Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Will you get a raise this year?

• 30-01-2017 8:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭

Well, will you? :pac: If replying let us know what sector you work in

Me: I don't know. My employer seems to think that since I got one last year, I shouldn't get one this year. Despite being demonstrably underpaid. I work in IT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,899 ✭✭✭DopeTech

I work in IT also. I'm only in my job a few months. Would be doubtful on getting a raise. Always on the lookout for better paid jobs though! :D

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/dopetech.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭bear1

**** and no.
    Finance: been working on a project since September under my own initiative which will save the company.
    Won't see a cent for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

Yes, I have moved to the top floor.

Yep, as part of a new job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Got one €5 a week, suppose it will buy me a sandwich for one day a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

A what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

I will get an increment. Public sector, but a very low grade with salary to match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,673 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Warehouse worker.

We've been fighting for a raise now for a few months and have a meeting on friday with management to see what they have to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭Spudgun

retail worker: I doubt it very much but it would be nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Warehouse worker.

We've been fighting for a raise now for a few months and have a meeting on friday with management to see what they have to say.

Best of luck.

Got one last year so doubt I'll get one this year. No harm in asking though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Alpha_zero

Warehouse worker.

10 euro an hour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I'm being promoted next week. I will be getting a pay rise of about €6 per week after tax. Public sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Private sector, IT... Hopefully 10%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

Work in IT. Should find out soon. I do expect to get one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Somehow I don't think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Yes. Got promoted last week. Work in IT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Umm, probably. Won't be huge, wasn't last year. There's also a profit-sharing bonus sort of thing. I could hoor myself off out somewhere else for Decadent Roman Empire sort of money, but with the world the way it is I'm reluctant to do that.

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

Yes. Got promoted last week. Work in IT.

Congrats!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

Asked for payrise as was considerably behind my peers with similar levels of experience but I was outperforming them.

Was told I wasn't going to get a cent extra so I applied elsewhere and start new job this week..65% payeise....I work in banking....moving between companies is the only way to get a decent payrise in the industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Yep, recently got promoted to a new role which bumped the salary up a bit, and am due an increase in a few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Pension has advised 2% minimum rise this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭sjb25

Well I get my increment yes public service obviously;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Phil.x

I havent had a pay rise in the last 10 years.
    But we are in discussions about one this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,252 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Pension has advised 2% minimum rise this year.

My pension limited to 2% but unlikely (once again) this year - CPI has to exceed 2% to get a rise. It's currently 0%. ( obviously no insurance in the basket they use)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Self employed, so I'll have a meeting and decide if I deserve one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭tritium

368100 wrote: »
    Asked for payrise as was considerably behind my peers with similar levels of experience but I was outperforming them.

Was told I wasn't going to get a cent extra so I applied elsewhere and start new job this week..65% payeise....I work in banking....moving between companies is the only way to get a decent payrise in the industry.

This 100%, had to do something similar when i made my last move. Hoping this year my current employer will have something reasonable on the table, if not the area im in means i have some options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Yep, switched jobs after 3 months and got a 15k rise. Work in IT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

LOL, a pay rise.. I'm in the defence forces, I've suffered nothing but cuts in almost ten years.

A pay rise, bwahahahahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Self employed, up a few hundred on January last year, talk to me again next month :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,899 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Ush1 wrote: »
    Yep, switched jobs after 3 months and got a 15k rise. Work in IT.

You mind me asking how you managed that? Fair play to you. Must have been on peanuts in the first place?

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/dopetech.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

My pay rise kicked in 2 weeks ago, after tax it's €15 extra a week. Work as a specialist in the food sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,767 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Nope. In my job since 2014 and on the exact same salary. I'm a chartered surveyor in the private sector so been through the mill job wise since the ar$e fell out of it nearly 10 years ago. I earn slightly less than I did in 2006.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Finance. Got a promotion last week.11,500 raise 7k bonus. Though have been working 10 years in same job to get this level with very minor raises along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,725 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Energy services: would expect 2%-3% this year on top of a 15% bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,595 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Working in distribution, more chance of the company going under than there is of me getting a wage.

About 12 years ago, I made an off the cuff remark about looking for a new job to another employee, a few days later, I was called up to the offices and out of the kindness of their own hearts gave me a 20% rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,009 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Working in IT, underpaid and probably not as got one last year. Unless I leave at which point, I'll get a nice raise.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭BetsyEllen

Private. All get around 1.5-2% a year plus a bonus of around 10-15%.
    You only get a 'proper' pay rise when promoted.
    I was promoted last year, 5k increase and then a 2% company increase came a week after so that worked out nicely.

I'm happy enough with my salary anyway, obviously I'd take more but I am paid fairly for the work I do and skills that I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I changed roles internally last September and got a little bump in salary so I'd imagine that would be used to say "that's your bump", but I'll still probably get another jump to bring it to 5% I reckon, plus a bonus.
    I work in the UK, not back home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Yeah the annual salary review ~3%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭RiseToMe

No because my boss is greedy, heartless, overpowered asshole. Also I'm self employed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

RiseToMe wrote:
    No because my boss is greedy, heartless, overpowered asshole. Also I'm self employed.

What an asshole of a boss! You should leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Probably not. However ive been interviewing for jobs, so if i get a decent offer then my current company will probably match it or at least put in a raise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Got an eight grand bonus last June, and a bump of about 1.5%

I'll get that same bump this year, and probably a bigger bonus, as the company, globally, is doing better than last year and the bonus is indexed off that as a % of your basic.

i'm in the telecom indistry.

the bonus comes at just the right time to pay my NCT, Car Tax and Insurance, and I pay off my CC that I've let build up for the year since, and a family holiday.

It's nice to get the extra alright, and while not as big as some people's raises, no other company I've started any kind of recruitment process with for similar jobs have been able to match my wages, so I'm at the top of the pay scale for my position, and going higher year on year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,460 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

In IT. Expect one. Been two years since last raise. Expect at least 10%. Will sit down with CEO shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'm in the private section, in manufacturing. Last year, our union got us a 3% increase per year, for 3 years. Better than nothing, considering it's for over 300 people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Company tried to stop our annual 3% rise, however it appears that the legal department advised them that it was against our contracts, so just got it back dated to October. Also hope to change my mobile office this month which will give me a 41% pay rise.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I'm going self employed this year so I really can't say for certain whether it's going to be a raise or a pay cut. In my previous job there was no automatic annual entitlement to any pay increase.

Will get my yearly increment (public sector). After tax etc though its feck all extra into my pocket.

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭mark_jmc

yes- 5%
    also getting a €2k payment in lieu of health insurance I don't need (my wife gets healthcare for both of us in her company).
    Bonus 8%
    Work in HR in private sector manufacturing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

A small one but not enough to make any real difference to my wages.