Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AH Gone to the Dogs

• 14-08-2019 11:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭

The thread about old boardsies got me thinking.

The dung that passes as thread-worthy in AH these days is a joke. I was hoping Current Affairs would be the place to unload ones vitriol however AH s still a kip these days.

Now I know mods can't polish a turd and ye can only mod the content that's put in front of you however look at the state of what get allowed to even be a thread!

I realize the old tinternet has changed maybe nothing can be done.:(

First they came for the socialists...

Post edited by Shield on

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

First post, LOL

Yore ma

Blast it with piss

1337 haX0rs

Etc. Those were the glory days.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

First post, LOL

Yore ma

Blast it with piss

1337 haX0rs

So I'm looking back with rose tinted glasses? Probably am.

First they came for the socialists...

<snip>

Please note you need to have been a member of the site for 3 months and a minimum postcount of 100 to post in Feedback

Beasty

• Registered Users Posts: 24,480 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

First post, LOL

Yore ma

Blast it with piss

1337 haX0rs

they sure were :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Feisar wrote: »
    So I'm looking back with rose tinted glasses? Probably am.

After Hours has always been the same, really. Nonsense, offensive generalisations, flame-bait, cliques, clichés, trolls, idiots, legends, witty replies, n00bs getting pwned, mods who try really hard but still can't keep everyone happy all of the time, scandal, intrigue, conspiracy, misunderstanding, fantasy, and a whole load of fantastic characters having entertaining and enlightening conversations. Every six months someone comes to Feedback saying they miss the good old days. Rinse and repeat. It's been following that pattern since at least 2006. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 81,979 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

AH was always full of bigots and aholes

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Overheal wrote: »
    AH was always full of bigots and aholes

I reckon a whole bunch of them have decamped over to CA / IMHO. It's a bit sewer like over there atm. Got two abusive pms from one poster already today. Mais c'est la vie eh? ...

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,718 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

gozunda wrote: »
    Got two abusive pms from one poster already today. Mais c'est la vie eh? ...
    Well they won't be bothering you for a while;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I have to agree that the standard of threads have fallen lower than ever recently. The dumbest topics ever are appearing night after night. The CA going to a separate forum has left AH with absolute dross. It's high time some posters were told to stop creating nonsense threads or thread that just mimic existing threads.

Is the Cuckoo's Nest still in operation? That forum used to make gold of most of the nonsense kicked over from After Hours, even though they never really wanted the rubbish in the first place...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Tikki Wang Wang

I have to agree that the standard of threads have fallen lower than ever recently. The dumbest topics ever are appearing night after night. The CA going to a separate forum has left AH with absolute dross. It's high time some posters were told to stop creating nonsense threads or thread that just mimic existing threads.

Perhaps some posters are too old for After Hours and should stick to the Oulwans and Oulfella forum

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,185 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

But why, is AH not a catch all for the random, the weird and the downright stupid? Let them at it says I.

I think it's much improved since all the poison was siphoned into Current Affairs tbh.

Yes there is still the odd eejit around but overall it's much more fun and less toxic to post in.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,319 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Definitely a lot of nonsense threads but I would agree with Necro that the toxicity levels have decreased since the new forum was opened.

No harm in a little nonsense compared to what it was before CA was a thing.

I do still think there should be a certain post count threshold for creating posts there but definitely happier with it now...and I wasn’t a fan of the CA idea at first.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,375 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

AH is much improved since 90% of the hate and bile was quarantined in its own little corner of hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Perhaps some posters are too old for After Hours and should stick to the Oulwans and Oulfella forum

And perhaps each of us is entitled to express our opinions honestly and politely, without insulting anybody else in the process.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

And perhaps each of us is entitled to express our opinions honestly and politely, without insulting anybody else in the process.

The only problem is one person's banter could be another's insult.

There's a thin line really.

With all this PC nonsense and people running to mods while they're unsure of a post's translation.

Why not ask the poster what they mean if one's feelings have been insulated.

It's very simple, I know we're not all the same but I often read post's and it's quite easy to realise that a poster's just having banter or a wind up merchant....

Fortunately for myself I can rise above that, because I can detach from getting emotionally triggered here.

It's not hard to switch off.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

nthclare wrote: »
    The only problem is one person's banter could be another's insult.

There's a thin line really.

With all this PC nonsense and people running to mods while they're unsure of a post's translation.

Why not ask the poster what they mean if one's feelings have been insulted.

It's very simple, I know we're not all the same but I often read post's and it's quite easy to realise that a poster's just having banter or a wind up merchant....

Fortunately for myself I can rise above that, because I can detach from getting emotionally triggered here.

It's not hard to switch off.

It's not unreasonable to surmise that the poster Srameen was responding to was suggesting he was too old to be posting in AH.

That's, not getting triggered, there was little ambiguity about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

It's not unreasonable to surmise that the poster Srameen was responding to was suggesting he was too old to be posting in AH.

That's, not getting triggered, there was little ambiguity about it.

I'm talking about people in general getting triggered by people's post's, thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

You're very helpful this morning :D

• Registered Users Posts: 28,196 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Perhaps some posters are too female for After Hours and should stick to the Ladies Lounge forum

Perhaps some posters are too non-Irish for After Hours and should stick to the er...no specific - forum

Perhaps some posters are too gay for After Hours and should stick to the LGBT forum

and so on. There is nothing to say you have to be immature to post in AH, so anyone can have an opinion. I generally stay out of it, though I will have a look occasionally if something comes up on the front page.

Its great that the majority of the scatalogical stuff is being concentrated in the etiquette thread, that is a great help. There are some genuinely funny and entertaining threads, the poetry one is showing promise at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Poster ILYV. It's unrelenting at this stage. One after another tourettes borne threads. I don't mind silly ones etc but there's zero thought put into them and she could have 5 on the go at one time.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Poster ILYV. It's unrelenting at this stage. One after another tourettes borne threads. I don't mind silly ones etc but there's zero thought put into them and she could have 5 on the go at one time.

Please do not bring up specific posters, it’s unfair. You can use Report Post to bring posts to the mods’ attention. It also takes two to tango, so in reality you should also be looking to all the posters who engage in those threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

She’s doing fine. The place will die without some people creating threads. We aren’t running out of space.

I wasn’t around for the very early days of AH but I’ve seen links and it was a lot more random than now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Arghus wrote: »
    AH is much improved since 90% of the hate and bile was quarantined in its own little corner of hell.

I didn't know that there was a feedback thread on this, but I did think the other day that the threads in After Hours have been much more enjoyable.

The Street Fighter thread in particular was excellent :D

I thought it was a good move by the Mods to create a CA/IMHO forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,415 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Lads we have this one reasonably popular forum left, what can we do to screw it up?

Success.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Can you give us a little more detail on that kneemos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

AH is going strong. Exciting crisp competition drawing in the crowds.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,718 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Baggly wrote: »
    Can you give us a little more detail on that kneemos?

kneemos is banned from the forum and therefore unable to respond

• Registered Users Posts: 55,473 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

The first page of threads in AH are all from the last 80 minutes, and there are 257 active users there at the moment.
    Only 4 reported posts since this morning (and probably only 2 of them actionable).

I'd say it's flourishing, to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Mr E wrote: »
    The first page of threads in AH are all from the last 80 minutes, and there are 257 active users there at the moment.
    Only 4 reported posts since this morning (and probably only 2 of them actionable).

I'd say it's flourishing, to be honest.

Have to agree, the improvement since the split is remarkable.

CA/IMHO is a dumpster fire of hate and bigotry, imo (see what I did there) but it's working great as a playpen for the terminally outraged so long may it last.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Stopped posting in/reading AH for a while because it was just horrible. It is so much better since current affairs was established. Good decision by all involved.

Meanies to win the ultimate crisp tournament.