Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what is COMPSOC about?

• 19-09-2003 10:00PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭

I've seen it mentioned all over the board but never found out what COMPSOC is??

Secret organisation or whatnot but more than likly sound likes a shortend COMPuter SOCiety.

So will ne fill me in on details?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Calman

It's for playing computer games

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭joe bloggs

cool so what games do ye play and what are the specs of the pcs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Calman

I dunno, I finished in Carlow IT over 3 years ago. Ask Vulture though, it'd be interesting to see what they're doing there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭nasty_crash

vulture is the president this year(me thinks!!) its basically a place where you can play gamez and stuff - the techies dont mind so much but you have to clear everything with them first!! i was in charge of it 2 years ago and its a lot of hassle cos they wont let you do anything!! but alas there is more cracks and stuff available now to counteract there systems

when are they gonna start up compsoc?? why wait til the freshers day with clubs and socs register ppl! you'll have all the ppl on boards now in there anyways!! i think the library is open til 10 from monday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

LIBARY OPEN TILL 9pm ON MONDAY 22nd.

COMPSOC WILL COMENCE THEN

COMPSOC is officially where we help other people with their computer problems. And if not a total eejit, someone in the group may know wot yer on about.

Unofficially, we play games. Most games we can play, but not some of the new ones. The college have gotten new PC's, but we dunno if we can get access to them :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

games are???
    quake3, RTCW (wolfenstein), starcraft, aoe, aoe2, warcraft, and thats all my memory will come out with at the moment

computers are p3 800, 128mb, 6gig on c: (locked) and 2.8gig on d: (open ;), 16mb graphics, 100mbit ethernet, zip drive (maybe)

theyre running win2k, service pack 3, novell netware, loadsa stuff running in the background too like virus scanner and crap

whatever games you bring in, well try our best to either get them to run, and if they do, to try and get a good multyplayer goin, without registry access that limits the choice a lot :(

also, no ipx installed, tcp only

hopefully we get to go to clubs and socs day with a laptop or something and get a few interested and also hope to have a meeting the next time the college is open late on a monday or wednesday. normally we started at 5 and finished at 9/10. and hopefully we wont all get trapped in the nerdy house of deadliness and that that doesnt become the new compsoc :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Shamo

Game i've got called Carmageddon TDR 2000 supports TCP/IP Network Play, it'd be a good laugh over the network with enough people!

It should run ok if it's in 800x600 and smoke/fog turned off.

If it even installs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭kegan5

Is compsoc on on Monday? Or am I just misreading some of these posts?

Where is it...Where Where!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭balkieb2002

cool be def interested in that.. what time exactly is it on on monday?? where bouts will it take place in lrc as in what floor or room?

I thought with windows 2000 installation of sumthin is blocked or does the d drive conteract this??

if yeah then i have lots of them alot new (sum not released yet :rolleyes: ) and sum oldish though don't know which wud work on those pcs :D

if no then theres also no prob as theres lots of ways around that (i.e. no need for installation) ;)

(If ya wanna know exactly what i have i can post them later as i fear of gettin banned now if i dont stop typin now)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

dont believe the lies!!! LIES!
    CompSoc is where bizarre satanic rituals commence every monday and wednesday night. they usually involve a chicken,two left hand rubber gloves and a dozen bin bags.

Be Prepaired for much chanting and the unholy stench from rotting chickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Bicky

There seems to be a lot of interest in compsoc this year. To be honest the only games we really play are quake3 wolfenstien and starcraft.
    Everyone should show up cos its great craic. just try not to be intimidated by the freaks geeks and other things there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭i_am_dogboy

compsoc is being held at 24 riverside this year, and the only games we play are monkey target and smash brothers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Shamo

Tetris Pwns.....

*Burp*

Any chance of finding out when its on before 7 tonite as goin back down to carlow then as not registering until thursday so have no internet access until then!!

So does ne1 have a solid time or date or place?

thanx

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

scrabble all the way, with wires attached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,601 ✭✭✭ShayK1

its normally in A307, Top floor of the Library and Its already been posted that it runs from 5 till 9/10. you don't need to be on time,
    you'll just be waiting till a new game to start i think!

cheers ShayK1 a straight forward answer at last, have class till then so will check it out later to c if theres any1 about.

thanx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,601 ✭✭✭ShayK1

no problem!
    i won't be around cause i gotta work but have fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭seanos

mmmmm
    im coming down !!!!!!!!!!
    [invader music]

put on the perculator ... and get the pc warmed up!
    and sign me up fer the socks of compness
    [beats winsock ;p]

Originally posted by Ruaidhri
    dont believe the lies!!! LIES!
    CompSoc is where bizarre satanic rituals commence every monday and wednesday night. they usually involve a chicken,two left hand rubber gloves and a dozen bin bags.

Be Prepaired for much chanting and the unholy stench from rotting chickens

Also, we usually try to sacrifice some virgin (fresher), so come along if ye want. Bring a woman (fer the sacrifice!!!) :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,021 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

haha
    is there still a netsoc there too?
    it was such a disaster:)

Their will be a netsoc this year. It is been run as part of a project or something.

Just had class in lrc, on a2 now just wonderin if there anybody around as too lazy to walk flight of stairs!!

thanx

sum1 get ur butt into 307 and play a game :D

i might up in few minutes although it seems easier to walk down stairs then up them!!

Is there many around or whats the story?

Its now 18:51. Monday.

The room b locked!!! :(

Going to browse here (3rd level, LRC), and then go to me gaff, get some chow, and head over to the deadly gaff.

Finally, MONKEY BALLS RULES!!!

you will prob have to wait until freshers week when the society are supposed to be offically set up.
    The more that sign up for them the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭i_am_dogboy

Me and Ivan will be around at some time tonight(wednsday) i'd say, if anyones interested

and i'm starting the year off well, got XIII and homeworld 2 demos to try out, of course nobody will join me for a game but it's the thought that counts, i dont think tonight is official compsoc but hey, you all may aswell come along

VOTE DOGBOY FOR COMPSOC PIMP

What room 307?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭flamegrill

We started netsoc in the college one year many years ago :)

It was a linux server, with all fancy bits n bobs on it. The idea was that we would run tutorial's on networkin/unix etc.

Also it was a shell box to irc from etc, but alas it only lasted a few months as no charter or anything was drawn up and the college admins wanted it locked down tighter than a ducks árse. I'd say our netsoc box was more secure than their nameserver/mailserver which we all know got owned on april fools day a few years ago :) (which i have a mirror of here [1])

To be honest there is no reason why there couldn't be a netsoc like TCD's and DCU's and all the others. It just needs a few heads to get it together and then to pass it on to the year behind you etc. Best kept in 3rd and 2nd year classes, as they can pass it over and back etc to the year coming up behind them.

If yee wanna start it, we could do something outside of the college, if ye got a box I'd host it for free :) - leeching would be a problem as I couldn't tolerate it :P

Paul

[1] http://dahomelands.net/www.itcarlow.ie/