Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,833 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

ruwithme wrote: »
    Plus 1 on creed. I'm no fine gaeler but i will say at least under them in the main monies due to farmer's were kept paid out in decent time .maybe i was lucky in that i didn't have any inspections in them year's that might otherwise have held them up.

Barry cowen never strikes me on radio or t.v as being very approachable. more of a hard harder line from him. time will tell.

There was a total balls up on payments last year with the new digitisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,618 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    The first time there was a "super junior" in Agriculture it was Brendan Smith up here in Cavan.
    His most notable achievements were the ending of both REPS and the Farm Retirement Scheme .....

He’s a total nuisance.
    In my job he’s constantly playing political pressure to gain favours for constituents.

One guy i refused work to over the lockdown went to Brendan and I swear to god he rang the office looking to have lads sent out to do maintenance in graveyard.

I put the site back to the back of my list so they had to wait an extra four weeks to get the work done as a result.

Feckin parish pump politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,911 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Rang a fella today about PBR Limousin heifers he had for sale on Donedeal. They were just weaned and he wanted €2,500 for them. Am I missing something? :(

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

Just caught 4 local lads on scramblers in my field. I think one of them might have **** himself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭I says

Rang a fella today about PBR Limousin heifers he had for sale on Donedeal. They were just weaned and he wanted €2,500 for them. Am I missing something? :(

Cheaper than dogs at the minute on DD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    My young fella had a close one earlier.
    Main holding yard here wasn't fit for purpose as it would have originally been used for milking cows not factory fit bullocks. So have been doing a bit of work on it this last few days. Anyway long story short main gate was a lightwieght gate mounted on a block pier. If the kids ever stood up on the end of the gate it would just sag.
    Replaced it yesterday with a heavy duty gate and raised it up 6" on the pier. So we were up doing a few jobs and he was on the end of the gate. New gate didn't sag so the pier separated half way up. Down came half the pier and gate. He ended up under the gate. We both got a fair fright.
    In fairness he is a topper, he was nearly more upset that he had knocked the pier and undone my work.

I’m teaching my lads already to hop a gate the hanging side. A lot of people farmers included don’t know it’s the right way. I can imagine the poor lad worrying about the gate first, fair play to him, must be a tough young lad!

Our main gate on the lane closes into a steel post. I’ve a spur welded On the post that sits just under the top bar of the gate when it’s closed. If you step on the gate to cross it the spur takes the weight on the latch end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

How do ye respond if someone says "Thanks bro".

I want to be cool with the gang. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,261 ✭✭✭Grueller

Sound out horsebox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Too easy mate

Better living everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

'S cool, Dawg:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭kk.man

What's the procedure again?
    When vet was testing cattle I requested he change a fr bullock to a he on the card. He agreed. I passed my test and got cards back.

What happens next?

• Registered Users Posts: 758 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

In fairness we ended up laughing cos only yesterday evening I was explaining to him the correct way to get over gates and how he was to tell all his cousins the same.
    It'll be a memory we'll both have for the rest of our days.

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

It's a while ago, near here, a 10 year old child was killed climbing a gate standing against a wall. There was three of them on it and pulled it down on top of themse!ves. It's the simple ones.

Saw two children climbing on rocks at the beach today unsupervised. A girl about eight fell eight or ten feet into the sand. I wouldn't be surprised if she has a broken leg.

kk.man wrote: »
    What's the procedure again?
    When vet was testing cattle I requested he change a fr bullock to a he on the card. He agreed. I passed my test and got cards back.

What happens next?

Fill out er94b firm with the changes you want. Sent the form and the card to your local dvo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Did anyone see the video of the lads raffling the fiat 100-90 on facebook?. Very shady

Should be on a plane to Spain at the moment :mad:

Kevhog1988 wrote: »
    Did anyone see the video of the lads raffling the fiat 100-90 on facebook?. Very shady

World of 100-90 and 110-90s being raffled at the minute on facebook didnt realise there was as many around.

Better living everyone

Two johnnies podcast discussing would they cut it as a farmer interesting listening for a Monday morning.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,960 ✭✭✭straight

whelan2 wrote: »
    Should be on a plane to Spain at the moment :mad:

You would only miss the cows and the routine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Very shady indeed.
    Called the winning number before a number appeared on their computer screen. (164 I think).
    But the number that came up was 185.
    Bit of whispering from someone off screen, and yet man says, (I read that wrong, let's scroll down to 185"
    He then announces the winners name.
    More whispering from off screen "cancel it, cancel it".
    So then the lad announces, "we'll draw again" and does so.

They got such a deluge of complaints that they took down their page.
    Reinstated it a day later with a rambling explanation about why their system was showing different numbers on two linked screens...

IF the tractor was ever theirs to raffle, you'd wonder where the 40,000 sterling went...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Very shady indeed.
    Called the winning number before a number appeared on their computer screen. (164 I think).
    But the number that came up was 185.
    Bit of whispering from someone off screen, and yet man says, (I read that wrong, let's scroll down to 185"
    He then announces the winners name.
    More whispering from off screen "cancel it, cancel it".
    So then the lad announces, "we'll draw again" and does so.

They got such a deluge of complaints that they took down their page.
    Reinstated it a day later with a rambling explanation about why their system was showing different numbers on two linked screens...

IF the tractor was ever theirs to raffle, you'd wonder where the 40,000 sterling went...

And how much the charity received
    ]

And how much the charity received
    ]

There'll surely have to be legal enquiries made now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,911 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

A bit like the story of the trainee teacher who was dreading the visit from the dept inspector. She came up with the brainwave of telling the kids to put up their right hand only, if they knew the answer and their left if they didn't.

Working grand till Jimmy put up his hand - "Yes, Jimmy".
    "Oh, sorry Miss. Wrong hand".:D

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

Got my hair cut. No grey hairs. :D

You can have a few of mine:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

OH is getting hers done tomorrow, here,
    Hairdresser has poor health so doing 3 or 4 customers/day in their own houses rather than risking being in a salon where there could be 50 customers/day on 4 or 5 chairs

It looks like the effects of Brexit are slowly starting to sink in. The thread is very funny.
    https://twitter.com/archer_rs/status/1277505330885386240?s=19

wrangler wrote: »
    Hairdresser has poor health so doing 3 or 4 customers/day in their own houses rather than risking being in a salon where there could be 50 customers/day on 4 or 5 chairs

Ye . I got mine done in my neighbour's house. My mother got hers done at 10AM, my dad was in at 12 and I was in at 2. I lost all my hair aged 7 from ringworm. So it's very fine and no grey hairs. She always remarks on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

How much does it cost to buy land, farmer turning 40 with green cert
    Say 10ac @ €60k, how much in stamp duty & fees

It looks like the effects of Brexit are slowly starting to sink in. The thread is very funny.]

They may get the wallet out. :rolleyes:

The Irish government two weeks ago received a gift of €20.8 million from fifty two Chinese millionaires for residency status in Ireland.
    The government will use the money for it's immigrant investment scheme. It'll buy a minimum of 165 homes and up to 320 if borrowings are secured against the funds according to iCare social housing body.
    A further €2.8 million from seven other millionaires are awaiting approval.

Most of the 1,200 people who availed of the scheme up to September last year are Chinese millionaires who must prove a minimum personal net worth of €2 million to qualify.

The scheme grants residency rights to non EU citizens in return for an investment of at least €1 million or an endowment of €400,000 or €500,000 to a social cause. - Sunday Independent. Yesterday.

Edit: That 1,200 figure makes no sense. As that would make a figure of €480 million. Unless this €20 million is just the latest addition in that €480 million.
    But the above is the way the article is printed.
    Anyway, Charlie Haughey is stirring in the grave.

Local gym has a barbers operating inside it she was still cutting at near 9pm tonight.
    Two birds with one stone.

Better living everyone

Local gym has a barbers operating inside it she was still cutting at near 9pm tonight.

Passing through a village yesterday and they were advertising a barbers in a garden shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭orm0nd

o/h got her's done as well (in spite of my numberous offers to do it with the cattle clippers over the last few weeks:D:D )

she had to fill out a very detailed declaration/ questionairre

good thing I suppose if required for tracing history/contacts of new cases .

Eamon spoke on mat cooper this evening.

As ever he was rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Barber at Mother Hubbarbs on N4 at moyvalley

Well done to Adrian Elliot of https://www.glassonglamping.ie/accomodation/, who was interviewed on Morning Ireland this morning.
    Farmers should support this new enterprise for a midsummer break, very easy to social distance any way, it has 200 acres available to roam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,480 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Well done to Adrian Elliot of https://www.glassonglamping.ie/accomodation/, who was interviewed on Morning Ireland this morning.
    Farmers should support this new enterprise for a midsummer break, very easy to social distance any way, it has 200 acres available to roam
    Theres one of them far closer to you than glasson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭I says

Five men arrested following investigation into tampering of horse identification certs

Horse meat scandal on the way again.

How long after you band a bull is it ok to leave him with heifers?

Probably 10 minutes, surely he will have other issues on his mind 🤭

Reggie. wrote: »
    Theres one of them far closer to you than glasson

We have to support struggling farmers though.
    Are you referring to mount druid or is there another one I'm not aware of..

_Brian wrote: »
    Probably 10 minutes, surely he will have other issues on his mind 🤭

No I think I remember being told 10 days or something. Banding doesn't knock as much out of them as squeezing does imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

We have to support struggling farmers though.
    Are you referring to mount druid or is there another one I'm not aware of..

passed an amazing one of 6 to 8 of them Pods over looking Lough Erne in Fermanagh on the Enniskillen/Belleek road.

STUNNING location

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭148multi

I says wrote: »
    Five men arrested following investigation into tampering of horse identification certs

Horse meat scandal on the way again.

It never went away, big problems in Spain and Portugal, also involving organised crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

passed an amazing one of 6 to 8 of them Pods over looking Lough Erne in Fermanagh on the Enniskillen/Belleek road.

STUNNING location
    That shore road is nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,968 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

6 weeks+

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,164 ✭✭✭zetecescort

awful looking mess in Leitrim after the landslides

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Anyone know anywhere around the midlands that you could rent a stone rake. I'm reclaiming land, and there's stones after being unearthed and I've neither the time nor desire to go picking them, and there's loads :(