Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

There's something about Miriam

• 07-02-2004 2:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭

Sky are going to broadcast this show after the guys involved dropped their legal action in return for a big cash payout. Should be pretty good even just to see their reactions when Miriam lifts her skirt on the last episode apparently some of them get physically sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i heard about this show. when does it start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Nike_Dude

Its starting sometime at the end of this month around the 22nd I think. Should be funny enough, the money sky paid out was pretty small considering all the publicity it got. Shame the big twist has been ruined, would have been funny to only realise she was a transexual on the last episode and it would have led to months of slagging the poor fools who would have came into school/college/work saying she was hot:(
    ah well:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭TCamen

Saw the ad on TV last night. I thought s/he looks quite pretty, though my mum instantly guessed s/he was a transexual :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭TheSonOfBattles

Sounds like a good laugh. More reality tv tbh, but at least this one has a half way comedic value, rather than I'm a desperate Z list gob****e, get me out of here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

3fa84db4044cc5f9.jpg

Pfft obvious man!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Saw the ads on TV, doesn't look at all obvious in em, imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

You probably would tho..

"Youve got A hole tho, dont you?!"

Sorry..*L*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

I would'nt/did'nt notice that he/she was a transexual

Does'nt look a bit like it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

sky = classy programming:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Should be hillarious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

does the Miriam refer to Prime Time's Miriam O'Callaghan

a very sexy and voluptuous ladyww)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by nlgbbbblth
    does the Miriam refer to Prime Time's Miriam O'Callaghan

a very sexy and voluptuous ladyww)

You sick **** you! :ninja: (you are right though!)

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

SIX men are suing Sky TV claiming producers tricked them into snogging a bloke for a reality show.

The contestants hoped to win £10,000 and a week on a yacht with the sultry brunette pictured above.

The lads say they were told to impress "her" by performing macho and romantic acts.

These included intimate massages, caressing and cuddling, holding hands and snogging.

The contestants even wrote love poems to the man, named Miriam, and a few of them were smitten.

But they were horrified to learn after three weeks of filming that Miriam is a man. He is said to be a planning a sex change.

All six contestants walked out on There's Something About Miriam as filming ended.

Even the winner, selected by Miriam, has refused the cash prize. The contestants have clubbed together to sue producers and try to stop the show being aired.

They are taking action against Brighter Pictures - owned by Big Brother makers Endemol UK - claiming conspiracy to commit sexual assault. The group also claim defamation, saying they were unfairly made to look foolish.

They are also claiming breach of contract and personal injury in the form of psychological and emotional damage. The High Court will be asked for an injunction to ban the show unless producers agree not to broadcast it.

Brighter Pictures and Sky now face an embarrassing court battle if they try to broadcast.

The lads' solicitors will argue that a contract they signed giving permission for broadcast is void as they had no legal advice, were given just an hour to read it and were led to believe from the start that Miriam was female.

If the contestants succeed in getting an injunction, Sky would be forced to pull the show days before it was due to be screened.

That would leave a gaping hole in the prime time schedule and waste hundreds of thousands of pounds in production costs.

Experts said if the group win the producer and broadcaster may face £1million damages and costs.

There's Something About Miriam was filmed in secrecy over three weeks in September at a mansion in Ibiza. Six one-hour shows were planned for Saturday nights in November. Sky now says no date is fixed. The show will be presented by Tim Vincent, who fronted Blue Peter, and a drill instructor from ITV1 hit Lads' Army. As well as heavy petting, the contestants say they played body painting games with Miriam. They cannot be identified because of the allegations of sexual assault.

But they all work in either high profile or highly desirable jobs.

One said after filming ended: "Exploitation doesn't come close to it. We all feel mentally raped."

Appalled production workers broke down and cried because the men were so shaken when the trick was revealed. Some of the crew do not wished to be named in credits, the Mirror has learned.

A source said: "This has totally backfired. Nobody on the show had the faintest idea how badly the lads involved in it would take it. We all just hoped they'd just walk away, and get the joke. But the problem is, there isn't a joke. It's sick.

"A lot of us were pretty disgusted to have any part in the programme once we began to realise what a damaging effect it was going to have on the guys.

"The six contestants are a great bunch of lads, they're all like your average bloke next door, and were just up for a bit of fun. They are terrified of what mates will think."

Some contestants were offered £5,000 cash to keep them happy, the Mirror was told.

Sky advertised for contestants saying: "Are you fit and up for anything, and would describe yourself as a sexual magnet?"

Thousands of men aged 20 to 35 responded and six were picked after psychological assessments. Sky said: "We have received a letter regarding this programme. We will examine its contents carefully before making any response."

More transexual carrying on -
    http://www.universalexports.net/00Tula.html

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Im sure itll be a pretty interesting and funny show. (Cant wait to see all these Ibizaaaaaah hard mens faces when they find out theyve been trying to get stuck into a guy hehe) But tbh it really is taking reality TV too far.
    Scare tactics was bad enough, fooling people into thinking thier friends were dead, or murderers or whatever, now theyre trying to fool straight guys into having sexual relations with a member of the same sex?
    What next? Spend 3 weeks on a tropical island trying to pick up a woman only to find out its actually your mother in disguise? Your sister?! your DAD?? *L*

If they can't get the funny side they're either:

A) Insecure about they're sexuality.

B) Trying to rip off sky and make easy money same as loads of other people do world wide

or...

C) Both.

To be honest, he doesn't look like a guy, he looks decidedly female in fact. More than 99.9% of the population would be fooled, and a fair few of the one's who aren't would be lying.

They signed up for it, they knew it was a reality show when they signed up, embarrasment is part and parcel of EVERY one of those shows, so they knew there was gonna be something that was gonna make them look like a moron in front of millions (including family and friends) during the show, but they let their libido, their greed and their wish for 5 minutes of fame get the better of judgement and it backfired.

They should just get over they're deeper gay fears, and get on with their lives, so what they were fooled, or maybe "punked", get off their ass's and get back to work and get on with their lives you sad little ****s I say.

Originally posted by TheSonOfBattles
    If they can't get the funny side they're either:

A) Insecure about they're sexuality.

This is probably true. So some of them got physically sick when they found out? God, you KISSED him, not gave him a rim job.

I actually heard the guys CHOSE Miriam out of a line up of girls as the one they wanted to compete for. What does THAT say about them? *So deep in the closet theyre finding christmas presents*

I prefer the "So deep in the closet, they've found Narnia" comment, but good Family reference :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Agent Orange

Originally posted by Nike_Dude
    Shame the big twist has been ruined, would have been funny to only realise she was a transexual on the last episode

You're kidding, right? The instant I saw it, I knew it was a man. It's the face - cheekbones, make-up. It can't hide what it was born. Seriously, you'd have to be pretty thick not to be able to tell it was a man instantly.

I can't tell it's a man just by looking at the pic above. Now its pretty small, so it may just be a bad pic to be looking at, and that's the only 1 I have seen, but I still reckon she/he is pretty damn convincing.

You're kidding, right? The instant I saw it, I knew it was a man. It's the face - cheekbones, make-up. It can't hide what it was born. Seriously, you'd have to be pretty thick not to be able to tell it was a man instantly
    I doubt anyone would notice instantly. Knowledge is a great thing, if someone posted pictures of 20 women and someone was asked to pick out her as being the transexual it would be very hard. Maybe if you looked really really closely at it you might know but otherwise you wouldnt have a clue

If i remember rightly there is such a thing in exsistence, i saw this in the daily mirror a while ago

www.b3ta.com/femaleorshemale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Wasn't crazy about this.... its like The Villa with a twist. It would be worth watching the last episode, but thats about it. The lads are wannabe geezers, and not too sharp (it looks like the main feature of next weeks show is where they compare their manhoods, ffs....). Maybe Miriam still has hers in a jar or something, and she can join in (has she had all the ops done?).

- Dave.

Maybe Miriam still has hers in a jar or something, and she can join in (has she had all the ops done?).
    she hasnt had the op yet so she could join the competition;) It wasnt brilliant, just ok ill keep watchin it, on next weeks one of the lads starts feeling her up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Doesn't Miriam appear in swimsuits and stuff during the show? Surely there's a 'bulge' showing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Originally posted by Nike_Dude
    she hasnt had the op yet so she could join the competition;) It wasnt brilliant, just ok ill keep watchin it, on next weeks one of the lads starts feeling her up.

I couldn't be bothered watching the show but it'd be hilarious to see the reaction of the contestants at the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

They are taking action against Brighter Pictures - owned by Big Brother makers Endemol UK - claiming conspiracy to commit sexual assault. The group also claim defamation, saying they were unfairly made to look foolish.

Conspiracy to commit sexual assault? So Sky were actually going to film them having sex? I rather doubt it...

And I reckon the "lads" in question are more than capable of looking foolish without any outside help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Syth

A thought just occured to me if they were to keep up the legal case. In the UK, MTF transexuals are still technically regarded as male, so since they pretented that Miriam was female, they could argue that legally she is a he, so they signed the contract under false information.

Personally I couldn't tell that she was a transexual. She started the hormones at 11, so probably never hit male puberty. I also don't understand why every keeps refering to her as he/she or (as in the Mirror) 'a bloke'. She's female. Simple. </rant>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Originally posted by Agent Orange
    You're kidding, right? The instant I saw it, I knew it was a man. It's the face - cheekbones, make-up. It can't hide what it was born. Seriously, you'd have to be pretty thick not to be able to tell it was a man instantly.
    I don't think any straight, single man who wasn't told it was a man would refuse. the best looking transectual I have ever seen, the picture on the other page isn't very good though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭El Marco

I'd turn gay for her....him..it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭orangerooster

Classy stuff as usual from sky.I wouldnt and wont watch this kind of **** though.I do agree it is fun to mess with british "lads" in any way possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Agent Orange

Originally posted by lafortezza
    Doesn't Miriam appear in swimsuits and stuff during the show? Surely there's a 'bulge' showing??

Haven't you ever seen 'The Silence of the Lambs'?

It can just tuck its bits between its thighs and walk very slowly. I would imagine the only problem would be if it got excited from the constant friction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

When I first heard of it I reckoned the blokes must have been morons for not being able to tell. They are morons, but having seen the pictures, Miriam is really stunning.

(Suddenly feels desperately insecure...)

Also, my thinking is, if Miriam considers herself to be a woman, Miriams' a "she".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Also, my thinking is, if Miriam considers herself to be a woman, Miriams' a "she".

Yes that's right. None of this "it" crap, some people would be insulted if you referred to their dog as "it".

There's about 2 reasonable guys on the show from what I've watched, the rest are complete idiots. Especially that sort of blondish guy who thinks himself the leader. All vulgar one mintue and then sensitive when Miriam strolls in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

So if i want people to refer to me as a girl i can?
    The stubble and the bollocks makes no difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

*sigh* wait till an actual transgendered person reads this thread and then tears you all apart for your lack of understanding. You can if you wish, if that's what you really wish. But since at the end of the day you're a man deep down then people will just think you're an idiot.

So if i want people to refer to me as a girl i can?

I'd call you Toto if it would keep you happy. As far as Miriam is concerned, she's a woman. As far as I'm concerned I'm Irish. etc. etc.

Aren't ya great?:)

I certainly think so:D .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Dont be such disrespectful ****, calling her "it". Its so unbelievably ignorant I dont even know where to begin.

In fairness, I don't think anybody intended to be offensive, there was just confusion because English doesn't have a gender neutral pronoun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

People *were* being offensive. If I choose to live my life that way then thats my business.

Agreed. I'm just saying I don't think that there was any malicious intent in most the the posts. it's just, as you say, ignorance.

AgreedIt's your business. But when you go on TV in the manner miriam did, it's no longer solely your business.

Yes, but she shouldn't be open to insults or personal attacks just because she did go on TV, nobody should.

Lex_Diamonds Dont be such disrespectful ****, calling her "it". Its so unbelievably ignorant I dont even know where to begin
    Alot of people find the word c**t highly offensive:)
    Back on topic, its not as good as I thought it would be. The guys are acting like real hardmen and then changing when Miriam is around and she goes to bed way too early and complains because the lads are making too much noise. Its meant to be a tv show people want entertainment not watching people just sitting around doing nothing (we have Big Brother for that);)

Oh its lousy television, buts its cetainly raised some interesting questions...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

he has a penis
    he's a man

if he get's the penis removed.. I might call him a woman, i dunno.. I don't really care.

Hmm...

Just out of curiosity, how would you refer to a Hermaphrodite?

herm