Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The student is going to make his million dollars

• 06-12-2005 12:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭

http://www.milliondollarhomepage.com/

story been told before. But update. it looks like he is going to do it.

fascinating.

well done sonny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Fantastic. Shows how with a simple idea and some viral marketing, you can make astronomical returns on a minimal investment. He should get a young entrepreneur award tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

seamus wrote:
    Fantastic. Shows how with a simple idea and some viral marketing, you can make astronomical returns on a minimal investment. He should get a young entrepreneur award tbh.

i think the money is enough:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

What I find funny is that it's not actually a good idea, yet it works!! (not sure if this is a good or bad thing.)

I'm happy for him though! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

The prick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

dublindude wrote:
    What I find funny is that it's not actually a good idea, yet it works!! (not sure if this is a good or bad thing.)
    The product is awful, but the idea is great. I'm not sure why anyone would surf to a site populated by ads, but advertisers would be happy to pay small amounts to join a gimmick bandwagon. It's a one-off thing that wouldn't have been successful if it hadn't been original. It's the gimmick that he's selling to advertisers, not the adspace.

By comparison - www.milliondollarwebpage.com - is a clone, with little or no space sold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

Pal wrote:
    http://www.milliondollarhomepage.com/

story been told before. But update. it looks like he is going to do it.

fascinating.

well done sonny
    This guy is amazing a simple concept but obviously very effective. Oh my god he is going to be a million are smart fecker!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭fade

magpie wrote:
    The prick

my sentiments exactly

fair play though, clever idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Spicy Lauren

I say Fair Play to Him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Gotta love the one caption there : "Women Pixels" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Ingenius, lovin' his work!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

ugh, the same day that I find out the idea I've been trying to design has already been done... depressing day.

Féar plé anyways...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

seamus wrote:
    The product is awful, but the idea is great. I'm not sure why anyone would surf to a site populated by ads, but advertisers would be happy to pay small amounts to join a gimmick bandwagon. It's a one-off thing that wouldn't have been successful if it hadn't been original. It's the gimmick that he's selling to advertisers, not the adspace.

Not so sure about that. According to the testimonials page the page is actually generating a lot of traffic for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

He's done it (almost). The last 1000 pixels are being auctioned off on Ebay.

At time of writing the last bid is $6100

Fair balls to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Internet begging eh?

Some eejits would waste money on anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭Ozzy

You've got to say though, what a great idea. Money for nothing!

Meanwhile in Europe...

http://www.millioneuropage.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Ooh the envy! Why didn't I think of that!
    here are still literally hundreds of people e-mailing me wanting pixels on the homepage. Some are wondering why I don't open a second page. Well, I won't do that because I am determined to maintain the integrity and degree of exclusivity intrinsic to the million-pixel concept. Therefore, I am doing the most fair and logical thing and auctioning the last 1,000 pixels off on eBay.

I love the "I'm Rich, Your Not" banner in the top left.

Anyone want to chip in for "I can spell, you can't" one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

He's a genius.
    Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

there's some nice coding on the original page, the clone is ****e

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Hehehe, very clever

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

http://www.pixel-mart.com/
    Another, much less successful clone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

21000 dollars is the bid on ebay

Made by one US-Government-Com or something like that:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

magpie wrote:
    The prick

What's your problem? Jealous you didn't think of it first?

Rolleyes at all the begrudgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Haha that's a very smart idea, but wouldn't the cos of hosting take up some of the money from the million he makes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Piste wrote:
    Haha that's a very smart idea, but wouldn't the cos of hosting take up some of the money from the million he makes?
    Very little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭RefulgentGnomon

Is the minimum size 100 pixels though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

http://www.marypoconnor.com/dogwall.html <-- stumbled across that on it

There are a lot of clones advertising on it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

There's an Irish rip off that was advertised by some spammer a while back, I won't do him the favour of linking it though. It's sold nothing, mind you.

Great idea, so simple. I bet everyone, like me, who saw it thought "why the hell didn't I think of that?". The clones are pathetic, the site isn't a success because it's a great way to advertise your site, it's because it's so unique that everyone visits it and goes on from there. On paper all of those companies were ripped off for what they got, but in practice he hit an untapped phenomenon that led to huge traffic for advertisers.

It's also stupid for clones to charge the same per pixel, when until now you could get the same deal on a much more popular site.
    Why not sell it for 1c per pixel? It would still make you some money (if you sold out) and would be more enticing too. These idiots have no business sense... UNDERCUT!!! Now they just have a useless website that costs them money
    Fair play to the bloke, spend it wisely!

fair play to him!hes just an average joe who came up with a brilliant idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

Genius...and I see he's sold 999,999 pixels which means he's almost a millionaire...so simple and easy.and so much money because of it!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

Damn simple ideas. Shame on me for being intelligent and complex!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

I read he has had various job offers and is said to have other ideas in the pipeline...

He was just on Richard and Judy (my mam called me in, I don't watch it :p), said he's not going back to uni until at least September, cos he's getting various job offers. Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

He was just on Richard and Judy , Fair play to him.

edit/ I dont watch either Dave ;) /edit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

jesus the bid on the ebay offering is massive now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

Think he's rich now? Wait until he starts printing t-shirts.

Think about it. It's the new smiley face.

The Million Dollar T-Shirt, Baseball Cap, Poster, Action Figure etc... etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Didnt take too long, I remember when that was @ about $30,000...

£90,000 for the last 1000 pixels. Madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

I take my Armani hat off to this lad :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Think he's rich now? Wait until he starts printing t-shirts.

Think about it. It's the new smiley face.

The Million Dollar T-Shirt, Baseball Cap, Poster, Action Figure etc... etc...

Screw all that......I'm waiting for the jigsaw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Holy ****, they're going for 160 grand at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

lot of black spots though isnt there?

Edit:Oh yeah, and fair focks to him. Genius

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

One day, an idea such as this will be mine :)

whiskeyman wrote:
    Screw all that......I'm waiting for the jigsaw!

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Blisterman wrote:
    http://www.pixel-mart.com/
    Another, much less successful clone.

From the blog:
    I love it when people mention Pixel-Mart.com in their forums/blogs.

* musick.blogspot.com - "Ah, yes the imitators have already begun..."
    * www.boards.ie - "Another, much less successful clone."
    * forums.somethingawful.com - This guy actually Photoshopped my Million Dollar Homepage link.

lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I rememebr when that first started off.. It had only around 20 people who bought space from him. Amazing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

US$ 160.000 is the bid now for the last 10 boxes.

UNREAL !!!!

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5652179487&ssPageName=ADME:L:LCA:UK:31

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 DG Leixlip

Just got an email about an Irish guy trying the same thing at: http://www.millionpixelpaddy.com

Anyone else get this mail??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

DG Leixlip wrote:
    Anyone else get this mail??

Nope... I delete spam.

Mate of yours?
    Nice to see originality alive and well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

whiskeyman wrote:
    Nope... I delete spam.

Mate of yours?
    Nice to see originality alive and well...

Mmm, one wonders.

I'm amazed that this worked. When I first saw the site - I'd say 1000 pixels were sold and, to be honest, I thought "what a load of..." and instantly wrote it off. To say the least, I'm surprised. Very well done to him. This is genuinely the first simple business idea that I thought would definitely flop but which has, infact, gone on to do the opposite...

... I wonder what his future plans are... with that million behind him, he'll find it a lot easier to realise his ambitions for sure!