Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai right wrong? OMG another thread

• 15-09-2006 10:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭

Tonight i seen something at a Pats game that escalated into a near full on people vs the gardai riot in Inchicore.

From what i seen this is what happened a group of Pats fans in the shed were chanting etc all locked on possibly Dutch Gold guessing that as they were about 12 to 16 with a few older fans who had whiskey in bottles of coke.

Anyway one guy (about 17 5,11) takes offence to something a kid (about 13 4,00) says and smacks him with a bottle. Everyone runs (someone said he whipped out a knife i didnt see this so no cooment) the gardai being right there rush in and grab the big guy forcing him against the railings obviously his mates about 100 crowd around having watched him just smack a kid. So big guy feels hard and smacks one of the coppers (really bad move) they whip out batons and start whacking him (proper order little **** deserved it) and his mates and a few older people who didnt see the bottle incident feel hard done by. So some kids rush in at garda and they start smacking (proper order again ***** deserved it )

I am no more than 40 feet away from this **** and as the big guy is led away in cuffs (again **** deserved it) all the other little **** are trying to start more **** and rushing towards maybe 4 gardai , 4 more came and riot police called outside and waiting.

Some kid gets a smack of a baton in the ensuing melee more than likley accidental and his mammy is called Cha Ching sounds in the distance, what i wondered was why was the little kid in the gardas face? Why was he there most young kids legged it when this kicked off, but him and his hard mates tried to stand up to the gardai for getting rid of a near 6 foot guy who smacked a ****ing kid.

Hard to explain but the gardai were trying to arrest a scumbag and 100 other idiots tried to stop it, did they all deserve a baton as in effect they were condoning the initial incident and just trying to be hard by standing up to gardai?

The amount of wrong reports i heard like "OMG gardai battering people for no reason " there was a ****ing reason they deserved it was unreal.

Alll the while Shels were raping us and these ***** cba watching as they were the for one reason and it wasnt the match.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Scum are scum are scum! Disgraceful sh*t, hitting a Guard, and they deserved a beating. Baton charge the lot of them.

No doubt a load of the Gardaí will end up defending themselves in court over this....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭EOA_Mushy

The original kid knew what was coming to him. The older scumbag, and i say this for any one -> if hit, hit back.

Strongest survive.

In scumbag land, who cares who survives. A loss among them is a joy for the rest of us.
    DaveMcG wrote:
    Scum are scum are scum! Disgraceful sh*t, hitting a Guard, and they deserved a beating. Baton charge the lot of them.

As for this rubbish. What if it was you?

My point is that the only people who had no right to raise a hand were the garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

fair f u c k s to the guards they deserve every penny they earn and more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

i wanna see video surveillance of the gardai smacking the kid ! il pay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

DaveMcG wrote:

No doubt a load of the Gardaí will end up defending themselves in court over this....

Probably so 'excessive force' or some rubbish like that. Fair play to the Gardai.

EOA_Mushy wrote:

My point is that the only people who had no right to raise a hand were the garda.

I wouldn't have smacked someone with a bottle. If I did, then I'd expect to be arrested.

The Gardaí are being raped by bleeding hearts like you (appear to be)! The Gardaí are the only ones who should have the right to raise a hand.

If you hit a Garda, you deserve a beating.

No more softly softly. I'm fed up with these scumbags getting away with 11, 12, 13 arrests. Crack some skulls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

DaveMcG wrote:

So true, shocking to see grown men actually defending the kids , they got what they deserved simple as that.

Have to wonder why people feel no matter what the gardai are wrong.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

the lot should be banned for life at any Irish football match. idiots. it's a pity the gardai don't have guns, as if they'd whip out shotgun, you'd soon see the crowds clear.

battons aren't as nasty, it's just like a stick and a crowd of 3 or 4 could easily take out 1 man with a stick. However, nobody would risk going near a man with a loaded gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Endymion

EOA_Mushy wrote:

Are you sure about that, So one scumbag has the right to attack another wannabe scumbag? But the gards are ment to excert no force when arresting someone, or defending themselves?

Reality check please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

smemon wrote:
    the lot should be banned for life at any Irish football match. idiots. it's a pity the gardai don't have guns, as if they'd whip out shotgun, you'd soon see the crowds clear.

battons aren't as nasty, it's just like a stick and a crowd of 3 or 4 could easily take out 1 man with a stick. However, nobody would risk going near a man with a loaded gun.

ffs its only a brawl at a football match. There's no need for anyone to get shot whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Baton charges ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

not often i say it but well done to the Gardaí

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭monkey tennis

smemon wrote:
    it's a pity the gardai don't have guns, as if they'd whip out shotgun, you'd soon see the crowds clear.

Police are told not to draw a gun unless they plan to use it, and with good reason. Pulling a shotgun on a crowd of teenagers would probably get them in more trouble than a couple of smacks with a baton.

Plus, if the crowd jump on the Garda's back and he loses the gun, then what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

EOA_Mushy wrote:
    emmmm.....someone hit the garda. if they can't hit back then they're just guys in funny blue uniforms
    DaveMcG wrote:
    I wouldn't have smacked someone with a bottle. If I did, then I'd expect to be arrested.

The Gardaí are being raped by bleeding hearts like you (appear to be)! The Gardaí are the only ones who should have the right to raise a hand.

No more softly softly. I'm fed up with these scumbags getting away with 11, 12, 13 arrests. Crack some skulls.

exactly. i think they should make an "irretrievable scumbag" law. on somebody's 20th arrest for petty scumbaggery (i chose 20 arbitrarily), they should be sent to a secure home. not quite a prison, but they should be kept away from society* until they can prove that they will stop being a leech on good people and tax payers money. for most of them, this will be the rest of their lives because they're "irretrievable scumbags".

the semi-decent ones will eventually be let go and the garda punchers among them will never get a chance to do it again. everybody's happy

* the only contact they should have with society is the work they're made do to make it up to people for being a scumbag for years

A bit OT, but does that 3-Strike system they have in the US work over here?
    Never heard of it here so I'm assuming it doesn't. Could be a decent thing to introduce though. Assuming the prison issues are worked out first of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

The simple fact is the place is full of scumbags and in court its the garda that have to defend themselves, not the scumbags. The country is backwards, its a legal minefield for the garda in regards to loosing a job if they do something wrong, but for scumbags they just spend a nite in the cells. Fair play to the garda at that game, someone hit a kid with a bottle, and the garda went to help the kid, and anyone who says they are in the wrong should consider if it was them in place of the child or one of their children that was hit, if the garda did nothing you would still moan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

exactly. i think they should make an "irretrievable scumbag" law. on somebody's 20th arrest for petty scumbaggery (i chose 20 arbitrarily), they should be sent to a secure home. not quite a prison, but they should be kept away from society* until they can prove that they will stop being a leech on good people and tax payers money. for most of them, this will be the rest of their lives because they're "irretrievable scumbags".

For serious and repeated acts of scumbaggery, I've always favoured the idea of an island with high impenitrable walls. Not a facility that would cost money to run, the only investment would be in measures to ensure the scumbags cannot leave there. Fly scumbags out there by helicopter, and drop them in (don't land there) and after that forget about them. Let them murder, rape, eat each other, they are scumbags after all.

Duckjob wrote:
    For serious and repeated acts of scumbaggery, I've always favoured the idea of an island with high impenitrable walls. Not a facility that would cost money to run, the only investment would be in measures to ensure the scumbags cannot leave there. Fly scumbags out there by helicopter, and drop them in (don't land there) and after that forget about them. Let them murder, rape, eat each other, they are scumbags after all.
    i think someone had a similar idea before. about 60 years ago...

there has to be some chance of redemption
    Spike wrote:
    A bit OT, but does that 3-Strike system they have in the US work over here?
    Never heard of it here so I'm assuming it doesn't. Could be a decent thing to introduce though. Assuming the prison issues are worked out first of course.
    three's a bit excessive. they'd have to show that they're irredeemable before i'd give them a life sentence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

i think someone had a similar idea before. about 60 years ago...

there has to be some chance of redemption

I'm talking about serious acts of scumbaggery. If somebody rapes and batters to death an 80 yr old women, then i'm not going to lose sleep over whether they will at some point repent or not. I'd sooner have them locked away from decent society where they can rot in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Its a disgrace i tell ya...

Postcount++

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Wez

I'm fed up with the gaurds.. I know there are a load of good guys out there, but from personal experience, they're useless!

I was at a party in the ivory I think it was, out in Dalkey, where you'd expect things to be civilised! We were in the club already (our friend was having his bday party there) and we went out to get smokes, came back and we were refused. We told him we were in already, and he said it'd because they're closing, so we were kinda alright with that. An older crowd come along, and they're straight in, no questions asked, so we obviously asked why we weren't allowed in (our friends were inside, so we wanted to get them out to go home, live miles away, so we needed to split a taxi) and he gave some bull****. So we asked if even one of us could just run in and grab our mates, then just leave. We were told to fook off etc, so I obviously stood my ground verbally. There was a gate up this alley beside the place, and 2 of us went up to shout through to our mates that we're leaving. So we walked around, and just at the entrance of the alley, the bouncer hopped the fence, and started pushing us back, telling us it's private property (even though we'd been there already that night and they never said a word) so I was like 'ok, we're leaving. Then he starts pushing me back and we told him to stop, there's no need. So he turned and grabbed my friend by the throat, not holding him but squeezing his glands, so he couldn't breath! So I jumped on him grabbed him by the neck (arm wrapped around his neck, I have some dignity in a fight..) then 6 guys run out from the club, and hop on me, start choking me and hitting me, couple punches were thrown etc. So I eventually got the message across that if he let go of my friend, I'd let go of the other one I grabbed, and everything kinda broke up.

So we called the gaurds and reported it. We waited outside the place for an hour and a half before it closed, and eventually the gaurds came. It's interesting to note that this was the second time they'd been called to that place that night. They'd already had a fight with some guys before about half an hour before us, which resulted in one of them getting a glass smashed in his face (I'm normally not for that kinda stuff, but these scumbag 'bouncers' actually deserved it). So I called the garda car over and explained the situation (kinda just spat out the main characters and plot). They told me to stand to the side, while they spoke to the bouncer, which I did. He blabbered to them for a few minuts before they drove over to me and started telling me to go home. I told them I wanted to file a report, one of them said I did when I rang them, but I said that's not at all formal, and asked advice for what to do next to follow this up. They said nothing and told me to just go home. I then said 'I'm asking your advice, you don't even have to do it now, I can do it in the morning, but should I go to my local garda station and follow this up there?' with that the ban garda jumps out of the car and starts threatening to arrest me and my friends if we don't leave this second. So I asked one more time now that we were leaving, and they then attempted to call a riot van (there was a number of us, only 2 in the actual fight) so with that I had to just leave while the bouncer had a big smirk on his face.

I was told the cheif 'paddy walsh' was in the back of the car and that if I was to follow it up, he's a name to mention.

After this ordeal, I have completely lost faith in the garda system. We were the ones who called them out, yet they tried to arrest us? Then when I asked how to follow it up, they wouldn't give me advice. It's obvious there's a connection with the club and the local gardai (was told this by a friend of the family who lives in the area) and I think it's a joke that stuff like that happens and they get away with it. The next day I was wrecked, my arm was almost dislocated, got smacked in the face, legs and ribs and there was nothing I could do about it, because nobody would give me any details to use.

So after that I'm nearly of the oppinion that I wish the gaurd who stood up for that kid deserved what he got. It's hard to tell who's worse..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

(again **** deserved it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Wez wrote:
    So I called the garda car over and explained the situation (kinda just spat out the main characters and plot).

So after that I'm nearly of the oppinion that I wish the gaurd who stood up for that kid deserved what he got. It's hard to tell who's worse..

synopsis
    Drunk kid tells garda blah blah
    sober bouncer tells garda blah blah
    Drunk kid posts immature comment on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

synopsis

To make matters worse, he wasnt even at the match.

Anyhoo, all who recieved a smack seemed like they deserved it, bar the gards obviously. Not enough people get smacked about by the gards these days.

They should have the defense forces at any match, which might cause some sort of trouble.

And for those that say it'd be a waste of time; just remember that they do escort bank deliveries.

Seriously, if theres some guy trained in using semi-automatic weapons standing there, I sure as hell wouldn't cause any trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Wez wrote:
    I'm fed up with the gaurds.. I know there are a load of good guys out there, but from personal experience, they're useless!

I was at a party in the ivory I think it was, out in Dalkey
    I was told the cheif 'paddy walsh' was in the back of the car and that if I was to follow it up, he's a name to mention.

go to the station and make a complaint,re pats, gaurds only seem to know how to make a situation worse not simmer it down???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I'd love to know, is there any psychological profiling done when people apply to join the Guards?

Because there are a *LOT* of people in the force who are just there to throw their weight around and act like they're judge, jury and executioner.

Also, is it actually possible to be thrown out of the Guards? What about that guy who beat the crap out of some Socialist Workers Party guy (i can't stand them but that's not right) on May Day a few years ago, he never got into trouble and now he's a fscking DETECTIVE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

DaveMcG wrote:

No you don't. You should be immediately restrained and arrested for assault, and they should use the minimum amount of force necessary to get you to comply.

The Guards haven't a clue how to deal with people getting violent with them. If they were properly trained in say, some martial arts, they'd be able to disarm and restrain someone with minimum risk to themselves and the person they're arresting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

eth0_ wrote:
    No you don't. You should be immediately restrained and arrested for assault, and they should use the minimum amount of force necessary to get you to comply..

Why? Why does a scumbag like that deserve restraint? All that will happen is that he'll hit the gard, get arrested, go up in front of the judge, get an €80 poorbox fine and be happy as larry at the next game. At least if he gets a few smacks he might think again next time, knowing the gards mates are going to wade in on him.

Anyway, how can the gards be wrong here, did any of you actually read what Kdjac wrote or did you skip to the sentance wher the gard hit the guy?

I'll summarise: A man hit a kid with a bottle (a bottle folks! he didnt give him a clip round the ear) a nearby gard, witnessing a criminal act, restrains the guy, the gard then gets a dig for his trouble and then the gards use batons to stop further attcaks from "hard men" who like to outnumber a gard with a glorified stick. **** them I say, they deserved half an hour in the back of a van with 4 or 5 gards.

If someone hits you, you will hit back, minimum force or not, you will do your best to restrain them, but if they are kicking like a mad thing and if they are drunk then you will have no choice but to use more force. Remember you are out having a good time when this happens and the garda in question may have been out all day and witnessed god knows what at accidents etc. Granted alot of gob*****s get into the garda, but in all honesty when it comes to pub situations and fights there can be nothing much done from their end if its one person drunk/or been drinking and another person is sober. If someone drunk came up to you and accused a sober person of doing something and the sober person denied it, who would you believe.

While alot of you may hate the garda and some it goes further, ie. they will go out of their way to start trouble. You have to remember the garda, fireservice, paramedics etc are doing their jobs day in and day out helping people but you will get society giving them **** on a daily basis, attacking them, taking them to court, generally giving them abuse. Before any of you out there who dislike them start giving them abuse, step back and think could you do the job and think about how you generalise them..because in the end of the day there are more scumbags and general gob*****s out there on the street than there are garda scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Wez

synopsis

Well for beginners I'd had two cans (an hour beforehand) and a pint inside (half an hour beforehand) so I wasn't at all tipsy hence why I remember every bit of it. The gaurds should be properly trained to deal with those kinda situations anyway, it's their job at the end of the day, you're not told how to say do a company's accounts without them making sure you're a proper trained accountant, why should they be out on the streets without proper training?

They didn't have to be properly trained to realise if they tell me to go to the garda station in the morning and realise it'd send me packing. I absolutely detest the gaurds after seeing how they handle situations lately, I'd rather grab a hammer and take the law into my own hands than call those fools..

But by having that attidude of taking the law into your own hands are you not just making the problem worse? Instead of taking it as a bad experience and getting on with it realising that there are good garda out there, you are going to be one of the people who causes the trouble in the first place. Just making an observation from your statement

i saw an incident last night where a gard behaved fantastically. there were about ten people in a fight, the main people being some girls pulling each others hair and who were probably boyfriends at each other too. right scum the lot of them.

the one gard that was there jumped right into the centre of it all and pulled them apart but they kept going back together and there were maybe four separate groups fighting.

one guy kept coming right up behind the gard. at first he walked him away and said something to him, generally just "go away". but the guy kept coming right up behind the gard so he held him against the wall by the throat, not hard or anything, and told him to **** off. he was constantly calling for backup too.

then the gard went back trying to sort everyone out. the other guy ran up behind him, punched him in the head and legged it. the gard ran after him, grabbed him and hit his legs with his baton until he fell to the ground. then another gard arrived and held the guy down.

he came over to me and my mate holding his head and we stood around him. more gards arrivedand starting screaming at me and my mate but the gard told them to leave us alone :)

i think he showed amazing bravery for jumping into that and restraint in not beating the guys head in when he caught him.

i have the whole thing on video but i won't post it yet because i'm being called in to give a statement about it in the next few days

POST IT POST IT POST IT POST IT!

I've started to find "When cops retaliate" type things brilliant. Nothin' like seeing a scumbag get his come-uppins.

Spike wrote:
    POST IT POST IT POST IT POST IT!

I've started to find "When cops retaliate" type things brilliant. Nothin' like seeing a scumbag get his come-uppins.
    yeah, it was great. you can hear me in the background cheering the gard on :D i'm not going to post it until i give the statement though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Stekelly wrote:
    Why? Why does a scumbag like that deserve restraint?

because someday that scumbag could be you?

well i'm not a scumbag so it would never be me. a gard would never find it necessary to physically restrain me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

EOA_Mushy wrote:
    The original kid knew what was coming to him. The older scumbag, and i say this for any one -> if hit, hit back.

Strongest survive.

In scumbag land, who cares who survives. A loss among them is a joy for the rest of us.

Get a GRIP!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

you pick a fight with a member of the public and expect people that are there to uphold the law not to get involvled?? come on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Ao

Wez wrote:
    .... I absolutely detest the gaurds after seeing how they handle situations lately, I'd rather grab a hammer and take the law into my own hands than call those fools..

Sutiations would indicate youve seen a couple of incidents with the gardai yet you only outline one - why , what other situations have you seen ?
    So you'd rather grab a hammer and take the law into your own hands and you think the guards are fools ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Wouldnt have happened in Croke Park....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,125 ✭✭✭kirving

I've been to a good few Matches, and the Gards have always done a good job controlling the crowds. No Complaints about them at all.