Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racist Comments

• 09-11-2005 12:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

Hello,
    I am a media student doing a project on racism. I would like to ask what are the worst racist comments you have heard, either directed to you or to others?

If you do not want to display them publicly, pm me. It would be of great help to me in my project.
    thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

A guy I used to know called a black man on the street a Matleaser once, I was like ten but it's stuck with me since...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Le Rack wrote:
    A guy I used to know called a black man on the street a Matleaser once, I was like ten but it's stuck with me since...

A malteaser? Or is Matleaser a word. I'm not taking the piss, genuinely interested, I assumed it was a typo, but learning a new word ( albeit a bad one) is always nice

No an actual Malteaser, ya know like the chocs, the man had his head shaved, hence the round brown ness...

I predict mass banning

Le Rack wrote:
    No an actual Malteaser, ya know like the chocs, the man had his head shaved, hence the round brown ness...

Aww, I though I was lernding,So it is true, the only thing you learn about on t'internet is naked ladies.

I predict mass banning
    Well that's not very racist at all. Unless of course the circumstances behind the bannings were racial driven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

People are always telling me to go back to Mexico :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

Go back to Mexico!

Hey, you're right. :D

Nah, don't think I've ever come across any racism.

Go back to Mexico!

Hey, you're right. :D

Nah, don't think I've ever come across any racism.

Hey, leave him alone you old ass yankee perv. :)

Sangre wrote:
    People are always telling me to go back to Mexico :/
    I don't blame them, Mexico is probably much nicer than this dump of a country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

I PM'd you with what I had to say Lainer.

Hey le rack, if I was the black guy who got called a malteser by the guy you used to know, I would have shouted back at him "yeah whatever, Milky Bar kid!", or even... "Oi!, white malteser!..... NOOO!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Never heard racist stuff irl. Just stupid comments some Americans come out with about Irish people.

What part of the country are you living in though simu?, If it's the midlands/west, I've found people far more accommodating to foreigners (like me!) than in other parts of Ireland..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Cork and Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

My mom is full Korean and my dad is Caucasion. One guy told us that he "doesn't believe in mixed marriages." I mean, what are we supposed to say to that? It's not the *worst* thing he could have said, but still... he could have just kept the stupid comment to himself.

What an asshole, he's probably the type to fully endorse marriages between family members. Besides, EVERYONE knows that girls with asian heritage are the sexiest, it's a fact!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

No, I've yet to hear anything racist said about being Irish. The one that really annoyed me was a scumbag girl shouting "chinky-winky" at a chinese woman, while the knacker waited for her chinese food. Irish knackers just have no brains.

I did meet a guy in London over the weekend who either is racist against everyone, or was just drunk. He asked me the question, "You know the way the IRA, like bomb London and stuff?", "Yeah?", "What's up with that?". He then proceeded to say that he thought the Irish accent was awful, though that didn't include our accents, as we were standing right in front of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I know a guy who was called round-eye in korea. I heard 2 black guys in new york calling a caucasian a cracker mother****er. And a cork taximan complaining about "all these nigerian ****"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

I wonder whether we can openly post racist comments we have heard?

Having worked for 4 years with asylum seekers in Dublin, I've got a few crackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

I heard someone being called a big dirty ****** one time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

go watch Crash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I went into a bar in London once - ordered a drink and an English guy on the other side of the bar said to the barman (quite loudly) - "If you serve that Irish C*nt I'm leaving and I'm never coming back". The barman looked at me and said "sorry mate, maybe you better leave".
    I was apoplectic for hours afterwards, but I don't think I've ever been so humiliated, or, frankly, as proud to be Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

I was in a pub in england, not so long ago & asked the bar man for a drink & his exact words were - 'Fu@k off back to Paddyland'!!

I couldn't believe it, we had just walked in the door ... needless to say we didn't stay for the drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I've heard a bit of that "<strong cockney accent> fahkin' irish cahnt" type ****e from time to time, but never anything like what caimin had in his post about the prick at the bar :eek: That guy really deserves a kicking.

Our own scumbags are full of the same kind of ****e

2 scummers on bus sitting a few rows behind a chinese girl: "are you chinkin' wha' i'm chinkin, WHA!?"

twats.

Stephen wrote:

Our own scumbags are full of the same kind of ****e

2 scummers on bus sitting a few rows behind a chinese girl: "are you chinkin' wha' i'm chinkin, WHA!?"

twats.

I saw something similar - two alcos on the bus, shouting at a chinese guy "We don't bleedin need your type in this country" - Ironic or what?

Fair play to the bus driver, he threw them off straight away

caimin wrote:
    I saw something similar - two alcos on the bus, shouting at a chinese guy "We don't bleedin need your type in this country" - Ironic or what?

Fair play to the bus driver, he threw them off straight away

Yeah isn't it funny, the Irish went to every country in the world & set up home - but now that it's our turn to have people come here we come unbelieveably racist. A lot of people seem to forget where they came from!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

ravenhead wrote:
    Yeah isn't it funny, the Irish went to every country in the world & set up home - but now that it's our turn to have people come here we come unbelieveably racist. A lot of people seem to forget where they came from!
    I think he was referring to the fact that it seems to be the biggest spongers and wastes of space that this country has to offer, who make comments about "undesirable types" in Ireland.

seamus wrote:
    I think he was referring to the fact that it seems to be the biggest spongers and wastes of space that this country has to offer, who make comments about "undesirable types" in Ireland.

Yeah that's probably true, they seem to be forgetting that these people(that they think are undesirables) are the people that have come over here & are doing the jobs that Irish people seem to think they are too good for, they'd prefer to sponge off the state sitting on their arses all day, just my 2C's about it all anyway!

seamus wrote:

I was - but

"Yeah isn't it funny, the Irish went to every country in the world & set up home - but now that it's our turn to have people come here we come unbelieveably racist. A lot of people seem to forget where they came from!"

works too! God, I'm working on so many levels today :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

caimin wrote:
    works too! God, I'm working on so many levels today :D

Unlike them spongers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭*Lees*

ravenhead wrote:

Here here!!! I totally agree with that!!!!

"No dogs, no blacks, no paddy's" .... this was once a sign that all pub/shop owners had in the states!!!.... Putting us in the same catagory as dogs!... I can't imagine how horrible that must have felt to be made feel like s***.

We should be welcoming different cultures into our country!!

lisamon wrote:
    Here here!!! I totally agree with that!!!!

"No dogs, no blacks, no paddy's" .... this was once a sign that all pub/shop owners had in the states!!!.... Putting us in the same catagory as dogs!... I can't imagine how horrible that must have felt to be made feel like s***.

We should be welcoming different cultures into our country!!

Exactly!! I mean look at what we did for the states! But having said that I don't agree with this people coming in & getting all these benefits & not having to work, that's a completely different story all together, I mean we have more than enough spongers of our own with out that going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

ravenhead wrote:
    I was in a pub in england, not so long ago & asked the bar man for a drink & his exact words were - 'Fu@k off back to Paddyland'!!

That's a moment where it would have been good to be a scumbag. Wait outside with a couple of mates until he finishes work... LOL.

But violence is bad, mmmmmkay?

I've been called an English ****/bastard, **** off back home English ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Laguna wrote:
    I've been called an English ****/bastard, **** off back home English ****
    Sorry to hear that dude, i've been to over to england a lot over the past few years and never got any grief for being Irish, quite the contrary, the woman love the accent:v:

A few racist remarks http://www.moviesounds.com/fmj/nobigotry.wav here for your project

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭*Lees*

dublindude wrote:
    That's a moment where it would have been good to be a scumbag. Wait outside with a couple of mates until he finishes work... LOL.

But violence is bad, mmmmmkay?

mwoahahahahahaha <Evil Laugh>

Sorry to hear that dude, i've been to over to england a lot over the past few years and never got any grief for being Irish, quite the contrary, the woman love the accent:v:

Well, thanks for your support. I can safely claim, no Irish woman loves my accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭shakaman

Hmm rather strange one really......

Playing for London against Dublin in the football all-ireland last year in Parnell Park, got to told f**k off dirty tan c**t, interesting considering I'm born in Galway, just a pity my mother was in the stands!

Some other choice statements from that afternoon

"Get out of the Pale orange f**k"
    "English scum"

And in the 3 years I lived across never got any abuse for being Irish.

Not a good advertisement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

growing up i got called a british bastard, more time than i like to remember.

ive lived 95% of my life in ireland, and for virtue of being born in england 26 years ago i do receive a lot of stick.

like on st patricks day i wasnt feeling well and decided not to go out with my mates and one of their friends started on me about being english and that i wasnt welcome and stuff.

Ive found a lot of places i go people love the irish because in general we are good fun, but in any country there will always be bad apples that spoil the image for the rest of the populace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

I remember when I was younger and was on holidays, my parents being absolutely livid over a conversation that was taking place next to us at a restaurant. There was a table of British men and women all mid forties. One of them says "I wonder could we have an Irish coffee".. another pipes up with "yes maybe without the irish" and they all pissed themselves laughing. This was followed by "... ohahaha.. and without potatoes too"... (what a sh*t joke!) .

Didnt really understand it back then, but can appreciate the sentiment now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Actually hear? No not really. I've heard about loads of rascist incidents but tbh I haven't seen any myself. I've heard people remark on someone's race as unusual (a good few years back when it was unusual to meet anyone non-Irish in this country) but it was always more in a "oh that's unusual" kind of way than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭bagdaddy

I was once racially abused by a group of black people when they started shouting at me and getting in my space trying to start a fight on me as i was white. One word they kept on calling me was a 'cracker' which is a racist word some black people use to describe white people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Mr.D.Leprachaun

A girl in my class once described another girl who she doesn't get on with and is one quarter Italian as "That f*cking black n*igger".

Laguna wrote:
    Hey le rack, if I was the black guy who got called a malteser by the guy you used to know, I would have shouted back at him "yeah whatever, Milky Bar kid!", or even... "Oi!, white malteser!..... NOOO!"
    Hey to make it even better the guy who shouted was about ten and a typical scumbag Paddy, tracksuit, short CARROT orange hair, pale skin and red freckles!
    Me and my mate turned on him, and gave him a right rollocking for being a racist little git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

rubadub wrote:
    I know a guy who was called round-eye in korea.

Thats an insult?! :D I've heard worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Lainer

Thanks guys for all the input...very helpful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

Hobbes wrote:
    Thats an insult?! :D I've heard worse.

Well... I guess in Korea, where everyone has slanted eyes, I guess that could be used in a derogatory fashion...

So sad... all this racism... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

racism is so stupid, i find it amusing

like when a kid calls you a smelly-head, its just funny

racists have the intellect of children