Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funny knicknames..

• 20-01-2006 8:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭

What are the funniest knicknames youve ever heard people being called?

Here are some of the more interesting knicknames Ive heard people called, mostly from secondary school...

Small head
    Peanut head
    Man Child [my personal favourite]
    Burger Lips
    Number 1 [for being tall and skinny]
    Barrell
    Rasher Ears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭holly_johnson

My brother got stuck with the moniker of Monk, after a rather disatrous haircut when in secondary....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Rasher
    Mammy
    Daddy
    Bosco
    Trolly-bus
    The Poppa

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

womoma wrote:
    What are the funniest knicknames youve ever heard people being called?

Here are some of the more interesting knicknames Ive heard people called, mostly from secondary school...

Small head
    Peanut head
    Man Child [my personal favourite]
    Burger Lips
    Number 1 [for being tall and skinny]
    Barrell
    Rasher Ears

Yeah I get called "Pinhead" by a certain person I know :rolleyes: :v:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

womoma wrote:
    knicknames
    Learn to spell, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

sinecurea wrote:
    Learn to spell, tbh.

It was a tough one to call in fairness.. nickers/knickers?! I was called Johannesburg in secondary school - surrounded by real clever guys I was :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

Learn to spell, tbh.
    learn to get a life, small head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

For a short time in secondary school I was called POOTER. It's one of those things that are used to put drops of stuff on things(very descriptive I know).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

sinecurea wrote:
    Learn to spell, tbh.

Kids can be so cruel. Would people just say "Hey learn to spell coma tbh"

Funniest one I've heard was pube head. Poor guy, an unfortunate hair design

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

joejoem wrote:
    Kids can be so cruel. Would people just say "Hey learn to spell coma tbh"

Comma isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Mine is 'Flash'.

Comma isn't it?

touchy, I mean touché or whatever

Andy-Pandy wrote:
    Mine is 'Flash'.

Either by a bitter girlfriend or by the Gardaí

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭pontovic

there was someone around my area called 'Nice guy Eddie'. The poor girl, I think she had a bit of a tash .

joejoem wrote:
    touchy, I mean touché or whatever

No you meant touchy!!

joejoem wrote:
    touché

One of the best words ever invented. What ever happened to your new nick you were supposed to be gettin? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

my nickname is pup, has been for years. my brother was called shovel. cos my dad has a digger, my older bother has a mini digger so naturaly they called my younger bother shovel. now my brother operates a crane instead, so my other brothers name is now steps.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

connundrum wrote:
    One of the best words ever invented. What ever happened to your new nickthat you were supposed to be gettin? :confused:

Yeah and after all our good suggestions..

Some people...

Femmy wrote:
    my nickname is pup, has been for years. my brother was called shovel. cos my dad has a digger, my older bother has a mini digger so naturaly they called my younger bother shovel. now my brother operates a crane instead, so my other brothers name is now steps.

Original then!!

i used to be called "mister quick"

i wont go into the details

womoma wrote:
    i used to be called "mister quick"

i wont go into the details

I think you don't have to!

xzanti wrote:

Some people...

Young lads these days.. no restecp :D

connundrum wrote:
    One of the best words ever invented. What ever happened to your new nick you were supposed to be gettin? :confused:

xzanti wrote:

Some people...

It was just a desperate cry for attention. No I just havent had a chance to decide, although I'm doing sweet FA at the moment..... Ok, will make a start, people better recognise me after my accension

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

Some of the ones Ive heard mainly in secondary school
    Bushbaby
    Bosco
    Smiley-(everyone knows a smiley)
    The Dollyman
    Blubber-butt
    Titanic-arse
    Yorky
    Spud-(everyone knows a spud)

joejoem wrote:
    It was just a desperate cry for attention. No I just havent had a chance to decide, although I'm doing sweet FA at the moment..... Ok, will make a start, people better recognise me after my accension

I know it was probably suggested but The artist formerly known as JoeJoem would be new, whilst still having a ring of the old. But thats an aside..

connundrum wrote:
    I know it was probably suggested but The artist formerly known as JoeJoem would be new, whilst still having a ring of the old. But thats an aside..

A bit too long, but a goody none the less. Maybe theartistknownsjoe 18 Charicters yous see

I was a spud. It was to do with my surname.

Demetrius wrote:
    Some of the ones Ive heard mainly in secondary school
    Bushbaby
    Bosco
    Smiley-(everyone knows a smiley)
    The Dollyman
    Blubber-butt
    Titanic-arse
    Yorky
    Spud-(everyone knows a spud)

joejoem wrote:
    A bit too long, but a goody none the less. Maybe theartistknownsjoe 18 Charicters yous see

TAFKAJJM.. sorted :cool: Damn I should charge for this shizizzle. Or maybe if you wanna be really cool and origional you could stick a 69 on the end of it - I hear thats all the rage in France nowadays :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭Clinical Waste

-Wing-nut

-Feral

-Frankie (when flat tops were in)

-Tap-Man
    (friend of mine who was found with his dick in a bad place when he was small)

petes wrote:
    I was a spud. It was to do with my surname.
    You must have a very unusual surname or else I lack imagination.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

'buckets' because when he walks he looks like he's carrying buckets (swaying side to side)

Chesty, called him this for years before I knew why, because of bad asthma

Demetrius wrote:

His name is Petes Potatoface.

Not too hard to work out where his nickname came from, Greekboy.

murphys are called spud....

wing nut is a great one. i still love small head and burger lips and man child.

my mate looks foreign we used to call him boolip.. kinda bad he hated it..

His name is Petes Potatoface.

Not too hard to work out where his nickname came from, Greekboy.

Greekboy? Always thought it was Latin myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

One of my friends got the name 'scone' in school, its ridiculous really! We were finished school and standin outside the shop, and john at the time asked me to get him a packed of fruit pastilles as i was going in. Being the hilarious prankster that I was, I bought him a scone instead of fruit pastilles. He wasn't very impressed and threw the scone on the ground in anger, we all had a right laugh. 4 years on we still call him scone. Its such a stupid story, but amazing that the name stuck!

just thought of more..

there was:

shovel hands
    batman
    mad eye
    fat face

Demetrius wrote:

Think of a bag of crisps that used to be out. Not sure if they are anymore.

lol@scone- the silly ones can be the best..

the story reminds me of being called "ribena fingers" - legend has it i once washed off some bodily fluids of a certain local girl, with ribena. this i do not remember..:confused:

Demetrius wrote:
    Greekboy? Always thought it was Latin myself.

Probably is but also:

Demetrius - A young man of Athens, initially in love with Hermia and ultimately in love with Helena. Demetrius’s obstinate pursuit of Hermia throws love out of balance among the quartet of Athenian youths and precludes a symmetrical two-couple arrangement.

and

Church of St. Demetrius at Thessalonica

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Occidental

Someone in a previous job who was called Vic, but never to his face. Was told it was because he got up everybodys nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Meathead comes to mind. the guys got a real big head and constant 'duh' expression.

I know three brothers who all got lumbered with the nickname 'Poochie'. No idea where it started but it can get confusing when they're all together.

I've got the unusually simple nickname of 'Bruce' (actual name being Michael) due to, at one stage or another, having a slight resembelence to Bruce Lee.

Funny how things stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

I know a guy called 2 Stroke. Legend has it that this has nothing whatsoever to do with engine oil :D

Originally Posted by Demetrius
    Think of a bag of crisps that used to be out. Not sure if they are anymore.

sam spudz crisps- they were lovely...
    I think there used to be a potatoe company called murphys, like years ago.. and thats where spud comes from Re murphys...

i used to know a guy whos nickname was Smelly, or sometimes, Schmelly, i never knew his real name, i met him recently in drumcondra and i was like, "alrigh'.."

used to know a guy called Kinger, he used to go nuts wen we called im "kinger, bus ringer, albanian swinger" .. dunno where that came from but he hated it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Jamey

Some assorted nicknames from around my area include:

Scraps
    Biscuits
    Hulk
    Sh!tman
    One-Eye
    Dinny's (Insert first name here)
    Rodney
    Pooky
    Jimmy Tits
    Elvis
    Connemara
    Scallions
    Pimptooth

I think these days almost everyone knows a big ugly fecker called Shrek.
    I know 2. One is a girl whos rather large.
    Another is a guy who we used to call Barny [after the kids dinosaur] and Beef .. hahah he used to hate being called Beef. He used to call me Complan Man because I was so skinny in my teens.

lol @ Meathead, we used to have a guy called Meatloaf in Rosmini. Another guy called Bogger..come to think of it most nicknames are kinda cruel.

I used to know a dude called Fin Higgins and people used to call him Chin Figgins. .. "alrigh' Chin"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

pretty tame really but someone calls me 'baby' and 'babe'

and someone else calls me cnut and i call him my bitch:v:

Probably is but also:

Demetrius - A young man of Athens, initially in love with Hermia and ultimately in love with Helena. Demetrius’s obstinate pursuit of Hermia throws love out of balance among the quartet of Athenian youths and precludes a symmetrical two-couple arrangement.

and

Church of St. Demetrius at Thessalonica

Learn something new everyday. Any Helenas on the boards-hello.

Back to nicknames

Pinky
    Mental-Case
    Berry-boy
    Ferrett

We had a big hard guy at our school who got the name:
    Brick with eyes

which of course led to his mate being called:
    Prick with ears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

there was a lad in school called 'kidney', cos he was always around when he wasn't needed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

We call me 14 yr old nephew “fat-head” and have done since he was about 3. the poor kid doesn’t even have a fathead but it stuck and now that’s all we seem to call him. I actually cant remember his first name :confused: