If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Hazards of Belief

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

In a rare glint of positive news, an Italian school run by nuns was ordered to pay €25,000 to a teacher fired by the head nun after the latter surmised that the teacher was gay. Plus a further €1,500 each to a labour union and a civil rights group.

http://religionnews.com/2016/06/23/catholic-school-in-italy-fined-for-firing-gay-teacher/

The civil rights group was a nice touch by the court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,871 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Good news.

What is disappointing though is Labour politicians congratulating themselves for belatedly protecting the rights of gay teachers in Ireland in the last government - while maintaining under the same law discrimination against all non-catholic and ex-catholic teachers.

If the principal finds out you're gay she can't sack you, but if she finds out you are no longer a catholic she can. A non-catholic can be legally refused employment in over 90% of state funded schools for no reason other than being non-catholic.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

car accidents and road rage increase during the month of Ramadan in Saudi.

http://english.alarabiya.net/en/variety/2016/06/28/Road-rage-in-Saudi-Arabia-rises-around-sundown-during-Ramadan.html#.V3KjC156VW8.twitter

Although believers who keep obligatory fast in Ramadan are expected to control their emotions and behave respectfully to all, it is not rare to see people fighting and blasting off with anger in public places, especially around sundown.

Reckless driving and road rage are common and as a result there is a steep rise in the number of accidents recorded during the holy month.

“It is a wild world and people are really getting crazy,” said Naif Al-Ahmadi, a 32-year-old employee.

Ahmadi, after watching pictures of terrible accidents posted on social media websites, was discussing with friends people’s rude behavior and their raging anger during the fasting hours.

He said the excuse these people normally came up with was they were fasting. “This makes no sense because fasting is supposed to make them self-disciplined and not act rudely.”

His friend Muneer Turkistani agreed and said, “It’s unbelievable how people really lose control of their temper.”

Turkistani added, “I have seen fights on the road and among people waiting in lines in supermarkets, bakeries, restaurants and foul shops. It is wild out there in the afternoon and I really try to avoid going out immediately before iftar.”

He suggested that security patrols should intensify their presence in an effort to prevent any violence in congested streets.

Commenting on clips of road accidents which have been distributed on social media channels, Majed Al-Adwani said people tend to drive aggressively between 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. during Ramadan.

“It is better to avoid driving before iftar (fast breaking). It is dangerous; smokers especially get angry easily due to the depletion of nicotine in blood,” he said.

He noted that the number of accidents involving injuries or fatalities occur mostly a few hours before iftar.

Expressing his opinion, Rayan Ba Qais, a 24-year-old college student, described roads before iftar as a F1 arena. “People are turning their cars into speeding rockets on the street. These angry motorists create traffic jams and they fight with each other because of the congestion they themselves create,” he said.

Due to a lack of sleep, hunger, traffic jams, low nicotine and above all the heat, people develop serious temper issues and everyone suddenly turns crazy, according to a medical specialist.

Dr. Fahmy Abdulaziz, a clinical psychologist, said: “During the fasting hours, controlling temper becomes a problem. People are hungry, tired, sleepy, dehydrated and on-the-run. The combined effects of all these are anger bouts and fights.”

He said, “It’s unbelievable how people really lose control of their temper just a few hours before iftar time.”

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,871 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/fianna-f%C3%A1il-td-criticised-for-seeking-muslim-citizenship-data-1.2703262
    A Fianna Fáil TD has been compared to Donald Trump by a senior Muslim leader after he asked a question in the Dáil about how many Muslims have sought Irish citizenship.

Sligo-Leitrim TD Eamon Scanlon asked Tánaiste and Minister for Justice Frances Fitzgerald for the number of Muslims who had applied for Irish citizenship in the past three years, and how many of those were legally living here over that period.

In her answer to the parliamentary question last Thursday, the Tánaiste said the form for citizenship applications did not have a requirement for details of a person’s religion and, accordingly, the information was not available.

After he was questioned in recent days on social media about why he had asked the question about the number of Muslims applying for citizenship, Mr Scanlon said on Tuesday the question had been “misinterpreted” and apologised for any offence caused.

“I put down a PQ (parliamentary question) in relation to the number of Muslims who have applied for Irish citizenship as a constituent was inquiring about this issue,” he said.

Twitter users had asked the TD why it mattered what religion someone was when they were applying for citizenship and a number suggested the question was discriminatory.

Sinn Féin councillor Sarah Holland said it “shouldn’t matter” what religion someone was and that “you could be a Jedi for all it should concern” Mr Scanlon.

How the feck did this eejit think that the citizenship application process would ask what religion the person is, if any?

It's not like they're trying to enrol in a school or anything :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,279 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

https://jennifermayers.wordpress.com/2016/06/27/americas-martyr-no-race-mixing/

Extract:

christy-sheats-12-e1466951298752.jpg?w=272&h=342
    Friends, I invite you to ponder the image above. The beautiful woman is Christy Sheats. The Texas wife and mother who is being vilified in the media for shooting and killing her teenage daughters. It makes for a great headline in mainstream media but what goes unsaid is even more powerful.

A devout Republican and gun rights advocate, she no doubt discovered that both of her daughters had been promiscuous and were sleeping with black boys and she took it upon herself to put an end to that cycle. She was brave enough to stand up and say ENOUGH! Not in MY house! And she should be lauded.

Christianity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,192 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Pherekydes wrote: »

"Spreading positivity through Jesus Christ." Where the hell does she get her idea of positivity from, 4chan's Trump fanboys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,448 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

Has to be a fake, surely?

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,558 ✭✭✭✭looksee

A devout Republican and gun rights advocate, she no doubt discovered that both of her daughters had been promiscuous and were sleeping with black boys and she took it upon herself to put an end to that cycle. She was brave enough to stand up and say ENOUGH! Not in MY house! And she should be lauded.

No doubt? That usually means 'I am assuming' or 'I really have no idea but its what I would like to believe'.

Personally I think she looks rather scarily vacant.

im calling bs, the eldest daughter was getting married in a few days

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,279 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Here's some of the author's defence of the article, due to the backlash it received:
    First and foremost it is not only hurtful but very insulting to me that people would accuse me of merely being a “joke” or a “satire” as if mocking Christ and making fun of my beliefs is something that I would ever find humorous. I just do not understand. Maybe I am naive to how all of this works but it certainly doesn’t make me feel very positive. I can only speak my own thoughts and the words of my Lord as He wrote them.

Secondly, I will NOT apologize for my views in that blog. Miscegenation is WRONG and it will destroy the white race as we know it. If everyone would stay with their own kind there would be no confused yellow babies not knowing which race they have to portray or “act” like in order to fit in. It just is not right. And despite any story that you see in the media about Mrs. Sheats I am convinced there is more to the story. She did not want her daughters to become enslaved into the lifestyle of miscegenation that would eventually force her to become a grandmother to a child she would be humiliated by.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Well, I guess that's alright then.

oscarBravo wrote: »
    Well, I guess that's alright then.

I'm still not certain it's for real.

Here's a title list of her other blogs:

capture1.jpg?w=702

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Poe strikes again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/religion-and-beliefs/muslim-leader-criticised-over-insulting-invite-to-gay-people-1.2707041
    A Muslim leader who has invited gay people to take part in a community meal at his mosque in west Dublin has drawn contrasting criticism from some Muslims and LGBT groups abroad.

Shaykh Dr Umar Al-Qadri, chairman of the Irish Muslim Peace & Integration Council, had described the invitation as an attempt by “the Irish Muslim community to reach out to our neighbours as an example of true Islamic ideals”.

Sounds good. But...
    “When in Ramadan we open our doors for those who commit Kufr [non-belief] and Shirk [idolatry], why can we not open our doors for those who commit Fisq [sin]?”

Oops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Gay lads; "Okay nice to meet you... but wheres the dinner".

Imam; "Its Ramadan"

Gay lads; " So... I think we'll just head down to the chipper then".

Imam; "Yeah. You can leave that beer here if you like."

News from Kerry in - two more parishes in the country are without resident priests, bringing the total to five. The short article paints a grim picture of a church in serious decline.

http://www.killarneytoday.com/five-parishes-now-without-resident-priests/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭legspin

robindch wrote: »
    News from Kerry in - two more parishes in the country are without resident priests, bringing the total to five. The short article paints a grim picture of a church in serious decline.

One of them is my home parish. More soon I hope.

legspin wrote: »
    One of them is my home parish.
    Likewise :o

robindch wrote: »

“I ask that we all continue to pray for these students and for vocations to the priesthood in the diocese,” Bishop Browne said.

Working great so far lads keep it up :pac:
    Commenting on the two parishes being left without a resident priest, the bishop said he realises it will cause upset and that it will be unsettling for everybody.

Really? How many people actually give a sh1t? a lot fewer than he thinks, I'll wager.

From Michael Nugent's website - 67 Reasons Why Condoms Spread AIDS

390787.jpg

390788.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Muslim taxi driver refuses to drive blind man because of his guide dog
    Against the taxi driver's religion apparently.
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3673685/Muslim-taxi-driver-refuses-disabled-passenger-guide-dog-s-against-religion.html

http://gizmodo.com/barge-size-noah-s-ark-is-a-creationist-s-wet-dream-1783189614
    Built by Christians who believe the Earth is 6,000 years old, a 510-foot-long, $100 million “replica” of Noah’s Ark is set to open in a new Kentucky theme park later this week. Critics say the attraction is nothing more than a big church that’ll be used to perpetuate creationist nonsense.

The new theme park, called called Ark Encounter, will officially open in Williamstown, Kentucky, on July 7. Yesterday, some 7,000 guests were invited to a special ribbon-cutting ceremony. Construction of the giant ship, which has been ongoing since 2010, was initiated by Answers in Genesis, a Christian group headed by Ken Ham. The structure is meant to commemorate the work of Noah, and to stand as a proof that the stories in the Bible are true.

rymkcxyhfhgnxiysvoqy.jpg

biko wrote: »
    Muslim taxi driver refuses to drive blind man because of his guide dog
    Against the taxi driver's religion apparently.
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3673685/Muslim-taxi-driver-refuses-disabled-passenger-guide-dog-s-against-religion.html

what verse would not allow animals in mechanically propelled vehicles? the only other thing I could think of is that he was just a d1ck and didn't want dog hairs in his car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Michael OBrien

silverharp wrote: »

Love to see how long it would last in the sea, in a storm.
    Otherwise I volunteer to bring two woodworms of every kind, as a gesture of good will. The other 11,999999 species will have to make their own way there. :)

on the Plus side the DUP have their AGM venue sorted ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭recedite

silverharp wrote: »
    what verse would not allow animals in mechanically propelled vehicles? the only other thing I could think of is that he was just a d1ck and didn't want dog hairs in his car.
    Its the saliva, muslims become spiritually unclean after coming into contact with dogs. Going off to wash is a bit of a hassle.
    The one exception is the Saluki, the royal hunting hound of the Arabs, which was traditionally kept by Sheikhs and those of noble blood. As always, there is an exception to the rule if you are one of the wealthy elite.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1139513/christian-man-lahore-charged-blasphemy-whatsapp-poem/
    LAHORE:
    A Christian man was charged with blasphemy in Lahore on Monday after his Muslim friend alleged he had sent a poem on WhatsApp that insulted Islam, police said.

Yasir Bashir said Nadeem James had sent him a poem on the messaging app that was derogatory about Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) and other holy figures.

“Police have registered a case on blasphemy charges against Nadeem James and are searching for him as he has fled his home,” a local law enforcement official told AFP on condition of anonymity due to the sensitive nature of the matter.

Step away from phone sir because Pokemon Go is "spawning demons inside your church [...] This technology will be used by the enemies of the cross to target, locate and execute Christians.

http://theoswatch.com/pastor-rick-wiles-pokemon-game-created-by-demons-to-locate-and-execute-christians/