Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
14-06-2012, 19:51   #1
rks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 58
Lycamobile

Got a leaflet today. Looked interesting hence the post.

www.lycamobile.ie

They are offering:

€0.19 per min for mobile calls in Ireland
€0.03 per min to landline calls
€0.09 for text messages (National + International)
Free lyca to lyca mobile calls
Very cheap calling rates for lot of countries

+

Unlimited Free internet
On the site it says: valid from 1st June to 30th June 2012 but no mention when the offer ends.
http://www.lycamobile.ie/mobile-internet/en
Wonder whats the catch?? Will they allow tethering?

Also which network they are going to use, o2, voda, 3....???

Minimum toptup is only €5 + Double your credit when you topup online.

You can order free sim from their site.

I am thinking of giving it a try.
rks is offline  
Advertisement
14-06-2012, 21:48   #2
Solaris10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 70
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...6636712&page=2
Solaris10 is offline  
03-08-2012, 22:39   #3
stevek93
Registered User
 
stevek93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dublin
Posts: 1,397
Think there mostly aiming more at international calls.
stevek93 is offline  
03-08-2012, 23:07   #4
sammy1301
Registered User
 
sammy1301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
i found that very interesting i call Morocco 40mins and pay 3c i m calling home now more often and find out that i can call usa landline mobile txt 1c amazing deal
sammy1301 is offline  
03-08-2012, 23:37   #5
breathn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 307
Ali, please contact the boards.ie team to verify your account for official support. You'll get a nice blue title to stand out then.
I see all your replies last night in the other thread were deleted by someone, so it's best if you contact the boards team so all your replies can stay
breathn is offline  
Advertisement
04-08-2012, 00:27   #6
antodeco
Warning: Contains traces of nuts
 
antodeco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ballyfermot. Posts: 99,999
Posts: 7,675
I certainly hope it's not a genuine account! Text speak and poor sentence construction leaves a tad unprofessional'
antodeco is offline  
04-08-2012, 05:23   #7
thesandeman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,076
Whole company is unprofessional. I've posted previously in the main thread. Not had time to update there but things hav'nt got any better.
thesandeman is online now  
21-08-2012, 21:18   #8
Adrian4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 134
Anyone using these?

The seem great value calling landlines.
Adrian4 is offline  
22-08-2012, 11:47   #9
toxicloan365
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 21
I'm using Lycamobile; their customer service is very slow and poor but the voice and data services work very well. The international voice call service, in particular, is more reliable than TescoMobile.

It's hard to beat their 30 day mobile broadband bundle (1GB limit) for €6.49; best in market, I believe, although it's just a promotional rate at the moment. No tethering restrictions on this service as well.

Last edited by toxicloan365; 22-08-2012 at 11:48. Reason: Add URL
toxicloan365 is offline  
Advertisement
27-08-2012, 09:53   #10
mac.in
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 72
Customer service and recharging options

I'm currently using it and found customer service to be good. But I found that only mastercard-secure and 3d-visa eligible prepaid cards are accepted for online recharge. Laser cards or any other prepaid cards (like O2 or 3V) are not acceptable.
mac.in is offline  
27-08-2012, 09:54   #11
mac.in
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 72
+1

Quote:
Originally Posted by toxicloan365 View Post
The international voice call service, in particular, is more reliable than TescoMobile.
mac.in is offline  
27-08-2012, 13:14   #12
bittihuduga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,063
has anyone ported from other irish networks to lyca?
i am having problems porting my number from emobile to lyca.
they are asking for
Batch ID*
Batch Count*
Batch Portnumber
emobile guys do not have these number
bittihuduga is offline  
27-08-2012, 14:26   #13
toxicloan365
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 21
All you need for a number port to Lyca is;

- Name.
- Email.
- Lyca Mobile Number.
- Lyca SIM Card.
- Your current Mobile Number.
- Your current SIM Card Number.
- Your current network provider.


as per their webpage.

.....if Lyca are looking for the data listed below then you are talking to the wrong people.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by bittihuduga View Post
has anyone ported from other irish networks to lyca?
i am having problems porting my number from emobile to lyca.
they are asking for
Batch ID*
Batch Count*
Batch Portnumber
emobile guys do not have these number

Last edited by toxicloan365; 27-08-2012 at 14:32. Reason: Update with link to Lyca website.
toxicloan365 is offline  
27-08-2012, 14:41   #14
Access
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,954
Is it me or does anyone else think that this whole thread smacks of advertising by Lycamobile reps?
Access is offline  
(3) thanks from:
27-08-2012, 15:30   #15
mac.in
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Access View Post
Is it me or does anyone else think that this whole thread smacks of advertising by Lycamobile reps?
you are absolutely wrong. I was with 2 networks before I moved to Lyca for it's been cost-friendly for my kind of usage. I'm a regular international call user.

Last edited by mac.in; 27-08-2012 at 15:36. Reason: :-)
mac.in is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet