Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gross things that people do in public

• 22-10-2006 5:56pm
    Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Ok, we've all seen nose picking, emergency crotch adjustments, underwear relocation etc, but I came across a new one today.

Was in Eddie Rockets, and this lady was eating her chips. Instead of pouring some ketchup onto her plate, she was dipping it into the top of the bottle!

Maybe she's really thrify, and didn't want to "waste" whatever was poured out onto the plate, but she was even double dipping (dipping, biting chip in half, and dipping again).

Not exactly stomach wretching, but gross enough. Anyone else come across this eccentricity?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

MarkR wrote:
    Ok, we've all seen nose picking, emergency crotch adjustments, underwear relocation etc, but I came across a new one today.

Theres nothing wrong with this. Thats why it's an emergency!

Ones genitals gets tangled, and one must readjust them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

And there's nothing wrong with underwear relocation either! Boxers twisting every which way makes me want to burn things. I find a secluded place/toilet to do it though.
    Except for one time in New York, just got off the subway and was on the platform. The train took off, and the platform was empty save for the opposite side. So I stealthily stepped behind a pillar to hide me from the opposite sides' view and began the relocation. Half way through, another train arrives. EVERYONE on the train saw. I'm sure that brightened their day. That or the figured there was just one more perv in their city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Men who walk around or stand at bus stops, etc, with their hand down the front of their trousers - not a quick adjustment, I can understand the necessity behind that - just grabbing a handful in full view of the rest of the world .:eek:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

burping and farting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

You're in the pub and are unfortunate enough to be sitting facing the gents and then to make matters worse, every second "gent" that emerges is doing up his fly right in you line of vision.

Please lads, do it in the gents... and wash your bloody hands while you're at it!

Peteee wrote:
    Theres nothing wrong with this. Thats why it's an emergency!

Ones genitals gets tangled, and one must readjust them.

Or when the button on the front of your boxers opens and you dangle slightly.

Awkward isn't the word for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

Gross things that people do in public
    Yore Ma.

*runs away*

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Breastfeeding.

/Runs Away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

MarkR wrote:

Was in Eddie Rockets, and this lady was eating her chips. Instead of pouring some ketchup onto her plate, she was dipping it into the top of the bottle!

Maybe she's really thrify, and didn't want to "waste" whatever was poured out onto the plate, but she was even double dipping (dipping, biting chip in half, and dipping again).

Not exactly stomach wretching, but gross enough. Anyone else come across this eccentricity?

I saw a kid drink milk from a jug in a cafe by sticking his tongue in it. i pity whoever had to use that milk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Running away.

/stays put

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

People who go to the W/C and don't wash their hands after, then dip their hands into the popcorn basket that we share at a bar/pub. Yuk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

what i hate is p**cks who dont wash theyre hands in the bog when someone else is there,its like come on dude,this is not exceptable,people notice, can understand them being lazy if noone else around* but to take a walk when someone else is there.....have you NO SHAME!

*this does not mean that i dont wah my hands when theres noone else around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Spitting. Was a the bus stop this morning and one guy was constantly doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

What is it with all those little knackers and walking around with their hands down the fronts of their tracksuit bottoms ??? I've seen guys in their late teens doing this :eek:

Is it some sort of fashion statement that I missed out on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

KTRIC wrote:
    What is it with all those little knackers and walking around with their hands down the fronts of their tracksuit bottoms ??? I've seen guys in their late teens doing this :eek:

Just keeping their hands warm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

xebec wrote:

In the summer ? whilst playing with their genitallia ?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

xebec wrote:
    keeping themselves infested with STDs maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Men who put their finger over one nostril and force snot out of the other one. Disgusting.

Was getting off the bus in college about 2 years ago and saw one guy do it but there was a bit of a breeze and the fool managed to get it all over himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Men who put their finger over one nostril and force snot out of the other one. Disgusting.

Was getting off the bus in college about 2 years ago and saw one guy do it but there was a bit of a breeze and the fool managed to get it all over himself.

What a lovely image:D

I think one of the most disgusting things is seeing people hurling litter out of car windows. For fecks sake, put it on the floor til you get to a bin instead of just flinging it out on the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

gucci wrote:
    what i hate is p**cks who dont wash theyre hands in the bog when someone else is there,its like come on dude,this is not exceptable,people notice

Personally id prefer to wash my hands in the sink but if the bogs your thing then OK.
    I cant stand it when people cough up phlem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Spitting, it's disgusting, especially the ones who clear their throats and make it a big phlegmy one. Also the washing hands things. Especially when they walk out the toilet door just before you and you have to use the same handle their filthy hands have been on. I don't want my own willy germs on my hands hence the washing so someone else's is a milion times worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

yeah and minging birds, i hate when sickos do those in public, when ur trying to enjoy a drink on a saturday nite or wait for a taxi and some sicko is playin tonsil hockey with jabba the hutt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

gucci wrote:
    yeah and minging birds, i hate when sickos do those in public, when ur trying to enjoy a drink on a saturday nite or wait for a taxi and some sicko is playin tonsil hockey with jabba the hutt

those inconsiderate bastards

similar to the old smoking layout before the ban, maybe they should designate a large "non-fat" area in clubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

On a night out many a time I have witnessed some one puke all over a bank machine much to the disgust of everyone else.

But i'll have to agree with Peachy, snot rockets are just wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Fat chicks in belly tops *shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

Collie D wrote:
    Spitting, it's disgusting, especially the ones who clear their throats and make it a big phlegmy one. Also the washing hands things. Especially when they walk out the toilet door just before you and you have to use the same handle their filthy hands have been on. I don't want my own willy germs on my hands hence the washing so someone else's is a milion times worse.

when you have to spit, you have to spit. unless he spits on you then its different.

last time i had a chesty cough i had to spit every 5-10 minutes. what else can i do, swallow? that would cause me to puke all over the place, which is far worse.

Farting.....how can people find it disgusting, like your **** doesnt stink. not farting can lead to serious stomach pains and tbh id rather not be in pain. sorry if i offend your delicate senses.

Burping same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭dannyd20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭sonic juice

my friend eats his snout because someone told him it was good for you-it's disgusting and he does it all the time like it was a peanut or something

• How do you 'need to spit'? I've never spat in my life. If I have a chesty cough, I cough, covering my mouth with my hand, then I wash my hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

People who spit that phlegmy gooey spit on the street. Its completely disgusting.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

dannyd20 wrote:

Urgh! Now that has made me a bit ill. Wonder did they get any fingerprints. *puke*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭darkflower

a person who picks his teeth in public!:eek:

HavoK wrote:
    similar to the old smoking layout before the ban, maybe they should designate a large "non-fat" area in clubs

Roffle :D
    dannyd20 wrote:

Double Roffle :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Real Slim Shady

I think the worst thing is when you're on the way home from a night out or even during the night out and someone gets sick on the street in front of you. I know when you get sick you can't help it but i mean just because you can't handle your drink doesn't mean i should have to watch you throwing up all over the place. Some people do it in the worst places too like in doorways or all across a footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Feral Mutant

Article wrote:
    His foul play has caused a total of £60,000 worth of damage and cleaning bills
    How the hell did he do that? £60,000 worth of damage not counting the cleaning bills? Seriously, it boggles the mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

Shooting up in public is fairly disgusting. Throwing the needle on the ground afterwards just takes the biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭blahhh

ok farting it has to be done....but god damn it....I was walking to work the other night and this auld fella walking in front of me let off a huge one...I was disgusted....

I hate when people stick their finger in their ear and do that squishy thing....ewwww

I hate people who don't understand personal space. Like when your standing at a bus stop....plenty of room around the place and some eejit decides to basically lean against you....ugh

When people breath through their nose and there's a whistling sound, it pis.ses me off so much.....don't know why

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Sleepy wrote:
    Fat chicks in belly tops *shudder*

They would say to you, just more to love.:)

Spitting is disgusting, and people who don't wash their hands in a public loo while seeing you over there. Its like they walk out thinking they are too good to wash their hands!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

BO is one that does it for me. You usually find it on the bus or tram when it's Tokyo-style packed and those you can't move away from the offending person. By right, there should be a seperate quarintine area for me and others of the The Washed, with perhaps a rose-strewn pathh for me to walk to the exit.

Although, on Friday, I had the misfortune to smell the strongest pong ever as I walked back to work from lunch. Being downwind, I smelled this particular man from about 20 feet, although I couldn't believe it considering he was well dressed in an expensive suit.

Pongers come in all shapes and sizes.

blahhh wrote:
    When people breath through their nose and there's a whistling sound, it pis.ses me off so much.....don't know why

Nose whistling! It's brilliant. I can only do it when I've a half-cold thing, but I find it endlessly amusing.
    Course if it's just the way they breath normally it's horribly annoying, but when you try and make a tune out of it, it can be brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

How the hell did he do that? £60,000 worth of damage not counting the cleaning bills? Seriously, it boggles the mind.

10 pints of Guinness and a dodgy kebab/curry would easily do £2000 worth of damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

How about someone taking a shít in public in daylight in full view of everyone?

I actually saw this happening today - I was meeting a friend of mine who works for the National Lottery for lunch today. She had to go down to her car, so we go down and there, behind what I was told was a Salvation Army building, was a drug-addict scobie pulling their cacks down, in front of every passing by, taking a dump.

Sickening...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭zynaps

Yes!
    1. Not washing your hands after taking a slash - then going out and shaking people's hands etc. so they're almost shaking your mickey.
    2. People throwing cigarette butts on the ground, especially right in front of a bin. Complete scumbags.
    3. (ok, not theoretically a "gross" thing) Littering in general - especially by alcoholics who hang around on the lane I live on, throwing their cans all over the street, or knackers dropping their half a single of chips on the pavement without even looking around for a bin. Or drivers dumping an ashtray on the street. Scum!
    4. Pissing in public, especially right outside/opposite someone's house in daylight. I live in town and about 30 Mayo supporters in jerseys went for a piss across from my kitchen windows in the space of an hour one weekend recently... Big swagger on 'em too.
    4. scangers spitting - I highly doubt many of them have chest infections... they're just dirty bastards smoking so much crack that they can't control their nasal functions properly.
    Plus, they don't do it at all discreetly. I've had people spit on the ground directly in front of me as they pass, with the distinctively aggressive "haaaachhrrnnnn.... PHHTTP".
    5. Smoking - it's pretty disgusting, especially if the street is busy and people are walking ahead of you while smoking, and the wind is blowing their poisonous exhaust right into your face. Inconsiderate twats. This isn't much worse than shooting up in public, IMO.
    Especially annoying is when people hang around in a group of 30 on the pavement outside of a pub, smoking their lungs out and forcing pedestrians to walk on the road at personal risk, just so they can indulge in their lame habit.

I can understand farting, adjusting underwear and such (that's why I don't wear boxers - they're bloody stupid and uncomfortable no matter what you do!) - they're natural tendencies and needs, but things like the above display arrogance and contempt for other people when done in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭zynaps

OFDM wrote:
    How about someone taking a shít in public in daylight in full view of everyone?

I actually saw this happening today - I was meeting a friend of mine who works for the National Lottery for lunch today. She had to go down to her car, so we go down and there, behind what I was told was a Salvation Army building, was a drug-addict scobie pulling their cacks down, in front of every passing by, taking a dump.

Sickening...
    I once ended up in town overnight after a concert in Temple Bar (DJ Cam, pretty good) and fell asleep at the bus stop since it was about 3:30 am. I woke up at about 5:30 or so and while hanging around for buses to start in the freezing cold, some wrecked scanger started talking to me and followed me about for an hour or so, telling me his sob story about not being able to see his kid (because he was a total junkie or something, but I couldn't really follow his rambling style and I was pretty tired and hungover).
    When he crouched down outside the entrance to a building in Temple Bar to take a dump using a crisp packet off the ground as bog roll, I said a very hasty goodbye, raised one eyebrow and went on my way. :eek:

zynaps wrote:
    5. Smoking - it's pretty disgusting, especially if the street is busy and people are walking ahead of you while smoking, and the wind is blowing their poisonous exhaust right into your face. Inconsiderate twats.

Wtf? We can't control the fuppin wind. I'm sure moving to the left or right to avoid it would be far too awkward?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭DilbertPartII

sneezing as if alone in the world.:mad: doesn't even try to cover his big mouth to keep his germs to himself!:mad: :mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭tensecyclist

there is nothing more gross than the sight of a person who puts his hand on his pocket in his attempt to make scratching around his genitals a secret!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Demetrius touched on this...BO... there was a guy from India who didnt use any deodorant, stank up the place. One morning I got into the office early and left a spray can and a stick roll of deodorant with a note "Do us a favor".
    He got the message.

Also, people spitting out gum on the street. Then someone steps on it. Then it leaves a dirty black circle on the street. Disgusting. Next time, just throw it in a bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

smoking, smelly farts, sneezing or coughing withouth covering your mouth, smelly BO, nose picking, finger in ear with that noise.., hands down trousers .. just cause!, phlem spitting, littering