Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I've been off the drink for 2 weeks...

• 11-11-2006 9:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭

...and it's bloody hard!!

I gave it up for financial, health and "I'm tired of being another drunken zombie" reasons...

All my friends are out tonight (party or Temple Bar Music Centre) so I'm staying at home, away from temptations.

Anyone else off the booze??

What a Saturday night! Pizza and DVD in bed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Just cos you're not drinking doesn't mean you can't be around it! Unless you're an addict...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

kdjac

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

She would feel like a fool been sober while her friends drunk, i would anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭Redrocket

i hate drunk people when im sober, so not necessarily an addict...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Aoife-FM104

Plug wrote:
    She would feel like a fool been sober while her friends drunk, i would anyway.

Yeah! I find it very boring to be around drunk people. It just feels wrong!

And I'm still in the "would love a Corona" stage, so best to stay away...

Thank God for the Internet!

I should become a shrink!

The even more difficult thing is I live in the City Centre (Jervis Street) so it's so easy to just nip outside...

No... Pizza and The Aristocrats it is!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,359 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Why not just reduce how much you drink? Means you can still go out and have fun, you'll have more money due to drinking less and you'll feel better.

I'm kind of an all or nothing sort of gal... I don't do moderation very well!!

What I'd really love is to not drink at all, yet still be able to go out and have a mad time.

Difficult! I know.

How come you guys are at home? No plans, in work ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

No plans. Just browsing boards....for the last about hour now...clicking on stuff I don't even have an interest in....

I don't do moderation that well either. I don't see the point of just having one drink. I yearn for more. Eh...several more. Sad really.

Oh well.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

God, I'd love a Corona...

I'm heading out in a few minutes, but I think I'm going to stay sober. Queueing for an hour, getting squashed on all sides by sweaty people doesn't sound great tonight. The bars in clubs over here are ridiculous. They only have 2 or 3 people working at any one time, at the only bar in the entire venue. The options become: A) Get drunk first; B) Prepare to queue for hours each time you want a drink, or C) Stay sober.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

KdjaCL wrote:

kdjac

is that your phone number?

Your in there KdjaCL:D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

lol

curiosoity got the better of me...

its finches off-licence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

I'm kind of an all or nothing sort of gal... I don't do moderation very well!!

What I'd really love is to not drink at all, yet still be able to go out and have a mad time.

Difficult! I know.

Tried ecstacy or cocaine ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Good for you, how about celebrating by having a few drinks :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I never go out on a Saturday when I can avoid it. Piles of drunken gombeens and everywhere is packed beyond bursting point. No thanks.

If you're looking for something to do, how about you rent a movie? Work out? Play an instrument? Read a book? Do some martial arts? Masturbate?

There's loads of things you can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

lol

curiosoity got the better of me...

its finches off-licence

They deliver :D

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

I gave it up for financial, health and "I'm tired of being another drunken zombie" reasons...
    All my friends are out tonight (party or Temple Bar Music Centre) so I'm staying at home, away from temptations.

Yeah I'm off it three weeks now, I went on a six day bender a while back and the amount I spent, plus how sh*te I felt prompted me to lay off it for a while. Not to mind say THE FEAR that was on me for about three days after :(

I have far more free time than most (5 days a week free instead of two) so the temptation is that bit greater for me.

I'm not having any problems though. I still go out and have a mineral water or three and then drive home. You can still have a right craic down the pub anyway, drink or not.

Use the money you'll save to join a gym or treat yourself to a holiday. It may be hard but give it a go anyway.
    Best o luck!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

just drink less, i find you drink x amount and you reach a certain point where alcohol stops increasing your enjoyment level, yet most of us keep getting the pints in so you end up broke and feeling ****ty. pace yourself, drink less and dance/socialise more than trying to liberate another beer from its glass.
    i should really follow my own advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭upthere

You are doing it for yourself so I hope you do feel benifits of giving it up. Withdrawal is terrible though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Congratulations :rolleyes:
    I'm convinced more and more every day that most of the people in this country have a drinking problem...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭BreadBoard

I'm off the drink too. I'm sick of being sick the day after and the money I spend is a joke.

I went out Thursday night and spent €15 :D, and that was including buying a round. I drove too so didn't have to get a taxi home and the lads loved me as I drove them home... lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

DaveMcG wrote:
    Just cos you're not drinking doesn't mean you can't be around it! Unless you're an addict...

It always puzzles me how non drinkers casn keep it up. Yesterday afternoon I slaughtered 7 cans in about 90 minutes, then went to sleep for an hour and joined my mate in the pub afterwards. He had only 3 cans in my 7 can time, but I had a few pints of water in the pub while he proceeded to catch up, and jaysus the ****e he talked was unbelieveable to the point I had to get locked again to get on the same level. How non drinkers cope in social situations I dont know, if you arent pissed enough to join in drunks wreck your head.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

shane86 wrote:
    It always puzzles me how non drinkers casn keep it up. Yesterday afternoon I slaughtered 7 cans in about 90 minutes, then went to sleep for an hour and joined my mate in the pub afterwards. He had only 3 cans in my 7 can time, but I had a few pints of water in the pub while he proceeded to catch up, and jaysus the ****e he talked was unbelieveable to the point I had to get locked again to get on the same level. How non drinkers cope in social situations I dont know, if you arent pissed enough to join in drunks wreck your head.
    Well not hanging around alcoholics tends to help. That and letting go of the whole "I can't be having fun with my friends unless I'm excessively drunk".

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I find now that hangovers are increasingly affecting me emotionally these days. When I've been drunk the night before, particularly with people I don't know too well, I spend the next day in a depression. I can't stop thinking about the stupid things that I said/did, and I really rag on myself. I'm sure I'm probably the only one who cares, but it really gets to me. As a result, I really don't think I'm going to get drunk very often anymore.

I also get paranoid that I was the only one who was really drunk, and therefore everyone else was laughing at me the whole time.

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Exar Khun

I know how you feel Faith. Although sometimes my fears are well founded :P

• Registered Users Posts: 21,206 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

You can still have a right craic down the pub anyway, drink or not.

Very true, thats what I do now. Some people just dont need drink to enjoy themselves. Even at gigs, I dont drink at them....still have the same amount of, if not more, fun than people who are drunk. Went into town Friday night, spent more on bus fares than drink(nightlink buses to Ashford are expensive).
    Bought three drinks, one which wasnt even for me, and it was a good laugh. Only knew two people who I was out with but still got speaking to most of them when they were drunk and it was fine. There was also another non-drinker with us who is in the same situation as me...doesnt need drink to enjoy herself, so we had a good non-drunk, getting-to-know-each-other talk
    How non drinkers cope in social situations I dont know, if you arent pissed enough to join in drunks wreck your head

Its not that difficult. Its just the mindset of the prson varies, some can not drink and be fine in those situations, some always need a drink to feel more socially adept...just doesnt work that way for all people. And also, the non-drunk people know that the people are drunk so will be talking ***** so they dont pay much attention to it

• Registered Users Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I havent drank since January!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭BreadBoard

Faith wrote:
    I find now that hangovers are increasingly affecting me emotionally these days. When I've been drunk the night before, particularly with people I don't know too well, I spend the next day in a depression. I can't stop thinking about the stupid things that I said/did, and I really rag on myself. I'm sure I'm probably the only one who cares, but it really gets to me. As a result, I really don't think I'm going to get drunk very often anymore.

I also get paranoid that I was the only one who was really drunk, and therefore everyone else was laughing at me the whole time.
    Yeah that's why I've knocked drink on the head recently. I went to a fancy dress 30th the Saturday before Halloween and I was quite drunk and the next day I was annoyed at myself for being that way.

That was the last time I had a drink.