If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Topers or Parers or sharpers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

no, im sorry but i went to a ggod all mixed school with no fees and we called it TOPPER

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Well, then the deepest darkest recesses of a public school.

No need to apologise.

and where exactly did you go to school, if it wasnt public or private

I don't believe I mentioned what school I went to?

/me reads up.

I don't believe I've contradicted myself thusfar either :confused: .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

topper !

that is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

Parer. Always has been and it always will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

It's always been parer for me although like seamus I'd know what you meant if you asked for a sharpener.

I'm intrigued to know where this is actually going...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭patch

Tis a Topper....... the semi posh lads from town, who went to our country school, tended to call them parers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Parer... and rubber :)

<< Fio >>

LAH-DEE-DAH

*crosses legs while sipping his imported asian tea*

I doooooo say! Its called a parer my dear chap!

Then again, I usually get JEEVES to craft a new pencil for me every time the old one runs down... :rolleyes:

"semi-posh", were these the people who had shoes?

/rant

Lets *not* get into class differentiation here, its a long, winding and perilous road to spam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Mark

Sharpener, always has been. The rest of you city bai's are clearly in the wrang. Ye know bai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Duno if it's been mentioned before, but it's "topper" or "blade of pencil death"

Oh, and the toff's more then likely spell it "payrer" or some such claptrap, like "Elizabyth" and "Ann"

Probable pronounce the "e" in Nike and Porsche too.....bloody establishment...DAMN THE MAN AND/OR MEN!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

it is not a muppet poll.

I have noticed how stroopy people get about this little item that is found in every childs pencil case and my theroy holds up even here.

usaullly dub and city folk say parers
    culchies say toppers
    and sasnachs or those with sasnach famly some where say
    sharpers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

We call it a pointer up here in Donegal, or at least where I come from. The verb is to point, and the bits left after are pencil/pointer shavings. Can't believe nobody has mentioned it yet :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 989 ✭✭✭MrNuked

"and sasnachs or those with sasnach famly some where say
    sharpers "

another item on the list of "offensive remarks can be made about the following racial groups"

Fu(king double standards.

Fu(king eejits who think it's clever to slag off americans/travellers/protestants

but very pc about gays blacks refugees etc

****ing bull****
    :mad:

You're just like all those damn americans you know that???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Whoa!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

it's obviously parer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Originally posted by MrNuked
    "and sasnachs or those with sasnach famly some where say
    sharpers "

another item on the list of "offensive remarks can be made about the following racial groups"

Fu(king double standards.

To be fair, Sasnach is just the Irish word for an Englishman/woman. Don't see the offence there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,262 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I called it a paro back in primary school :)

and sasnachs or those with sasnach famly some where say

maybe im a bit slow, well i am a bit slow so there is no maybe about it. but whats a sasnach.

The quote below is from 2 posts above yours :rolleyes: .
    Originally posted by dun_do_bheal
    To be fair, Sasnach is just the Irish word for an Englishman/woman. Don't see the offence there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Sev

For the past 5 years now, I've been using the term "swish-swish" when referring to what I would more formally call a pencil parer or sharpener. I never know what exactly to call it, so I alternate on days when I'm asking off those who dont get the 'swish-swish' thing.

In fact thats the reason I started calling it a 'swish-swish', because I was never really sure what to call it. Either way, its a better name, its onomatopoeic. What yas think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Sev

But good question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Originally posted by MrNuked

really is it one such a list ,
    well no one told me or anyone one i know that suddenly sasnach was confered with the same race hate as say ******.
    Could it be just you and where you live ?

It was not ment offensivly at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by Amz
    Whoa!

thats an awsome kenunu reeves impersonation.

very reminiscent of his early 'bill and ted' work

ww)