Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*New- "Smoking Ban" Fair or Unfair ?..

• 09-09-2003 12:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭

damned ! i can understand the second hand smoke and health risks. I can understand the non-smoking in bars and nightclubs , but damned leave me alone when i wanne lit up in my own house or if the workplace has a area for smokers let that be OUR choice. Just now i read in the newspaper that doktors are lobying for banning smoking at work., next will be home and so on .. as i said leave me alone you nanny's !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

As long as you don't do it on the bus or train, I'm cool. I can't wait for all the fun and games when they try to introduce this smoking ban into pubs - imagine being the poor barman who has to tell a pub full of pissed up lads that they have to go outside into the pouring rain if they want a smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,199 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

No, get the bouncer usually.

And if there isnt one, it's because they probably dont need one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

I dont smoke myself but i never really saw the need for a smoking bn in pubs!!! i agree with trains and bus alright but
    it could get dnagerous if a bouncer tries to tell 3 or 4 lads that are trollied to stop smoking and then try to kick em out!!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Originally posted by Sangre
    No, get the bouncer usually.

And if there isn't one, it's because they probably don't need one.

Its as simple as this, if they gardai or a inspector or something calls into the pub and people are smoking, thats it!
    The owner will get fined so I think you'll find it'll be enforced.

No bar man wants to get fined, they don't want to loose the money and they don't need the day in court.

The whole work thing is abit iffy but then again i can fully understand where the Doctors are coming from.
    Smoking is bad for you, it costs the states loads in health services and they country just doesn't need it.

I suppose the other way we could do things is go very extreme and say this,.

Ok you can smoke, but if you get lung cancer or other problems caused by smoking you can suffer because we're not wasting money trying to make you better when you obviously don't care enough about your yourself to stop.

I remember a story I was told many years ago about a Doctor in Dublin who worked in a ward with cancer patiences, one day he came in and found two patience smoking and he just said "If you don't care, why should I?" or something to that affect.

From a doctors side of things I can fully understand, its self harm and in the end I'd imagine they feel that all they are doing is wasting there time of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

ok we do HARM to ourselves, but so does half the world in one way or another.
    I think humans just need something.
    drink, drugs,smokes,pills,tv,pc geezes name it , we all do something we know we actually 'shouldn't'
    And stop crying about the cost of my healthservice, the sooner i die , the faster my pension can be used for other people.

Have you ever met a pure healthfreak ?! are they pleasant or preaching ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Havelock

the way I see it (as a vemint anti-smoker). If you want to smoke, grand, fine and dandy, do it at home, away from your kids and out doors, away from none smokers. You get no health service for anything is caused by your smoking. A sfor the pension thing, its rather unfortunate that a lot of smokers die in their 30's - 40's, we would get more pension money out of you all if you the decency to die on your 60th birthday. another 20-30 contruption of taxs. Oh and make it a quick death, cause you hospital time costs money.

i'll think about that next when i see your drunk arse falling around on the streets.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Originally posted by Havelock
    Oh and make it a quick death, cause you hospital time costs money.

Exactly what I was going to say, you may die sooner then me but while your dieing your taking up a hospital bed and your wasting the health services resources.
    Basically its a needless waste when it can be stopped.

Moi, drunk?
    I'm afraid my bad habits are of a far worse kind. I'm a chocoholic, I would not expect you to pay for my denist bill.

Originally posted by Cabaal
    Exactly what I was going to say, you may die sooner then me but while your dieing your taking up a hospital bed and your wasting the health services resources.
    Basically its a needless waste when it can be stopped.

man if it was up to me , i would pull the plug myself when the time is there. but thats kinda illegal here isn't it ?

Just gimmie a call, I can make it look like an accident.

i am all for population control,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Wook
    And stop crying about the cost of my healthservice, the sooner i die , the faster my pension can be used for other people.
    False logic. The average person spends 18 years growing up, 40-45 years working and 10-15 years in retirement. The smoker would spend 18 years growing up, 20-25 years working and 10-15 years in de facto retirement / ill health. Smokers (and heavy drinkers and the obese and ....) are a net drain on society.

Originally posted by Victor
    False logic. The average person spends 18 years growing up, 40-45 years working and 10-15 years in retirement. The smoker would spend 18 years growing up, 20-25 years working and 10-15 years in de facto retirement / ill health. Smokers (and heavy drinkers and the obese and ....) are a net drain on society.

yes yes , and we all need blond children with blue eyes !

Damn you Wook! Beating me to Aryan suggestions, grrr! I shall have your damned eyes for this! *Thoughfully* "Perchance they wouldn't happen to be blue, no?"

Dam your better then me then because they best I could do is make it look like he did it to himself...

yes yes , and we all need blond children with blue eyes !
    Really, why would that be? Smoking is a choice (admittedly also an addiction). Why should society pay for your abuses?

BTW, I invoke Godwins Law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

we've been through all this already in politics,
    I second victors invocation you nazis

Whats wrong with being a Nazi toward skangers?

Damn I meant smokers, wrong thread.

http://home.eircom.net/content/irelandcom/breaking/1428328?view=Eircomnet
    Dubliners given portable ashtrays for butts
    Tuesday, 9th September, 2003

Dublin City Council have begun a campaign to distribute 20,000 free ashtrays to smokers in a bid to curb cigarette littering on the city's streets.

The "Butts Out" campaign was officially unveiled this morning by the city's Lord Mayor, Mr Royston Brady, who called on smokers in Dublin to "act responsibly".

"Cigarette butts are litter and it is simply unacceptable to throw them on the ground," he said.

Smokers discarding a cigarette butt on the city's streets face a €125 litter fine under the Litter Pollution Act, which can be raised to €1,900 if the offender is successfully prosecuted.

A number of prosecutions are under way, the City Council confirmed this morning.

The portable ashtrays will be sold in retail outlets and newsagents throughout the city, as well as through Dublin City Council's website. The recommended retail price is €2.

Over the next fortnight, 20,000 of the ashtrays, which hold up to six butts apiece, will be handed out free to Dublin smokers. The lightweight containers are designed to be clipped to a belt or carried in a handbag, and are made of the same material as car ashtrays.

The campaign is inspired by a similar initiative in Britain and Australia.

Four million cigarettes are consumed each day by Dublin's 280,000 smokers, and the City Council claims that 32 per cent of litter in the capital is cigarette-related.

Really, why would that be? Smoking is a choice (admittedly also an addiction). Why should society pay for your abuses?

BTW, I invoke Godwins Law.

absolutely, it's a choice and then an addiction, but I also would like to have to choice of just killing myself when I feel like it.
    so , the state is keeping my sorry ass alive unwillingly , while all I want is to enjoy it and do the things that might be bad for me !

besides, I never want others to suffer from my smoke, as I said I understand that and agree with it, but the thing that annoys me the most is the hypocritical ideology of pointing fingers to others because of their habits even though some like me , will restrict the 'badness' to themselves. if we really would like to see a healthy world why not ban all things that might be bad for you ? start by smoking and end up with chewing gum. ban cars running on petrol, ban mobile masts, ban loud music, ban busy motorways, ban stress at work, ban your granny from visiting on a hangover Sunday...continues...

and who the fock is 'godwin' :P

start by smoking
    they are working on it.
    chewing gum
    Being taxed disproportionately.
    ban cars running on petrol
    Taxed heavily with tighter and tighter emission controls.
    ban mobile masts
    Not a demonstrable hazard. However mobile phones are.
    ban loud music
    Banned in certain contexts.
    ban busy motorways
    Being tolled to discourage use.
    ban stress at work
    Employers have a responsibility under health & safety legislation to prevent inappropriate workplace stress.
    ban your granny from visiting on a hangover Sunday...continues...
    Unlikely to kill you, you might end up killing her ;)
    and who the fock is 'godwin' :P
    Godwin's Law prov. [Usenet] "As a Usenet discussion grows longer, the probability of a comparison involving Nazis or Hitler approaches one." There is a tradition in many groups that, once this occurs, that thread is over, and whoever mentioned the Nazis has automatically lost whatever argument was in progress. Godwin's Law thus practically guarantees the existence of an upper bound on thread length in those groups. However there is also a widely- recognized codicil that any _intentional_ triggering of Godwin's Law in order to invoke its thread-ending effects will be unsuccessful.

Dubliners given portable ashtrays for butts
    Tuesday, 9th September, 2003

Jesus christ!, I thought you just typed that up yourself taking the piss.

Smokers are not going to carrying there ash and stuff around with them, no way in hell.
    They'd much preffer tip it into mugs, pints glasses whatever is near at hand.

I have yet to see any smokers I know even empty the ash tray themselfs, its only when its full and they can't tip anything else into it will they empty it.

But for us non-smokers even its its 3 feet away we can smell the swfull stink.
    Four million cigarettes are consumed each day by Dublin's 280,000 smokers, and the City Council claims that 32 per cent of litter in the capital is cigarette-related.

As much as this whole idea has a high chance of not working, that info alone is a bloody good enough reason to try!

Originally posted by Cabaal
    Smokers are not going to carrying there ash and stuff around with them, no way in hell. They'd much preffer tip it into mugs, pints glasses whatever is near at hand.
    The problem is, come January, smokers will be tipping that ash / butts / packets onto the footpath, instead of nominally into a pub ashtray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

God smokers! :mad: So flippin self-absorbed, its always me, me ,me! You could just quit and buy loads of stuff with the thousands you'll save every year...

As a matter of interest, did you ever do the maths?

Mike.

The problem is, come January, smokers will be tipping that ash / butts / packets onto the footpath, instead of nominally into a pub ashtray.

Hmm that brings up another interesting topic, if smoking is banned come Jan and smokers do start tipping outside pubs.

Does it mean that pubs will have to provide ashtrays outside of pubs by law, because of the problem of littering?
    Originally posted by mike65
    As a matter of interest, did you ever do the maths?

My brother did and he gave up smoking and after one year got a holiday in Canada out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

FUCK OFF YOU SELF RIGHTEOUS ARSEHOLES

Havelock, use your clean living pollution free lungs to buy a dictionary and spell correctly.

Also, i think youll fine we smokers contribute more than enough in taxes on our smokes to allow us some medical care. Or would you rather that tax went onto your beer, mineral water or ****ing tofu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I love when Dusty gets involved.
    Originally posted by Dustaz
    Also, i think youll fine we smokers contribute more than enough in taxes on our smokes to allow us some medical care. Or would you rather that tax went onto your beer, mineral water or ****ing tofu.

OY! Leave toufu out of this! :p

I've said it before. Smoking in pubs isn't a huge problem for me. I hate smokers blowing smoke in my face, smoking while I eat, throwing cigarrette butts out the car window and leaving ashtrays lying around, but other than that they can do whatever they want. Kill yourself if you want, see if I care.

Whether tax on cigarettes covers the healthcare is yet to be proven. Anyone got any figures?

Come January, I would encourage pubs to install CCTV at the front door, and organise prosecution for anyone who throws their butts on the ground. Portable ashtrays are a great idea imo.

Plans to class second-hand smoke as an official carcinogen won't help the anti-ban lobby in teh slightest however....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭skipn_easy

I can't believe they're seriously considering portable ashtrays. Who would want to carry their ash/butts around with them? They could just put cigarette ash trays on the top of all the rubbish bins, if they had enough bins around.

I agree with the smoking ban in workplaces and restaurants, and dropping cigarette butts on the ground is a horrible thing to do, just as bad as throwing chewing gum on the ground. But leave smokers alone if they don't interfere with anyone else. We all have our vices, and thats what makes us great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

yea not all of us smokers are self-centered (or however you spell that, im having a bad day with english) pricks. and ive seen a few bins with ashtrays on top...and the thing is, assuming we were to put our cigarette butts in a bin, there is the thing about the cinders causing a fire (remote yes but meh). but think how romantic that'd be...all the bins on a street burning away..well aslong as you cant smell...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by Wyvern
    I can't believe they're seriously considering portable ashtrays. Who would want to carry their ash/butts around with them? They could just put cigarette ash trays on the top of all the rubbish bins, if they had enough bins around.
    Ashtrays on top of external bins? You might as well encourage them to throw them on the ground. No, people who eat chewing gum are encouraged to wrap up the chewing gum in it's wrapper, and carry it until they find a bin. Since you can't really carry a lighting cigarette butt in your pocket, I don't see why this mini ashtray is a problem. Or would you prefer to throw it on the ground than carry it till you find a bin?

well if the bins are properly designed the butts would be separate from the ordinary trash and there shouldn't be a problem with fires. especially if the cigarettes are carefully extinguished properly (maybe have some sand in a little tray at the top - covered by grid to stop it blowing away)

Originally posted by seamus
    Or would you prefer to throw it on the ground than carry it till you find a bin?

Generally if there is no bin nearby, I will put the cigarette out on the ground and then carry it to the closest bin, or put it back in the box till I can throw it away later.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by Wyvern
    I agree with the smoking ban in workplaces and restaurants, and dropping cigarette butts on the ground is a horrible thing to do, just as bad as throwing chewing gum on the ground. But leave smokers alone if they don't interfere with anyone else. We all have our vices, and thats what makes us great!

I agrees with hat (if you're including pubs as well).

Worry was de edglish a bit off theire?

Anyhow, I don't really like the idea of any one (including the government) stopping any adult(s) from doing what they want (smoking, taking drugs, drinking etc…) just as long as they are not harming other people or not endangering them selves in very serious ways.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I would like to second Dustys calming comments above

I think it's time us smokers got together and get a place somewhere in town where we can smoke ourselves to death on a Friday night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by Beruthiel
    I would like to second Dustys calming comments above

I think it's time us smokers got together and get a place somewhere in town where we can smoke ourselves to death on a Friday night!

Thirding :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

While I am vehemently against smoking and would support any law that reduces its prevelance in our society, I don't mind if ppl smoke in their own homes.

How ever, said people SHOULD ONLY be ALLOWED to smoke as long as there are NO CHILDREN present. I mean I really feel sorry for children of smokers. They have no protection, and are exposed to second hand ciggerette smoke for x-number of years. Not only is this more likely to result in them growing up to be smokers, due to being desensitised and parents making horrible role models, its even worse for their health which is indicated in an increased incidence in Asthama in such children as well as other respiratory problems especially later on in life.

In my opinion it should be entirely ILLEGAL to smoke in the presence of children and anyone who does so is a selfish scumbag that should be locked up :P
    (okay maybe the locking up is a bit overboard but u catch my drift)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

wonder what'd happen if you kept smoking...as in light up one, then when you've finished, have another...ad infinium/infinity (or whatever)...hmm...must try that sometime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

Dusty looks sexy when he's mad :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Now this an example of the only possible reason to allow
    smoking....they can get soooooooo cranky when denied! :D

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

To all of you, trying to stop me smoking '**** YOU!'
    You smoke anywhere near me and I'll **** YOU IN THE EAR!!!! ww)

Is that a flame? I think it is.
    Let the flame war begin!!!*

TAKE YOUR SELF-RIGHTEOUS "I CAN SMOKE WHENEVER/WHERE EVER I LIKE" ATTITUDE AND SHOVE IT SO FAR UP YOUR BACKSIDE THAT IT COMES OUT YOUR NOSE!!!

On a serious note, Monty should really ban using fonts bigger than size two....

* I'm joking about the
    flame war

:ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by DMT
    You smoke anywhere near me and I'll **** YOU IN THE EAR!!!! ww)

I am perfectly entitled by law to smoke in your presence in a multitude of locations.

You can be arrested and jailed for a year or more for GBH like you have threatened.

Seriously, Im going to spam the **** out of all these whining moaning lefty commie loving anti-smoke threads. Why? Because im pissed off with you all :P

Couple of things, Fag butts on the ground ? Boo hoo. Maybe they should be more concerned with other things that are less easy to sweep up that litter this filthy city. If your going to make people smoke in the street, expect some butts on the ground.

And to the utter moron talking about 'bad parenting'. My god, you really take the frickin biscuit. I know plenty of smokers who are great parents and who take care not to smoke all over their kids but still smoke in their own house. I also know parents who shoot up heroin, steal cars, burgle houses but hey, leave them COS THEY DONT ****ING SMOKE.

Beruthiel, dont worry. Come January we WILL be smoking in pubs. The law may well come into effect but there will no doubt be loopholes and the pubs that find a way to allow smoking will be THE places to be :)

Also, to correct someone above, afaik the publican is not fined if someone smokes in their premises, it is the smoker.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Beruthiel, dont worry. Come January we WILL be smoking in pubs. The law may well come into effect but there will no doubt be loopholes and the pubs that find a way to allow smoking will be THE places to be :)

Dusty I want to go to the pub with you come january, I will feel totally free to smoke while you are there to rip the legs off anyone silly enough to come near us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by Beruthiel
    Dusty I want to go to the pub with you come january, I will feel totally free to smoke while you are there to rip the legs off anyone silly enough to come near us

Watch out world :D

i'll bring the gasmasks and the smokebombs, damn sissy commie, lefty,righty,liberals, non-smokers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭Silent Bob

I am perfectly entitled by law to smoke in your presence in a multitude of locations.
    And by the same token I shall liberally scatter asbestos around if you deign to smoke near me.

I hate all these people trying to ban me from carrying asbestos around loose in my hand while dropping it all over the city. It's my life and I have the right to do whatever I want with my asbestos.

I am well within my rights to throw asbestos around inside my own home. All you people who call me a bad parent should just cop yourselves on. I know what is right for my kids not you.

I am tired of all these leftist, pinko commies trying to regulate where and when I can scatter my asbestos into the air. If you don't like it then you can just PISS OFF

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

I smoke uh ... if this bothers anyone I would recommend you look around the world in which we live and
    shut your ****ing mouth.

Either that or suffer a facial burn. Your choice...

I now realize I smoke for simply one reason -

and that is spite.

I hate you non-smokers with all of my little black ****ing heart.

You obnoxious, self rightious whining little ****s. My biggest fear if I quite smoking is that I'll become one of you.

Okay, non-smokers this message is for you and you only:

Non smokers die everyday.

Sleep tight.

RIP Bill

Dustaz:
    I am greatful to be a
    whining moaning lefty commie loving anti-smoke
    person.

Because it mean Communist China will support by Gurilla warfare campagne on you immpotent beer-bellied right-wing facist fu*king passive-agressive smokers. Um...X1 Assault Rifles, hehehehe a non regulated chemical weapons program as well, it will almost certainally be as effective as your death sticks (anyone ever notice the homo-erotic/phalic symbolism involed in smoking???). I wonder does smoking effect a persons sense of humour, I'd guess so.

Hicks was the only person who could preach to the non-smoker. He was a legend in every sense of the word.