Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

weird sayings...

• 16-02-2006 4:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭

what type of weird saying have you heard that you dont understand, someone may be able to answer you/tell you what it means!

what does atari jaguar mean on polls?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

"He has the Grip of the Badger" when i first heard it I thought of chinese samurai movies, but apparently it's an old irish saying, something to do with tenacity.

Atari Jaguar was a console that was released years, and years, and years ago in a bid to compete with sega/nintendo and the rest. Failed utterly if memory serves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭PlayGirl

Atari Jaguar was a console that was released years, and years, and years ago in a bid to compete with sega/nintendo and the rest. Failed utterly if memory serves.
    but why is it said on polls??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

PlayGirl wrote:
    but why is it said on polls??

I'd guess it's a joke of some kind, like the whole Chuck Norris/Mr. T thing, why put something completely obselete into a poll it has absolutely no relevance to? Because it's funny that's why.

Sort of like raping a clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

why put something completely obselete into a poll it has absolutely no relevance to? Because it's funny that's why.

oh kk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 jizzum

Favorite sayings..most come from my aul man or my mates old man...

"im starving...Id ate the c0ck of a low flying duck.."

"what are ya doing standing there like a PIg pis$ing..":confused:

"he has a neck like a jockeys b0llox..."

"i couldnt give a fiddlers w@nk what ya fu#kin think..."

" he's a miserable c#nt he wouldnt let ya sniff the steam off his sh!t.."

i could write a book full off these..used to crack me up when i was a kid..needless to say the teachers in school werent to impressed when i brought them to school

jizzum wrote:
    Favorite sayings..most come from my aul man or my mates old man...

"im starving...Id ate the c0ck of a low flying duck.."

"what are ya doing standing there like a PIg pis$ing..":confused:

"he has a neck like a jockeys b0llox..."

"i couldnt give a fiddlers w@nk what ya fu#kin think..."

" he's a miserable c#nt wouldnt let ya sniff the steam of his sh!t.."

i could write a book full off these..used to crack me up when i was a kid..needless to say the teachers in school werent to impressed when i brought them to school
    lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Little Miss...

Acting the maggot........
    we all know what it means though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

"He has the Grip of the Badger" .
    I have heard badgers bite and keep applying pressure until they hear a bone break. People would put sticks in their wellies so the sound would make the badger let go
    It did fail but was the first "something" bit console out there, a fact often overlooked by sony/sega/nintendo marketing people who would list their machine as the first with "such n such" when really other consoles had it first. I think it just pisses off people that it was ignored. Whenever polls are up people often request obscure things to be included.

Acting the maggot........
    we all know what it means though!
    yea, sure we do! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

"You'll be alright before you're twice married" - never understood that one at all. Usually said if you hurt yourself as a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

"laughing like a basket of chips"
    "up and down like a hooers knickers"
    My mother has oodles of these...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭pontovic

heres a few i have heard

-- im so hungry i could eat a farmers arse through a thorn bush

-- jesus im sweating like a paedophile in a barney suit

-- she is as mad as a snake

-- women will come and go, but the bottle is always there for you. the bottle is your friend.

-- im so horny i could ride a warm scarf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

He'd get up on a stiff breeze

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

Quackles wrote:
    "laughing like a basket of chips"
    "up and down like a hooers knickers"
    My mother has oodles of these...

have to ask , the says or the hooers knickers ? :o:p

Back on Topic ,

As Mad as a Spoon
    or if the person is completely out there
    As mad as a fork .

Don't ask me holmes , it's your world im just living in it. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

Megatron wrote:
    have to ask , the says or the hooers knickers ? :o:p

Both..

That reminds, me though -

"Odd as five"
    "It won't stunt their growth" (when people going out ages get engaged)
    "Thats the way" (greeting by farmer type folk the second time you meet them in short period of time)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

You bizarre horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

"Don't go chucking stuff about, you might need that later" Karl Pilkington

"Ya never see an old guy tucking into a twix do ya?"--Karl Pilkington

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭modular

"Only eat animals that look nice when they're alive" - Karl Pilkington

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Knee high to a grasshopper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭i am a lady

"the sights you see when you haven't got your shotgun"

a favourite of my mother and now me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

As pi$$ed as a granny's matress
    As thick as bottled pig sh1t
    So hungry that you would eat a child's arse through a wicker chair
    In and out like a fiddler's elbow
    The curse of the seven snotty orphans on you
    Smart as a horse and hung like Einstein
    As ugly as a bag of spanners
    As awkward as a bag of hammers
    bad cess to ye
    may the wind at your back always be your own
    grinning like a waanking jap
    He would drink pi$$ out of a hooer's boot
    A face like a bulldog licking pi$$ of a nettle
    A face like a bulldog chewing a wasp
    So mean he would peel an orange in his pocket
    So mean he would take a cigarette out lighting
    As cute as two hooers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

pontovic wrote:

-- jesus im sweating like a paedophile in a barney suit

never heard that one but funny as fcuk:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

"A cute cork hooer and a mean cavan bastard..."
    "Jaysus I'm that hungry, I'd ate a horse..."
    "Grinning like a cheshire cat..."
    "Ya wouldn't back a tractor..."
    "Ya wouldn't drive nelly..."
    "Ya wouldn't beat eggs..."
    "As thick as two short planks..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I've posted this one before but it's great!

"If I had a bag of mickeys I wouldn't give her one!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Litcagral

"He couldn't give two continentals" anyone know the origin??

"She has a face like a slapped arse" - always makes me laugh :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Dunno if this has been posted before...

Couldn't hit a cow's arse with a banjo = His accuracy is rather lax, is it not?

If I'd a nine acre field of mickeys I wouldn't let her look over the gate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

What s the story , Whats the sca for your ma i love them sayings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭meldrew

I seen better heads on a plane to Lourdes
    I'd sooner put it in a blender

"I could eat a nob at night"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

"She has an @rse like a sack of slates"
    "He's like a tinkers greyhound..no meat an a big m1ckey"
    "He's full a wind an p1ss..like a barbers cat"
    "Jaysus.. you'd get more meat on a butchers pencil"
    OR
    "Jaysus.. There'd be more meat on a tinkers shtick after a fair day in ballinasloe"
    "He'd get up on the crack a dawn"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,025 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

"It won't be long know, said the monkey when the train ran over his tail." That was a famous quote by Richie Ball, my English teacher:D .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭deisemum

It's so cold it would freeze the balls of a brass monkey
    I'll give you such a kick in the arse that my toes will be up with your tonsils
    as tight as a ducks arse
    he was hung like a donkey ;)
    I'm so busy, one of these days I'll meet myself coming back from somewhere
    She's so nasty her p*ss would strip the enamel off the toilet
    He's got HMS tattoed on his knob, when it's hard it spells Hammersmith
    Keep your hand on your happenny

He/she got a face that only his/her mother could love

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Plastic Scouser

My favourite weird saying ever:

"Far fetched bobby-horse shit from China!"

(used to describe all sorts of things from a crap film that makes no sense at all to a tall-tale!)

He's/She's so thick he/she has a plank for a brain extension
    You can call me anything but don't call me too early in the morning
    I love children but I couldn't eat a whole one

As scarce as hobby horse's shyte

WTF Is a bobby horse? Have you had your hearing tested recently :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

one i heard from the radio

"Last time i saw a face like that the whole herd had to be destroyed"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

he's so bad looking the tide wouldnt come in to meet him

his eyes where like two pissholes in the snow

he's so mean he wouldnt spend christmas

he's as tight as pair of nun's knickers

so hungry i could eat a small child through the orphanage gate

so hungry i could eat a farmers a*se through a hedge

you could rest your pint on her behind, its as big as a shelf

theres more meat on a butchers toothpick

you've a face on u like a wet week

she's got a face for radio alright

as flat as a witches tit

:):)

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,781 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

You lamp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Itl'l be a good fire when it lights ..as the fox said when he p**issed on the heap of stones

"Their off!" as the cat said when he sat on the razor blade

"hard lines.".says the monkey when he sat on the railway

Classic from the Trailer Park Boys....

Rick...."Is Leahy p1ssed again?

Bubbles..."Is the tin mans c0ck made of sheet metal"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Tuesday_Girl

LadyJ wrote:

I wouldn't get up on her to climb over a wall

I wouldn't ride her with yours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

- mad as a box of frogs

- you mad scone

- dumb as a bag of hammers

- id eat a babies arse through a dirty nappy

- not the sharpest knife in the drawer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

A situation of great difficulty : You might aswell be trying to poke butter up a hedgehogs arse using a hot needle.
    TK

"Sure why bother with the straight and nasty when just a stretch of gunter juice would do the boxy"

"like an angel pissing on your tonuge.." -when something tastes nice

" jaysus have you been giving a Pakki a blowjob...."(rascist i know sorry) -someone with bad breath

" quick hide the biscuits...."- on the arrival of a Fatty

"Tasty like the sweat from the back of a jockeys boll0x..."- unpleasent taste

LadyJ wrote:

ROFL brilliant