Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

End of the trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Why?

Hasn't the UN and/or the WHO (I'll look it up now to find out which) said there's no reason for making them illegal? Who's decision was this and who do I complain too?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Yeah I hear Mary Harney is putting her foot down on it once and for all... Feckin stupid if you ask me.. There just putting them in the hands of the street dealers IMO.. People will always find ways of getting their hands on them if desired...

IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

something to do with the Cork store the Funky Skunk? I heard something about it on the news.. but the store owner produced the "bit of paper" from the Minister stating that it was legal so long as mushies were fresh.. or something to that effect..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Will this include truffles?

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

It seems it's down to that guy jumping out a window before christmas. There was a lengthy thread about it on here at the time.
    Law change after drug death
    The Government is taking steps to change Ireland’s drug laws following the fatal fall of a young local man whose death has been blamed on magic mushrooms, Southside People has learned.Minister of State Noel Ahern (FF) confirmed last week that he is arranging with the Tánaiste and Minister for Health, Mary Harney, to review drug legislation after the death of the man in Dun Laoghaire last year.
    The family of the man has already met Government officials in an attempt to get the substance banned.
    The young man in his 30s from Dun Laoghaire died after he jumped out of the balcony of his apartment in the town.
    There is an ongoing Garda investigation into the incident.
    It is understood that the man bought the magic mushrooms at a shop in Dublin where the potent hallucinogenic substances are still legally and openly on sale.
    The man had taken less than the recommended dosage that was printed on the packet. Previous to taking them he and his girlfriend and other friends had been playing a game of trivial pursuit and drinking beer.
    The man’s family insist that the drugs were to blame for the actions that led to the young man leaping to his death.
    In July of last year magic mushrooms were classified as class A drugs in Britain alongside heroin and cocaine.
    However, although there has been a long-standing ban on dry or packaged magic mushrooms, it is still legal to possess or sell them in fresh form in the Republic.
    Dublin South Central TD Aengus O’Snodaigh (SF), who has been in contact with the bereaved family, said they are trying to make sure that people are aware about what happened to their son.

//edit

also from the above site :
    “Many people can get away with taking them but some people can end up getting addicted and having significant psychotic episodes and something unfortunate can happen, as in this case.”
    I've never known anyone to get addicted to mushrooms. I smell lies to be honest.

I fear this will result in people going picking them from golf courses etc without knowing whats safe and what isnt instead of from a reliable source..this is foolhardy dangerious legislation.

Before the PC crowd get started..read up on psilocybin, its not addictive..and even if you somehow loved the vile taste of the schroom..you would quickly become immune to their effects...unlike alcohal and nicotene that have real health implications and are addictive.

Picking a wild schroom that looks like a "magic" one and isnt could leave you stone dead in a couple of days...cannot stress strongly enough how foolhardy I feel this legislation is.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

good point longfield.. when something is controlled in some shape or form at least it is protecting people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

are grannys with them growning in their back garden gonna get done now???

What saddens me especially is that the family who's son jumped off the balcony are trying to make some good come of his death and clearly have lumped all the blame on the mushrooms (instead of the alcohal and their son's clearly disturbed state of mind already) and now other innocent kids are going to die truely horrible deaths from eating the wrong mushrooms as a result of this legislation.

Banning something that grows naturally in the wild here and has natural cousins that look very very similar that are leathal is just unbelievably shortsighted and will unquestionably end in innocents dying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

slipss wrote:
    http://www.dublinpeople.com/cms/ http://www.ndc.hrb.ie/directory/news.php?cat_id=94&subcatid=94

Looks like magic mushrooms are finally being made completely illegal, my sources tell me the legislation will be ready this week and the law will come into effect within a matter of weeks. So enjoy being able to pick yours up from a shop or online instead of scavaging around in the wicklow mountains while you can.
    Good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

there'll be a rake of people looking to make a few bulk purchases now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

On Joe Duffy today there was quite a hilarious conversation between a distraught mother who's daughter had taken them. Apparently "THEY're selling them to anyone these days".

Anyone else listen to Joe today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

anyone ever listen to him?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭EOA_Mushy

Was takeing them for a while over last summer, but they started to disagree with me after the 3rd or 4th time i took them.... Similar to a panic attack...

... so i stoped taking them. (obvious solution, no?)

I wouldnt be surprised if the dude who jumped out the window had a similar problem ....

(I wasnt a happy bunny at the time either :rolleyes: )

Thanks to the wonderfull banning of these satanic fungi there is less of a chance of someone being punched in the gob by some random hippy on shrooms. A great day in Irish history by all means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Yeah, because the first thing you want to do on shrooms is head out into public and lamp somone. :rolleyes:

Get a clue before you start spouting tripe.

Dave wrote:
    Yeah, because the first thing you want to do on shrooms is head out into public and lamp somone. :rolleyes:

Get a clue before you start spouting tripe.
    I never said it was the first thing you want to do, but there is always a possibility. :v: I'm not a risk taker.

Have you ever done shrooms?

Absolutly not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

Ah yes, I heard about this today. It was bound to happen after England did it.

As for the kid who jumped out the window, "You don't see ducks lining up to catch elevators to fly South. They fly from the ground, you moron. Quit ruining it for everybody. He's a moron, he's dead, good. We lost a moron, ****ing celebrate. Boy I just felt the world get lighter - we lost a moron." -Hicks.

Binomate wrote:
    Absolutly not.

Then how are you able to predict what someone on mushrooms will do? Or even accurately comment on anything to do with shrooms.

Your comments are uninformed and portray a severe lack of open mindedness on this matter. If you can't come into a argument with open mind then you shouldn't be in at all.

There is a possibility that someone on shrooms might randomly punch you in the face isn't it? The only way in which there wouldn't be a possibility was if it were phisically impossible for someone on shrooms to do so.

I assume I've been baited? Kudos if you did. I blame it on tiredness. Bed!

Dave wrote:
    I assume I've been baited? Kudos if you did. I blame it on tiredness. Bed!
    Indeed you have. It also eliminates the risk of being killed by a falling body of someone on shrooms who thinks they can fly when they jump out of the window. :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 ezone

The trip is over

Until next September

The tradition will continue

Always has always will

Nature shall prevail

Nevermind

(just wish people would do some research)

Also on topic-

From February first This wednesday, Cannabis remains a serious criminal offence with Criminal record attached while shoplifting is now greeted with a caution

- just wish some people would wake up in ireland)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭sunzz

Rofl ezone, loving it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Binomate wrote:
    Indeed you have. It also eliminates the risk of being killed by a falling body of someone on shrooms who thinks they can fly when they jump out of the window. :v:
    ezone wrote:
    The trip is over

Until next September

The tradition will continue

Always has always will

Nature shall prevail

Nevermind

lmao :D

Anyways, I can't stand these f*cking c*nts who make these decisions... Absolute morons.

What's this gonna achieve? A tenner says most dealers who only sell weed are gonna start picking shrooms and selling them too.

I've never tried shrooms, but I think I'll pick some up before this legislation comes in. I don't fancy getting cold and stuff by picking them... Don't think they grow now anyways, do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

The goverment are finally doing it! They should close all of these stupid shops down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

18AD wrote:
    Ah yes, I heard about this today. It was bound to happen after England did it.

As for the kid who jumped out the window, "You don't see ducks lining up to catch elevators to fly South. They fly from the ground, you moron. Quit ruining it for everybody. He's a moron, he's dead, good. We lost a moron, ****ing celebrate. Boy I just felt the world get lighter - we lost a moron." -Hicks.

I think without fear of argument, that you are the moron here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Binomate wrote:
    Thanks to the wonderfull banning of these satanic fungi there is less of a chance of someone being punched in the gob by some random hippy on shrooms. A great day in Irish history by all means.
    Any reference to the "satanic" use of these? you seem interested in history.

Binomate wrote:
    There is a possibility that someone on shrooms might randomly punch you in the face isn't it? The only way in which there wouldn't be a possibility was if it were phisically impossible for someone on shrooms to do so.
    Of course there is that possibility, whether they are eating button mushrooms from tescos or psilocybes. Who would you rather bump into in a dark alley, scumbag on shrooms or pissed.

Psilocybin was used for the rehabilitation treatment of prisoners and showed a very significant reduction in re-offending in its studies.

ARGINITE wrote:
    The goverment are finally doing it! They should close all of these stupid shops down.
    off-licences and tobacconists/newsagents too? or are they OK because your daddy does them and told you they are ok to abuse.

Longfield wrote:
    Will this include truffles?
    Very likely. I am not sure how far the law will go, it may have to specifiy the actual species, I know some cannabis cases were thrown out of court in the US since they were claiming the person had a different strain of cannabis. There are many many species of psilocybian mushrooms. New ones discovered fairly frequently.

rubadub wrote:
    Any reference to the "satanic" use of these? you seem interested in history.
    Yeah, I am. But nothing that concerns satanism. I just used that word for the hell of it.
    rubadub wrote:
    Of course there is that possibility, whether they are eating button mushrooms from tescos or psilocybes. Who would you rather bump into in a dark alley, scumbag on shrooms or pissed.

Psilocybin was used for the rehabilitation treatment of prisoners and showed a very significant reduction in re-offending in its studies.
    I'd rather not bumb in to anyone, let alone anyone in a dark alley way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

I think without fear of argument, that you are the moron here.

I'm the moron? A little humour anyone? Take it up with the dead man I quoted if you disagree.

Drink combined with mushrooms can have strange effects.

My friend turned into a lunatic for 4 hours when he did a full pack after a feed of pints.

I ended up having to babysit him for the whole time because he was liable to do anything.

The government will have a hard time banning them when they grow in the fields naturally every haloween!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

****ing nanny-state cock sucking mother****ers:mad:
    one retard jumps out a window and my social liberty gets trampled on...democracy in action, ****ing pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

ferdi wrote:
    fucking nanny-state cock sucking motherfuckers:mad:
    one retard jumps out a window and my social liberty gets trampled on...democracy in action, fucking pricks.

I'm listening to the radio. 60 yr old biddy lunatics are the voice of our nation, and Joe goes along with it. It's ridiculous. These people haven't a clue what they're talking about.

Giblet wrote:
    I'm listening to the radio. 60 yr old biddy lunatics are the voice of our nation, and Joe goes along with it. It's ridiculous. These people haven't a clue what they're talking about.
    Say that again when you need a new cardigan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

18AD wrote:
    I'm the moron? A little humour anyone? Take it up with the dead man I quoted if you disagree.

Just because you can quote a trendy comedian, doesnt mean you're immune to criticism...

Hicks was funny... You are not

Making government policy on a single, media driven, example is very stupid... I sometimes get the feeling that parties make their agendas after reading The Sun for 5 minutes

DaveMcG wrote:
    I don't fancy getting cold and stuff by picking them... Don't think they grow now anyways, do they?
    Nope, their seasonal. You can get them from around September until the first frost kicks in (usually mid-November).

To be perfectly honest, I think picking them is half the fun anyway. Plus the Irish varaity (Liberty Caps) are among the best in the world (both IMO and from other people I've spoken too... we're lucky here in our fair green isle :) ). And their free with no limit on quantity aside from what you can find.

Of course, I've taken the time to educate myself with regards to what to pick, when to pick and how many to take. For first timers it can be quite hit-and-miss :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

This crap sickens me. Once again our silly little government has taken steps to protect the people from the dangers of something they know nothing about.

I live in the middle of a town where EVERY night I hear some kind of row or scuffle going on because of drunk idiots falling around the street and then going home to beat the crap out of their family. Drunk drivers kill hundreds every year and loads of drunk pedestrians get themselves killed every year. One bloke jumps out a window and the shrooms are banished. How many people died last year because of alcholol or fags? No moves to ban them though. Hmmmm, is that anything to do with the tax bertie swallows from their sale?

I know loads of people who take mushrooms or have done so in the past (myself included) and Ive never, ever seen any problems with them. People that take shrooms or smoke dope/weed etc DO NOT go around making trouble for themselves and others. They generally sit and listen to music and have a bit of craic either indoors or in a secluded place. They dont drive over poeple or smack anyone in the face. They dont give anyone any hassle and shy away from hostile situations. Yet its socially and criminally acceptable to get pissed on alcohol, smoke your lungs black with fags or get off your nut on prozac/valium.

They grow in the ground for gods sake whats more organic or natural then that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Morrigan

"psychedelic drugs cause paranoia, confusion, and total loss of reality in politicians that have never taken them"

-- Dr. Timothy Leary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 ezone

Just been to 3 shops in Dublin watched the last 30 grams being sold at 4pm

All shelves are now cleared

See you in Wicklow come september

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Okay so users start home growing em from imported kits...cut the huge profits these shops were making on em. Granted it's brushing with the law, but then so is coming out of a field with a plastic bag :v:

As mentioned we'll likely see at least a few fatalities arising from this as ill informed teens (or older) make their way out to the fields to try and pick a free trip.
    I know the first time I ever went picking, I'd no clue what liberties looked like, but I was fortunate enough to have a mentor.

I don't bother with natural hallucinogens anymore but IMO they are probably one of the less harmful drugs, including the legal ones...okay so people can maybe do some silly or life endagering things whilst under the effects and indirectly hurt or be hurt, but I think the same can be said for any mood altering substance.

Once again, this government proves it's nothing but a reactionary body only too willing to be scared into rushed legislation on the back of the populist, ill informed opinions of of potential fianna fáil voters. That comment above about shop lifting being a cautionable offence.... :| the mind boggles.
    I mean here you have what is probably one of the precursors to more serious crime in young people, being demoted to a virtual slap on the wrist...what does a shoplifter learn from a caution...they learn that they can make a damn good relatively risk free living out of it.
    Back on topic....seems the Jo Duffy show and the tabloids have more influence on policy decisions in this country than any group of voters or lobbyists.

To sum up; what we needed here was legislation to put some sort of legal status on psilocybin mushrooms, to avoid younger users getting their inexperienced little brains melted....and some sort of education on the facts surrounding these and other recreational drugs instead of hte Mr Hand approach....what we got was prohibition which drives the market to the dealers and makes mushrooms yet another gateway drug.

Congrats to all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Goodshape wrote:
    I've never known anyone to get addicted to mushrooms. I smell lies to be honest.

Vaseline is more addictive than mushrooms. I <3 muchrooms but they are in NO way addictive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

its crazy this new law! if the government instead had limited the number of shops allowed to sell the shrooms then it would be easy to regulate but as has been mentioned its now in the hands of drug dealers and people who havent a clue picking mushrooms that could kill them!! Crazy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Giblet wrote:
    i know, i was listening to live-line too. makes me so angry, these grave dodgers making the rules for the rest of the (living) population. reactionary politics at its best. the government is an absolute joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

ferdi wrote:
    i know, i was listening to live-line too. makes me so angry, these grave dodgers making the rules for the rest of the (living) population. reactionary politics at its best. the government is an absolute joke.
    I was listening too, it's so bloody frustrating...

Wertz wrote:
    To sum up; what we needed here was legislation to put some sort of legal status on psilocybin mushrooms, to avoid younger users getting their inexperienced little brains melted....and some sort of education on the facts surrounding these and other recreational drugs instead of hte Mr Hand approach....what we got was prohibition which drives the market to the dealers and makes mushrooms yet another gateway drug.

Congrats to all involved.
    Yes, I like the apparent loophole that you can grow them. It is sort of like the UK cannabis situation, cant sell, cant grow put if you magically end up with a small amount you are just cautioned. Growing is not easy no matter what you hear. There is a lot to read up on and hopefully in the studying you will learn more about them, and not have this nonchalant attitude some people have. The problem I had was these shops selling to people under the impression "sure if they are legal they must be crap, better take 4 times the dose", there are loads of these bogus/weak legal highs out there and then the good ones. I was appalled when I saw them selling salvia in one shop with no warning at all to a teenager. Some mother rang in joe duffy whos 15 year old girl "freaked out", on shrooms bought in a shop. That is just stupid, the person who sold them is no better than a person buying alcohol/tobacco/cannabis for a teenager and should have to face some recourse IMO. These shop owners proven their ignorance in the interviews I have seen and conversations I had with some in the shops. I have heard one shop insists on selling the EXTREMELY potent pan cyan mushrooms in 30g doses. In holland they are only sold in 10g doses and are given extreme warnings that they should only be for very experienced users. In head shops in holland I saw much better warnings and refusal of sales, insisting people try the weaker stones.

The arseholes in some of these shops have killed their own golden goose by irresponsible selling to minors and not even researching their own products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

My own experiance of the shops in Temple Bar was very good, they only sold 20g doses and they all came with good warnings. No shop should have sold to under 18s though thats stupid. Anyone that young that smokes dope or does any kind of mind altering stuff IMO is opening themselves up to a life of mental health issues.

Salvia is a different story, very very mindmessable drug and shouldnt be messed with. Anything over 5x is very very harsh.