Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pete Drugerty

• 21-04-2006 6:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭

[rant mode on]
    You know I am getting pissed off these days opening every paper, and seeing articles online about this wánker being up for drugs charges... There's always an accompanying photo aswell... The guy is a complete nob yet he thrives on this bad publicity. Someone please lock this gimp up once and for all. Its not as if anybody cares.... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

He's a class A waster. I had a bit of a soft spot for the Libertines, but his new band Babyshambles are just that - a shambles, while Carl Barrat's new band Dirty Pretty Things, proves that he was the tallented one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

heheheh. Pete Drugerty...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭CoolGuy2006

Mexicola wrote:
    [rant mode on]
    You know I am getting pissed off these days opening every paper, and seeing articles online about this wánker being up for drugs charges... There's always an accompanying photo aswell... The guy is a complete nob yet he thrives on this bad publicity. Someone please lock this gimp up once and for all. Its not as if anybody cares.... :mad:

yeah, it would also be cool to come onto boards and not see any posts about him by people who by one way or another, do care, hint hint :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Exactly. I don't read the papers or watch sky news, itv etc so I was on quite a nice little run there of not hearing about PeteDoherty ..... but you had to go spoil it Mexicola!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yeah, f*cking d*ckhead. Chuck him in jail and let him deal with that, the c*nt....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

I would feel sorry for him, if he wasn't so brazen about being a knob, I mean there are plenty of my "heros" who were big junkie heads, but thats not how they made their name (ie. Lennon) but this moron is famous for being a junkie nothing more, he and his band would have faded into obscurity had it not have been for his moronaic antics, I suppose you have to (in a way) admire how he's manage to make a very average band sell so many records (through drugs/fights/court case etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭Kersh

Lets hope we wake up tomorrow and he will be on the front page, with banner headline -
    PETE DOHERTY FOUND DEAD.

The guy is a class a moron. The thing is, saome people look up to him, and think hes cool.

thing is its a poor reflection on us the public when we make junkies famous, me included I've 2 of his albums.

(rather him than the plastic pop idol crap though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Kersh wrote:
    Lets hope we wake up tomorrow and he will be on the front page, with banner headline -
    PETE DOHERTY FOUND DEAD.

That's the worst thing that could happen. He'd be eulogised over as some kind of tortured genius, and people would ingnore the fact that his music is ****e, becaue he died young. You'd never hear the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭Kersh

Hmmm, you have a point there. what to do , what to do.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

blu_sonic wrote:
    he's manage to make a very average band sell so many records (through drugs/fights/court case etc.)
    Many critics rate the libertines very highly. I think he would sell far more records if he wasnt in the press. People view him as a tosser and don't want to buy the albums or admit liking him because of this, exactly the same as oasis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭hallelujah

Kersh wrote:
    PETE DOHERTY FOUND DEAD.

no need

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭tallaghtdave

DaveMcG wrote:
    Yeah, f*cking d*ckhead. Chuck him in jail and let him deal with that, the c*nt....
    spoken like a true poet with a silky tounge

rubadub wrote:
    Many critics rate the libertines very highly. I think he would sell far more records if he wasnt in the press. People view him as a tosser and don't want to buy the albums or admit liking him because of this, exactly the same as oasis.
    Im talking about babyshambles, Limbertines were better than bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Liver Lips

That's the worst thing that could happen. He'd be eulogised over as some kind of tortured genius, and people would ingnore the fact that his music is ****e, becaue he died young. You'd never hear the end of it.

B0llox to that...this celebrity worship/fascination has gone far enough we should round them all up with a simpsons style mob , Paris Hilton, Robbie Williams, David Beckham, any one of reality TV, FCUKING LOUIS WALSH, simon cowell, any other media whores we can find and slaughter them like pigs and bathe in their blood and then declare it a world wide festival so future generations know not to make the same mistake again......its time we held important people up as icons for future generations...doctors, scientists, aid works, peace keepers ordinary people who achieve things that matter..............up the revolution!!

TBH I'm a big music fan, Morrissey is a personal hero, he made me a better person, TBH "doctors, scientists, aid works, peace keepers ordinary people who achieve things that matter" mean nothing in that sence to me, I admire their work etc, but they are terrible musicians ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

I know he is a waster and does not deserve the paper his name is written on.
    I read an article in the paper the other day and it was quite sad to see how much he did heroin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭tallaghtdave

for example lennon did drugs went off the rails a bit and i still look up to him.
    these geezers today are what me dad calls 20min heros thats all they will be remembered for in the future.
    its all too comercial
    i wouldnt be surprised if most of it were staged

the KLF theory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭kkposse

i must admit i didn't like the babyshambles album when i first got it but after a few listens it slowly grew on me , its a bit of a grower like some of the best records are, i still love the libertines albums but babyshambles is just as good if not better!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

if he made good records then fair enough but most of his tunes are bollix

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

He's a publicity-seeking knobhead.As somebody pointed out if he was found dead he'd be treated like some sort of hero like that whining wankshaft curt cobain.No,far better if he goes to prison and is made the bent-over buttf*ck for a whole wing of yardies and THAT is in the paper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

O how I wished that KLF rumour was true.

The Libertines suck balls.

Pete Doherty is an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Sajan

Its amazing how people follow him around quoting his "poetry" and thinking his the saviour of music. These are the same people who would walk by a drug user on the Ha'penny bridge and give out stink about them or spit at them or whatever.. Just because he made a few crappy tunes and knobbed the groupie Kate Moss he's a hero. I'm sick of it.. NEXT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Mexicola

I hope to f*ck he doesnt show up on next year's 'Celebrity' Big Brother....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

He is an absolute cock we all know this! Personally i think the bigger cocks are the people that buy tickets to go see the Fvcker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

For years singers have been taking drugs in fact the most talented song writers / artists a lot of them seem to have taken drugs (ray charles for example, jimi hendrix etc etc) so whats the big deal about Doherty doing it? The irony is when its a regular guy doing heroin we are supposed to feel sorry for them for their drug dependency yet when its a celeb its different
    before jumping on the band wagon I got the album and had a listen its fantastic i think the mans a genius. Id much rather go to a concert with someone like that playing its proper rock and roll to go a bit off the charts

the guys in a good band and is dating Kate Moss hes not doing too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

Pete Doherty is a hero, living the rock and roll life that all you boring people wanmt to live. It's written in the rock and roll scriptures that Pete Doherty will die to save music. LEGEND.

For years singers have been taking drugs in fact the most talented song writers / artists a lot of them seem to have taken drugs (ray charles for example, jimi hendrix etc etc) so whats the big deal about Doherty doing it? The irony is when its a regular guy doing heroin we are supposed to feel sorry for them for their drug dependency yet when its a celeb its different
    before jumping on the band wagon I got the album and had a listen its fantastic i think the mans a genius. Id much rather go to a concert with someone like that playing its proper rock and roll to go a bit off the charts

the guys in a good band and is dating Kate Moss hes not doing too bad.

The big deal is that rtaking drugs does not a talented musician make.He's NOT Jimi Hendrix or Ray Charles,he's a talentless,attention seeking little dickhead.He's not in a good band,its not proper rock n roll and he's not dating Kate Moss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

Plus, the libertines two albums are class and there's a couple of good
    babyshambles songs, listen to **** Forever or The Man Who Came To Stay or Kilmanjaro and you'll be converted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

surely the cops have bigger fish to catch than Doherty - at the end of the day the only one he is hurting is himself - let him smoke his crack if thats what he chooses and wants to die - i wouldn't waste my time trying to arrest him - i'm sure theres lots worse , doing lots of harm to others in london , than a meak junkie like doherty.

Pete Doherty is a hero, living the rock and roll life that all you boring people wanmt to live. It's written in the rock and roll scriptures that Pete Doherty will die to save music. LEGEND.

I'd just LOVE to live that rock n roll life,being in pissant band going nowhere and constantly getting busted for small amounts of drugs.Keith Richards eat your heart out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Atlas_IRL

he lives in a squalor(sp) and has no money and goes on drug binges for up to 3-4 days, but i suppose its what zepplin and the others all done when they were starting out

Still think he's a waster though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

whats the KLF theory?

I can remember the Rave group from the 90's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

T&#225 wrote: »
    whats the KLF theory?

I can remember the Rave group from the 90's

Basically that the KLF invented The Libertines as a stunt to prove how shallow and meaningless the pop industry is...

It sounded so true... alas it was only a dream

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

What I can't understand about both Doherty and the UK legal system is how in the name of f*ck the guy keeps getting off in court.
    He's been up now, what...4 times already? In a lot of cases he's been arrested the same day as his other court case/probation report/slap on the wrist session, each time arrested in posession of class A drugs, and in one case, joyriding with two scot teenagers (!?)...the guy shows no remorse outside of when he's not sat in front of a judge.

So what, you may ask? Well here's so what; like it or nott the guy is looked up to by fans and has become something of a cult hero...the clear message being sent out to fans and society in general is that doing crack and smack is cool, and it's fine 'cos you can get away with it by just saying sorry to the judge...then walk out of court of go get sh*t-faced again.

I'm not anti-drugs, I've done my fairshare, but what we're dealing with here is someone who is glorifying the use of some very dangerous substances and doing so with seeming impunity...you have to wonder why such a high profile user isn't made a prime example of by being landed in chokey for a few months where he can really kick the habit instead of his record company promising he will.
    I could care less about him or his music...I've liked a few of the congs I've heard, but not my kind of thing...the issue here isn't his music, it's what he puts out to the youth of the UK and Ireland, that you can screw your life up merrily and walk away scot free simply 'cos you happen to be famous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

Basically that the KLF invented The Libertines as a stunt to prove how shallow and meaningless the pop industry is...

It sounded so true... alas it was only a dream

so the theory was that a band was created to to prove how shallow and meaningless the pop industry is but in actual fact they were a real band, who were actually decent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭Ardent

Liver Lips wrote:
    B0llox to that...this celebrity worship/fascination has gone far enough we should round them all up with a simpsons style mob , Paris Hilton, Robbie Williams, David Beckham, any one of reality TV, FCUKING LOUIS WALSH, simon cowell, any other media whores we can find and slaughter them like pigs and bathe in their blood and then declare it a world wide festival so future generations know not to make the same mistake again......its time we held important people up as icons for future generations...doctors, scientists, aid works, peace keepers ordinary people who achieve things that matter..............up the revolution!!

Well said that man!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

All his followers are the under 18 NME kids ! Nuff said!

Degsy wrote:
    He's NOT Jimi Hendrix or Ray Charles,he's a talentless,attention seeking little dickhead.
    If the internet was around in the 60's I bet there would be threads just like this about hendrix, lennon, morrison etc being pathetic dickheads. Many people do not like their music too, many also do.

As for glorifying drugs, and publicity stunts, you only hear about him in the gutter press, stop reading that crap if you don't want to know. In the 60's the same rags had pics of the stones going in and out of drug trials all the time too, many hate their music too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Jamey

It's ridiculous bitching about how all you see is Pete when you open up your papers everyday. When your buying **** like the Sun and the Star what do you expect? That's what they do, expose famous people'es problems, and ridicule them, etc. Doherty is a genius imo. He has brought something to the music industry that no one had ever done before. Just for anyone who thinks he's a '****in dickhead' or whatever, go and watch the Newsnight special that was done on him, you might change your mind then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

rubadub wrote:
    If the internet was around in the 60's I bet there would be threads just like this about hendrix, lennon, morrison etc being pathetic dickheads. Many people do not like their music too, many also do.

As for glorifying drugs, and publicity stunts, you only hear about him in the gutter press, stop reading that crap if you don't want to know. In the 60's the same rags had pics of the stones going in and out of drug trials all the time too, many hate their music too.

well said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭kkposse

I don't think MTV cribs will be calling to his gaff any time soon anyways!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I'm all for talented musicians doing as much drugs as they like but the point is musicians like Lennon and Hendrix were famous for their music, everybody still knows one or two of their songs 35 years on. Doherty just isn't as good, I saw him in Cork and tbh he was little better than a pub band. The songs just sound so unfinished, meandering, and frankly far too poppy to be rock. Nothing wrong with pop, but nothing new there either.

the point is musicians like Lennon and Hendrix were famous for their music,
    And for their drug intake. The gutter press rags in the 60's weren't reviewing their albums, it showed them going in and out of court just like doherty. The music press focused mainly on their music, again just like doherty.
    everybody still knows one or two of their songs 35 years on.
    I'm sure many were saying the same thing about hendrix when he was around, saying chuck berry's (or whoever) songs were known many years on.
    I saw him in Cork and tbh he was little better than a pub band.
    I bet many people at woodstock were put off hendrix too. Lennon also made some appalling stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Liver Lips wrote:

why not just get rid of all the assholes who feed this celebrity craze by buying the heat magazines and so on. without those people the addiction to the world of celebrity would be non existant. you have ***** like this Chantelle person on the airwaves for doing sweet **** all, and why? because idiots lap it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

he's a spa

stp wrote:
    he's a spa
    he has cerebral palsy? read that in the sun did you?

Jamey wrote:
    It's ridiculous bitching about how all you see is Pete when you open up your papers everyday. When your buying **** like the Sun and the Star what do you expect? That's what they do, expose famous people'es problems, and ridicule them, etc. Doherty is a genius imo. He has brought something to the music industry that no one had ever done before. Just for anyone who thinks he's a '****in dickhead' or whatever, go and watch the Newsnight special that was done on him, you might change your mind then.

I did watch the newsnight special on him and i think he's a bigger dickhead now than i did before.He's a talentless knob and evrything he does is for show.how anybody can think somebody who's addicted to heroin at 24 is a "genius" is beyond me.I suppose people are getting easier to impress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

rubadub wrote:

Well I for one don't read, nor wipe my arse with the tabloids...any news I get is on the radio or the web, and usually the Doherty stories are in the UK headlines on the BBCi pages and on all of their news broadcasts...and it's usually for the very reason that the guy has just wandered out of court and re-offended whilst on a bloody probation report and so-called counselling!! I mean what the hell?
    I still say this sends the wrong message to fans and the public in general...maybe the police are focusing on him for some reason and if they are it's backfiring, because the guy is making a mockery of the justice system.
    If he's that talented then coming off crack should present him with a sh*tload of new material and maybe gain him a little more credibility...

It's got nothing to do with his music for me; like I say I liked some of the stuff he did with both the Libertines and Babyshambles...it's about the message he sends which is a dangerous one IMO.