Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

whats life at ul like??

• 19-03-2006 1:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

i'm hoping to attend ul next year, just wonderin wat life is like down there??? anyone got any info on wat accomodation is really like, or more importantly the social life????

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Depends on what you like really.

As for accomodation, theres tonnes of it, both On-Campus and off.

Social life...well being a comp syser i'm hardly the best person to answer this! Depends who you are with really. I've a great bunch of friends so ummm well oh look my tea has boiled

/me wanders off without answering the question

But seriously, we've a few pubs around (Stables, Groody, Hurlers) and loads more in town. Niteclubs we've a few of, none of them good (Extreme bias here, as theres no such thing as a good niteclub!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

As Peteee has said there's loads of accomodation around the place. The newer student accomodation such as The Courtyard, Groody and Brookfield are a nice walk from the college but there's a bus service running from there. Nearer the college you'll find the student villages of Plassey, Killmurry and Dromroe. These are all run by the college and have the advantage of being on the campus but they're not the cheapest.

The estates around the college then include Elm Park (avoid like the plague). Milford Grange and College court. Milford Grand and College Court are reasonably ok you can find a good house and the rent in most places is very reasonable because there's so much accomodation. There's huge waiting lists for the student villages so you'll need to be quick if you want to get a place there.

The social life is also pretty good. There's 2 pubs on campus and then the Hurlers and Groody off campus. In town then there's quite a few clubs and places to go so you'll have no trouble finding a drinking spot. Hope this is of some help to you.

Cheers
    Rory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

^^^^^

What they said :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Rozie

nanogirl wrote:
    i'm hoping to attend ul next year, just wonderin wat life is like down there??? anyone got any info on wat accomodation is really like, or more importantly the social life????

THere's essentially nothing unless you like getting pissed in a rather jock-ish bar(The Stables). There are two pubs on Campus but one is the Sports Bar, which is obviously even wrose for jockiness.

There's little else to do. It's very hard to meet new people who share your interests, though that could be because the people here aren't terribly interesting. Nobody really stands out in a crowd either.

There's nothing to do. If you're in any way artsy or looking to have an actual fulfilling social experience, don't come here. Please don't make the same mistake I did. There really isn't anything here right now, people feel such a need to defend their college that they don't try to see how other people might hate it. You won't find a lot of people here that will say that, but it's not representitive of the general consesus.

Limerick's a scammy place in general. Try going down to Cork, or maybe up to Galway, which ever is nearest.

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭hoody

I'm going to contradict some of the earlier posts here and say that i absolutely love UL. Stables is a fine student bar - at least it's always fairly busy - there are plenty of things to do around college if the pub scene isn't your thing. For instance the Sports Arena is pretty unrivalled as a leisure centre. There's any amount of clubs and socs, all of them crying out for people to take part. Limerick city itself is really catching up with Galway etc., modernising but not in a brash way, some cool shops, and the fact that there are 3 colleges in the city means that there's places to suit everyone's tastes on a night out.

As for accomodation - definitely there are huge differences between say, Elm Park and Thomond on-campus. But there's fun to be had everywhere. I lived in a complete kip in First Semester Year 2 in Elm Park, but my God was it good craic. Really, UL is what you make of it. Come join.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

Rozie I have to disagree completely with your post. Just because you didn't/don't completely enjoy your time here doesn't mean that no one else will like the college. That said, you're entitled opinion, as am I, so here it comes.

I've met some amazing people since I've been here, and some really interesting people at that. I've also met a lot of people with the same interests as me by joining clubs and societies I'm interested in. Also by joining different clubs and societies I always have something to do.

That doesn't mean that social activity is restricted to clubs and socs though. The cinema is only a short walk away, as is Hurlers Pub, Groody Bar and obviously the bars on campus. If you're lazy you can always get the bus. Limerick city is good too. There's loads of nice bars/clubs/restaurants. Compared to where I come from the shops and brilliant and way more numerous.

I came to Limerick in September not knowing anyone and scared for my life. I haven't regretted a single day. I highly recommend living in Plassey for your first year. Sure it's tiny and a kip but you make so many friends.

Rozie wrote:
    There's little else to do. It's very hard to meet new people who share your interests, though that could be because the people here aren't terribly interesting. Nobody really stands out in a crowd either.

I'd have to disagree I've met quite a few people with similar interests to me since I've started here. Whats this whole fascination with standing out in a crowd? Does it make you somehow uninteresting if you don't stand out?

Rozie wrote:
    There's nothing to do. If you're in any way artsy or looking to have an actual fulfilling social experience, don't come here.

Pubs, cinema, bowling, sports, clubs and socs. Go into town Belltable theatre is there. I don't have to go on but there's plenty to do around here.

share your interests, though that could be because the people here aren't terribly interesting. Nobody really stands out in a crowd either.[/QUOTE]

I'd have to disagree I've met quite a few people with similar interests to me since I've started here. Whats this whole fascination with standing out in a crowd? Does it make you somehow uninteresting if you don't stand out?

Rozie wrote:
    There really isn't anything here right now, people feel such a need to defend their college that they don't try to see how other people might hate it. You won't find a lot of people here that will say that, but it's not representitive of the general consesus.

There's plenty here in Limerick. Your college experience is entirely what you make of it. I can well see how people might dislike UL and I'm more than willing to criticise the college in certain areas (the student records system). I am the last person that would blindly defend the place. I actually happen to like UL and Limerick and thats a genuine opinion, I'm not saying it out of a need to defend the place for some reason. Have you any proof that the general consensus among the student population is that UL is crap?

Cheers
    Rory

rmacm wrote:
    <Fighting words>

RAAARRR I AM ROREH :v:

Rozie wrote:
    THere's essentially nothing unless you like getting pissed in a rather jock-ish bar(The Stables). There are two pubs on Campus but one is the Sports Bar, which is obviously even wrose for jockiness.

Socs, Clubs, Cinema, Concerts (Was at one last night) As loads of others pointed out, theres a lot more to do in UL then getting pissed. Although having said that, I like getting pissed with my mates.

I've met loads of people who are interested in the same thing as I am. Sure, most of them are computer nerds, but, well so am I, so I like that. I've never met a person I haven't liked here in Limerick, and they are easily more interesting then the crap place that I come from.

Standing out in a crowd dosen't make you any more or less interesting FYI
    There's nothing to do. If you're in any way artsy or looking to have an actual fulfilling social experience, don't come here. Please don't make the same mistake I did. There really isn't anything here right now, people feel such a need to defend their college that they don't try to see how other people might hate it. You won't find a lot of people here that will say that, but it's not representitive of the general consesus.

Limerick's a scammy place in general. Try going down to Cork, or maybe up to Galway, which ever is nearest.

As, Rmacm siad. I wouldnt agree with the University on a lot of things, and wouldn't go out of my way to defend it either. I like it here. I'm happy I didn't go to Cork and do the course that I was 'meant' to do. I mostly like my course (same one as you) and I'm happy with the people I know.

Frankly, It really makes f*** all difference what city your in to have a good time. Your not magically gonna have a good time if your in a different city, and people arn't gonna magically going to befriend you if your in Galway. Theres no friendship pixie thats in Galway or Cork that isn't in Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

I must say i love living in limerick..couldnt imagine going to college anywhere else tbh..iv met the greatest people/friends here..was never in limerick city in my life until i came to college here..but so far its all been good!!

I dont know what UL is like to socialise in really, as in pubs wise, but the lads gave you their opinions on them up there ^^ so i guess we'll have to take their word on that..but iv been to the lodge clubbing a few times and iv always had great fun there with my friends..

I always head to the city socialising as im only a short walk away(bit longer in high heels tho:D!!)..theres plenty of places to go..not sick of any place yet!!

but no matter where you go to college your going to love it..iv friends in UCC and they love it there..iv friends in Dublin and they love it there..theres no place better than the next..its just what you make of it yourself and the friends you'l get to know and the memories ye make together!!

Put down the course you want to do..its doesnt matter where it is, cork, limerick, galway, dublin...donegal even..you'l enjoy yourself anywhere!!

Fast_Mover wrote:
    ..but iv been to the lodge clubbing a few times and iv always had great fun there with my friends..

Ah yes, the height of entertainment for budding Limerick student :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

kaimera wrote:
    Ah yes, the height of entertainment for budding Limerick student :v:
    ..oh sur its 'the place' to be..and all the good looking UL guys go there..:rolleyes:
    no its for a change of scenery actually/the only time we ever really go in UL direction..oh well except for the Sports arena, which is an excellent facility btw!!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 4,082 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nukem

Rozie - banned

• Registered Users Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

I have enjoyed every minute of my time here and most of it has been covered above but I will repeat one thing, College is what you make of it and you can enjoy yourself in any college its all about meetin new people and havin a laugh and you can do that anywhere although UL does have plenty of facilitys etc to do it in.

P.S. Is Rozie really banned for that Nukem as much and all as I disagree with nearly everythin she says on every topic on this forum:rolleyes: she did only seem to be expressing her opinion and didnt try to fight anyone*

*please dont use the ban hammer on me for saying that!

cooperguy wrote:

P.S. Is Rozie really banned for that Nukem as much and all as I disagree with nearly everythin she says on every topic on this forum:rolleyes: she did only seem to be expressing her opinion and didnt try to fight anyone*
    Yes - 3 strikes and iv turned a blind eye to a few things but enough is enough im afraid.
    cooperguy wrote:
    LOL - i rarely rarely ban anyone but straw that broke the camels back above.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

cooperguy wrote:

I've kept quiet on this thread until now; I have to weigh in behind cooperguy and ask why exactly Rozie was banned? After all, it's a personal opinion of UL and the city, which the OP asked for. Any chance it could be rescinded?

klong wrote:
    I've kept quiet on this thread until now; I have to weigh in behind cooperguy and ask why exactly Rozie was banned? After all, it's a personal opinion of UL and the city, which the OP asked for. Any chance it could be rescinded?
    Yes and the opinion counts - its the manner of the opinion im sick of hearing "anti UL" - "UL cr*p this and that" - just tired of asking tell ya the truth

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

I know I'm no mod, but I did expect Nukem to ban Rozie after the 'don't come here, it's ****, go to Galway or Cork' type comment. It gives a bad image to UL for future students, but it also makes the students looks kinda unfriendly. I know the rest of us were more than friendly to the OP but it's the mean/rude ones and derogatory comments that always stick in your mind.

Rozie wrote:
    It's very hard to meet new people who share your interests, though that could be because the people here aren't terribly interesting. Nobody really stands out in a crowd either.

Thats why I reckon. And this is hardly his first offence

• Registered Users Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

I reckon it was a justifiable 'executive' decision. Whats that George Bush says about 'fool me once... ' yada yada yada :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

If you wanted to be noted for your "artsyness" then go to art college or hang out with the goths outside Brown Thomas. Seriously. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Rozie is entitled to his opinion but what he is saying is just untrue.

If you (i mean everybody here, not an attack on Rozie by any means) find yourself in any college and you think there is nothing there for you activity wise well then you are the problem not the college.

Start a club or soc that will help you meet people of the same interests if it doesn't exist already. You will always make a few friends in the course you are doin.

I don't drink or smoke and had no problem in college bein social. I cant think of one hobby that isn't catered for in UL be it sports, computer gaming, debating or politics, there was even a lego soc for feck sake. If they aint catered for, there are great opportunities to get off your hole and do something about it by starting your own club or soc.

UL has very acceptable teaching facilities along with having loads of cheap accommodation. So as an institute of learning I cant fault it.

Socially college is what you make it. Be a negative sour person with a "its square to be hip" attitude and you'll hate college everywhere.

Nail on head so to speak.

Cheers
    Rory

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭keevita

hear hear.

Vegeta wrote:
    Socially college is what you make it. Be a negative sour person with a "its square to be hip" attitude and you'll hate college everywhere.

qft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

If I can row in with my opinion, I didn't go to UL, 3 of my family did and they all made great friends in their time there, and I've loads of friends who went there and they enjoyed it.

I went to NUIG, had a great time, would recommend it to anyone.

My point is, it isn't where you go to college, it's who you are and who you meet in college that's so much fun. I'll admit Limerick isn't the centre of the universe, but it isn't the backend of the world either.

Rozie, no offence, but you control your own happiness. I struggle to believe 14,000 students are all hating UL.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,518 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Thanks for summing up exactly what I was thinking, Vegeta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

Rozie wrote:

Bollox, just complete bollox. I don't think I've read such ****e from the above poster in a while. Don't believe a word, except that yes, Limerick isn't the best of cities.Although, it's changing and like anywhere on this planet, you'll find what you're after if you look hard enough.I sometimes think people expect life, friends and a social life to be handed to them on a plate.

There is loads to do at UL if you look. For starters, it's got the best pool and sports arena in Ireland. I now live in London and there is NOTHING like it here regards a pool, or sporting facilities.

If you want to meet people, join clubs. There's an endless list, and not just sporting clubs. The photography club ,http://photosoc.csn.ul.ie/ is pretty descent and you'll never find a college / city that offers such cheap use of a dark room.

Musically, there was a great tribal drumming class on every Wednesday evening. There's also Capoeira (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capoeira ). I'm just giving you a few examples of several different things to do. To say nobody stands out in the crowd, is complete nonsense. Do you mean, the punks with pink hair outside Camden Town tube station in London?

Cinema, there's a great film club but on top of that, good indie and foreign flicks get screened every Monday evening for free in one of the lecture halls.

On top of that, UL has a good mix of North Americans and Europeans. If you don't need to be in a little Irish group, joining the Erasmus society is a great way to meet some great people.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Scruff

When i was there in the time of Yore it was the best sustained craic for 4 years that i've ever had.
    Though now, apparently, students are more worried about their hair, clothes etc instead of just getting drunk and having a laugh.

Scruff wrote:
    Though now, apparently, students are more worried about their hair, clothes etc instead of just getting drunk and having a laugh.

Apparently....your assumptions are wrong for me anyways!