Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision Song Contest'06

• Registered Users Posts: 22,755 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Slightly off topic...

Was there a GLBS mega-conference in Athens last night in the same venue as the Eurovision?

All the close-ups of the audience & you would swear that they were all sh1teing tent pegs. Lots of tight t-shirts, cropped hair & hugging. Even Tricolour feather boas! Jaysus!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Lee Smartie

so...even thought Brian's song is too slow comparing to others and too boring (my personal) opinion, however he made it to the final:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

figured out why Silvia Night (Iceland) got booed - apparently she had not been endearing herself to the Greek public.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQn7JxsK_yE

I guess they failed to realise she is a character, along the lines of Ali G.

Oh well, its a pity, it would've made a great eurovision with Silvia and Lordi battling it out for success.

Here's her performance (low quality) from last night.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JwGkmNWR8-4

wikipedia page http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silv%C3%ADa_N%C3%B3tt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

I reckon Sweden will do well, it was a great performance.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 8,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

RE*AC*TOR wrote:
    figured out why Silvia Night (Iceland) got booed - apparently she had not been endearing herself to the Greek public.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQn7JxsK_yE

I guess they failed to realise she is a character, along the lines of Ali G.

Oh well, its a pity, it would've made a great eurovision with Silvia and Lordi battling it out for success.

Here's her performance (low quality) from last night.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JwGkmNWR8-4

wikipedia page http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silv%C3%ADa_N%C3%B3tt

Amazing the info. you can find on someone when you go looking for a nude pic of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

musician wrote:
    Amazing the info. you can find on someone when you go looking for a nude pic of them.
    Thanks for sharing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

Germany have a coutry song.

The boring Irish have a ballad.

It must be the most boring song of the lot.

"Every Song is a Cry for Love".........That is news to many protest singers.

Has Brian Kennedy done recearch to back these claims up?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

the protest singers are crying for love from the oppressors, see?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 BERTA823

I think Brian's song is good...last year Malta had a ballad and placed second...so dont give up chaps :) any suggestions where one can watch euovision in dublin city centre? like in a nice group atmosphere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭JaneHudson

That song is a real dramatic belter that would have won about 10 years ago - he was even on his knees for part of it - (Good man Bryan!)
    I know it was very cheesy but for the first time in several years I didn't cringe with embarassment seeing the Irish entry

• Registered Users Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Was that Terry Gilliam playing the banjo for Germany?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

When is Bryan performing for Ireland tonight? I looked at the schedule on RTE and it's not giving much away: http://www.rte.ie/tv/eurovision/finalrunningorder.html

Heh, anyone see the entry for Macedonia?! Trying to compare that with innocent Bryan from Ireland, dear oh dear!! It's mad :D

• Registered Users Posts: 710 ✭✭✭BOHSBOHS

were in the 21st spot
    just before sweden who have a very good song....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

That Lithuanian song is dreadful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Lol, poor Daz Samspons kids..they're never gonna live this down!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

UK - nil points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭dmck2886

We are the winners, we are the winners,
    We are, we are, we are the winners of eurovision

How childish is this song?

Pythia wrote:
    UK - nil points.
    Really? - I kinda liked it. Worthy of a point or two compared to others. Every year I swear not to watch this but always end up getting sucked into it. Here I go again!:D

Dear god... why did the UK entry's backing singers have to sound like scullery maids?

\m/_(>_<)_\m/

HARD ROCK! hallelujah!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,676 ✭✭✭Chong

Come on Finland brilliant.

Lithuanian entry was hilarious.

I would like to echo MonkeyFudge

\m/_(>_<)_\m/

I didn't know Klingons lived in Finland:D

You gotta hand it to them - balls of steel or just pure mad!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Did anyone see his shoes?
    Cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Rantorama

Ha,Finland brilliant...very Spinal Tap

• Registered Users Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭dloob

Finland FTW

OMFGGGGGGGGGGG

I have a new winner Ukraine. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭democrates

Ireland 1st
    Lordi 2nd (had to blare that - classic)

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Well I have never voted for a song in Eurovision before but that will end tonight !!!

Lordi ftw !!!

gandalf wrote:
    Well I have never voted for a song in Eurovision before but that will end tonight !!!

Lordi ftw !!!
    Gonna do the very same - they thoroughly deserve the effort.