Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The pav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Boston wrote:
    "Can I have a pint of milk"
    Can I have some ID

Me looks stunned

"All I want is a pint of milk"
    all I want is some ****ing ID

Gives ID and gets pint of milk.

lol. Thats a strange one alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Have to say the Pav and surrounding green space is great craic during the summer, it's a seasonal thing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Kappar

I don't really like the pav at night, It's a good spot during the day and early evening when you are looking for something to do. I don;t know what it is about it at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Chick

hey ceilingfan i noticed wat u said bout eng/sci goin 2 pav, and arts farts arent appreciated lol, im a student nurse. where am i welcome? pav/buttery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Boston wrote:
    Hmm wonder how many times I've been barred from the Pav

Never been barred, the staff love us too much even though we make a lot of work for them.Remember the egg-cup Hour of Power Ceiling?
    c.jpg

celingfan wrote:
    last day of exams a can of whiskey i remember nothing apex could tell you more for me that day is a mystery.

Picture this.. Ceilingfan standing on a picnic table outside pav, empty bavaria can of whiskey in his hand. Americans + Video camera, sitting around said picnic table. To all of you who don't know Ceilingfan personally, this is like introducing a cheetah to amphetamines. The chap was in his element...
    I've never before seen such a vehement speech (take his above rants X100)... It may or may not have had to do with cellotape.. Shamelessly funny!

hey ceilingfan i noticed wat u said bout eng/sci goin 2 pav, and arts farts arent appreciated lol, im a student nurse. where am i welcome? pav/buttery?

Pav obviously ;) , and all your buddies too cos med sci is not anythin artsy. Artsy means BESS/arts. Hamilton end are medsci/eng/sci (incl maths).

grosssss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭PrecariousNuts

You better get used to the sight of gore. I remember the last time I was in the Matter Hospital, man alive there were men alive in there.

Also, hurrah for Hamilton!

i know lol ppl keep sayin if ur gonna b a nurse youd better get used to it. if i had a penny foe everytime someone has said that to me i could build my own pub, nevermind the pav...!

apexaviour wrote:
    Pav obviously ;) , and all your buddies too cos med sci is not anythin artsy. Artsy means BESS/arts. Hamilton end are medsci/eng/sci (incl maths).
    alright so thanks i wasnt too sure!

Don't mind him you can go to where ever you want. :-)

well yeah, but not if im gonna be shunned lol!;)

Kappar wrote:
    Don't mind him you can go to where ever you want. :-)

Aye it's true.. But if you want a decent lunch go to the buttery, we do all the time. The only other time we go there is for the battle of the bands. Other than that it's a kip. The Pav has the atmosphere, the cheap cans and (when the blazer squad aren't cocktailing) the sound people!

It's the place to be..

But if you want a decent lunch go to the buttery

Em...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

apexaviour wrote:
    But if you want a decent lunch go to the buttery

lmao

Ace_Rimmer wrote:
    Em...
    SkyLynx wrote:
    lmao

Ok this was an ignorant statement. I assumed its a good lunch cos we (as in my mates and I) always go there for lunch. I've never actually eaten their food though cos I always have a packed lunch.. I'm too tired now to speculate as to why the hell they all eat it. Though you have to remember my group is weird (ceilingfan is in it), we often eat strange things for fun.

How about this.. If you want a cheap fill go to the buttery?

Yeah, tis tripe, but its cheap. Ye wouldn't exactly eat it if money grew on tree's.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Buttery is bad, Hamilton café is worse. JCR or off campus eateries all the way.

so whos on the blazer squad...?lmao
    and thanks for the "tip" about where to eat... :S

The Ham Caf has exactly the same food as the buttery, just it was drove down in a truck.

Mmm tasty.

good 2 know....

It's not just the same, I'm convinced they add secret Hamilton spices to further decompose the steaming mass that they cook in the buttery.

eugh.... sounds.... appetising

I like the chips and sausage I get in the buttery and all for €2.80 and sometimes if I am feeling saucy I eat in the Dining Hall and get the same, sausage and chips, for €2.80 but get to eat in a hall with lovely old painings and pretend I am harry potter. http://www.tcd.ie/Maps/dining_hall.html

i'd agree ham caf is worse, more to do with its hanging around longer, they go thru more in the buttery and also have u ever seen the chips in ham caf? horrible looking yokes :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Dest

im told rolls from centra and such is the way to go.

Spar on westland row are great. So good infact the JCR banned you from bringing them in because everyone was gettin them and eating them in the JCR damn those JCR, damn them all to hell, well I suppose it's fair actually the JCR works like anywhere else.

centra > spar imo, better choice/quality... deli section in spar is tiny.........

No way! Spar is much better than Centra, quality over quantity.

And the JCR ban lasted about a week. I may buy my roll in Spar but that's only because the bread the JCR uses is too crusty. I do buy many many cups of tea and some chocolate everyday there so it's not like I'm just using their tables to eat my Spar food.

If you want a pricey but absolutely great qualilty lunch, try Lunch! just across Pearse St. from the JCR (it's on Lombard St. [I think that's the name of the street], the continuation of Westland Row in the Pearse St. direction). They do really nice pannininiinis and soup.

The Ginger Man is a good pub for food, quite expensive but very tasty. And they do pitchers of beer. If you can get the little alcove at the back you can fit about 8 people in and have a bit of shelter from general pub noise when it's busy. It's located around the corner from Westland Row (up towards Merrion Square).

sounds nice :)