain parts of the Irish population so much to see one of their own accepting such awards from the evil British.

Although you don't actually get to call yourself a knight on getting the award unless you hold a Commonweath passport of course, and in most countries the award by a forigen state has to actually be allowed by their own president first anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Remove tea-cup from press...insert storm.

Seriously...if this is all you have to worry about, you've got it pretty easy. Whoever said the thing about the premiership was spot on.
    Country recognises mans good work. Mans says thanks...the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 984 ✭✭✭cozmik

^yip, This was bound to happen sooner or later and you know what I couldn't care less in fact I wouldn't give a damn if they made him King of England! :D

better things to worry about for sure...

cheers

cozmik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

Was never really big on them but this thread has inspired me to go buy some U2. I'm that non-conformist!

Fair play to him. I hope he has a great day out from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

its against our constitution for irish citizens to hold titles of nobility.