Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murder suspect died in custody/Coolock Shooting

• 07-03-2006 1:22pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Gardai release name of murder suspect who died in custody

13:06 Tuesday March 7th 2006

Gardai have named the murder suspect who died in custody this morning as 24-year-old Dwane Foster, from Woodbank Avenue in the Finglas area of Dublin.

Mr Foster was one of five people arrested in Kildare on Sunday night in connection with the murder of 22-year-old Donna Cleary in the Coolock area of Dublin.

He complained about headaches while in custody yesterday and was seen by a doctor three times.

He was subsequently taken to Beaumont Hospital, but was later brought back to Coolock Garda Station for further questioning.

He then fell ill again this morning and was pronounced dead shortly after being taken back to Beaumont by ambulance at 3am.

Any one know any more about this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Wanted Man

Yeah just listened to it on news at one...

He had a history of poor health...throat cancer, migranes, headaches...

Was a drug dealer who probably indulged too much in the products he sold...

I'd say it was natural causes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

It all sounds a bit strange really. Heard it this morning on the radio, haven't heard anything apart from what you've posted yet though and I've been listening all morning for someone to shed some light on it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

Thats too bad. Methinks Dwayne got off lightly. He should have got 40 years of beatings in Joy for what he did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Just made a thread on news/media about it
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054899590
    It is a bit weird alright.. And a coincidence that he was IN Garda custody when his body decided to give up.. ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

From BreakingNews.ie

Gardaí have named the murder suspect who died in custody this morning as 24-year-old Dwane Foster, from Woodbank Avenue in the Finglas area of Dublin.

Mr Foster was one of five people arrested in Kildare on Sunday night in connection with the murder of 22-year-old Donna Cleary in the Coolock area of Dublin.

He complained about headaches while in custody yesterday and was seen by a doctor three times.

He was subsequently taken to Beaumont Hospital, but was later brought back to Coolock Garda Station for further questioning.

He then fell ill again this morning and was pronounced dead shortly after being taken back to Beaumont by ambulance at 3am.

DaBreno wrote:
    Thats too bad. Methinks Wayne got off lightly. He should have got 40 years of beatings in Joy for what he did.
    He wasn't convicted of anything, he was 1 of 5 people being questioned. Get your facts straight before you start talking ****.

Repli wrote:
    He wasn't convicted of anything, he was 1 of 5 people being questioned. Get your facts straight before you start talking ****.

Calm down little boy.

Edit : Hey, What happened to "You idiot"?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

If he was seen by the Doc 3 times and brought to hospital surely if something life threating was wrong the wouldn've have been brought back to the station.

If indeed he was suffering from poor health surely the Doc who examined him would've seen he wasn't fit enough to go back to the station.

I dont think it is dogey just looks very bad for the Garadi and Doc involved

P.S Sorry didnt realise it had been posted there. I checked but didnt come across it (beat you by 4mins thats why!) and thought this might be a better place.

You're the one who said
    DaBreno wrote:
    He should have got 40 years of beatings in Joy for what he did.
    That is a stupid thing to say, for all you know he was completely innocent and in the eyes of the law he was innocent (until proven otherwise) so basically what you're saying is anyone who is ever questioned by the Gardai about murder should get 40 years of beatings in the Joy... right......that makes sense.. :rolleyes:

Repli wrote:
    You're the one who said

That is a stupid thing to say, for all you know he was completely innocent and in the eyes of the law he was innocent (until proven otherwise) so basically what you're saying is anyone who is ever questioned by the Gardai about murder should get 40 years of beatings in the Joy... right......that makes sense.. :rolleyes:

Faie enough, I should have added the provisio "IF guilty" for it was a brutal crime. No need for the personals just coz you can Roundhouse kick.

Repli wrote:
    You're the one who said

Fair enough, I should have added the provisio "IF guilty" for it was a brutal crime. No need for the personals just coz you can Roundhouse kick.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Repli wrote:
    You're the one who said

Would have to agree with you here.

But to be fair if he was convicted people would think the exact same thing

No, what annoyed me about what he said was that he was 1 of 5 people being questioned. Any 1 of them could have fired the shots - IF IT EVEN WAS 1 OF THE 5!

How relaible is the crime reporter on the Herald? He says the Cops reckons this IS the guy who pulled the trigger.

Repli wrote:
    No, what annoyed me about what he said was that he was 1 of 5 people being questioned. Any 1 of them could have fired the shots - IF IT EVEN WAS 1 OF THE 5!

I know what you meant.

I was trying to saw if he was convicted then 40 years in joy getting the **** kicked out of him is what every one would hope.

On an aside can a dead man be brought to court? If the all the facts point to him what happens? Is it just left as unsolved (i.e. no conviction) or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

Repli wrote:

Look man you have made 3 posts all stating the same thing. Point taken. Give it a rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭OrangeOranges

Well IF he was 1 of the 5 people travelling in the car then IF he was guilty he should of got years for accessory.

IF he was guilty of sitting in the car beside dudes who were travelling towards a house full of people to try and kill or maim innocents then I wouldnt of had a big problem with 40years of beatings in Mountjoy.

Anyways, regardless, I'm sure lovely Dwane had a kind-hearted caring side to him and just "fell in with a bad crowd" of animals that like to kill mothers and children. Of course that's if Dwane was involved.

Anyways at least the gardai have suspects. Think everybody is completely disgusted and the crime. The randomness of it is really frightning.

Hopefully if someone gets convicted the judge will allow him out in a nice 5-6 years where he will really learn his lesson. Maybe a little time-off for good behaviour and rehabilitation thrown in there too. Poor guy probably never had a chance, its not his fault or maybe he was never in trouble before the 1 time he picked up a gun and sprayed a house party. Another poor guy that "fell in with a bad crowd" and is really sorry but "didnt mean it".

Take the Robert Houlahan case. Kill an 11 year old kid,don't call an ambulance or anything but try and burn the body in a bog ditch, don't tell the cops, help the parents in their grief and then get a light sentance cos ya didnt mean it.

DaBreno wrote:
    How relaible is the crime reporter on the Herald? He says the Cops reckons this IS the guy who pulled the trigger.

What did the guy from the Herald say? Who is he?

Mick McCaffery I think. He describes Dwayne Foster as the Gang leader Gardai believe killed the young mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭robz150

I find it strange that a cancer victim on deaths door would be trying to gatecrash a party, but hey what do I know:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

robz150 wrote:
    I find it strange that a cancer victim on deaths door would be trying to gatecrash a party
    Cancer? They said on the radio a while ago that he died from a Brain Hemmorage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

DaBreno wrote:
    Mick McCaffery I think. He describes Dwayne Foster as the Gang leader Gardai believe killed the young mother.

Trial by media.. the only way to go.

The sad thing is that everyone is so worked up that it is him that his friends can all claim it was him and get off scot free (if one of the others did it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

I know someone in Beaumont Hosp. and they said he hung himself...I'll have to wait for confirmation on that though. Even the Gardai have asked the public not to be presumtious in his guessing how he died e.g a good Garda beating!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

interesting it does seem strange that the doctor thought he was fit enough to go back for more questioning

The Daily Mirror were writing this morning that the chief suspect who I presume is this fellow was an "IRA hitman"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

I presume the remaining four will now place the guilt firmly on Dwane Foster for the actual shooting if it is proven that they all were involved, regardless of his guilt or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭mayotom

flanzer wrote:
    I know someone in Beaumont Hosp. and they said he hung himself...I'll have to wait for confirmation on that though. Even the Gardai have asked the public not to be presumtious in his guessing how he died e.g a good Garda beating!

Now who's been presumptious.

Even if it was at the hands of the Garda(which it probably wasn't) it was probably comming to him. with a record that long.

If the court system in this country was right he would probably be already locked up for previous repeat offences. and there wouldn't have been a murder at the weekend.

thats not saying he is guilty, the above would apply to whoever is resposible for her murder.
    The Criminal justice system is a shambles. there should be more prisons built, and the inmates should be made to work to pay for the running of the prison. bring back the ancient prison systems. eg sentencing people to 7 years hard labour. this would make people think twice about commiting an offence.

We wouldn't have the social issuse we have if a stricter system was in place.

Bluetonic wrote:
    I presume the remaining four will now place the guilt firmly on Dwane Foster for the actual shooting if it is proven that they all were involved, regardless of his guilt or not.

Might be just me, but I thought the article in the Herald alluded that the Cops had suspected him as the trigger man before his death.
    I agree it is now likely that the others will let him take the rap anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 claire_dublin

The media could blow this completly out of proportation or they might decide to take the poor woman's side that was shot to death by him. Either way he is gone.

In my previous post, I meant that the Gardai were unfairly criticised and blamed in the past for the death of some people in custody. But I'm definitely saying that they had no involvement in this death.

My contact in Beaumont has said he had lasarations and marks on his neck indicative of being hung! This chap sees this sort of thing quite regularily so would be qualified to make a judgement on his death.

I don't know if it will ever come out, maybe it will, maybe it won't.
    Would the gardai loose face if someone in custody awaiting a murder charge hung himself with such ease?

flanzer wrote:
    Would the gardai loose face if someone in custody awaiting a murder charge hung himself with such ease?

You would hope so. If involved he deserved to face prision time. Suicide is an easy way out I reckon and is not much punishment at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Wanted Man

I think it would be wise not to comment too much on this case...After all there may be criminal proceedings brought in time and a court case...you don't want a defense lawyer coming up with a defence that there have been prejudicial comments made about the case and the defendents can't get a fair trial...better to stick to the known facts and not to speculate who is innocent or guilty...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

The others will probably just blame the guy who died. Thats the sad fact

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

how did the doctors not pick up on the problem? he had a brain scan etc ,as for commenting on the man who died ,he cannot sue so all the papers are naming and slating him(rightly in my opinion) ,also he cant face trial-he is said to be the killer by informed sources-and the other people with him wont get much jail if any,they can just blame him if they did anything wrong themselves.

dclane wrote:
    The others will probably just blame the guy who died. Thats the sad fact
    read my mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I work in the building just across the road from the house where this happened.

This building is absolutely crawling with secuirity cameras and I'm sure a good bit of evidence was picked up by the them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

Well thats something, I'd say the Guards will hold them for several days, and they wont see each other, therfor the stories will be different, the detectives will probably use the old - Well he blames you technique

DaBreno wrote:
    Suicide is an easy way out I reckon and is not much punishment at all.

I totally agree. I was sick when I got the txt message at 8 this morning. This chap is obviously went around for most his life acting like the big man but when it boiled down to it he was a total coward with a blatent disregard for other peoples life, let alone his own life.

There has been a lot said in the media over the last couple of days about bringing back the death sentence for indescriminate murders like this, well this chap is dead now and the general feeing is that justice has not been done :mad:

DaBreno wrote:
    Suicide is an easy way out I reckon and is not much punishment at all.

I totally agree. I was sick when I got the txt message at 8 this morning. This chap is obviously went around for most his life acting like the big man but when it boiled down to it he was a total coward with a blatent disregard for other peoples life, let alone his own life.

There has been a lot said in the media over the last couple of days about bringing back the death sentence for indescriminate murders like this, well this chap is dead now and the general feeling is that justice has not been done :mad:

flanzer wrote:

There has been a lot said in the media over the last couple of days about bringing back the death sentence for indescriminate murders like this, well this chap is dead now and the general feeling is that justice has not been done :mad:
    didnt he die of a brain haemoraghe??

Read my earlier post. That's currently what's been floating around the media

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Although I don't think it's the case in this particular instance, sometimes the automatic calls of 'police brutality' can lead to greater discomfort. Take, for example, the case of this chap who died in custody of the San Bernadino sherrif's dept.

Contains link to video which is not for the squeamish

After it was announced that the chap was dead, there were immediate accusations of brutality against the Hispanic arrestee. (He was arrested for shooting a deputy). Statements by the police that he killed himself were not accepted. Finally, the video from the interrogation room ended up public, and the family are now traumatised by the sight of the chap calmly shooting himself in the head.

There appears to be a 'rational' chain of events in this Coolock case, I see no reason that the Gard's statements on the issue should be suspect.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Its certainly odd alright but theres nothing to really indicate anything really fishy. RTÉ are reporting he was unwell/in poor health/had cancer etc... Also says theres videotapes of his interviews.

I'm not a big fan of An Garda, but I don't suspect they had any part to play in his death. They would have known how high profile a case it was going to be, and wouldn't have messed around.

Passed the house earlier on my way to the shops. It's a still a cordoned off crime scene and were still guys inside studying the place and a photographer outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

flanzer wrote:
    In my previous post, I meant that the Gardai were unfairly criticised and blamed in the past for the death of some people in custody. But I'm definitely saying that they had no involvement in this death.

My contact in Beaumont has said he had lasarations and marks on his neck indicative of being hung! This chap sees this sort of thing quite regularily so would be qualified to make a judgement on his death.

I don't know if it will ever come out, maybe it will, maybe it won't.

Yeah, because everyone that has died form hanging in a garda station did it to themselves, and we all know how easy it is to tell the difference between someone that hung themselves and some one thats been strung up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

The fact that this investigation is being run outta Coolock station says so much about the state of law enforcement in this country. :mad:

For those who haven't seen this and are asking why, see my post about a third of the way down, here

Whether or not this guy was a scumbag or not, I still find the whole timing suspicious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Oh , all this bickering is so theraputic (sp?). Either way, whatever the cause was, I wont be missing his sort on the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

you die as you live ??

i will DEFINITELY NOT miss him either, nor i'm sure will the parents of the girl he shot. Anyone remember the 2 scumbags who got shot robbing the post office in lusk last may ??? me either, and absolutely no love lost.
    You die as you live, c'est la vie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Yeah good point, you die as you live, I haven't seen or heard anything here or in the news about this guys criminal record has anyone else that posted in this thread?, so I can't say how he lived and he was just a suspect in this murder so
    I have no evidence he even deserved to be in custody. But if he did pull the trigger and kill that girl then he probably got what he deserved.

And hopefully these gardai if they did have anything to do with his death, and all the other scumbag garda that have been responsible for the death of people in thier custody will wander down a dark alley one day and be mutilated to death with axes and stanley blades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

i know we're only relying on 'the media' but apparently he pulled the trigger, but dont quote me on that, it's getting scary enough saying whats on your mind, even around here 'apparently'

Kaiser2000 wrote:
    The fact that this investigation is being run outta Coolock station says so much about the state of law enforcement in this country. :mad:
    Ha. Yes. Good point. It looks like they seriously fucked up. Only time will tell what degree they fucked up to.