Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you care about the North

• 18-03-2006 2:01pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

Hi, many unionists up north think we are out to get them so an honest question. Do you care about the north?

Personally I dont and would like to float it into the Atlantic and leave it there. Those ppl will never change:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

It doesn't affect me, so I suppose not.
    I mean I care about the North as much as I care for England or Scotland or Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Not so much. Hope they work out their differences and all that but not interested in 'getting it back' or anything like it. It's hady having the oul UK prices an hour's drive away too of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

if you could float it off to sea i'd be all for it tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

murphaph wrote:
    Not so much. Hope they work out their differences and all that but not interested in 'getting it back' or anything like it. It's hady having the oul UK prices an hour's drive away too of course!

They can keep it as far as im concerned, a mess they deliberately created giving in, in a cowardly fashion to unionist demands. The fact they are subsidised by the British up there means things could be sorted out brutally quickly if necassary. Such a pathetic little sectarian, bigoted hellhole that has no place in the modern world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Brian017

Just another country to me.

Brian017 wrote:
    Just another country to me.

Do you really think the 6 counties are a 'country'? I wouldnt give them that much respect tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Brian017

darkman2 wrote:
    Do you really think the 6 counties are a 'country'? I wouldnt give them that much respect tbh.
    Doesn't matter how small or how many counties it has. A country is a country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

I think we should defiantly get rid of the north ( of Dublin ).

Think we could sell it to some rich American?

Brian017 wrote:
    Doesn't matter how small or how many counties it has. A country is a country.

A 'country' is able to handle its own affairs, ensure the just and fair treatment of all its citizens and provide for their defence......sound like the North?

Ruaidhri wrote:
    I think we should defiantly get rid of the north ( of Dublin ).

Think we could sell it to some rich American?

Im from Nrt Dublin. Whats wrong with it? As opposed to South Dublin:rolleyes: (appart from the scumbags obviously on this side)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I don't live in the North, therefore it's none of my damn business. Pity there are not more of my fellow countryscangers with the same view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I will never recognise Northern Ireland. There is no Northern Ireland only a part of our god given Territory that is occupied by a Foreign Aggressor. The North belongs to Ireland and nothing will ever change that. Simple Fact, The Unionists can integrate into Ireland32 or go back to their Scottish Ancestral roots in Scotland. Any sort of a bigot that makes noise about a Tri-Colour at a St. Patrick's Day Parade in Belfast isn't welcome in Ireland as far as I am concerned. Did you see such comments anywhere else in the World yesterday, The Tricolour was flown everywhere from Jerusalem to Hong Kong and Beyond and I heard no one complaining. I also heard nobody complaining when the USA Flag was flown in the Parades up & down the Island yesterday or when the Bangladeshi community participated in the Killarney Parade too. I would mind floating off the Orange Order & the Minority of Unionist Bigots though alright, or having them towed to Tierra del fuego and left there. The only other that made noise were Fox News in the USA, They ran a story called Erin Go Home? Obviously biased against the legalize the Irish campaign over there. Fair and Unbiased yeah sure thing :mad:

netwhizkid wrote:
    I will never recognise Northern Ireland. There is no Northern Ireland only a part of our god given Territory that is occupied by a Foreign Aggressor. The North belongs to Ireland and nothing will ever change that. Simple Fact, The Unionists can integrate into Ireland32 or go back to their Scottish Ancestral roots in Scotland. Any sort of a bigot that makes noise about a Tri-Colour at a St. Patrick's Day Parade in Belfast isn't welcome in Ireland as far as I am concerned. Did you see such comments anywhere else in the World yesterday, The Tricolour was flown everywhere from Jerusalem to Hog Kong and Beyond and I heard no one complaining. I also heard nobody complaining when the USA Flag was flown in the Parades up & down the Island yesterday or when the Bangladeshi community participated in the Killarney Parade too. I would mind floating off the Orange Order & the Minority of Unionist Bigots though alright, or having them towed to Tierra del fuego and left there. The only other that made noise were Fox News in the USA, They ran a story called Erin Go Home? Obviously biased against the legalize the Irish campaign over there. Fair and Unbiased yeah sure thing :mad:

Thats the mindset up there. Do we really want to import that down here through integration.......no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭gaf1983

netwhizkid wrote:
    I will never recognise Northern Ireland. There is no Northern Ireland only a part of our god given Territory that is occupied by a Foreign Aggressor.

God doesn't give out any territory to any particular group of people.

Don't really care about who controls Northern Ireland. I suppose I agree with the Good Friday Principles, that if enough of them want to be ruled by Dublin and enough people in the 26 counties want the same then it should go through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

gaf1983 wrote:
    God doesn't give out any territory to any particular group of people.

Please try tell this to Israeli Jews, God's Chose People and the Promised Land.

</controversy>

darkman2 wrote:
    Thats the mindset up there. Do we really want to import that down here through integration....
    I think not :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

I agree that if the people in the north wanted to be Irish, i'd have no problems with them becoming irish, and us getting the 6 counties back. Put it this way, if scotland replaced the north, we'd be getting on like a house on fire, we might still be seperate but we'd be working together. We could get the north back, but the animosity from years of hate and indifference would still be there, changing the name of it isn't going to wipe clean all of that. The problem isn't that England owns the 6 counties anymore, its the general consensus of the people that live there. I'm sure Tony would be more than happy to wash his hands of the whole fiasco, but its the northern people that don't want change. So like i said, if they changed their minds, i'd accept it.

Also, aren't we forgetting something, they might be english and we might be irish, but we're all Europeans, so borders shouldn't be an issue anymore. *something a kind polish guy i work with pointed out to me* :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I think L31mr0d has a good idea... Do ye think Scotland would be up for leavin the UK and joinin Ireland? :D They seem like good craic!

Care?

For me it's the most important issue there is. I mean, I always find it almost pathetic how people whinge about whether the Government spent too much money on some bypass in the arse end of nowhere. Complete non issues only dragged up because RTE wants to make a hero of some gob****e like Eddie Hobbs. The North, on the other hand, is a real issue. It is the reason I have voted FF in the past and the reason I will vote for them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Yes I care about it as it is part of my nation.

I don't care much for these Irish people who who have no understanding or appreciation for the massive contribution Ulster has given to Irishness. Irishness isn't Irishness without any of the four provinces so I find views expressed by the OP not only insulting, but disappointing and embarrassing.

Shame on him and people of his ilk.

L31mr0d wrote:
    I agree that if the people in the north wanted to be Irish, i'd have no problems with them becoming irish, and us getting the 6 counties back.

'Becoming' Irish? Do tell us, at what point in time did the Irish state acquire the right to declare who is and who is not Irish? I think you'll find the Irish state does not have a monopoly of Irishness and that those in the north are as Irish as you or I. If some of them choose to renounce that Irishness, that is their right.
    L31mr0d wrote:
    Put it this way, if scotland replaced the north, we'd be getting on like a house on fire, we might still be seperate but we'd be working together.

Nonsense. The views expressed by those in Glasgow are little different to the views expressed by those in Belfast. Would the parts of Scotland which are fond of wearing dark blue colours get on with us like a house on fire, do you think?
    L31mr0d wrote:
    Also, aren't we forgetting something, they might be english and we might be irish, but we're all Europeans, so borders shouldn't be an issue anymore. *something a kind polish guy i work with pointed out to me* :D

Too bad the Polish guy didn't inform you that those in the North aren't English. What a bizarre thing to say! England is a place in the neighbouring island.

It's a pity we have views like yours still doing the rounds. More education is required on the north of Ireland me thinks.

I don't care much for these Irish people who who have no understanding or appreciation for the massive contribution Ulster has given to Irishness. Irishness isn't Irishness without any of the four provinces so I find views expressed by the OP not only insulting, but disappointing and embarrassing.

Yawn. Here's a tip-if you don't want to be insulted, don't read boards, especially AH! ;)

murphaph wrote:
    Yawn. Here's a tip-if you don't want to be insulted, don't read boards, especially AH! ;)

Here's another tip. If the only thing you can offer up as a response is a 'yawn' then don't enter into political discussions. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

I think people are so tired of hearing about the North that they don't actually know very much about it. How many people do you know can name the political parties? Do you know the population? The unemployment levels, or how they've changed in the last few years?

Do you really know anything about collusion, undercover agents, the peace process, devolution?

Do you realise that Amnesty International, Human Rights First and Human Rights Watch are all involved in resolving the issues in the North of Ireland? Don't you normally associate groups like that with Africa?

Or are you just so sick of hearing about it you don't pay attention any more?

Sad fact is most people couldn't tell you the difference between Rosemary Nelson and Rita O'Hare if you paid them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I would like to see the North as part of a 32 county republic. I don't know if that will ever happen, but it something I would love to live to see happening.
    I care about the north in that I will always hope for peace, and a solution to the problems that do not compromise too many values of the residents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I care.

Here's another tip. If the only thing you can offer up as a response is a 'yawn' then don't enter into political discussions. ;)
    Re-read your post that I was yawning at. Nothing political in there, you just said you cared about Northern Ireland in one line and then went on to verbally assault the OP in a paragraph! If you're gonna get political, get political, don't just post about how insulted you feel (boo-hoo) and then make like it's serious political debate :rolleyes:

murphaph wrote:
    Re-read your post that I was yawning at. Nothing political in there, you just said you cared about Northern Ireland in one line and then went on to verbally assault the OP in a paragraph! If you're gonna get political, get political, don't just post about how insulted you feel (boo-hoo) and then make like it's serious political debate :rolleyes:

I stated that it was part of my nation. That's political as it implies being nationalist which I unashamedly am. You will find the Irish constitution recognises that it is the entitlement and birthright of every person born in the island to be part of the Irish nation and that the main political parties in the Irish state are nationalist.

You yawned at my view yet proffered up no reason for doing this. It seems you are quite adept at engaging with those who want 'Brits out' etc. but not all nationalists are like this.

Judging from your childish yawning it seems your mind is closed. A pity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

I don't care. But I don't care about Mayo, Kilkenny, Wexford, etc., so...

I stated that it was part of my nation. That's political as it implies being nationalist which I unashamedly am. You will find the Irish constitution recognises that it is the entitlement and birthright of every person born in the island to be part of the Irish nation and that the main political parties in the Irish state are nationalist.

You yawned at my view yet proffered up no reason for doing this. It seems you are quite adept at engaging with those who want 'Brits out' etc. but not all nationalists are like this.

Judging from your childish yawning it seems your mind is closed. A pity.
    I guess I just dislike nationalism really, any flavour of it. I believe it is a tool used by the rich and powerful to control people dumb enough to be suckered into believing in it (similar to how religion has been/is used to do the same). We're world citizens before we're anything.

murphaph wrote:
    I guess I just dislike nationalism really, any flavour of it. I believe it is a tool used by the rich and powerful to control people dumb enough to be suckered into believing in it (similar to how religion has been/is used to do the same). We're world citizens before we're anything.

Fair enough. I can understand and respect that view. It's just I dislike it when people say things like 'cut it off and let it float away' etc. I think even you will acknowledge that historically Ulster is a very relevant part of Irishness.

Anyway, off topic again it's looking very close in the rugby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

31 county Ireland?
    throw all the bigots into 1 county and let them kill each other. when they have all died, then we'll take that last county.

OT, Ireland win a memorable victory at Twickenham, "you can shove your fcukin chariot up your arse, you can shove your fcukin chariot up your arse, you can shove your fcukin chariot, shove your fcukin chariot, you can shove your fcukin chariot up your arse!" (works best in an aussie accent for some reason) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Sure, I care in so much that it'd be nice to see everyone getting along.
    But I've no interest in what extremist bigots on either side have to say... the phrase "political points scoring" really sums it up for me.
    The issues are so clouded in waffle, shít-stirring retorts and rhetoric that I just can't keep up. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

murphaph wrote:

Don't get into it mate, unless you've got a dictionary on hand... You'll be hours arguing with him about whether it's pronounced potaytoh or potahhtoh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

netwhizkid wrote:
    I will never recognise Northern Ireland. There is no Northern Ireland only a part of our god given Territory that is occupied by a Foreign Aggressor. The North belongs to Ireland and nothing will ever change that. Simple Fact, The Unionists can integrate into Ireland32 or go back to their Scottish Ancestral roots in Scotland. Any sort of a bigot that makes noise about a Tri-Colour at a St. Patrick's Day Parade in Belfast isn't welcome in Ireland as far as I am concerned. Did you see such comments anywhere else in the World yesterday, The Tricolour was flown everywhere from Jerusalem to Hong Kong and Beyond and I heard no one complaining. I also heard nobody complaining when the USA Flag was flown in the Parades up & down the Island yesterday or when the Bangladeshi community participated in the Killarney Parade too. I would mind floating off the Orange Order & the Minority of Unionist Bigots though alright, or having them towed to Tierra del fuego and left there. The only other that made noise were Fox News in the USA, They ran a story called Erin Go Home? Obviously biased against the legalize the Irish campaign over there. Fair and Unbiased yeah sure thing :mad:

by the way, just to inform you, that your views are bigotted.
    for someone that calls everyone else a bigot, id be fery careful.

with regards the north, forget that, how about we hand ireland back the english and tell them were sorry for fúcking up their country?

murphaph wrote:
    OT, Ireland win a memorable victory at Twickenham, "you can shove your fcukin chariot up your arse, you can shove your fcukin chariot up your arse, you can shove your fcukin chariot, shove your fcukin chariot, you can shove your fcukin chariot up your arse!" (works best in an aussie accent for some reason) :D

banned. if you want to start being abusive and insulting, then do it somewhere else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 oblian

i used to be exactly like some of the lads here with the "wouldnt care if it floated out to sea" mentality.

havin said that it was when i was like 12

i have been comin up north for the last 4 years now(three in relationship and now in uni in derry) and tbh its fuc*in depressin havin to use sterling here.also people seem to think most people up north are all prods and loyal to the crown etc and it couldnt be further from the truth.most people here(derry) are catholics and alot in tyrone and belfast too that i met.i have never gotten any hassle bout bein from the republic and the way of life here is far less stressful then the one in Dublin.basically this province is occupied and yet retains far more of its cultural identity in Irish roots then the republic does now

i mean even goin to bus aras now,up till awhile ago the signs were in Irish and english now they english and fuc*in POLISH!!!!

so to answer the op's question yeah i care alot actually.just my €0.02

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I think people are so tired of hearing about the North that they don't actually know very much about it. How many people do you know can name the political parties? Do you know the population? The unemployment levels, or how they've changed in the last few years?

Do you really know anything about collusion, undercover agents, the peace process, devolution?

All of the above have been given extensive coverage in the media for many years.

If people are too stupid, ignorant or braindead not to be aware of these issues [possibly because they're too busy reading red-top tabloids] then that's their problem.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

netwhizkid wrote:
    Please try tell this to Israeli Jews, God's Chose People and the Promised Land.

</controversy>
    OT Have a read of the book or look at http://www.thebricktestament.com/ The "promised" land was already populated so they depopulated it / enslaved . One could argue the same thing happened in South Africa or in Northern Ireland or Oz / America.
    Should people have rights to ancestral land ?
    How should we balance their rights to those who occupy it now / those they originally displaced ? ( even in Iceland the Norse/Viking settlers probably killed off Irish Monks )

The big problem is that farmers breed, whereas hunter/gatherers don't have such large population increases. You could argue that the land grab for farming in the pre-industrial era is responsible for a lot of stuff.

Anyway my 2c - in a 32 county the unionists could have the balance of power, as they could be seen as more politically acceptable to capitalists etc. than SF.

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    All of the above have been given extensive coverage in the media for many years.

If people are too stupid, ignorant or braindead not to be aware of these issues [possibly because they're too busy reading red-top tabloids] then that's their problem.

some people just are not interested.
    get over it.

Plenty of Irish ppl have my opinion that we would be better off if the North didnt exist. Sry they had their chance when they were in the limelight for the GF agreement. If they want to act like petulant children then we cant help them. (their political leaders that is)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Saintly

Many Southerners haven't visited the 6 counties and many more fail to understand the political and cultural context in which the conflicts and tensions have occured. Nationalists up North often feel abandoned by the South and I can understand why. They *are* Irish and comments like 'just cut the North away' and the like, show just how little their fellow countrymen understand their situation.

I spent many summers up North and have friends on both sides of the 'divide'. It's not until you hear a Nationalist (and I'm not talking about a gun-toting fanatic here - just a 28 year normal girl) talking about what it was like to lose a family member to murder by a member of the armed forces, to have that member protected by the security services that are supposed to protect you etc etc. That's one of the more dramatic stories but there are many more of subtle intimidation, of feelings of isolation and of being under siege. It's a lifetime away from what happened down here and it's only been a few years since the GFA, of course distrust lingers.

We all know there's two sides to this story, I'm not waving any flag here. I just think that it's weird that so many people down South have such little knowledge or interest in the Nationalist cause, particularly as relatively few years have passed since partition? Is it just a case of same old story?

Saintly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

darkman2 wrote:
    They can keep it as far as im concerned, a mess they deliberately created giving in, in a cowardly fashion to unionist demands. The fact they are subsidised by the British up there means things could be sorted out brutally quickly if necassary. Such a pathetic little sectarian, bigoted hellhole that has no place in the modern world.

so where were you when irish sectarian bigots was rioting in dublin,the moon perhaps:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

L31mr0d wrote:
    I agree that if the people in the north wanted to be Irish, i'd have no problems with them becoming irish, and us getting the 6 counties back. Put it this way, if scotland replaced the north, we'd be getting on like a house on fire, we might still be seperate but we'd be working together. We could get the north back, but the animosity from years of hate and indifference would still be there, changing the name of it isn't going to wipe clean all of that. The problem isn't that England owns the 6 counties anymore, its the general consensus of the people that live there. I'm sure Tony would be more than happy to wash his hands of the whole fiasco, but its the northern people that don't want change. So like i said, if they changed their minds, i'd accept it.

british is the word your looking for

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I really couldn't care less.
    I like to live my life without thinking of meaningless ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

darkman2 wrote:
    Hi, many unionists up north think we are out to get them so an honest question. Do you care about the north?

Personally I dont and would like to float it into the Atlantic and leave it there. Those ppl will never change:mad:

Do you care about wicklow, or beruit or ethiopia or crumilin or somalia or iraq or .......................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

'Becoming' Irish? Do tell us, at what point in time did the Irish state acquire the right to ...

Ok let me clarify, i'm saying the people in the north don't WANT to be Irish, at least for the majority, they like that they are northern Irish, and that their loyalty lies with the United Kingdom, you don't see northerners marching on Belfast requesting for the ROI to get the counties back, and i am NOT talking about the Nationality of these people (i.e. whats written on their passport) i'm talking about their mindset. Their mindset is more ENGLISH than IRISH. This has nothing to do with the affect Belfast has had on Irish history, it has to do with whether we care about the North, and I am saying, I WOULD CARE about the NORTH if they decided that wanted to be loyal to the ROI rather than the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,107 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

darkman2 wrote:
    Do you care about the north?

No.
    darkman2 wrote:
    Personally I dont and would like to float it into the Atlantic and leave it there.

Good plan. I'd settle for politicians here starting a swear jar that they have to pay into every time they mention NI and the "sit-ye-ay-shun".

slipss wrote:
    Do you care about wicklow, ...

no
    slipss wrote:
    , or beruit ......

no
    slipss wrote:
    or ethiopia.....

no already
    slipss wrote:
    or crumilin ..........

still no im afraid
    slipss wrote:
    or somalia .....

nope
    slipss wrote:
    iraq ...........

no. no. no.

whats the point in asking these questions?

i really dont understand why people constantly need to throw their view onto other people. its like the stupid 'should the national anthem be sung in irish' thread.

not caring about the north does not mean you are not irish. it means you dont care about the north.
    i dont give a crap about kerry either, just in case that was the next question.

i care about me. i think most people care about themselves. the north means nothing to me. i dont care about what happened a couple of cetries ago.
    if people want to continue living in the past as i see it, then go team you!

personally, im all for moving on, and since for most of us, the north is not a situation that we live in. anyone who involves themselves in it with strong opinions and damning condemnations of anyone who does also believe in some cause or other, is just frankly rediculous.

i mean, at what point did ireland become 'ireland'? was it when it was created as a landmass? or was it after the 1916 rising?
    or was it when there were 5 kings through the land? was ireland really ireland then, or just a series of small kingdoms that fought each other for land rights?

but hold what ever opinions you want. youre free to do it. and i will continue to think that anyone who rattles on about the north, english oppression and freedom fighters is an idiot. and i think im free to do that.

for me, my life is about looking forward, its about making sure that my family and i are well, fed, warm and educated. its about making sure my life is as good as it can be.
    its not about living in the past becuase i cant get over some useless grudge, and the fact that some people in a part of the world that i dont care about cant seem to get their own shít sorted out.