Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you do?

• 31-01-2006 12:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Just thought it would be interesting to know what kind of jobs you all work at, and how long you been there? do you like it?

Me you ask? I'm a software engineer in a company in rathmines, and Ive been here 6 months, came straight in after college. Its not too bad, good company and all but can't see myself staying here forever. They took on 10 graduates from my class in DCU but I think it was too much for them. They seem to be finding it hard to give us all projects, which can be a plus sometimes because we get to work at our own pace, but one the other hand I find myself getting bored and spending too much time on the web.

anyway just throwing it out there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

nice twist on the traditional 'one post' thread - the idea of adding a bit of a story of where you work...

..ps do you work in Hotels/Hostels.com or Oxygen.ie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

I'm a student/lecturer. Badly need to finish up my studies and get a full-time job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I'm unemployed. I have no story. Although I just applied to Dominoes Pizzas in Rathmines for a job. Might see you there jebuz for a slice. :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Merrick

Hopelessly unemployed student. The only good thing about that is I can still sponge off my parents for a while... It's still not a good situation though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Sales mgr for a monthly publication.. although not for much longer it seems :(

Feckin muppets, with their 'oohhh we don't know if we can afford to keep this office open as a viable option'... bah :mad:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

2nd year student of electronic and computer engineering in NUIG.
    No job and not trying to get one, it's the good life for me. Poker, juggling, booze and lazing around pretending to go to college while just sitting in computer labs talking to my friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

nice twist on the traditional 'one post' thread - the idea of adding a bit of a story of where you work...

..ps do you work in Hotels/Hostels.com or Oxygen.ie?

cheers mr.tower of round, i try my best. Nope don't work in either of those places, the company is called Precision Software and I won't bore you with any details, ill just tell you that..........Precision Software is a market leader in providing strategic Global Trade functionality with advanced technology. With TRAXi3, We stand alone in the marketplace by offering a complete shipping and trade management solution from just ONE system.

:eek: jebuz I can't believe you just copied that from the website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

That good old phrase 'In between jobs' for me at the moment! Then again Im giving drum lessons to 16 kids every week but unfortunately our government doesnt recognise it as a 'proper' job...only thing Ive ever loved doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

I Work in east point Business Park
    looking for a job in banking

trying to get out of this call centre thing !!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

jebuz wrote:
    cheers mr.tower of round, i try my best. Nope don't work in either of those places, the company is called Precision Software and I won't bore you with any details, ill just tell you that..........Precision Software is a market leader in providing strategic Global Trade functionality with advanced technology. With TRAXi3, We stand alone in the marketplace by offering a complete shipping and trade management solution from just ONE system.

:eek: jebuz I can't believe you just copied that from the website

Look at this amazingly large shiney plug I've found :rolleyes:

I'm a student. I have 6 hours total of uni and music a week. Other than that, I laze around :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I am looking for a new job at the moment, anybody wanna gimme me??? Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Student doing my final year in a Degree In Computing in IT Sligo.

And doing a day's work a week in a computing firm in Sligo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

Binomate wrote:
    I'm unemployed. I have no story. Although I just applied to Dominoes Pizzas in Rathmines for a job. Might see you there jebuz for a slice. :v:

Yummy! Can you get us discount? ;)

I am looking for a new job at the moment, anybody wanna gimme me one??? Huh?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I am looking for a new job at the moment, anybody wanna gimme me one??? Huh?
    ok...but you may need kneepads. :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Good old health board for me, well, I suppose it's the Health Service executive now, but I keep calling it by the old name.

Bog standard job, computer work, filing, all that clerical stuff, great job though, lovely people, get my own desk and computer etc, pay is pretty decent especially considering I'm going back to college in Sept. (I'm 18 now). Pay is the same as you'd get in a Call Center or whatever but I'd imagine the conditions here are much nicer :v:

Not going to retire on my earnings or anything but it's a nice earner for college next year, so it's all I need.....

I used to work previously in Centra, Supermacs, A boat company, and a few more.....hated them all apart from the Boat Company!

EDIT: What the hell do you unemployed bums do for money? How can you go college for an entire year with no job?? When I was in college 04/05 I had to work weekends to get enough money to be able to do anything, and I still lived at home!

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

The boards Census has all the information you need for whatever statistical endeavours you might be attempting.

/EDIT Yes, that was a bit harsh and scathing. I repent and will say that I'm studying B&L in UCD. I don't work but still manage to pay rent, support myself and do a lot of drinking, without having any debts to speak of. Not even I'm sure how I do it.

HavoK wrote:

EDIT: What the hell do you unemployed bums do for money? How can you go college for an entire year with no job?? When I was in college 04/05 I had to work weekends to get enough money to be able to do anything, and I still lived at home!
    Working in the summer and grants of excellence. You have to have a lot of excellence for it though.
    EDIT: how the fook can you put up with living at home during college. Couldn't go back living at home after living with friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭JackieChan

I'm an Oracle developer for a firm in town....I'm here nearly three years and may be moving on somewhere else shortly.Money is good but bit of a hassel getting here from where I am.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

QA Engineer for a software company in the North.

daiixi wrote:
    Yummy! Can you get us discount? ;)
    Well it depends on whether or not I get the job or not.

HavoK wrote:
    I live at home and am currently about to start looking for a job. Meanwhile, grants are useful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭mise_me_fein_V2

I work in Credit Control in Blanch Corp PArk, but I did Computer Applications in DCU, so this job doesn't really have anything to do with my time spent in college.

It's an hour commute every day from Louth, but at least I don't have to go into the city.

bluewolf wrote:
    I live at home and am currently about to start looking for a job. Meanwhile, grants are useful.

:(

Not everyone gets grants! If you get a grant, why bother with a job actually....

HavoK wrote:
    :(

Not everyone gets grants! If you get a grant, why bother with a job actually....
    Because I plan to move out and grant == rent.

bluewolf wrote:
    Because I plan to move out and grant == rent.

A grant would be great.....I wish I could get one! Free money! for nothing! well, technically, in the overall scheme of things, for higher education but...

....free money for nothing! :D

HavoK wrote:
    A grant would be great.....I wish I could get one! Free money! for nothing! well, technically, in the overall scheme of things, for higher education but...

Em you live at home, I have to pay a few grand for a few months on rent, buy food,books,drink,everything getting a grant of total 1,500. You are in a good place!

HavoK wrote:

Mmmmmmm..... Welfare. Must get me myself some grant as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

IT Administrator for a place since the summer and various IT/Support roles for 2 of the major multinationals for 8 years before that.

Em you live at home, I have to pay a few grand for a few months on rent, buy food,books,drink,everything getting a grant of total 1,500. You are in a good place!

Hey, that's 1500 you get for free that I have to work for! Even if I live at home....although when I live in Galway already i would find it highly improbably I would move a few miles down the road and pay half my money every week for the pleasure!

Except all that unrestrained drinking, partying, sex and eh....reading?........the fabulous life you lead Mr Aldarion, you dashing pinnacle of college goers world wide! :)

I don't even go to college at the moment, getting too damn used to it too.....every evening free, every weekend free, no studying.....it's great. Kinda. :v:

So yeah, way to derail this topic eh lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭toffeapple

Working in IT for the past 3 years..before that was retail manger...Ive had over 20 different jobs in total(probably more)..its easy to change jobs..just get up and walk out and do something else...gets harder to change when your older so i reckon im stuck in IT...could be worse at least i get to p!ss around on the net half the day

HavoK wrote:
    Hey, that's 1500 you get for free that I have to work for! Even if I live at home....although when I live in Galway already i would find it highly improbably I would move a few miles down the road and pay half my money every week for the pleasure!
    Well, it's not like i see any of it, it just goes on rent :/ whereas your parent pay all your rent. (:
    Ye it would be rather odd to do that but I would, well i wouldn't, no way was i staying in the home county for college, so much beautiful cities in ireland with plenty of rain to see. :P
    Except all that unrestrained drinking, partying, sex and eh....reading?........the fabulous life you lead Mr Aldarion, you dashing pinnacle of college goers world wide! :)
    it's like you know my life completely up to this point, heh.
    Yes reading is good, makes me know things and not have to fail or study.

I don't even go to college at the moment, getting too damn used to it too.....every evening free, every weekend free, no studying.....it's great. Kinda. :v:
    sounds like my evenings and study pattern, I mean, I'm the model student.
    This week for example: monday; poker tournament and witless music shindig, today; juggling soc and cinema, wednesday; fan sci society, thursday; well duh, student night out, weekend; trip to dublin for a concert and booze.
    I should fit my engineering degree in somewhere sigh. :(
    So yeah, way to derail this topic eh lads?
    accomplished.

EDIT for jebuz.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=262597

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

yeah so who hates pants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Apparently i am a "consultant" for a dublin based IT firm.

In reality i'm a code monkey who has to bridge the gap between what the customer has payed for, and what they imagine this magical system is supposed to do.

Anyway, i'm applying for a postgrad in scotland, so this job is just to pay for that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

helpdesk monkey for "the world's leading developer of enterprise applications serving the hospitality and specialty retail industries exclusively."

i've started looking elsewhere though

Ah look lads, don't bother trying to justify yourself to the people on these boards.

I didn't get a grant, and I lived at home, but I did work part time, pay my own fees, bought my own books and equipment and funded every other aspect of college life by myself.

However, it doesn't make me a hero and if I had qualified for a grant I would have happily accepted it and worked less hours.

I wouldn't have felt any guilt and I wouldn't have been bothered by begrudgers!

Whether you have received a grant or not, bottom line, you have pursued a 3rd level qualification and that is what is really important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

All I've heard in here is that nobody is happy working in IT?

Is it really that bad?

I was hoping to do the microsoft exams after I've qualified as an accountant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Product Manager for a company on the southside of Dublin, previously I've worked in such varied roles as Software Tester, System Analyst, Plastic Mouldings Operative and Plasterer...fairly varied :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Peaadina

I Work in east point Business Park
    looking for a job in banking

trying to get out of this call centre thing !!! :(

I too work in East point, Im a business analyst altho I amnt sure how that happened!
    I look after all the report and leads for the sales team. very very exciting...yawn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Muckmagnet

I DESIGN SUBMARINES !!!! ....ah when i say "design" i mean sell and when i say "submarines" i mean plasterboard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

2nd year in DCU doing biotech. have a saturday job in dublin port doing admin work in an office. and have a job in spain for the summer, working on a summer camp where spanish kids go to learn english!

rugbug86 wrote:
    2nd year in DCU doing biotech. have a saturday job in dublin port doing admin work in an office. and have a job in spain for the summer, working on a summer camp where spanish kids go to learn english!
    So you're working down the docks then. ;)

I know a girl and while she was travelling in Israel she took a job w*nking chickens( or cocks or whatever the male is called)....imagine that for 7 hours a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

toffeapple wrote:
    I know a girl and while she was travelling in Israel she took a job w*nking chickens( or cocks or whatever the male is called)....imagine that for 7 hours a day.

**** birds wouldn't be too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

connundrum wrote:
    Sales mgr for a monthly publication.. although not for much longer it seems :(

Feckin muppets, with their 'oohhh we don't know if we can afford to keep this office open as a viable option'... bah :mad:

semi retired:D , im starting to feel like an ol fella here. spent 13 years working in the financial sector then went part time a few years back (went through alot of crap, personal, and decided to make a few changes. hence the part time status, took a bigpay cut but quality of life has improved immeasurably. look at it this way while most of you were working your ass off last monday i was in the cinema watching underworld:evolution)

to be honest though, and the reason im quoting connundrum, the muppets that took over havent a bloody clue what theyre doing. all diplomas and degrees and NO experience of my job and as such have run my sector, which was the primary earner and the core business of the company, into the ground. as its is the MAIN reason im staying now is by my reckoning my sector will be bust by mid 2007 in which case the company will have to fork out a cool 50k to get rid of me :)

not bad for sitting on your arse and watching DVDs under the desK all day cause theres no business (and seriously they closed TWO goldmines in leiu of the place im running now which earns NOTHING :rolleyes: but LOOKS good on paper:rolleyes: :rolleyes: )

after that i'll either retire compleatly or start my own business, to be honest probably the latter. i cant really sit around doing nothing , i'd go nuts:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

Have a degree in Information Systems Technology, working for a software company as a business advisor doing demos etc just applied for a management position so wish me luck. Also teach horse riding part time

Muckmagnet wrote:
    I DESIGN SUBMARINES !!!! ....ah when i say "design" i mean sell and when i say "submarines" i mean plasterboard
    Class:D :D:D

Have a degree in Information Systems Technology, working for a software company as a business advisor doing demos etc just applied for a management position so wish me luck. Also teach horse riding part time
    When you get (notice i said "WHEN") your management position can i have a job?