If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Best real name ever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

I blame the parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Was talking to a friend yesterday about these funny names. He was working with a woman called Philomena McGee. First name shortened to Phil. Why I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

Friends of mine named their son Justin. Their last name was Case. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Paddy_Irishman

Was telling my mate the other day about a guy I used to know called Pat McGee. He said oh ye well I know a fella called Ask Mcbollix :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Willie O'Dea

FF spokesman for drugs in the mid 90's

Know a guy called Rhodes, first name Lee. We call him "Balls"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,784 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Feckin Rath is the name of a fella from a place called Termonfeckin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭legspin

Isn't there a pub on the road somewhere on the N11 called 'Toss Byrnes'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭smarten31

I hang around with a mate called Myles Long

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭film_gonzo

There's a guy where I work called Seamus Hollywood. What a brilliant name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Worked with a guy called Hayden Stone........... How f*****g cool is THAT? Talk about a Steven Segal name!!!! Hayden Stone is out for justice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Snivilian

Know a bus driver called Ulick McGee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

excellent:
    i used to work in a medical microbiology hospital in Guildford and we used to record intersting names , and if applicable what they were in for lol
    we had a ronald macdonald
    an albert hall

We also had a pregnant woman called costa conception.. i kid you not!

I was invited to the wedding of a mt allcock to a ms ball :)
    the inviotation read
    The allcocks and ballls invite you too...... (they had a sense of humour)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭last_orders

there used to be a fr. priest in the dublin phonebook :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭scudster

petes wrote:
    Was talking to a friend yesterday about these funny names. He was working with a woman called Philomena McGee. First name shortened to Phil. Why I don't know.
    I can go one better, our local GAA ground is called Fr. Phil McGee park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭scudster

smarten31 wrote:
    I hang around with a mate called Myles Long
    I had a friend when i was a kid who was called Myles Monaghan...ya can imagine the slagging the poor guy got!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Dick Mountjoy, Republican in the US Senate at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Linoge

netwhizkid wrote:
    I know of a person called Annette Curtinm

I think I know her?! She calls herself Ann though?

The number 1 name to have if you want to get a box off a Garda??

James Bond.

Thing is, he's only about 27, thats well after the films started coming out:eek:

Some parents have ALOT to answer for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Had a mate a few years ago in college called Johny McCool

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

I have a friend of a friend called Colleen Moore.
    Now look at that name from the perspective of an Irish language speaker.

And the thing is, she's fat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭im_invisible

used to work with a guy called Adam Knight, cool name, i thought, sounds like knightriders ikkle brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Went to school with a knacker whose first name was Elvis, of course no one dared mock his name for fear of stabbing, theft, burning of house etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

This is honestly true - I know a woman called Gay Hoare. (She married a man called Hoare.) I don't know why she doesn't go by Gabrielle, or whatever her full first name is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I don't know why she doesn't go by Gabrielle, or whatever her full first name is.

Because she'd rather not be Gabby Hoare!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I've met a few Joseph Kings, and found it funny.

"You must be Joe King"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,151 ✭✭✭flanzer

Ya, i remember John Motson commentating at one game and he said
    "and Seamen comes rushing out....."

Then there was that player, Naybet I think, that lobbed Seaman from the half way line! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭fish fingers

i remember selling a tv to a lady called Rose Bush. An aussie lad called Billy Rockett. There is called Donogh Mc Donough livin in Galway,he used to live on Mc Donough avenue. I swear to god.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

I got a phone call n work from a chap called Mr. Harry Bent before. Poor ****er.