Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Internet Access for Minors Bill 2017 - Gobsheens

• 10-05-2017 10:41am
    Registered Users Posts: 81,340 ✭✭✭✭
    M

Can our TD's who are trying to implement this bill go and feck off to some offshore island with no internet or communication to the outside world, shower of backward gombeen bloody idiots. Some gems include...

• be illegal for parents to allow their children born after 2015 to own a portable device which has the internet. (any parent giving a child unrestricted access to the internet is an idiot full stop)
    • the primary aim is to introduce a new law that will force device manufacturers to develop a ?child-friendly? mobile phone or tablet, which has limited access to the web. (yes I can see the likes of Apple/Samsung spending a few billion developing a specifically backward device for this country)
    • making it illegal for any commercial outlet to provide access to Wi-Fi without identification.(are they for real? bloody fools, would I need to produce my passport in my local pub to access the wifi?)
    • A retail outlet caught selling a device to a minor will be subject to a fine not exceeding ?100.(There's this new developement called the internet that someone can order from)

http://www.thejournal.ie/ban-children-mobile-phones-3381404-May2017/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Why don't they just rename it the "speaking as a mother" bill.

Seems like parents aren't trusted to do their basic role any more so it's up to society to ensure they don't feed lil Timmy bleach.

Nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Yet schools want kids to have tablets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Lets use blunt force instead of perhaps educating kids on safe internet usage. Great idea.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

You can't parent a child passively, which is all you'll be doing if the devices or software have restriction capabilities.

If they have such a big issue with the internet, just cut us all off.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,452 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Can our TD's who are trying to implement this bill go and feck off to some offshore island with no internet or communication to the outside world, shower of backward gombeen bloody idiots. Some gems include...

• be illegal for parents to allow their children born after 2015 to own a portable device which has the internet. (any parent giving a child unrestricted access to the internet is an idiot full stop)
    • the primary aim is to introduce a new law that will force device manufacturers to develop a ?child-friendly? mobile phone or tablet, which has limited access to the web. (yes I can see the likes of Apple/Samsung spending a few billion developing a specifically backward device for this country)

Don't companies do this already with their "Child Mode" on phones that the parent can cut down on what they have access to etc.
    • making it illegal for any commercial outlet to provide access to Wi-Fi without identification.(are they for real? bloody fools, would I need to produce my passport in my local pub to access the wifi?)
    • A retail outlet caught selling a device to a minor will be subject to a fine not exceeding ?100.(There's this new developement called the internet that someone can order from)

Im pretty sure that online will look for ID for sales too if they bring this in.

http://www.thejournal.ie/ban-children-mobile-phones-3381404-May2017/

Madness Ted..... Madness

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Sorry Timmy, you're not allowed to use this device. Now show me how it works so I can stop you.

Our government are really stuck in a time warp, they seem confused and upset by new technology, they have no place telling other people what to do. There's very few members of our government that deserve reelection.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

how about we just ban the internet for under 18s.

then sit back and enjoy the fun as they riot and burn down the country pmsl.

very few things bother kids for long, but deny them internet and you got a major freak out brewing in 5 seconds

• Registered Users Posts: 17,848 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

4D chess, its actually a clever move to create a generation of IT hackers and up-skill the next generation.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

silverharp wrote: »
    4D chess, its actually a clever move to create a generation of IT hackers and up-skill the next generation.

Like that game on Star Trek?

That might be a good distraction for the kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,025 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

prayers,raffles and internet access are the most pressing problems in Ireland

Dunno, that eggy-faced guard is getting a lot of screen time on the six one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I sincerely doubt that this has a snowball's chance in hell of passing, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I believe we should call this 'The Mrs Lovejoy Act'

helen_lovejoy.png

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Let's legislate instead of promoting proper parental supervision of children!

Stupidity of the highest order and again shows that people who don't understand technology shouldn't legislate for it's use!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Whatever about the means they put forward, I agree with the end to a point.

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.
    In Irish law it's the thought that counts, it doesn't actually have to be enforceable.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

I just sent him an email about this. Be interesting to see if he replies.

It was not an email encouraging it in case anyone thought that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

We live in an age where great ideas like Coder Dojo are available to help young children learn how to code and this moron wants to ban internet access.

How about some IT, Coding, App Development classes in schools to help our children learn skills that will help them as they grow.

My 2 children read (well my 20-month-old daughter opens books until she can find a duck, dog, cow or sheep and then makes the animals noise) and my son, in particular, loves dinosaur and animal books (corrects his mom when she calls the dinosaur the wrong name) but he is also allowed a small amount of time on my I-pad through specifically installed apps and we do it together.

These guys are beyond stupid, honestly, they haven't a clue what they are talking about. Someone has put this into their head that the internet is bad and it needs to be stopped.

Why would I waste over €100 on some piece of crap tablet that does nothing when you can simply get a proper tablet for the same price and set things up so your child has limited access on it and also just share the time and experience with them.

HigginsJ wrote: »
    this moron wants to ban internet access.

How about some IT, Coding, App Development classes in schools to help our children learn skills that will help them as they grow.

My 2 children read (well my 20-month-old daughter opens books until she can find a duck, dog, cow or sheep and then makes the animals noise) and my son, in particular, loves dinosaur and animal books (corrects his mom when she calls the dinosaur the wrong name) but he is also allowed a small amount of time on my I-pad through specifically installed apps and we do it together.

These guys are beyond stupid, honestly, they haven't a clue what they are talking about. Someone has put this into their head that the internet is bad and it needs to be stopped.

Why would I waste over €100 on some piece of crap tablet that does nothing when you can simply get a proper tablet for the same price and set things up so your child has limited access on it and also just share the time and experience with them.

It's not proposing to ban internet access is it?

You can do all of the above while restricting access to certain subjects.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Paddys' razor* :

Some gobsheen TDs brother is after importing a shed load of phones from China that don't work on Irish 4g internets

* Paddys razor : Like Occams razor but involves a brown envelope

• Registered Users Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Your kids obviously are a good bit older than mine but this is the line I would hope rings true when we face similar sorts of issues that you have encountered.

I was one such kid, and I'm still at it over 30 years later.

I said in the same thread in the Politics Cafe, the practicalities of such proposals are indeed questionable, but the ultimate aim can't be argued with.

I don't know about other kids from the 80s but I learned about stuff by taking it apart and breaking it. My father used to say I knew just enough to get myself into trouble.

Problem with modern electronics is that they often can't really be taken apart, experimented with/fixed/broken, and put back together again like they used to. Pretty much made to be disposable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Problem with modern electronics is that they often can't really be taken apart, experimented with/fixed/broken, and put back together again like they used to. Pretty much made to be disposable.
    How did you find that out? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 157 ✭✭biscuithead

I can see it now. Kid is Ireland gets online to one of his many online friends around the world:

Irish kid (let's call him Sean): "Hey Zack (kid in the US/Canada/wherever), whaddup?

Zack: "Hey Sean, bro. What's new?"

Sean: "Sucks, bro. Government has forced me to use a lame-o kiddy restricted OS on my system. Can't access sh!t. Can't download movies. Can't hit torrent sites."

Zack: "Bummer, dude. Here's my FTP server address. I've set you up with unrestricted access. 15 terrabytes of movies, music, games, porn, warez. It's on 24/7. Go nuts, brah!"

Sean: "Cheers, dude. See you online later for GTA?"

Zack: "Totally, dude."

• Registered Users Posts: 16,561 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

It should be necessary to put curtains around the devices too.

osarusan wrote: »
    It should be necessary to put curtains around the devices too.

iHijab.