Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More Drunken Fighting !?!?!.......

• 02-01-2006 2:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭

Do you ever feel when you go out, that there is never a night where you dont see some bunch of people, most commonly lads fighting ? Chances are they are fighting over nothing of any importance..

I just think its scary the amount of fights there are going on around the streets of dublin, i kinda though after the "Anabell murder" that it would ease down a bit, which i think to some exstent it did a little, but its kicked off now again and is actually a lot worse.
    Saturday nights have me seeing lads collpased in the middle of the road with glass all around them <-- on that occasion the guy in question had done absolutaly nothing wrong he was just walking along the street, it took ages for an ambulance to arrive. Also on a seperate occasion i noticed another guy, who was walking along the street covered in blood, he was stone called sober, and had been attacked by a bunch of drunken lads. I seem to be seeing this going on all the time !!!! :mad:

Just think this fighting really needs to stop before there is more and more accidents and deaths in the city...

what do u think ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

this generation needs a war we can all get involved in

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Id agree with this thread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=319764

City centre Dublin is in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

IvaBigWun wrote:
    Id agree with this thread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=319764

City centre Dublin is in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Depends where you go. I do be in town in clubs/pubs two or three times a week and I very, very rarely see fights. If youre going to places like Club M or other scum infested clubs, youre going to see plenty of fights.

Everytime ive been dragged to barcode ( purely for the cheap drinks ) I have seen a fight.

Heyes wrote:

Dont roll your eyes at me missus :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

I rarely go to clubs. But I have to say that the last 3 out of 5 times I've seen either guys fighting amougst themselves or with bouncers outside.

cbatbh

IvaBigWun wrote:
    Dont roll your eyes at me missus :p

.....heeheee

I think something serious will have to happen before anything is done. Its the same with anything in this country (well the US as well I suppose).

A stabbing of a TD's son on O Connell St ......... something like that.

Tusky wrote:
    Depends where you go. I do be in town in clubs/pubs two or three times a week and I very, very rarely see fights. If youre going to places like Club M or other scum infested clubs, youre going to see plenty of fights.

Everytime ive been dragged to barcode ( purely for the cheap drinks ) I have seen a fight.

walk around anywhere in dublin on a saturday night and you ll see a fight. yes club m is a dive, but walking even around where the night links are, and all around there, and your guaranteed to see a fight :(

Tusky wrote:

Yes the clientel has alot to do with how much drunken fighting goes on in a club, but not always necessarily so. Club 92 and Annabels would be case in point.

Most fights seem to be school or area related... its just so stupid, think people just need to cop on to themselves and be the stronger person, and just dont get involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Fighting in the street is such a disgusting, knacker-like thing to do.
    Drink or no drink. I stay well clear of it, if I see it happening on the street, and it looks severe enough, I'd wait till I got a good distance then I'd call da cops.
    What I can’t understand is why some passers-by get involved??!
    Do they look like civilised people??

Re: area turf wars - I remember one time in Finglas the scum of the South had serious issues with the people of the West. Petty really.

Getting back to the original question though, what will it take for proper policing of our streets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

IvaBigWun wrote:
    Re: area turf wars - I remember one time in Finglas

This one time... at band camp... :p
    IvaBigWun wrote:
    Getting back to the original question though, what will it take for proper policing of our streets?

A miracle? this is Ireland we are talking about. They aren't going to get a handle on this situation, anytime soon..

IvaBigWun wrote:
    Re: area turf wars - I remember one time in Finglas the scum of the South had serious issues with the people of the West. Petty really.

Petty is putting it mildly... just needs to stop... sure area/school fights is what happened in anabells !..
    This one time... at band camp... :p

Heeheee.....

By the looks of things the government is not going to do anything about it, the only way to try and control it is to have more police on the streets on Friday/ Saturday nights, but the ridicioulous thing is that i have heard stories that police just dont want to work that night, and there is a very low % of highly experienced police on the streets on these nights, seems to be left to all the trainees :rolleyes:

Heyes wrote:
    seems to be left to all the trainees :rolleyes:

Bum-Fluff boys on a day release from Templemore ;)

IvaBigWun wrote:
    Bum-Fluff boys on a day release from Templemore ;)

Sounds about right :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I have to say for all the times I've been into Dublin CC, which is quite a lot, I actually don't think there's that much trouble considering the huge amount of people around and the amount of gargle taken.

Even if you see a fight, it's usually pretty easy to walk away from.

Zebra3 wrote:
    I have to say for all the times I've been into Dublin CC, which is quite a lot, I actually don't think there's that much trouble considering the huge amount of people around and the amount of gargle taken.

Even if you see a fight, it's usually pretty easy to walk away from.

Every fight is easy to walk away from , but its whether its your goods or your mind making the decision :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭the_menace

In fairness I think we're getting a bit melodramatic on this thread. As with every capital city the world over, you're going to see violence on the streets. It's fairly rare that you will actually see it yourself unless you regularly drink in rough spots. If you do, go drink somewhere that isn't frequented by scumbags.

It's not like we have a completely out of control problem. Most of the people who end up in fights are out there looking for trouble anyway. None of my mates have been attacked in years because they're just out to have a good time and don't look for an excuse to smash someone's head open over nothing.

As for it being a 'school/area' thing - if a bunch of rich Michael's boys want to take out their sexual confusions and insecurities on a bunch of rich Blackrock boys outside Annabelles or Club 92, then I say let them go to Finglas instead and pick a real fight with real opponents.

the_menace wrote:
    In fairness I think we're getting a bit melodramatic on this thread. As with every capital city the world over, you're going to see violence on the streets. It's fairly rare that you will actually see it yourself unless you regularly drink in rough spots. If you do, go drink somewhere that isn't frequented by scumbags.

It's not like we have a completely out of control problem. Most of the people who end up in fights are out there looking for trouble anyway. None of my mates have been attacked in years because they're just out to have a good time and don't look for an excuse to smash someone's head open over nothing.

As for it being a 'school/area' thing - if a bunch of rich Michael's boys want to take out their sexual confusions and insecurities on a bunch of rich Blackrock boys outside Annabelles or Club 92, then I say let them go to Finglas instead and pick a real fight with real opponents.

Ouch......

agreed, was in bangkok (thai very peaceful people etc) early on in the trip some tourist gets bottled in the head. blood, ambulance the works. happens everywhere

ferdi wrote:
    agreed, was in bangkok (thai very peaceful people etc) early on in the trip some tourist gets bottled in the head. blood, ambulance the works. happens everywhere

Ah of course it does, but it doesnt mean ya should just live with it, people should just cop on to themselves..:rolleyes:

all you can do is ban drink and thats not gonna happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Firesuite

Depends where you go. I do be in town in clubs/pubs two or three times a week and I very, very rarely see fights. If youre going to places like Club M or other scum infested clubs, youre going to see plenty of fights

Completely agree there, I haven't seen fights in a club in years, last time would have been was when i was going to the local discos at home and not out in Dublin.

The thing I was disgusted at was when I was showing some Americans around town yesterday and the streets were filthy from the night before, so embarassing. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I haven't seen a fight in Dublin* in the last 6 months. The danger of Dublin is blown out of all proportion by the media. There are certain places you just don't go in the middle of the night, any night of the week.

*That I can recall

seamus wrote:
    I haven't seen a fight in Dublin* in the last 6 months. The danger of Dublin is blown out of all proportion by the media.

Spot on. The fact that people are buying into it is the most worrying thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

Never been in a fight in my life, nearly got in one on new years eve. He was coming onto a mate of mine and I said nice shirt as he left (it was bright pink) he took it off threw it at me and said "do you want it?" as he squared up to me. was more funny than anything!
    Moral of the story, avoid the idiots and dont talk to them. especially if you've had alot of jack daniels..
    And yeah, you go to a place crawling with scumbags then there will be trouble. There's safety in student/tourist/old man/expensive pubs.

seamus wrote:
    I haven't seen a fight in Dublin* in the last 6 months. The danger of Dublin is blown out of all proportion by the media. There are certain places you just don't go in the middle of the night, any night of the week.

*That I can recall

Then, with respect, you must be drinking in Foxrock and/or Backgammon clubs ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

seamus wrote:
    There are certain places you just don't go in the middle of the night, any night of the week.

*That I can recall

I think this is an important point. Dublin is big enough to have known rough spots,where you dont go. it's different in small town Ireland where it's not big enough for separation of the scumbags and everyone else.

In my local nightclub,i see fights EVERY night,and i also see them on the main street in the town. it's disgusting, and what worse is that it's just as likely for women to be fighting in the club as men.

Dublin, imo, is pretty much grand. Saying that, i am unhappy with the gardai's attitude/response to this growing problem in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Heyes wrote:
    Do you ever feel when you go out, that there is never a night where you dont see some bunch of people, most commonly lads fighting ? Chances are they are fighting over nothing of any importance..

I just think its scary the amount of fights there are going on around the streets of dublin, i kinda though after the "Anabell murder" that it would ease down a bit, which i think to some exstent it did a little, but its kicked off now again and is actually a lot worse.
    Saturday nights have me seeing lads collpased in the middle of the road with glass all around them <-- on that occasion the guy in question had done absolutaly nothing wrong he was just walking along the street, it took ages for an ambulance to arrive. Also on a seperate occasion i noticed another guy, who was walking along the street covered in blood, he was stone called sober, and had been attacked by a bunch of drunken lads. I seem to be seeing this going on all the time !!!! :mad:

Just think this fighting really needs to stop before there is more and more accidents and deaths in the city...

what do u think ?

Where the feck have you been drinking?? :eek:

I drink in town at least once a week and i can safely say I havn't seen a single fight in over a year! I've been to places like club m, barcode, anabells aswell as 92...a broad range of "clientel" ... nothing!

I get the nightlink whenever im out too....I've seen plenty of arguments between lads..i've seen gobsheens thrown out of places and giving bouncers stick..but it's been a long time since i've seen a full on fisty-cuffs brawl!!

DubGuy wrote:
    Where the feck have you been drinking?? :eek:

I drink in town at least once a week and i can safely say I havn't seen a single fight in over a year! I've been to places like club m, barcode, anabells aswell as 92...a broad range of "clientel" ... nothing!

I get the nightlink whenever im out too....I've seen plenty of arguments between lads..i've seen gobsheens thrown out of places and giving bouncers stick..but it's been a long time since i've seen a full on fisty-cuffs brawl!!

Do you people actually go out in Dublin ??? :rolleyes: , seems to be loads of phases where there is fights going on, and its predominantly around o connell bridge area. well thats where i see it happening.. :rolleyes: ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Was walking down Grafton Street around 11:30pm two weeks ago, and saw one guy having the sh1te kicked out of him by three or four other guys.
    That was the most recent fight I've seen in Dublin.
    I'm sick of seeing people kicking the sh1te out of each other on our streets, its disgusting and makes us(the Irish) look absolutely awful.

I know it happens in other countries, but we the Irish are particularly bad.
    Went to Crete in August 2004 and my god, the way the Irish behaved over there was disgraceful. Huge amounts of fights every night, people robbing each other, throwing up on the streets, abusing staff of hotels/restaurants/pubs/clubs etc. That said, nearly everyone was between 17 and 19 and absolutely p1ssed but thats not really an excuse now is it?

In Dublin, I suppose its where you go and what kind of people are there.
    The city center isn't a great place to be at 2:30/3:00am when everyone is thrown out of the clubs drunk onto the streets together to fight over taxi's/buses.

rb_ie wrote:
    I know it happens in other countries, but we the Irish are particularly bad.

That's absolute rubbish. The streets of the many UK cities are just as, if not more violent, as are the streets of Amsterdam, Paris, Barcelona, Rome, Prague, etc. The list goes on.

If you want to know what the real problem with 'we Irish' it's the fact that all we seem capable of doing is getting wound up by idiotic hysterical media reporting and sitting on message boards bitching and moaning how bad we (see everyone else in Ireland except me) are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Heyes wrote:
    walk around anywhere in dublin on a saturday night and you ll see a fight. yes club m is a dive, but walking even around where the night links are, and all around there, and your guaranteed to see a fight :(

Did you misread by post ? Im in town ever weekend until all hours and I rarely see a fight. Depends where you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

the_menace wrote:
    That's absolute rubbish. The streets of the many UK cities are just as, if not more violent, as are the streets of Amsterdam, Paris, Barcelona, Rome, Prague, etc. The list goes on.

If you want to know what the real problem with 'we Irish' it's the fact that all we seem capable of doing is getting wound up by idiotic hysterical media reporting and sitting on message boards bitching and moaning how bad we (see everyone else in Ireland except me) are.

I've been in quite a few cities in Europe, and its been on the very rare occasion that I've seen the locals knocking the sh1te out of each other.

Oh and I forgot the UK, of course they're worse than us...just look at them.

rb_ie wrote:
    I've been in quite a few cities in Europe, and its been on the very rare occasion that I've seen the locals knocking the sh1te out of each other.

Ah stop will you. It's on a very rare occasion that you see it in Dublin too. I've lived in Liverpool, London, Rome, Barcelona and Amsterdam and every one of those places is considerably more violent than Dublin. Any other city I've visited seems no more or less violent than Dublin - and I've been to quite a few myself. Like I said, it's just silly media frenzy and over-zealous Irish suckers who mop it up. It's getting a bit boring and silly to be honest. We Irish seem to be a bit over critical of ourselves, and that's not always a bad thing, but let's try and get realistic for a while, eh? Dublin is a very safe city in comparison to many.

Heyes wrote:
    and its predominantly around o connell bridge area. well thats where i see it happening.. :rolleyes: ;)

Yup, id agree. Its one of the most dodgy areas of Dublin city centre at night. That, around Spermacs and the top end of O' Connell Street in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Alcohol-related vioelence in Britain is (slight exaggeration) a million times worse than here.

I've seen fights brake out in pubs and riot police being called in a 1pm. And they weren't football-related. Just ordinary gob****es.

I work with a lot of people from England who have moved over here because they think their hometown has turned into a warzone at weekends.

One bloke I work with who goes home at weekends plans to move to Australia in the near future cos he said there was no way he'd let his kid grow up "in that shythole". He told me there was some girl slash across the face in their local school! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'm gonna have to agree that it's being blown out of proportion greatly by the media... I've only been going into town at night regularly for nearly a year, but I haven't seen any fights at all to be honest. There was a bloke looking to start a fight in Bob's before, but he was actually there with us! He was a friend of a friend of a friend, and he was promptly chucked out so it was grand, but that's all I've seen in town.

I generally feel quite safe when I'm walking around at night, mainly because there's loads of people there. Maybe if the streets were empty it'd be a bit more unnerving.

I feel safer walking through town at night than through my own area, lol!

Oh well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

In my whole time going to town drinking (about six years now), I've seen two fights. Two! An neither were bad; both times it was two drunk guys grappling, no punches were exchanged. Stop with the melodrama folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

IvaBigWun wrote:
    Then, with respect, you must be drinking in Foxrock and/or Backgammon clubs ;)
    Nope. Dublin City Centre. When I was younger I went to Fibbers pretty much every Saturday night for a year, and walked to the Nitelink down O'Connell Street at 3am, and never saw much more than drunken scumbags shouting at eachother.
    Though a lot of it is about where you go. Some clubs are just full of scumbags and expect fights. I don't go to what you would consider classy pubs, but at the first sign of trouble, bouncers come out of nowhere and lift the cause out of it.

In my years drinking in the City Centre, I've seen a good few vicious ones, but certain people and media would have you believe that no matter where you go on a weekend night out, you'll see blood, broken glass and broken chairs. Nothing could be further from the truth.

Wacker wrote:
    Stop with the melodrama folks.

I second that motion. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

In my experience the worst fighting seems to come from the no-alco teenage discos and not always drunken ones. The way it worked was if someone swung at you you ducked and kept walking and now im older and i see them leaving the
    places the little basta**s just rip lumps out of each other for no reason. Forget alcohol, hormones is the problem!!!

Tusky wrote:
    Did you misread by post ? Im in town ever weekend until all hours and I rarely see a fight. Depends where you go.

No i didnt miss read your post :rolleyes: , i was just wondering if you were walking around with your eyes open or closed :p

the_menace wrote:
    I second that motion. :D

yes there is a lot of melodrama, and a lot of publicity in the media about it, but in fairness im not really going by the media on this one, im going by what i see with my own two eyes, :p ... about a few months ago it was a bit mad, there seemed to be a couple fights every saturday night and some of them were pretty bad, and nope before you ask im not walking along the back streets, or along sherriff street or something, this is bang in the middle of town where everyone else is going out,.... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

dublin streets are relatively safe,even if your in a fight ,chances are you wont be badly injured, how many people have been killed on streets of dublin in last ten years? i can only think of the one at annabels so yes the media and individuals here are being melodramatic,i have been in town drinking hundreds of times over several years in college and have seen maybe ten to twenty fights,none of which have been really bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Dublin is safe compared to other places i've lived

Leicester is like a ****ing war zone every fri/sat night. The amount of police out is unbelievable....even worse whenever there is a home football match. I can't get across how violent Leicester is...

Sydney, OZ has much more violence than dublin. Got started on a few time there. The whole place seems to suffer from excessive testosterone Ultra agressive Alpha male sydrome

Boston, well tbh, the only violence i ever saw was irish ****wits outside irish bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

Dublin is safe, i was in munich and it's a crazy dodgy place at night, esspecailly near the central train station, than again i think in general train stations are dodgy places to be at night. But it was very dodgy.

I was in london too, no quite as dodgy, but it's like dublin, but a heck of a lot bigger.

In my opinion, i feel save in dublin, as long as u've got ur wits about you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Dublin as far as im concerned is a very safe place, and as has been said the media blow it all out of proportion, i have been away to many european cities, and saw things i never did in dublin. i have never been started on or attacked here and i have been going out into town for about 4 years now fairly regularly. Compared to other places i feel very safe here, the vast majority of people are very civilised...