Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The pav.

• 11-09-2004 6:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 26

if your not a student of trinty can you still go into it?if you cant
    are you allowed in with a student.
    just wondering,
    BTw whats the trinity ball?whens it normally on,is it just for 1st years or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Kappar

uary wrote:
    if your not a student of trinty can you still go into it?if you cant
    are you allowed in with a student.
    just wondering,
    I think you have to be with a TCD student but I ain't really sure
    BTw whats the trinity ball?whens it normally on,is it just for 1st years or what
    It's a Formal concert in the grounds of trinity, End of may, No all Students under and post grad, staff, Graduates

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i've been in the pav loads of times, never once have i heard of needing student id....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭adjodlo

Yeah only started going at the very end of last year - cause im not in trinners, always assumed you had to be. Cant resist drinking cans in a pub though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

err dunno for sure but its probally a rule that u should be a tcd student or be with one.....

only seen em enforcing that rule @ da buttery.....

They never check in the pav cos they're too damn busy! Word of advice: the buttery only check after around half 7! If you're under age, get in there before then, and get your lovely cans from centra in with you too (cos they ask at the bar sometimes too!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Same rules as the buttery I think. I've never seen the rule enforced.

And the Trinity Ball is for all years, any TCD student can buy two tickets. The second ticket can go to anyone, TCD student or not.

all alumni can get tickets also...

Oh yeah, not just TCD students, staff and alumni too, although you see far fewer of those. My theory is they have a secret Freemason-esque bunker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭sleepingbeauty

they NEVER check id in the pav, i have seen tourists wander in there and order no prob, they always seem to be way to busy to be doing things like that. yeah i have seen people being asked for id's a lot in the buttery....but thats not to say you cant get away with it there aswell
    It's a Formal concert in the grounds of trinity, End of may, No all Students under and post grad, staff, Graduates
    and anyone who happens to have a mate in trin willing to give them a ticket. it was the weirdest thing last year- every random person i spoke to was from ucd or dit or somewhere else other than trin! not saying that was really bad or anything but twas weird anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Thraktor

John2 wrote:
    And the Trinity Ball is for all years, any TCD student can buy two tickets. The second ticket can go to anyone, TCD student or not.

Hmm... that's odd, I was always under the impression that regular students were allowed only one ticket each, whereas scholars (seeing as they live on the grounds) were allowed in free and could give their ticket away, being the only ones who could bring non-students in with them. Of course, I don't even go to the college yet, so I'm going to trust you on this one.

well I've bought two tickets for each of the last two years, so you can take it I'm fairly certain of this ;)

and it's not just scholars living on campus, all students living on campus get free entry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭sleepingbeauty

that regular students were allowed only one ticket each

dont know about scholars, but any tcd student can buy 2 tickets, what they do with the second is up to them- they can even bring their granny if they want ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Thraktor

John2 wrote:
    and it's not just scholars living on campus, all students living on campus get free entry

Another thing I seem to have gotten wrong, I was under the assumption that the only on-campus accomodation was for scholars, with the rest of the proletariat off in that place Trinity has in Rathmines. Wrong again, it seems. I really should have spent a little more time learning about this place that I'll be spending the next four years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

The Pav is not a student Bar its a sports Bar and all profit goes to the luce Sports hall. You need to be a member of that club to be allowed drink in the Pav. Membership is not limited to current students, but all current students are members. Pass students and staff can join the club no problem. Also The PAv does ask for Trinity ID, often at the weirdest times, or if you don't look right. Personally I don't like the Pav, since I don't drink can's of piss and sit on wet grass for hours on end. That said sometimes it's nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Chick

wheres the buttery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Boston wrote:
    The Pav is not a student Bar its a sports Bar and all profit goes to the luce Sports hall.
    Not entirely true. The money goes to DUCAC who run sports (including the sports hall) in the college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭David19

wheres the buttery?

The buttery is just off the front square in trinity. Its to your left when you walk in the front gate. There's steps down into it and there's also a cafeteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Sev

John2 wrote:

Em.. no, they dont, they have to buy a ticket. They actually published a list of rules for residents on the trinity ball site. If you don't have a ticket you are literally not supposed to leave your building. But like.. lets be realistic, I can't see many heeding that.

wheres the buttery?
    its down the side of the dining hall

http://www.tcd.ie/Maps/tcd_west.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Evilution

The Pav is a total dump, imho. Been there a few times in my (so far) 2 years at trinity. Just don't like the atmosphere there, and its always jammed. Buttery isn't much better, but thats where I solicit most...erm...

The pav is great. Its one of these rare places where you can get drunk without having to set foot inside the pub to buy a drink. Classic.

arts head?, most of the time arts bock peops -> buttery
    sci -> pav, much rather the pav meself, always run into people i know

Yeah but the Pav only really draws in the crowds from march onwards, when its warm enough to go outside! I'm a seasonable Pav drinker.

Sev wrote:
    Em.. no, they dont, they have to buy a ticket. They actually published a list of rules for residents on the trinity ball site. If you don't have a ticket you are literally not supposed to leave your building. But like.. lets be realistic, I can't see many heeding that.

Must have changed recently because I knew someone living on campus and they got free entry, the only thing that happened was that security check the rooms beforehand to make sure you're not harbouring a room full of people gatecrashing

afaik its not changed, just people ignore it.........as they have always done...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭celingfan

I have insider contacts in the pav cause i drink there so much and they only ask for id if they don't like the cut of your jib

celingfan wrote:
    I have insider contacts in the pav cause i drink there so much and they only ask for id if they don't like the cut of your jib

Hmm wonder how many times I've been barred from the Pav so far, must be pushing on three times. Once I ordered a pint of milk(if you have ever been drinking with me, you'll understand) and yer man asked for ID. Party cause he was an ass, and partly cause i'm a north dublin scumbag that looks like he's about to turn the place over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Boston wrote:
    .... Once I ordered a pint of milk(if you have ever been drinking with me, you'll understand)...

I'm intrigued...more pray tell!?

"Can I have a pint of milk"
    Can I have some ID

Me looks stunned

"All I want is a pint of milk"
    all I want is some ****ing ID

Gives ID and gets pint of milk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭celingfan

I love the pav its madness first year every friday without fail i was carried out and placed at my bustop ,i've gotten sick everywhere on the follor on a famous friday that will live in infamy my last day on stonehouse,last day of exams a can of whiskey i remember nothing apex could tell you more for me that day is a mystery.But now all the arts farts are going to to pav cause they think they are cool NO the pav is an ens sci pub with no ponses last year this was sickening to see all this la de da that the buttery thrived on is in my beloved pav
    Thats it first day back im gettin smashed off my fave on good oul baveria and im going to lower the tone
    ANYBODY WITH ME?????????
    Yes well we wont be able to see each other cause ill be that pissed
    NO well if you aint with me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Boston wrote:
    "Can I have a pint of milk"
    Can I have some ID

Me looks stunned

"All I want is a pint of milk"
    all I want is some ****ing ID

Gives ID and gets pint of milk.

lol. Thats a strange one alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Have to say the Pav and surrounding green space is great craic during the summer, it's a seasonal thing though.

I don't really like the pav at night, It's a good spot during the day and early evening when you are looking for something to do. I don;t know what it is about it at night.

hey ceilingfan i noticed wat u said bout eng/sci goin 2 pav, and arts farts arent appreciated lol, im a student nurse. where am i welcome? pav/buttery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Boston wrote:
    Hmm wonder how many times I've been barred from the Pav

Never been barred, the staff love us too much even though we make a lot of work for them.Remember the egg-cup Hour of Power Ceiling?
    c.jpg

celingfan wrote:
    last day of exams a can of whiskey i remember nothing apex could tell you more for me that day is a mystery.

Picture this.. Ceilingfan standing on a picnic table outside pav, empty bavaria can of whiskey in his hand. Americans + Video camera, sitting around said picnic table. To all of you who don't know Ceilingfan personally, this is like introducing a cheetah to amphetamines. The chap was in his element...
    I've never before seen such a vehement speech (take his above rants X100)... It may or may not have had to do with cellotape.. Shamelessly funny!

hey ceilingfan i noticed wat u said bout eng/sci goin 2 pav, and arts farts arent appreciated lol, im a student nurse. where am i welcome? pav/buttery?

Pav obviously ;) , and all your buddies too cos med sci is not anythin artsy. Artsy means BESS/arts. Hamilton end are medsci/eng/sci (incl maths).

grosssss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭PrecariousNuts

You better get used to the sight of gore. I remember the last time I was in the Matter Hospital, man alive there were men alive in there.

Also, hurrah for Hamilton!

i know lol ppl keep sayin if ur gonna b a nurse youd better get used to it. if i had a penny foe everytime someone has said that to me i could build my own pub, nevermind the pav...!

apexaviour wrote:
    Pav obviously ;) , and all your buddies too cos med sci is not anythin artsy. Artsy means BESS/arts. Hamilton end are medsci/eng/sci (incl maths).
    alright so thanks i wasnt too sure!

Don't mind him you can go to where ever you want. :-)

well yeah, but not if im gonna be shunned lol!;)

Kappar wrote:
    Don't mind him you can go to where ever you want. :-)

Aye it's true.. But if you want a decent lunch go to the buttery, we do all the time. The only other time we go there is for the battle of the bands. Other than that it's a kip. The Pav has the atmosphere, the cheap cans and (when the blazer squad aren't cocktailing) the sound people!

It's the place to be..

But if you want a decent lunch go to the buttery

Em...

apexaviour wrote:
    But if you want a decent lunch go to the buttery

lmao

Ace_Rimmer wrote:
    Em...
    SkyLynx wrote:
    lmao

Ok this was an ignorant statement. I assumed its a good lunch cos we (as in my mates and I) always go there for lunch. I've never actually eaten their food though cos I always have a packed lunch.. I'm too tired now to speculate as to why the hell they all eat it. Though you have to remember my group is weird (ceilingfan is in it), we often eat strange things for fun.

How about this.. If you want a cheap fill go to the buttery?

Yeah, tis tripe, but its cheap. Ye wouldn't exactly eat it if money grew on tree's.....

Buttery is bad, Hamilton café is worse. JCR or off campus eateries all the way.

so whos on the blazer squad...?lmao
    and thanks for the "tip" about where to eat... :S

The Ham Caf has exactly the same food as the buttery, just it was drove down in a truck.

Mmm tasty.