Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What odd things do you do in your sleep?

• 31-08-2006 7:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭

I was talking with some friends a while ago about this, and it seems like a lot of people do odd things in their sleep.

Me for example, I moan. (not complain, I mean actually moan like a zombie). As far as I can tell, on some occasions anyway, this is because for whatever reason, I sometimes dream that I am singing. But in the real world, it just comes out as a kind of "mmmmwwwaaaaaahhhhhh" noise thats surprisingly loud; particularly at 3am on a Sunday morning.

When I was a kid, I shared a room with my eldest brother, and his thing was to bang his head off the wall in his sleep. My parents used to lie in bed listening to a combination of me wailing with the odd thump of a skull hitting the wall. :)

An ex g/f of mine also didnt seem to be able to control her farts while asleep and, no exaggeratin, used to let about 100 a night. I found it funny, but she never let me make jokes about it. (for some reason)

So have people ever told you that you do unusual things in your sleep?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Apparently I used to sing Christmas carols in my sleep when I was younger - regardless of the time of year.

Sometimes, when my dad used to wake me up for school, I'd have a full blown conversation with him. My eyes would be open, I'll be chatting away but I will have absolutely no recollection of the conversation when I get up.
    My boyfriend does it too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,541 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I end up on the floor sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

as a kid i used to have horrible nightmares, about what you ask? I have no freaken idea. But for years id be shouting and screaming in my sleep basically going nuts. Id even be walking around. Drove the parents and brother absolutly mad. Dont know how they put up with it.

Looking back i find it hillarious, as does everyone else but at the time people must have thought i was crazy.

Apparently i would suddenly go really quiet and my eyes would fixate on something that wasnt there and then go into a mad panic. Really freaky stuff.

Thinking back i feel sorry for the neighbours. The walls were really thin and this happened 3-4 times a week for about 2 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭Barbieliveshere

In my sleep i shout random words for example a few weeks back i woke up to my friends loking at me and giving out that i had been screaming bus in my sleep for the past half hour! i also sleepwalk occasionally! but only around my house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

lol. thats funny. I can just imagine being in histerics looking at someone sleeping and shouting Bus, Buuuuuuus, bus bus bus. lol:D :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

mostly i mutter, depending on how knackered i am. i also toss and turn and kick the crap out of who ever is misfortunate enough to share a bed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭esskay

I reckon my wife is the queen of doing weird stuff in her sleep.

1. Got up and wrote a list of stuff to buy for her family for Xmas, items included leather bound book, kamscardent??? and for her brother a book called "They know how to kill someone"
    2. When we used to smoke, she woke me up and spent 2 mins trying to pass me a cigarette that didn't exist.
    3. Regularly wakes up and slaps me cause she thinks I am someone from her dreams that was chasing her, or asks me who I am. Growled at me once too :rolleyes: thought she was a dog trying to chase away an intruder.
    4. Does the usual stuff like talking and muttering and asking me questions about the most weird stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

The last few night I have woken up and I have turned my quilt 360 degrees so that the enterence is facing me. I can't figure out why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 lizzy_beth

Oh I used to do the banging my head off the wall thing too! Used to drive my flatmate mad- shed be freaking out thinking she was gonna find me splattered all over the wall in the morning! Never hurt though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I always seem to wake up with something between my legs.

Yes,ha ha.

No,I mean,in my sleep I seem to stuff the covers betwwen my legs and clutch onto them like I'm hugging them,or have jumped into someone's arms and wrapped my legs around them.

Sometimes I do it with pillows too. It's weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Plenty of talking I've been told, kicking around on occasion also. :)

My boyfriend slapped me in his sleep a few times.

Might have been faking though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

Save people from zombies, and avoid becomin one, same with vampires and werewolves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

My one happened again last night as well. Its starting to get a bit weird

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Apparently i would suddenly go really quiet and my eyes would fixate on something that wasnt there and then go into a mad panic. Really freaky stuff.

I apparently did that too as a kid. Frightened the life out of my poor mother!

These days, I often wake up completely cocooned in the duvet, or clinging on to it with both arms and legs as if I'm trying to climb up something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

LadyJ wrote:
    My boyfriend slapped me in his sleep a few times.

Might have been faking though!

LMFAO, I tend to roll over on top of her (I'm 6'5" and she's 5'9" :p)or my arms start swinging and she get's a clatter :p

Kenny 5 wrote:
    LMFAO, I tend to roll over on top of her (I'm 6'5" and she's 5'9" :p)or my arms start swinging and she get's a clatter :p

It's bloody sore! No joke!

I'm starting to think he subconsciously hates me! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

I think Ive been scratching myself. I wake up with marks on my arms.

Got a few elbows to the side of the head last night...

LadyJ wrote:
    It's bloody sore! No joke!

I'm starting to think he subconsciously hates me! :eek:

Yeah that's what my gf said too, she nearly went into the other room to sleep..........I was like sweet, my plan worked :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Crazy_marble

I've been told I talk about Saddam Hussein every so often in my sleep...hmmmm...

My boyfriend has been known to try and "put me out" when he was asleep (as I was apparently on fire) and every so often my mother would wake up screaming and push my father out of the bed because a giant mutant vine was coming out of the wall on his side of the bed to eat him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Apart from the usual talking, giving out and stuff, my gf hit me right on my chest a few times, and it was bloody sore - never thought she was that strong to be honest - freaky!! :eek:

Also some nights I wake up and realise she's dreaming and I keep telling her to stop dreaming and she wakes up and wonders how did I get into her dream and asks her to stop dreaming! Because I know whats coming next ffs - a slap or something!!

I get back at her with a few kicks now and then - just to keep the balance! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 gravitylovesme

appartenly i hold my breath in my sleep!

thats probably the most unusual one i have
    i also at various points in my life
    sleepwalked, including going for a pee... in the toilet fortunately.
    banged my head of the wall repeatedly
    sang
    had conversations with people...in irish

i cant think of anymore.

Ha,was falling asleep last night and I heard someone laughing....Turns out it was me!

Told the boyf about it this moring and he says I always laugh in my sleep. Weird...Funny though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭angelbaby

i have full blown conversations in my sleep. Used to share a room with my brother when I was young and in the middle of the night id wake him up and start talking to him about absolutely anything.
    My friends always take the p*ss out of me for it though because they can ask me anything when im asleep and il give them an honest answer to everything. Many secrets have slipped out because it!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭madhitchhiker

i don't really know if it's true but my partner would always make a joke abut my chewing when asleep.:mad: and i would counter him with the way he'd grit his teeth!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 amptypockets

i talk all the time in my sleep. ive done it my whole life, my mothers side of the family are notorious for it too.
    also my brother and i used to be really bad sleepwalkers when we were kids- my bro once was "flying" around his room, climbed on top of a wardrobe and jumped off. frightened the life out of my parents but luckily wasnt hurt too badly thank god!
    i havent sleepwalked for years but apparently the night before last i was looking in the drawers beside the bed for "the box" and i was doing it for ages, my boyfriend is a really light sleeper god love him and he had to drag me back into the bed once he figured out it was one of my nighttime escapades.
    anyone have any ideas why people talk in their sleep? i seem to be getting worse (louder!) and more intense over the last few weeks and have been getting more nightmares lately too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Great thread.

When I was younger I wandered downstairs and poured myself a glass of milk. The first thing my sister and her friends noticed was that when the glass was full I just stood there staring at it continuing to poor as it covered the counter.

anyone have any ideas why people talk in their sleep? i seem to be getting worse (louder!) and more intense over the last few weeks and have been getting more nightmares lately too.

Anything on your mind that you've been bottling up?

Sometimes people talk in their sleep because they've failed to express themselves enough during the day and need an outlet.

LadyJ wrote:
    Anything on your mind that you've been bottling up?

Sometimes people talk in their sleep because they've failed to express themselves enough during the day and need an outlet.

well im going to thailand next week for two months with my boyfriend so maybe its just all the excitement!

i have no idea what i sound like or anything, you were saying how you heard yourself laughing as you were falling asleep that would freak me out soo much

well im going to thailand next week for two months with my boyfriend so maybe its just all the excitement!
    Sounds like that might be part of the reason anyway!

i have no idea what i sound like or anything, you were saying how you heard yourself laughing as you were falling asleep that would freak me out soo much

Ha,I dunno,I found it pretty funny.

Ha,I dunno,I found it pretty funny.[/QUOTE]

but did ya not think there was someone else in the room??;) other than himself like...

i am a really really heavy sleeper it takes a lot to wake me up and i always have "nighttime activity" (i dont mean peeing btw) and so is my brother and hes the same- more of a walker than a talker though
    however my fella is a really light sleeper and he NEVER talks/walks/kicks out etc. is there any link between how heavy a sleeper is and whether they have these kind of occurences? i find it really interesting, for example do i sink deeper into
    REM sleep/my subconcious and therefore completely have no awareness of anything that i'm doing- whereas someone who is a light sleeper would be more aware of their behaviours and not "act up"

so do those of you who have experienced all these mad things find you are havy or light sleepers?
    or is it all completely random?

but did ya not think there was someone else in the room??;) other than himself like...

i

I think I was just too sleepy to be freaked out tbh. I just hear it as I was drifting off and then after about a second I realised it was me and dozed off again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

[/QUOTE]

so do those of you who have experienced all these mad things find you are havy or light sleepers?
    or is it all completely random?[/QUOTE]

I'm actually quite a light sleeper, and when I was young and making my zombie noises, my brother (when he wasnt banging his head off the wall) would often tell me to shut up. More often than not, I heard him first time, and just answered by saying "yeah, sorry". Five minutes later, mmmwwwaaaaahhhh.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

I keep havin a dream where there loads of zombies and im tryin to crack their necks, but i cant

I remember when I was younger the old man gave out to me for cursing in my sleep....how exactly am I supposed to control it like? :rolleyes: Then I called him an arsehole :p

A few nights ago I was I was reading in bed and the other half was asleep. He started the usual mumbling then rolled over to face me and opened his eyes. He said "Is that throwing up problems for you?" I laughed and said "Ye what?" and he said "Can I have your staff ID number?" I giggled and then he seemed really confused and I knew he'd been asleep the whole time he spoke to me (despite having his eyes open) and only afterwards was he awake.

The eyes open and talking was kinda freaky though :p

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

I stop breathing for about 20-30 seconds every few minutes when I'm asleep. Scares the crap out of herself, especially when I've been drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Asiaprod

feylya wrote:
    I stop breathing for about 20-30 seconds every few minutes when I'm asleep. Scares the crap out of herself, especially when I've been drinking.
    I get this too. Scares my wife. Should this be checkout by a doctor?

On the other side of the bed, my wife sleeps with her eyes wide open, and funnily my 11 yr old daughter also does. Freeky as hell cause there is no way of knowing if they are awake or a sleep.

Since I live in Japan, we sleep on Futons (mattresses) on the floor.
    When any of our friends and their kids sleep over we put all the women and kids in one room (this is earthquake country, so this way if we have to we can gather the clan easily to escape) I allway look in last thing at night to make sure everyone is ok. It is so funny to see how everyone has managed to roll across the futons to end up against the walls. No ****, the whole middle of the floor is clear, but the walls are packed head to toe. I will take a photo next time and post it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

I'm just getting over a cold and I've noticed that I do the oddest thing.
    For the past week, I'll be dreaming that I'm talking to someone.
    And in reality, I am humming with my mouth closed to the words as I speak in my dream.

I don't think I've ever done this in the past, but it's been four early mornings in a row I've awakened myself up from my own humming. I sure hope I stop doing that soon! I don't like it!

Anyone else heard of this?
    Maybe early stages of actually talking in my sleep? (Oh that would be a very bad thing).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Thank Allah, now that I am well, this behaviour has ended! (Well... that I know of!)

\0/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

When someone asks me a question in my sleep, I immediatley identify their voice. If its someone I dont like, I give a thick, sarcastic answer and lie to them. If it's someone, I like, I just answer there question awfully stupidly....

This all happens without me knowing. the next day, when they say it to me, i can remember everything as if I was awake when i said it...

Just a couple of nights ago, My brother asked me where the blank cd's were, he thought I was awake, but I was asleep. i replied: "Maybe there stuck up my hole. If they are, they're a bit useless, like yourself". Thats me when I'm asleep....

I also can be thinking as well when i'm asleep, i can jump up in the middle of the night and realise i forgot to do something online or plug out something... like forgot to pack my PE gear or even set an alarm for school in an hours time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Ba_barbaraAnne

My eldest son talks in his sleep. Nothing unusual in that... but in Latin????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

My eldest son talks in his sleep. Nothing unusual in that... but in Latin????
    is he fluent in latin? or just learning it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭sonic juice

I have conversations with the characters of my dreams and then get infected by violent spasms which awakes me :o

those bells are quite disturbing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

I have conversations with the characters of my dreams and then get infected by violent spasms which awakes me :o

those bells are quite disturbing

Is this where your whole body spasms and wakes you? I get this on occasion, and its usually when I'm dreaming of cycling or moving at speed and I fall. then my whole body jerks like I just got a shock. Really weird feeling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

I went through a fase of fighting in my sleep, not just flapping your arms around really vicious punching and kicking. Most of the time it was fine as my pillow was my sparring parner but occasionally I would wake up and find bf gone. So I'd go see where he was and would normally find him on the couch. Thankfully I don't do this anymore!
    Another one that I do is open my eyes and stare. I wouldn't be looking at anyone or anything but just staring into space. And apparently my eyes glow in the dark when I'm asleep. I've managed to completely freak out friends as I have green/hazel eyes so all they'd see is glowing green eyes staring at them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

I've been told that I lean over and stare at people when I sleep... It's so strange 'cause sometimes I can't even remember doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Rockiemalt

my ex used to talk in his sleep. Camping at glastonbury he woke me up and asked me did i get across the river. we'd been talking about crystal maze that night. also people walking around out side tent and he jumped up and said theres people in this tent, theres people in this tent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭giddyup

I generally sleep sans garments! For about a year a couple of years back I used to wake up and very silently and sneakily put my jocks back on. My brain was telling me that I was sharing the bed with someone male close to me (usually my brother or best mate) and that I shouldn't be doing that naked even though I would always be in bed with the missus. I was always conscious of what I was doing and would remember it in the morning but could never figure out why my head was telling me to do that. I snapped out of it eventually I think by just telling myself that if it happened again I didnt need to cover up and sure enough when I woke up with that 'feeling' I would kind of wake myself to consciousness. Very weird!