If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

robbed by pikeys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Please keep it civil. Also remarks such as destroying certain species with napalm does not bode ye well. So as Bru always says: keep it civil, again.
    fragile wrote:
    What really gets to me is the parents, what kind of parent would choose to send their child out begging and stealing instead of getting an education and a responsible upbringing.
    Probably the kind of parent that had a similar upbringing themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 mjn

what can i say?

my ego isn't big.....i don't want to wear read boots and a cape...BUT i'm not going to give in to some low life piece of scum, especially on my own doorstep! Nor am i going to stand by and let a helpless girl get mugged.

I'd rather help someone, even a stranger, rather than just walk past and think, "doesn't matter, somebody else will help" or "what if I get hurt?" and watch the news the following morning and discover she was beaten to within an inch of her life.

Plus, there's a difference between winning tournaments and defending yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Magic_Roundabou

Getting back to the pepper spray. I've been carrying pepper spray in my jacket pocket for about a year now in case I have to deal with a scumbag trying to rob me (had a near miss and the athmosphere in town makes you fell like you need an edge). Just ordered it from the US over the net (they even had family packs of the stuff !!!) and it only cost about 20 euro. Hasn't been fired in anger yet.

Anyone know the exact legality of it ??? While its obviously something the law wouldn't take to, is carrying it specifically disallowed ??? Since it would be so rare over here, I doubt the law has classified it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,342 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Gordon wrote:
    Please keep it civil. Also remarks such as destroying certain species with napalm does not bode ye well. So as Bru always says: keep it civil, again.
    Now invincibleirish don't you wish ya had Gordon there that night to scold the knackers for you. A mention of Bru and they would have legged it ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭impr0v

Getting back to the pepper spray. I've been carrying pepper spray in my jacket pocket for about a year now in case I have to deal with a scumbag trying to rob me (had a near miss and the athmosphere in town makes you fell like you need an edge). Just ordered it from the US over the net (they even had family packs of the stuff !!!) and it only cost about 20 euro. Hasn't been fired in anger yet.

Anyone know the exact legality of it ??? While its obviously something the law wouldn't take to, is carrying it specifically disallowed ??? Since it would be so rare over here, I doubt the law has classified it.

It's actually classed as a firearm in the relevant legislation and is illegal to possess without a licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,338 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

mjn and inpr0v, your breaths smell.

Maybe the syringe was at his girlfriend's neck?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

Lets get St.Patrick back to drive them all out, tell him he left a few snakes behind.

Or else Vigilanteism could work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 cleansingfire

This, again, is simply the way of things
    Incomplete.

This is the way things have gone because..........................

I welcome suggestions for the reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Havelock

Gordon wrote:
    Also remarks such as destroying certain species with napalm does not bode ye well.

Anyone else pick up on that? I presume you meant peoples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

so is it legal in the States?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Your best bet is to report it to the guards. Yeah they might do nothing, but if you report it and hound them then they will get up off their butts and do something. The more people that report these crimes the higher the chances are of the likes of the County Council to shut the halting site down.

Limerick City Council for example has already started evicting its tennants from houses for anti-social behaviour. There is work in progress to remove a certain family of travelers from a halting site on the south side of the city. This might even be the same group that imortalirish is referring to.

As much as I would disagree with people "painting everyone with the same brush" I would say that if a certain community of people cannot behave themselves then they should be moved along.

Who runs the halting site immortal, is it Limerick City or County Council, I would suggest that you make a report of anti-social behaviour to the relavent authority, Limerick City Council to the best of my knowledge keep names and addresses of complainants confidential.

Also scream from the rooftops contact both local papers in Limerick and at least warn others that there are troublemakers hanging around that area and say how it should be avoided. If you ask the papers to keep your name out of the story then they will

http://www.limerickpost.ie has an email address
    http://www.limerick-leader.ie also has an email address.

hope some of this you find usefull

as for napalming the "pikeys" I won't even dignify that with a reply.

oh yeah one moe media outlet for you to consider using

limericktoday@live95fm.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Incomplete.

This is the way things have gone because..........................

I welcome suggestions for the reasons.
    Human nature? If you want a debate about the vagaries of the human condition I suggest you start a thread in another forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Hey All,

The majority of this thread has come down to fear, ignorance and cultural misunderstanding.

Invincibleirish,

You know what you did wrong:
    I feel stupid though coz i should have known better then to be walking on my own late at night around there
    Don't do it again. You don't have to do it, there's always an alternative.

After that the opinions of a lot of people on message boards are usually very disconnected with reality. As humans in a Western Culture, and in most cultures, we tend to only associate with people who share our ideas. Ideas and thoughts that don't mix well with the environment (group ideals) don't survive. So my advice is not to heed 99% of the advice you hear on message boards. That includes mine. Test everything I say to you, and if it doesn't make logically/inductive/emotional sense to you, discard it.

If you're still feeling frightened about violence however, don't start talking to laypeople who've no scientific backing for any of their advice or anecdotes. I suggest reading The Gift of Fear by Gavin DeBecker. Make sure you read it all the way through though, as the last chapter contains most of the important points (You have to read the others, to grasp the context ;) )

If you want to train safely, do
    Boxing,
    Thai Boxing,
    Judo,
    Wrestling,
    MMA/BJJ.

Anything else (martial arts wise) won't be pressure tested and will not truly alleviate your fear. Note: Your fear shouldn't be completely alleviated, it's all a matter of recognising true fear(recognition of imminent danger) from fear as a result of culturalisation.

As for martial arts in general, 99% of what's out there is no use. In order for something to have practicallity, you must have active resistance so that you may gain skill. Head on over to the Self Defence forum under sports and you'll see a range of discussions on this.

Hope this helps man,
    Colm

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I believe this thread has run it's course
    closed
    B