Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Testicular Tumor and my story

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ChipZilla

dendenz wrote:
    or get lost inside me !

Holy crap - I don't like the sound of that.

Best of luck with the whole thing anyway dedendz - it's scary stuff alrght!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 surfboy

Great to see your post on this! The more coverage this get's the better.

Testicular cancer got my mate, was quite a few years ago, (he was 19 at the time, about 14 years ago) was a time when none of this was mentioned in public really, and he didn't mention it either. Eventually, when he went to the doc (only after he was so sore that he could hardly move), they removed the cancer, but after months of all type's of chemo (sp?) treatment, they found out he was riddled with cancer. He was told that if he had come earlier there would have been a better survival chance.

If he had only read something like this he'd probably be alive today to tell the tale!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭dendenz

Well went to the doctor yesterday. The docotor said he believes there is a 70% chance it could reoccur again as it reached into my blood vessels in the testicle. However he said we caught the cancer extremley early, said I wont need chemo at the moment, will need blood tests every three weeks for the next two years and scans every three months for the next 2 years also. The head nurse of the oncology department was someone we knew so she has arranged for me to get the blood tests done i the local surgery with the GP, she will hold on to them an bring them up to the hospital. I was relieved yesterfay to find out I had the all clear for the moment, between thinking of freezing sperm,being left infertile, uncertainty, out of an esablished routine I was wrecked but duly celebrated with a new wardrobe and with family and friends last night (four jd n coke and 5 pints to be exact) !! The tumor is gone for the moment but I have to watch myslf like a hawk so wait and see...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

fair play to the way your handling this.

kudos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭adjodlo

Jesus that's so frightening. Just wondering though, with cancer are you likely to know that there's something wrong with you or could the effects be very subtle. Like any reports I've ever heard of have always been of people like you with a lot of pain, or blood turning up in urine/stool etc, but does a lot of cancer spring up silently?

It is silent in a way, I only noticed when I started examining myself. Funnily enough I have found out two of my friends have gone in for operations in the past for undescended testis and this is the biggest cause of cancer apparently of the testis.

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭Emerson

dendenz.. hows your diet?
    Cancer feeds off sugar, and its equivalents so its best to avoid particularly refined sugar containing foods and any refined grains (white rice, breads etc). This will hugely improve your immune systems ability to fend off the cancer as sugar almost completely shuts it down for about an hour after its eaten in any reasonable amount.
    http://www.mercola.com/2000/oct/8/sugar_cancer.htm

I'm sure you know the drill.. plenty of fruits and raw/lightly cooked veggies (emphasis on green veg.. e.g. broccoli, cauliflower, boc choy) to replace the above. They're packed with antioxidants, phytochemicals, vitamins & minerals that your body needs to kick the cancer out. Garlic/Onion are especially good for stimulating the immune system. Also, things called Broco-Sprouts.. relatively a relatively new thing on the health scene have been shown to be 100 times more powerful than broccoli in fighting cancer. I've started seeing them on the veg shelves in Tescos here:
    http://www.mercola.com/2003/may/24/broccoli_cancer.htm
    http://www.satevepost.org/issues/2004/0102/broccolisprouts.shtml

Cod Liver oil is also great to help treat cancer and for general health. The omega 3 fatty acids are anti-inflammatory/anti cancer agents and the Vitamin D (of which most of us are lacking, unless we get at least 15 mins of sunshine every day) boosts the immune system.

This will all help... unless of course you're doing these things already..
    Hope you make a speedy recovery, wish ya the best of luck & good health!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭adjodlo

dendenz wrote:
    It is silent in a way, I only noticed when I started examining myself. Funnily enough I have found out two of my friends have gone in for operations in the past for undescended testis and this is the biggest cause of cancer apparently of the testis.

Yes but you had umissable symptoms. What I mean is does a lot of cancer occur without any noticeable symptoms? Or would you always know that something is seriousl wrong with you?

Emerson cheers for the advice... the doctor told me to go on as I was, I do eat a lot of garlic and onions however I should include a couple of green leafy vegetables .

Adjo.... I am not sure toi be honest , maybe there all the sympthoms with cancer are obvious, I would'nt know about any other cancers to be honest ! (not coming across smart)

Just an update, have been clear for three months now but have an appointment with the oncologist tommorrow afternoon. Am sh1tting bricks !

Rang the Irish cancer society,as there is only 90 cases a year on average roughly very few people have this cancer. Asked about the support group but got the impression that they would rather older men than some 22 yo bloke .

Went to a mens health seminar, my father hyped it up and said I would meet like minded people. Quite the opposite in fact, mostly over 60 with heart disease , diabetes etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭Bri

Fair play to ya for taking the time out to post this.

Just out of interest - did you keep your mobile in your pocket the whole time? I don't wanna get into the mobile debate I'm just interested cos I realise I keep mine in the same pocket all day every day for years...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

good luck with it tomorow mate.
    hope you get the all clear :D

Funnily enough I always did(stil do force of habit) but would I not get affected in other areas aswell though? Good point !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Healio

Just to inform everyone, i posted some stupid comments in this thread before, but someone recognised me and informed my family, and now i have been to the doc and have an ultrasound due in january, so fingers crossed it wont be too bad, and thanks for all those who tried to help me, i was ignorant before but i am thanking you all now, and if anyone reading this is in the same position get it checked!! trust me the weight off the shoulders is worth it.

P.s. BEST OF LUCK DENDENZ

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭patrickmooney

Hey all, just noticed this thread. I too discovered a "lump" on my testicle only a few weeks back, did nothing for about 2 weeks, worried a little, but was made go to the doctor by the better half. Last week I went for my ultrasound (went private as it was quicker), thankfully it only turned out to be a cist. I won't be get the full results until next week. It's a little frightening to hear of so many men in their 20s finding lumps etc. This is certainly not something for "older" men to worry about. At 24 I certainly didn't think I'd be getting a testicular ultrasound.

you can get it quicker on private, eh?? the doc never said nout to me!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭patrickmooney

yep.....beaumount private do it....you just need to phone them, they make the appointment over the phone. I had mine within 5 days of making the appointment. Costs €100, which as out patient VHI won't cover. But your MED1 might...have to look into that.

ah feck it im in no distress, and it'll be better for a day off after christmas!!
    P.S. im only 18 withthese problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,257 ✭✭✭✭Victor

yep.....beaumount private do it....you just need to phone them, they make the appointment over the phone. I had mine within 5 days of making the appointment. Costs €100, which as out patient VHI won't cover. But your MED1 might...have to look into that.
    I was able to get a next day appointment for a liver ultrasound in the Charlemont clinic. (IR£80? about 3 years ago)

Didn't get a copy of the picture though. :(

in all fairness you need a liver more than your balls!! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

dendenz wrote:
    Just an update, have been clear for three months now but have an appointment with the oncologist tommorrow afternoon. Am sh1tting bricks !

Hope this went well, and fair play for being upfront about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭mrhappy42

Well done. Good luck, sorry for being late in reply you prob have results at this stage.

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

"Dendenz....had only 1 big ball"

I couldn't resist...

Seriously though, fair play to you for posting about it, must have taken a lot. Hope the appointment went well today!

Good news, am clear till January. Have scans and all that stuff @ start of January but hopefully once all done I can book a holiday of some sorts!
    PS If some one has this or has a family member going through this can they PM me, am looking to set up a support group. The Irish Cancer Society have'nt exactly been brilliant, fantastic for information but not emotional support!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Good to hear man, it's a fantastic thing you're doing. If I ever find anything, or someone I know does, I'll get in touch

• Registered Users Posts: 64,800 ✭✭✭✭unkel

dendenz wrote:
    Good news, am clear till January

That's great news, I'm delighted for you :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Fair play Dendenz. You seem to be doing well and you explain your situation well. About 3 yrs ago, when I was 19, I discovered some sort of lump and it scared the crap out of me. Went to the doctor and he explained it was an epidydimal (that's prob wrong spelling) cyst. It's harmless and he said nothing would have to be done to it. But I put off going to the doctor because I was scared. The best thing to do is see a doctor as soon as possible as chances are it's nothing to be worried about. And even if it is, dendenz's case shows early detection should mean things will be ok.the worst thing to do is put it off. It's not worth the worry.

My ultrasound is schedueld for 25th of january.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭GospelGroupie

Over the past few days there've been times I've been buckled over in pain in mine. They've been very tender and uncomfortable lately, I keep having to fix myself, very embarrassing. I'm wincing now as I type.... Ouch!
    I went to the doctor and I felt she was as embarrassed as I was, she wasn't too sure but gave me a note for a urologist, but I've to head back to work down the country and won't be available until Monday at the earliest.
    I hadn't a clue what the doctor was telling me it could be but she didn't mention cancer, thank God, but I suppose I should wait to hear it from the specialist.
    Just to tell ye, it's not just cancer you should be worried about (although that would be an obvious one to fear), but there's other deseases and such to be wary of.

Severe physical trauma, inguinal hernias, and infections, such as orchitis and epididymitis, can all cause chronic testicle pain. as well as the presence of testicular cancer.

Wish me luck!

Regards,

Brian

Over the past few days there've been times I've been buckled over in pain in mine. They've been very tender and uncomfortable lately, I keep having to fix myself, very embarrassing. I'm wincing now as I type.... Ouch!
    I went to the doctor and I felt she was as embarrassed as I was, she wasn't too sure but gave me a note for a urologist, but I've to head back to work down the country and won't be available until Monday at the earliest.
    I hadn't a clue what the doctor was telling me it could be but she didn't mention cancer, thank God, but I suppose I should wait to hear it from the specialist.
    Just to tell ye, it's not just cancer you should be worried about (although that would be an obvious one to fear), but there's other deseases and such to be wary of.

Severe physical trauma, inguinal hernias, and infections, such as orchitis and epididymitis, can all cause chronic testicle pain. as well as the presence of testicular cancer.

Wish me luck!

Regards,

Brian

Best of luck to yourself and Healio, let us know how things go for you all !