Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think it's strange when someone calls Ireland "Eire"?

• 18-09-2006 4:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Aoife-FM104

I don't think I've ever heard any Irish person refer to Ireland as Eire!

If you saw something written like "Guide to the streets of Eire" would be you thinking wtf or would you take no notice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

If you saw something written like "Guide to the streets of Eire" would be you thinking wtf or would you take no notice?
    I would think, "American tourists?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Can't say I'd lose any sleep over it really....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Well that's the name of the country(fada over the first E though:D)! But yeah most people don't call it that.

I'd think "nationalist"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

It doesn't bother me, I haven't heard too many people say that for a while now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

DaveMcG wrote:
    I'd think "nationalist"

That'd probably cross my mind too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I sometimes refer to it as Eire, but normally when i'm speaking to my friends who use a lot of irish in conversation themselves....i don't mean full Irish, just throwing in Irish words and stuff.

It odd, i'm not entirely sure why they do it to be honest. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Hmm, I use "Republic of Eire" as my location on a lot of other websites, because I think it'll probably confuse people. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Who're these crazy people that call it Eire? Crazies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Spike wrote:
    Who're these crazy people that call it Eire? Crazies.

Your country, have a look at the front of your Irish passport if you have one :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Jaaayzuz an' all.

Only heard one person call it Eire, and he was American. I corrected him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

I've actually started to say éire a bit lately just to amuse my foreign friends. I should really stop. I used to hate when other people did it. In general I think the whole playing up to being Irish thing is a tad sad. Yeah, that includes nationalism.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Jaysus if anyone is going to take exception to hearing eire, then you might as well give up speaking foreign english too! LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

ya i use ROI on msn to people i dont know just to confuse them to
    ive never used Eire though only really seen it in british newspapers but even that is rare
    most of the time now im referring to it as the Republic (though for a foriegner they wouldnt have a clue but everyone here would)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

I use it for anywhere that insists on asking for a zip code when ordering stuff online, i just throw in eire :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭havana

My OH does it all the time and it drives me mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I use it for anywhere that insists on asking for a zip code when ordering stuff online, i just throw in eire :)

Yep, a number of stuff I bought from England, whatever it was, the company would use Eire as the postal code.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

Eire is an Anglicisation. There is no word eire in truth. It's Eireann. Or Eirinn, depending on your grammar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

I wouldn't say Eire in English and would find it strange to hear it in English, just as I wouldn't say Ireland in Irish and would find it strange to hear it in Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

chamlis wrote:
    Eire is an Anglicisation. There is no word eire in truth. It's Eireann. Or Eirinn, depending on your grammar.
    The country is called Éire or Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

I use it a bit sometimes, just for variation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

No not strange at all, infact I quite like it.
    Eirn in an anglicisation of Eiru.
    In Irish mythology, Ériu (/ˈeːrʲu/), daughter of Ernmas of the Tuatha Dé Danann, was one of the eponymous patron goddesses of Ireland. Her husband was Mac Gréine (‘Sun's son’).[1] She was the mother of Bres by Prince Elatha of the Fomorians.

The English name for Ireland comes from the name Ériu and the Old Norse or Anglo-Saxon word land.
    Éire (pronounced [ˈeːrʲə]) is the Irish name of the island called Ireland in the English language.

The name Éire is the nominative form in modern Irish of the name for the goddess called Ériu in Old Irish, a mythical figure who helped the Gaels conquer Ireland as described in the Book of Invasions. Éire is still used in the Irish language today to refer to the island of Ireland as well as the Republic of Ireland - as well as the goddess. The dative form Éirinn is anglicized as Erin, which is occasionally used as a poetic name for Ireland in English, and has also become a common feminine name in English.

The name was given in Article 4 of the 1937 Irish constitut

I don't see it being any different then someone from germany or some one who speaks german saying Deutchland instead of germany.

Due to the fact we have two offical languages in the country we have two names Ireland and Éire for the country, the land.

I prefer Éire not out of daft silly nationalist/republicalian stuff but for the fact it is the name of one of the Goddess' of the land and even if you are not of that religous/spiritualt inclination it reminds us of the past and our heritgate.

Even Éiru and her people were invadors who came to live here and when the celts won the land from the Tuatha Dé Danann they coudl not have done it with out the help of Éiru and so they name the land after her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭the Shades

I use Éire sometimes to distinguish between the North and the South because it's easier. I don't think anything when I see it and as Irish is an official language of the country I'm quite pleased to see it used.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭angelbaby

i only ever heard tourists callin it that sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I use a different Irish word for the Post code bit 'na' :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Getting ye Eire up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭juliuspret

Andrew 83 wrote:
    I wouldn't say Eire in English and would find it strange to hear it in English, just as I wouldn't say Ireland in Irish and would find it strange to hear it in Irish.

Same here!

This has been covered to death already and when speaking in English then the English version is used (Ireland) but when speaking in Irish the Irish version is used (Éire)...simple!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

i dont think anything when i see it but id rarely use Éire if i was speaking english. I'm fluent in irish so seeing irish words about the place doesnt rely register to be honest. itd be the same if it was in english or irish it wouldnt matter, id still know what it ment without working it out so to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

I don't think I've ever heard any Irish person refer to Ireland as Eire!

at home nobody calls it Éire, but when i was working abroad in different places we (Irish) would always refer to home as Éire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

at home nobody calls it Éire, but when i was working abroad in different places we (Irish) would always refer to home as Éire.

Why not just refer to it as "Ireland" like normal people? Or did you think that the foreingers would think that you were cool being able to say the name of the place "as gaelige"?

Hill Billy wrote:
    Why not just refer to it as "Ireland" like normal people? Or did you think that the foreingers;) would think that you were cool being able to say the name of the place "as gaelige";)?

acutually we used also speak in Irish, and no it wasn't for the foreigners, but like normal people is was for the bit of pride in our culture and language.

that was only the people who could speak a little Gaeilge, some people have trouble with English...;) :D;)

Touché! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It's not nearly as strange as the people I've met in Belfast calling us the "Free State"

In fairness, there's an elderly lady living nearby who calls Ireland the Free State as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭englander

You have 'Eire' on all your coins - so you can't blame people for getting confused !

Make your own minds up then 'Johnny Foreigner' will have half a chance.

Could you not fit 'Republic of Ireland' on the coins ?

(Its like Irish people interchanging UK/Britain/England at will.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭JaysusMacfeck

When speaking English, you use 'Ireland'. The British media always used 'Eire' without the fada because they refused to refer to the sovereign state as 'Ireland'. You never hear them refer to Spain as 'España' do you?

englander wrote:
    You have 'Eire' on all your coins - so you can't blame people for getting confused !

Make your own minds up then 'Johnny Foreigner' will have half a chance.

O M G. are you for real.
    UK/Britain and England are different places, and have different borders with different countries. :rolleyes:
    Ireland and Éire are the same place in different languages. :rolleyes:

would be like Cymru and Wales or Alba and Scotland... but Christ not like Britain and UK............

jjjjjjjjjjeeeeeeeeeezzzzzzzzzzzzuuuuuuusssssssss.

englander wrote:

And the Spanish coins have España. What's your point?

Republic of Ireland is not the official name of the State. It's "Ireland", or in the first offical language of the country "Éire", hence "Éire" on the coins. I'm surprised you've been living here for so long and haven't even bothered to educate yourself.

And the Spanish coins have España. What's your point?

Republic of Ireland is not the official name of the State. It's "Ireland", or in the first offical language of the country "Éire", hence "Éire" on the coins. I'm surprised you've been living here for so long and haven't even bothered to educate yourself.

erm sorry but "Republic of Ireland" is the official name of the State.

Ireland or Éire is the official name of the state. Provide with with evidence that states otherwise.

The name of the State is Éire, or, in the English language, Ireland.
    2.—It is hereby declared that the description of the State shall be the Republic of Ireland.

Article 4

The name of the State is Éire, or, in the English language, Ireland.

http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/upload/publications/297.htm

Both names are correct and legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I go with the americans and use "I-err-land" :p

So Englander - when are we going to see/hear the BBC newsreaders talk about:
    Meh-HIC-o
    Deutschland
    Magyar
    Danmark
    Bharat
    Nippon
    Banladesh (note - they don't use the "g")
    Xianggang

I could go on...

I could also go on about Brits refering to this state as "Sothern Ireland" which entirely incorrect as it is a historical state in the United Kingdom.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southern_Ireland

Ireland or Éire is the official name of the state. Provide with with evidence that states otherwise.
    Thaedydal wrote:

Both names are correct and legal.

boys oh boys, i'm surprised ye would get caught out soooooo easily.
    sorry now, but Ireland or Éire was the official name when we were still in the Commonwealth and King George VI acted as the Irish head of state in international relations.

are ye saying we are still in the Commonwealth and the Queen still looks after our international relations...

but im sure ye can read all this here.
    http://www.answers.com/topic/republic-of-ireland-act
    http://experts.about.com/e/r/re/Republic_of_Ireland_Act.htm
    http://acts.oireachtas.ie/zza22y1948.1.html
    or
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA22Y1948.html
    "IN ACT TO REPEAL THE EXECUTIVE AUTHORITY (EXTERNAL RELATIONS) ACT, 1936, TO DECLARE THAT THE DESCRIPTION OF THE STATE SHALL BE THE REPUBLIC OF IRELAND, AND TO ENABLE THE PRESIDENT TO EXERCISE THE EXECUTIVE POWER OR ANY EXECUTIVE FUNCTION OF THE STATE IN OR IN CONNECTION WITH ITS EXTERNAL RELATIONS."

or here.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republic_of_Ireland_Act
    The Republic of Ireland Act was an enactment of Oireachtas Éireann passed in 1948, which came into force on April 18, 1949 and which declared that the official description of Ireland was to be the Republic of Ireland. It officially made Ireland a republic and marked its exit from the Commonwealth.
    [edit]

The Act

Between 1922 and 1937, the 26 county Irish state was technically a British dominion known as the Irish Free State. In 1937, a new constitution was introduced which renamed the twenty-six county state ' Éire, or in the English language, Ireland '. (Article 4 of the constitution, Bunreacht na hÉireann.) The official description of the state is Republic of Ireland, according to The Republic of Ireland Act, 1948, which came into effect on Easter Monday, April 18, 1949. A change of name would have necessitated a constitutional amendment and referendum. The Act itself is quite short, running to just 5 brief sections and is therefore easy to quote in full.

Number 22 of 1948

The Republic of Ireland Act, 1948

An act to repeal the Executive Authority (external relations) Act 1936, to declare that the description of the state shall be the Republic of Ireland, and to enable the President to exercise the executive power of any executive function of the state in or in connection with its external relations. (21 December 1948)

Be it enacted by the Oireachtas as follows:-

1. The Executive Authority (External Relations) Act 1936 (No.58 of 1936) is hereby repealed.
    2. It is hereby declared that the description of the State shall be the Republic of Ireland.
    3. The President, on the authority and on the advice of the Government, may exercise the executive power or any executive function of the State in or in connection with its external relations.
    4. This Act shall come into operation on such day as the Government may by order appoint.
    5. This Act may be cited as The Republic of Ireland Act, 1948.

This ended the difficult period of transition from British rule to the Republic. The Irish Civil War had been fought in 1922–23 was over conflicting definitions of Irish independence and the extent to which it was a reality under the Anglo-Irish Treaty. The Oath of Allegiance, the theoretical cause of the split, was a symbol of the wider debate.

next lamb please.

I am not a boy.
    IT changed the description not the name of the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I could also go on about Brits refering to this state as "Sothern Ireland" which entirely incorrect as it is a historical state in the United Kingdom.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southern_Ireland

I've come across this "Southern Ireland" thing a lot in Cambridge but not London. When I worked in London, most people said "Ireland" except in the Post Office where they would say "Éire" or "Republic of Ireland".

I've used two post offices in Cambridge and in both when I've asked to send something to the Republic of Ireland they have looked blankly at me and asked "Do you mean Southern Ireland?"

I usually reply 'Yes, the Republic of Ireland' but this still confuses them and they insist on calling it Southern Ireland, only when I agree that I want to send my package to "Southern Ireland" (wherever that is) do they issue my stamps! :mad:

So in summary, the only people I've hear refer to our country as Éire are postmasters in London. Strange world :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

And where does any of that change the name of the state?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭englander

Ha ha. You guys make me laugh !

\m/_(>_<)_\m/ - I like your sense of humour. Although you laboured it a bit. Some people might take you seriously.

So why dont you have 'Ireland' or 'Republic of Ireland' on the coins instead of 'Eire' ?

Republic of Ireland's first most common spoken/written language is English, not Irish (followed I believe by mandarin/chinese). So why do you have it written in Irish ?

I usually refer to Ireland as Ireland or the Republic of Ireland.

However I have been known to say Southern Ireland when I have been talking about Ireland and I will be asked if I mean Northern Ireland. Then I would say no, I'm talking about Southern Ireland (as an opposite to Northern Ireland). Its almost a follow on thing in a discussion.

I have also heard it being called Southern Ireland by your own countrymen and women (although not very often). Just yesterday I heard it on Irish tv. (TV3 I think).

A lot of my fellow countrymen and women would be confused as to what to call the the Republic of Ireland and would be keen not to offend. Some would therefore go with Eire and others for Republic of Ireland and some with just Ireland. Its not to offend, we are not all out to get you and offend at any opportunity.

As I say its very similar to Irish people referring to (and slagging off ) 'Da Brits' when they clearly mean English people. I'm sure there isn't the same hatred for Scots/Welsh as there is for 'Da Brits' (ie the English) ?

I find the term 'Brits' to be derogatory when used by Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

englander wrote:
    As I say its very similar to Irish people referring to (and slagging off ) 'Da Brits' when they clearly mean English people. I'm sure there isn't the same hatred for Scots/Welsh as there is for 'Da Brits' (ie the English) ?

I find the term 'Brits' to be derogatory when used by Irish people.

I'm sure your passport states you are a citizen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, therefore you are British first, English second, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I use 'Ireland' when speaking English and 'Éire' when speaking Irish. Don't care who uses what in which context since as far as i can see they both appear to be correct.