Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Topers or Parers or sharpers

• 15-06-2003 3:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭

when you break the nib on ur pencil which is it you would use ?

yes and not mechanical pencils thank you !

why god why am i asking all will be revealed later .

which one do you use 59 votes

Toper
    0% 0 votes
    parer
    20% 12 votes
    sharpener
    79% 47 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

"sharpener" for me...

And I can imagine where this thread is going - after all, I am currently in residence in the UK, where "pudding" is "dessert" as opposed to something you have a christmas, and you're likely to get a very strange look if you tell someone something is "in that press behind you", or ask "pass the thumb tacks" or a multitude of others...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Sandi

I never understood why people said parer/pairer/however the hell you spell it. It was always a sharpener to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Sharpener here aswell.

Pairer as in repair maybe, I dunno, never thought about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by Sandi
    I never understood why people said parer/pairer/however the hell you spell it. It was always a sharpener to me!

Cos it pares the pencil. It's a perfectly apt name Pare :)

And the leftover bits are know as the parings.

I used to always call them parers, but would know what you were saying if you said "Have you a sharpener?".

If someone asked me for a topper I'd think they were trying to score drugs or something :p

But not having owned a pencil since 6th year, it hasn't come up very much recently :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

It was always a parer to me.

Then again, I grew up in the country.

We didn't use 'erasers' which caused much mirth when I went to college.......

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Yup, I call them sharpeners too. <reminisce>When I was at school erasers were always known as "rubbers"! </reminisce> Of course the word has different meaning now! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 989 ✭✭✭MrNuked

Is this not one of those nonsense polls that get you banned no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Originally posted by MrNuked
    Is this not one of those nonsense polls that get you banned no?

Nah. Those tend to have titles like "Shaven or Unshaven, which do you prefer..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Shaven are far superior. I would use a sharpener for that, or indeed a razor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

I don't use pencils, they are too analog for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭Johnny Gomez

Parer all the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭imp

Originally posted by Silverfish
    We didn't use 'erasers' which caused much mirth when I went to college.......

Surely you're referring to "graphite removers"?

}:>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

To me a parer is sharpener and wtf is a toper ?!?!?!?!

and jesus gorden a razor are you one of those 102 smelly old art teachers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭pugwall

Ive always known them as parers. Sharpeners, hmmmmm, kids sharpening their graphite filled weapons.........

Originally posted by Wolf
    and jesus gorden a razor are you one of those 102 smelly old art teachers ;)
    Oh, I thought we had moved on from the original topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Sandi

Originally posted by seamus
    Cos it pares the pencil. It's a perfectly apt name Pare :)

And the leftover bits are know as the parings.

I used to always call them parers, but would know what you were saying if you said "Have you a sharpener?".

If someone asked me for a topper I'd think they were trying to score drugs or something :p

But not having owned a pencil since 6th year, it hasn't come up very much recently :)

Don't patronise me. I'm not thick and I know pare is "a perfectly apt" word, but when I was younger, in primary school, I knew pare (pear) to be a fruit and the thing you used to sharpen your pencil was a sharpener. I also called it a sharpener because in stationary shops they were called "sharpeners".

I think I'm going to keep a calendar and note down certain boards user's fidgety moments, then I'll know when not to say anything next month. I'll pass it on to ye Seamus ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

Again what is a toper ?

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

A topper is a sharpener or another name for said product!

I suppose it was called a topper because it puts a top on yer pencil :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

I always ask for a pencil parer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by Gordon
    I think I'm going to keep a calendar and note down certain boards user's fidgety moments, then I'll know when not to say anything next month. I'll pass it on to ye Seamus ;)

Heh, words right out of my mouth :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

i use a parker pencil, hence i just click the top and more pencil comes out..

in answer to your original question though, sharpner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭hacktavist

Originally posted by Monty - the one and only

The next Poll starter of a spammy poll gets a 1 month ban, the next one after that gets a 2 month ban, and so fourth.

The rest of you may be able to ignore those polls but I have to read every response, and its not somthing that I care to do.

Id consider it spammy tbh.
    I think its on 9 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

Since there have been a good deal less muppetry polls attempeted lately, I'll be over looking that rule for a while.

Do NOT take advantage of this, because whoever dose will earn a pernament ban...That I will not revoke no matter the circumstance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

oh my god ppl. its a topper, what is wrong with ye. it has always been, is now and forever will be called a topper

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Its a parer :rolleyes: .

What the hell is with this "topper" nonsense?

Also, sharpener isn't as great as you can't derice a word like "parings" from it. "Sharpenings" just doesn't cut(get the pun :P) it.

[The girls seem to be getting a bit tetchy of late, what with that dispute over merc's tagline eyebrowraise.gif . ]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

Pfft parers, how proper.....

Gimme a topper any day. They does the job too you know!!

A.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

parer, always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

Its always been a parer for me. I don't mind a sharpener but a topper irritates the hell out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Nemici

yeah it was always a parer for me, I have never heard of topper ?? was that was only said in the deepest darkest recesses of private schools ???

no, im sorry but i went to a ggod all mixed school with no fees and we called it TOPPER

Well, then the deepest darkest recesses of a public school.

No need to apologise.

and where exactly did you go to school, if it wasnt public or private

I don't believe I mentioned what school I went to?

/me reads up.

I don't believe I've contradicted myself thusfar either :confused: .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

topper !

that is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

Parer. Always has been and it always will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

It's always been parer for me although like seamus I'd know what you meant if you asked for a sharpener.

I'm intrigued to know where this is actually going...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

Tis a Topper....... the semi posh lads from town, who went to our country school, tended to call them parers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Parer... and rubber :)

<< Fio >>

LAH-DEE-DAH

*crosses legs while sipping his imported asian tea*

I doooooo say! Its called a parer my dear chap!

Then again, I usually get JEEVES to craft a new pencil for me every time the old one runs down... :rolleyes:

"semi-posh", were these the people who had shoes?

/rant

Lets *not* get into class differentiation here, its a long, winding and perilous road to spam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Mark

Sharpener, always has been. The rest of you city bai's are clearly in the wrang. Ye know bai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Duno if it's been mentioned before, but it's "topper" or "blade of pencil death"

Oh, and the toff's more then likely spell it "payrer" or some such claptrap, like "Elizabyth" and "Ann"

Probable pronounce the "e" in Nike and Porsche too.....bloody establishment...DAMN THE MAN AND/OR MEN!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

it is not a muppet poll.

I have noticed how stroopy people get about this little item that is found in every childs pencil case and my theroy holds up even here.

usaullly dub and city folk say parers
    culchies say toppers
    and sasnachs or those with sasnach famly some where say
    sharpers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

We call it a pointer up here in Donegal, or at least where I come from. The verb is to point, and the bits left after are pencil/pointer shavings. Can't believe nobody has mentioned it yet :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 989 ✭✭✭MrNuked

"and sasnachs or those with sasnach famly some where say
    sharpers "

another item on the list of "offensive remarks can be made about the following racial groups"

Fu(king double standards.

Fu(king eejits who think it's clever to slag off americans/travellers/protestants

but very pc about gays blacks refugees etc

****ing bull****
    :mad:

You're just like all those damn americans you know that???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Whoa!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

it's obviously parer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Originally posted by MrNuked
    "and sasnachs or those with sasnach famly some where say
    sharpers "

another item on the list of "offensive remarks can be made about the following racial groups"

Fu(king double standards.

To be fair, Sasnach is just the Irish word for an Englishman/woman. Don't see the offence there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,082 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I called it a paro back in primary school :)