Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Objections to Apple's data center in Galway

• Registered Users Posts: 33,017 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I'm guessing one thinks their data is actually stored in the clouds :pac:

I'm guessing one has never heard of an office in a city, but feel free to keep missing the point.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

jmayo wrote: »
    Better still lets adopt the North Korean approach.
    Ever wonder why so many people died because of that big explosion in China a while back ?

Yeah shure with all our fantastic regulatory bodies there would be no chance of anything being built half ar**ed.

Which bar were you leaning against when you that brainwave. :rolleyes:

Having an Apple data centre so that eejits who pay for their Chinese built over priced items can download apps, sync using icloud or download the latest version of ios would hardly be termed needed infrastructure.

Of course they would like to plant their data centre here, after we are so generous in helping them avoid tax that other less connected and influential companies actually have to pay.

I wonder where you live ?
    Let me guess it aint anywhere near a massive data centre, massive pylon

In a very large Urban area I have no choice in regards to pylons and all that other infrastructure. I don't live in the country and look out going look at this untouched by man's hand view. unfortunately Ireland's view is completely man made. I bet some people think filed's walls and roads were here before anyone moved over the Ireland aeon's ago. :pac:

I'm guessing one has never heard of an office in a city, but feel free to keep missing the point.

How would one plan to run an environmentally cooled data centre in an office in a city ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

c_man wrote: »
    But still fair play to the lads using the law of the land and machinery of the state to keep things in check. Just like the guys who lodge objections to referenda results right?

It's an important aspect of a democracy to be able to challenge these things. Just because don't support that objection, doesn't mean I didn't support their legal right to do so. Big difference.

Also they had no legal basis to support that objection. Non-voters are not counted as 'No' voters despite their bs claims.
    I sense faces getting red over this one. It's only legitimate if everyone agrees on the hot button topic.

Why? Two completely different scenarios.
    The guys who lodged objections to the referendum had their case dismissed -- there wasn't sufficient grounds.

Apparently, they claim we weren't allowed to amend the constitution on marriage because the Amendment contradicted the previous article on marriage. Not a legitimate legal argument. Thrown out.

Got anything better than that guys?:rolleyes:

How would one plan to run an environmentally cooled data centre in an office in a city ?

Leave the windows open. :pac::pac:

Again, feel free to miss the point: "needed infrastructure" are things like hospitals, schools, emergency services and public transport. Society can't function withotu these, but it can without data centres.

Really where would you plan holding banking information for example in filing cabinets ? Data centres are now very valuable infrastructure. we are after all in the Information age. :pac:

Really where would you plan holding banking information for example in filing cabinets ? Data centres are now very valuable infrastructure. :pac:

Oh, so it's been downgraded from "needed" to "valuable"...?

I've made my point. Public services are essential. Individcual private concerns aren't. Case closed. In any case, I'm guessing by the constant use of :pac::pac::pac: that you're being sarcastic, in which case there's no point carrying on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/construction/apple-plan-for-850m-complex-facing-delay-of-six-months-1.2373374

Amazing people are not punished for wasting time and putting projects at risk. The local wild life? A fcuking data center. Really?

What do you think of serial objectors? The same happened with Intel 10 years a go. They created an additional 2,000 jobs after some local idiot objected to An Bord Pleanala on some spurious local grounds. The whole project was put at risk. Luckily they lost. There was no impact locally except more jobs and investment.

They say one of the complaints is on local wildlife - i.e do nothing, don't build the thing.

Are you familiar with the term "trade-off"? Are you familiar with the term "marginal returns"?

I would recommend you delve deeper into the intricacies of issues like this. I don't know how many jobs Apple's data centre will bring but as an engineer I can tell you that it won't be jump starting the local economy anytime soon. Data centres are "lghts out" operations....kind of like morgues except the dead bodies are servers and kept just as cold.

Oh, so it's been downgraded from "needed" to "valuable"...?

I've made my point. Public services are essential. Individcual private concerns aren't. Case closed. In any case, I'm guessing by the constant use of :pac::pac::pac: that you're being sarcastic, in which case there's no point carrying on.

If one thinks data centres are not really needed. On you go and turn all of them off in Ireland and wait about 2 seconds before the country is completely crippled. Have fun trying to do any banking, shopping basically anything. Why does one think in war time now Data centres are on first strike lists as fastest way to bring down economys. Where does one think the essential public services store their information ? on floppy disks ? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

Modern society could not function without data centers.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,984 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/construction/apple-plan-for-850m-complex-facing-delay-of-six-months-1.2373374

Amazing people are not punished for wasting time and putting projects at risk. The local wild life? A fcuking data center. Really?

What do you think of serial objectors? The same happened with Intel 10 years a go. They created an additional 2,000 jobs after some local idiot objected to An Bord Pleanala on some spurious local grounds. The whole project was put at risk. Luckily they lost. There was no impact locally except more jobs and investment.

They say one of the complaints is on local wildlife - i.e do nothing, don't build the thing.
    why and for what would they be punished for. putting projects supposibly at risk and wasting time in your opinion is not punishable

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Kermit has gotten a bit quiet. Perhaps he is off reading the submissions?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,984 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Believe me I think we need to. Too much clown behaviour allowed without consequence. There should be no appeal in my opinion. Disband the bord pleanala quango and get things built. MINIMUM 4 week yes/no to planning applications. No appeal.
    well we have appeals, we aren't going to be like china, and you will except it. you want ireland to be like china, go live in china

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

well we have appeals, we aren't going to be like china, and you will except it. you want ireland to be like china, go live in china

Problem is with these NIMBY's is they would not care if it was built somewhere in Dublin.

The concerns raised go far beyond NIMBYism, hosting international data centres means Ireland takes the hit for the long-term failure to achieve emissions targets, for which Ireland gets fined. Did you miss that point?

Again, the projected consumption of this facility is 240MW, which Apple claim will be powered by wind from day 1. That capacity simply does not exist at present so will eat into the gains that Ireland has made in renewable energy, netting no growth in the percentage of total power from renewables.

It's like planning a small city in terms of power consumption, but boy are some of the posters here missing the bigger picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Clonee, but still :pac: http://www.irishtimes.com/business/technology/facebook-gets-go-ahead-for-200m-meath-data-centre-1.2301981

MadsL wrote: »

Again, the projected consumption of this facility is 240MW, which Apple claim will be powered by wind from day 1. That capacity simply does not exist at present so will eat into the gains that Ireland has made in renewable energy, netting no growth in the percentage of total power from renewables.

Apple investing hundreds of millions of Euro in renewable energy is a bad thing. I'm with you so far.

psinno wrote: »
    Apple investing hundreds of millions of Euro in renewable energy is a bad thing. I'm with you so far.

Where did they say they would be directly investing in renewable energy. Ever hear of greenwash?

http://www.truth-out.org/news/item/32208-why-is-apple-lying-about-powering-its-data-centers-with-renewable-energy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

A Norwegian company were planning on setting up a specialised fish farm in Killybegs this year. The by product from the fish farmed was to be used in the manufacture of pills and tablets.. the finer points I am not 100% sure of.

The company needed a few thousand square metres of sea surface area to set up the farms, they were to create 50 jobs with possibility of expansion in the near future.

It was all looking promising until An Taisce objected.

There was an appeal to this objection and I haven't heard any outcome yet.

In the meanwhile the Norwegian company were looking at setting up in Scotland instead.

Thank you An Taisce.

A Norwegian company were planning on setting up a specialised fish farm in Killybegs this year. The by product from the fish farmed was to be used in the manufacture of pills and tablets.. the finer points I am not 100% sure of.

The company needed a few thousand square metres of sea surface area to set up the farms, they were to create 50 jobs with possibility of expansion in the near future.

In the meanwhile the Norwegian company were looking at setting up in Scotland instead.

Thank you An Taisce.

http://www.thejournal.ie/an-taisce-says-it-saved-state-from-e752m-in-impaired-loans-419128-Apr2012/

Thank you An Taisce

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

You might be referring to a fish-processing facility proposed by Bio-Marine Ingredients. Not exactly a fish farm.

Thank you An Taisce.
    I can't find any of that. All I can find is that an appeal has been lodged. Can you cite any source for your claim tha Bio-Marine are thinking of going somewhere else?

You might be referring to a fish-processing facility proposed by Bio-Marine Ingredients. Not exactly a fish farm.

Whole other kettle of fish?

They objected on the basis of the project's variance with the Marine Strategy Framework Directive, an EU law the planners probably had little knowledge about. That's the one role of An Taisce, to highlight Irish and EU Environmental law and act as a watchdog of the planning process.

The way some people go on you would think it was just for sport.

Where did they say they would be directly investing in renewable energy. Ever hear of greenwash?

http://www.truth-out.org/news/item/32208-why-is-apple-lying-about-powering-its-data-centers-with-renewable-energy

"Apple is in fact generating 167 million kilowatt-hours of renewable energy at the facility via its two solar arrays and fuel cells."

Presumably generating 167 million kilowatt-hour of energy involves some sort of investment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

They objected on the basis of the project's variance with the Marine Strategy Framework Directive, an EU law the planners probably had little knowledge about. That's the one role of An Taisce, to highlight Irish and EU Environmental law and act as a watchdog of the planning process.

The way some people go on you would think it was just for sport.

An Taisce was also not happy with the Environment Impact Assessment, fair enough.

The outcome of the appeal is due this Autumn which I didn't know, and in hindsight I would not have brought this subject up in this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,088 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

In a very large Urban area I have no choice in regards to pylons and all that other infrastructure. I don't live in the country and look out going look at this untouched by man's hand view. unfortunately Ireland's view is completely man made. I bet some people think filed's walls and roads were here before anyone moved over the Ireland aeon's ago. :pac:

Don't be so facetious.
    We know that our environment is down to the hand of man.
    But creating green fields and hedgerows, putting in roads is hardly the same as plonking a huge big building in the middle of nowhere that eats up power.
    Really where would you plan holding banking information for example in filing cabinets ? Data centres are now very valuable infrastructure. we are after all in the Information age. :pac:

Ahh yes, shure isn't all the data storage for bank records, patient data, you know important stuff. :rolleyes:

Shure inate unneeded information like twitter rants, facebook pics of somones kid's confirmation, instagram pics of some Kardashian's oversize ar**, porn flicks of some silicon enhanced LA bimbo, boards threads with soccer forum arguments, etc takes up shag all of all the world's datacenter storage.

Do you know how much of the traffic on the internet and all the world's data center storage is actually meaningful.

How much bank data does Apple hold ?
    Do the banks now use icloud for backup ?

Well maybe some would and some wouldn't.
    It would be nearer other large developments, it would be nearer power and telecomms hubs etc.

BTW I can't believe on the same side of an argument as end_of_the _road and asherbassad

psinno wrote: »
    "Apple is in fact generating 167 million kilowatt-hours of renewable energy at the facility via its two solar arrays and fuel cells."

Presumably generating 167 million kilowatt-hour of energy involves some sort of investment.

There's nothing in the Galway application about them having on-site power generation:

to construct the following: a 24,505sqm single storey data centre building, a 5232sqm single storey Logistics and Administration Building, a 289sqm single storey Maintenance Building, a 16sqm Security Hut and associated barriers, 2 number 48sqm Fibre Huts (max building eaves height = 10m), 18 external standby generators, all associated external plant, a 20kV Electricity Substation, contractor facilities, a main entrance including a new right turning lane, internal access roads and associated infrastructure, proprietary waste water treatment plants including percolation areas, mains water connection, fire water storage tanks; rainwater harvesting, provision of fibre optic data connections, car parking (207 spaces, including 7 visitor spaces, 50 internal staff mobility spaces and disabled parking spaces), bike parking, an amenity walkway and associated parking, site leveling for a laydown area and a 220kV substation, 2.4m high perimeter security fencing, landscaping including supplementary tree planting and all associated works. A report for screening for Appropriate Assessment and an Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) will be submitted with the planning application (gross floor space 30,138sqm)

The Supreme Court has reserved judgment in the case i.e. They are deferring their decision to a later date

At this stage, I think this is going to end up in the European Courts either by the Supreme Court referring the case or an appeal if they make a decision

https://www.galwaydaily.com/news/apple-athenry-saga-goes-on-as-supreme-court-reserves-judgement/