Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knackers, crazy foam and a perfect day

• 24-08-2006 4:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

I woke up today at 9:10, it was beautiful outside and within 30 mins I had received news that I was to start my new job on Monday, to top it all off, I had managed to get free passes to the concerts in Marlay Park. Excellent stuff! I went into town to meet a friend, have a wander around and look at the beautiful ladies. A perfect day!

As my friend and I were sitting along the boardwalk a couple of knackers, both clearly pissed, stopped beside us to spray red crazy foam out of a can in our direction. Oh, the hilarity! Clearly thinking that the two of us weren't worth the hassle, they then stumbled on a few meters until they came across a fat chap in his early 30's by himself. The leader of the two, adorned in his celtic jersey, gold chains and sovereign rings, arched his neck a few inches from the face of the fat guy (who was now standing) and said, "are yiz well?". Obviously the guy didn't answer because the celtic knacker ROARED the question again, this time even closer to the fat chaps face. His friend, half empty pint glass in hand, looked on, clearly amused at the way events were transpiring, and cackled. Anywho, foam was sprayed, the fat guy lashed out, the knacker retaliated (his friend, althouth amused, clearly wasn't into it), there was a bit of a tussle but nothing major.

As the fat guy walked away (I think he was a tourist - all the more shame about it) the lesser of the two knackers shouted some mindless tripe along the lines of "UP THE RA!". And that was that!

No doubt this, and MUCH worse, happens every day in our capitol, but I found it shocking nonetheless (despite the fact that both my friend and I have been victims of worse violence). I believe that if anything major had happened we would have stepped in, but luckly it didn't come to that. I just don't understand how a mindless thug can delight in random terror. Does he go to bed thinking "that was some of my best work today"?

I felt ashamed for my nation. Of all the places I've travelled I've never encountered knackers like Irish knackers.

I'm not sure exactly why I'm typing this, I guess to see what peoples opinions are about the state of things in our country - is it going to the dogs, i.e. getting worse? What can be done about these emotional degenerates (no doubt those pints they were drinking was bought with dole money)? Is it just me, or is it worse in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

ASBOs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

my friend maintains that we need to send 'em to war!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Haha crazy knackers and their foam... is their anything they wont do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭poggy

Haha crazy knackers and their foam... is their anything they wont do?

shower!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

The boardwalk is on the river Liffey right? It was on the news recently, I'd have giving scummer and his pal and swim in the drink for their troubles. Isn't drink prohibted there now also?

yeah, that's the place alright! funnily enough my friend suggested the same!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

U know you are probably right. I mean about sending em to war. Looking at it historically, the generations of would-be knackers in the past were probably killed off on foreign fields somewhere, as part of some working class legion. We should take the english on. Im up for it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Sgt. Sensible

That's one of the reasons I left Dublin. Scangers at it during the day and yuppies and students at it at night. Like an evil tag team. Anytime I go home I feel like I'm in 28 days later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

i mean obviously theres no point in just shooting them all, all those organs would go to waste which could be used for needy children and so forth.

i really think people should have to have a licence to be allowed into the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Yes but when student engange in bad behaviour at least it's in the name of fun. Some of these guys have anger issues. Still, the Dublin chav/ scumbag is an institution and most of them are the kind of people we love to hate, i think - not all 'scumbags are 'scumbags'.

For example, I once saw a young lad mug an old lady at a Dart stop*, and bought her a sandwich with the money. Bless him.

*It may have been her young Grandson, and he may not have been mugging her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Random Knacker Shooting could be fun, with paintball guns of course.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Why didnt you do anything there was two of ye plus the fat guy between the three ye could of kicked their holes. And dont tell me violence was not the answer it is the only language these fu(kers understand. I have found in past expieriences if you stand up to these little sh1ts they tend to back off.

Why do you only use one full stop every three sentences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Why do you only use one full stop every three sentences?
    Why do you bother posting if you have nothing to add ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Sgt. Sensible

InFront wrote:
    Yes but when student engange in bad behaviour at least it's in the name of fun.
    In my experience, it's usually been fun at someone else's expense and has involved abuse (particularly against women or foreigners) and sometimes violence.

muletide wrote:
    Why do you bother posting if you have nothing to add ?

Well I read your post there, and immediately wanted to say "What a moronic response, how ridiculous it is to think small instantaneous violent outbursts will solve a huge social problem. You may well have your issues and your ways of dealing with them, but to even think for one second that decent citizen vs. scumbag battle royale is the way to solve the problem is borderline retarded."
    But i decided instead to keep the post to one sentence so you could follow it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

delighted that the fat guy retaliated

****ing knackers. should be burned at the stake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Those knacks sounded like they were just trying to be friendly, breaking the ice/tension with a bit of shouting and foam-spraying... real agressive knick-knacks would have smashed the pintglass in your face.
    I'd say they're probably complaining about the fat guy who didn't get the joke and decided to lash out physically.
    Fat people are so violent :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

There was an article today in the Indo, showing all that goes on, with the dealers. Foam spray is the least of the worries there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭OmegaRed

What pisses me off is when they argue why they are being treated differently.

"tis it becase iem a travlla?"

No its becuase you are a scum bag and I know you'll cause trouble as you've done in the past you in breed sh*t bag!

Well thats social responsibility. We live up to ours re. not discriminating wouldnt make a difference, as they wouldnt live up to theirs re not wrecking it for everyone else.
    In fairness.
    Its the 21st century. Buy a ****ing house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭OmegaRed

They really piss me off and the worst thing is, no body can do anything.

I have been living in Bostoin for the last 6 months and yeah you get assholes here but nothing like Knackers and scum bags back home. Only in Ireland. I like this idea of sending them to war.... hmmmmmm.....if only!

shotgun to the head ftw.

that'll sort them out.

sorry im drunk, im embarrassed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

OmegaRed wrote:
    "tis it becase iem a travlla?"

: Thread mini-hijack :

Anyone see the marble headstone carved in the shape of a Hiace for a member of the Travelling Community in The Star the other day?

All it was missing was a couple of marble carpet rolls sticking out the back of it & a little marble slash-hook on the dashboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭juanjo

well i see that everything leads to the traveller community here. i think there are many more scumbags living in houses or flats that on caravans so the term traveller wouldn't define them.

My last experience was last week, i was at a bus stop and these 3 20 year old scumbags came and to have somthing to do while waiting for the bus they started throwing gravel stones to passing cars and motorcycles. I didn't want to get into trouble so i kept reading my paper until one of them had the idea of throwing a stone to me that hit me in the head. I turned around and shouted what was wrong with them, 2 of them were on stitches while the other didn't want to look at me. I told the guy what was his problem and he didn't reply back.

I decided to sit beside them, a meter away just to have them in sight and one of them offered me a cigarrette. I obviously declined it and nothing happened, until the bus arrived and they were chucked out 3 or 4 stops further.

I mean, u have this kind everywhere, i have seens them abusing everyone but people prefer to look down and walk away. that's what makes them feel strong and keep on doing their manky business.

I'm not saying that this is going to solve the problem, but iif they find more difficult to get away with things they would start thinking that it's not worth. Next time i see scumbags doing things i'm gonna call the police. I think they take advantage of the indifference we have for strangers to do their things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

mike65 wrote:
    Random Knacker Shooting could be fun, with paintball guns of course.

Mike.

Pff...Barrett M82'd sort them out lively enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

it seems like normal enough behaviour to me.
    Fatty should have gone to the donut shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

We need National Service - anyone on the dole longer than 3 months instantly gets drafted for a 3 year stretch clearing minefields in Afghanistan.

Say what you like about the Brits, but at least they used to keep their, and our, scum occupied and/or culled off at a reasonable level by being constantly at war for the best part of 400 years.

And I like Mike's suggestion about a paintball offensive. Drive-by of course.

In short - Knacks Out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Hmm, interesting idea. But the only equipment they get to clear the fields with should be ridiculously oversized clown shoes. With metal weights in them, just to make sure.

the only equipment they get to clear the fields should be ridiculously oversized clown shoes. With metal weights in them, just to make sure.

I was thinking in terms of issuing mine-clearing mallets - but same idea.

If we sent them off to Afghanistan they would only end up spraying crazy foam in the locals faces. I think some sort of "knacker wars" would be better. That way everybody's a winner.

• I agree there is no other country with scumbags like in Ireland. It totally ruins the place. Dublin is wasting its time trying to be all European and stylish when there's knacks everywhere bringing down the tone. Yes, Spain has its knackers but they don't go about terrorising random people and there aren't nearly as many. Same with France, there are many low income or jobless people in Paris and I've never had a problem there. I've been in Harlem, the Bronx and other 'dangerous' places in New York and the locals were grand. The only place on a par would be Britain, I think. They have more than their fair share of chavs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I agree there is no other country with scumbags like in Ireland. It totally ruins the place. Dublin is wasting its time trying to be all European and stylish when there's knacks everywhere bringing down the tone. Yes, Spain has its knackers but they don't go about terrorising random people and there aren't nearly as many. Same with France, there are many low income or jobless people in Paris and I've never had a problem there. I've been in Harlem, the Bronx and other 'dangerous' places in New York and the locals were grand. The only place on a par would be Britain, I think. They have more than their fair share of chavs.
    no trouble in france?
    you didn't hear about this then?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

julep wrote:
    no trouble in france?
    you didn't hear about this then?

They were race riots werent they? Different thing surely.

I've been in Harlem, the Bronx and other 'dangerous' places in New York and the locals were grand.

I've been to the same. Some times a bit drunk making noise. Not a bother people minded there own.

If you were to do that in Dublin trouble wouldnt be to far from finding you. even if you're just walking down the street trouble can just be around the corner from you

Spain has its knackers but they don't go about terrorising random people and there aren't nearly as many. Same with France

That's because the Spanish and French sensibly keep their dib-dabs ghetto-ised and the Police give them a good shoeing if they show their faces in the respectable parts of town.

In Ireland however we seem to feel the need to construct 'social housing' boltholes for them tucked away behind every nice street and neighbourhood, so they can emerge like Celtic-shirt wearing woodlice from beneath a disturbed plantpot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

hah, great post magpie.

We need to contruct some camps out on the Curragh and start gassing the ****ers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

That's because in Spain and France the police carry Guns and batons.

Any tossing about it skull cracking time. Here in Ireland we have pussy-foot politions who won't allow such drastic measures unless there is a riot.
    Hmm, interesting idea. But the only equipment they get to clear the fields with should be ridiculously oversized clown shoes. With metal weights in them, just to make sure.
    I was thinking in terms of issuing mine-clearing mallets - but same idea.

Why not both? We can all be winners here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cupthehand

One simple solution, every scanger, knacker, thug, scumbag, lowlife, sham should have at least two yaers national service to do 18-20 but seeing as most of the decrepid creatures mentioned above don't stay in school it should be 15-20 for anyone that leaves school. Works a treat in other countries.

yeah. let's teach them how to kill people.

• julep I didn't say there was no trouble in France. Obviously there's trouble in every country, but race riots are a completely different thing to picking on random strangers.

Thats totally true. Race riots, socially, if warranted are a valid political statement. hassling random strangers is for **** and nazis.

people who take part in race riots are just as likely to hassle you in the street. do you really think every single person who took part in those riots did so because they felt aggrieved?
    there are scumbags in every single country in the world. they are not exclusive to Ireland.

you won't see many poor people on the streets of paris because they have all been herded out of the city and ghettoised.

Being in a privileged position ourselves I dont think that we have the adequate knowledge or experiences to comment on the motivations for a race riot. I think irrational acts often define turbulent times in the history of a nation. (Looking at ourselves here) Who are we to say what defines a race rioter and what he is or isnt likely to do. So as far as that goes I dont think that your comment about a race rioter being likely to hassle you in the street is necessarily a fair one, when weighed up against potentially years of abuse and a lack of facilities, jobs, money and privileges. Its often human nature to just say "**** this for a state of affairs, Im not willing to do this anymore" and that could and does happen to anyone. Race riots are irrational acts with a defined purpose. At least theres a reason behind them, whereas random street violence is the preserve of the true scumbag, and a favourite amongst many many irish morons.

my point is that there are some people who will use a riot as an excuse to be violent. simple as that.

...love ulster anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

No doubt this was in the middle of the day?

I maintain my argument for a baby licence scheme.

If you are a scumbag (Oxford English Dictionary Defines As: Living off the state your entire life, persuing no education, make no effort to improve your life, just moan how **** it is and how dole should be more, can't get a job, criminal record optional) you can not obtain a baby licence until you hold down a job for at least 12 months and during this time claim nothing from the state with the exception of social housing.

Hey sh*thead, heard of McDonalds? Construction? Cleaner? just a few parts of industry looking for people, but then, you'd have to get out of bed and work...

Learn how to type, life's tough, get a fu*king helmet!

If you have a baby without a licence, the childs reproductive organs are sabotaged (they can still enjoy sex at 11, but will not be able to reproduce), this way, the lazy, useless, sociopaths will gradually be phased out of society.

Ever heard of Darwin? He has it down. And no, I'm not related to Hitler, I'm just a straight talking problem solver.

Damn these "Democracys" with their "Human Rights" and "Civil Liberties" :mad:

The trouble is that this is the only real way of solving social problems, the hitler way.
    Otherwise we just have to put up with it.
    And bertie would look ridiculous with a tache.

Nick wrote:
    No doubt this was in the middle of the day?

I maintain my argument for a baby licence scheme.

If you are a scumbag (Oxford English Dictionary Defines As: Living off the state your entire life, persuing no education, make no effort to improve your life, just moan how **** it is and how dole should be more, can't get a job, criminal record optional) you can not obtain a baby licence until you hold down a job for at least 12 months and during this time claim nothing from the state with the exception of social housing.

Hey sh*thead, heard of McDonalds? Construction? Cleaner? just a few parts of industry looking for people, but then, you'd have to get out of bed and work...

Learn how to type, life's tough, get a fu*king helmet!

If you have a baby without a licence, the childs reproductive organs are sabotaged (they can still enjoy sex at 11, but will not be able to reproduce), this way, the lazy, useless, sociopaths will gradually be phased out of society.

Ever heard of Darwin? He has it down. And no, I'm not related to Hitler, I'm just a straight talking problem solver.

Damn these "Democracys" with their "Human Rights" and "Civil Liberties" :mad:
    YEAH!!!

because we all know that scumbags only come from families who survive on social welfare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Sgt. Politeness

ive said it before and ill say it again, this would never have happened under the nazis

sieg heil, bro.

all the same, theres no place in this society for scumbags. unfortunately everyone isn't born into the same family, people are given different opportunities and help throughout thier lives.

the point is: noone said it was going to be easy. you're poor, you're from a ****hole housing estate full of drugs and crime. get over it. you're either part of the problem, or part of the solution.

and we need a solution.