Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Celebrities you hate but didn't always dislike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Yeah I initially enjoyed his TG4 travel shows but then he started popping up all over the place and his persona really started to grate. That "Ta me ag teacht" thing became his version of Des Bishops immersion joke for a while. He'd say it every time he made an appearance.

Wasn’t the sex as Gaeilge the go to routine for that fella that used to be the warm up for Podge & Rodge? He inevitably popped up a t a few gigs I went to and always used that routine, years apart.

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭sheriff2

Leigh Francis aka Keith Lemon -
    I used to love Bo Selecta, but cant stand this fella now. I dont know how anyone likes celebrity juice, its the worst thing i have ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭Be right back

Holly Willoughby. Used to think she was alright but now. Comes across as full of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Lassie the virtue-signalling SJW libtard dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,597 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

This is the only cekebrity that i actually recognise

I used to love Stephen Seagal cause i thought he was funny, then i grew to dislike him, vlad putin lovin sex trafficing, raping tax cheat that he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Mariah Agreeable Millipede

sheriff2 wrote: »
    Leigh Francis aka Keith Lemon -
    I used to love Bo Selecta, but cant stand this fella now. I dont know how anyone likes celebrity juice, its the worst thing i have ever seen.

there was a bigger audience in targetting his "comedy" at women who love celeb nonsense than being juvenile, male orientated humour...i think he actually said it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Morrissey (as a person not an artist).
    As both for me. He likes to lecture people on their dietary habits. I'll eat what I want, thanks. And don't get me started on his "singing" (loose definition of the term); he couldn't hold a note in a bucket. Middling songwriter, though, to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,261 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

razorblunt wrote: »
    Wasn’t the sex as Gaeilge the go to routine for that fella that used to be the warm up for Podge & Rodge? He inevitably popped up a t a few gigs I went to and always used that routine, years apart.

Can't place that chap. Hectors early schtick was doing an impersonstion of what a porn fIlm might sound like in Irish, he hasn't done it years mind. Maybe he stole yer man's gag or vice versa.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

blueser wrote: »
    As both for me. He likes to lecture people on their dietary habits. I'll eat what I want, thanks. And don't get me started on his "singing" (loose definition of the term); he couldn't hold a note in a bucket. Middling songwriter, though, to be fair.

It was Johnny Marr that did most of the songwriting in the Smiths, not Morrissey

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭Waccamacca3

Rufeo wrote: »
    She strikes me as foreign.

Ain't she an aussie and only got were she is due to brian mcfadden was not even on our TV. She is very annoying saw her on pointless sticking her tongue out at foster and Allen etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,800 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Glenn Hansard- disappeared up his own self righteous arse in later years.

I would never have been a fan of his music but man... He certainly availed of a one way ticket up his own rectum...if he’s on the radio or tv, singing , talking, whatever I have to change the station. Cringe dot com.... the mr Ernest mc Ernest act does nothing for me, just like his music.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Jerry Seinfield
    Jonathon Ross
    Rocky Gervais

Ricky Gervais is a legend. The amount of work he does protecting innocent animals is pheunominal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Ray D’arcy. I don’t hate him but don’t particularly like him anymore. I loved him when he started on Today FM, he was fun and entertaining. He’s now just a grumpy old man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Broomtown wrote: »
    Vogue is a really nice person, but exactly the type of person that people with no social skills would dislike or even hate. She's good looking, charming and in the eyes of the socially inept, she is popular, something they could never be.

Hello Mrs Williams. Why did you choose such a sh*te name for your kid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Omackeral wrote: »
    Hello Mrs Williams. Why did you choose such a sh*te name for your kid?

Genuinely she never annoyed me until she named her child Theodore

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Patrick Stewart, really liked him back in the day, but he's painful to listen to as that virtue signalling twat preaching ethics to us plebs from his ivory towers in London and Beverly Hills ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

I always preferred The Littlest Hobo (despite him being homeless).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭rtron

Rothko wrote: »
    He was great on the Den but I can't stand him anymore.

I find people are usually lovely until they actually start being themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭All that fandango

Russel Brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Your Face wrote: »
    Dave Grohl.

So tell us your story

Russel Brand.

Why did you ever like him?

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭All that fandango

Why did you ever like him?

Could say the same for a lot of celebs mentioned on this! I thought he was actually hilarious back in the day, the big brothers big mouth thing....now he's just a massive dose harping on about complete crap whenever he's given half the chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Rothko wrote: »
    It was Johnny Marr that did most of the songwriting in the Smiths, not Morrissey
    Well wrote the music. Morrissey wrote the lyrics/vocal melodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

The lad who does the Coronavirus voiceover in Dunnes Stores. After the first time, when I casually dismissed and cheerily tolerated his annoying right-on virtue signalling claptrap, I began to get irritated.
    Shotgun postal Aisle 5 irritated...

Ps we're short on celebrities down my way. We still stare up at helicopters and planes down my way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,787 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

An Ri rua wrote: »
    The lad who does the Coronavirus voiceover in Dunnes Stores. After the first time, when I casually dismissed and cheerily tolerated his annoying right-on virtue signalling claptrap, I began to get irritated.
    Shotgun postal Aisle 5 irritated...

He'll be on Dancing with the Stars on RTE next.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

George Takei. He used to be funny, but went as far down the sjw rabbit hole as a person can go.

Edit: also, always believe the victim, unless they're accusing me or Joe Biden.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 erada

James Mc Clean and Joe Brolly, both from my own County.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,800 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

blueser wrote: »

He was still one off the best lyricists/songwriters of his generation until maybe 5 or 6 years ago. I haven’t heard his latest but what I think done for him was when he kept chopping and changing his band and collaborating songwriters at each recording and I dunno. When he had just the likes of Alain White, Boz Boorer and Mark Nevin in the earlier days writing for and with him his stuff was melodic, fresh, catchy, romantic, perfect and consistent. He’s been having a love in with some Jesse Tobias fella for a while and I can’t figure it out, his songs just are not all that. An awful lot of average. Pity.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I always preferred The Littlest Hobo (despite him being homeless).

Do-gooder virtue-signalling crime-solving leftist 'ooh let's help the poor' git.

Going out on a limb here and say Blindboy is following the same trajectory as so many celebs in Ireland.

I suppose you could call it "doing a d'Arcy on it". The steps are roughly.

Get famous for a niche interest.
    Use it as a platform to tell people about social issues,
    start pontificating on how to solve social issues,
    eventually become cranky old man.

Blindboy is just another middle-class, middle age guy giving out about the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,814 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Bressie's another fella who I used like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

Dont know if he can be classed as a celebrity but lately Blindboy does my head in. He has rampt up his pontificating on climate change...he is starting to sound like that other yoke Greta Thunburg.

I actually saw a live show of his a few months ago and it was good..but that was down to his guests. He didn't really say a whole load.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,333 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Going out on a limb here and say Blindboy is following the same trajectory as so many celebs in Ireland.

I suppose you could call it "doing a d'Arcy on it". The steps are roughly.

Get famous for a niche interest.
    Use it as a platform to tell people about social issues,
    start pontificating on how to solve social issues,
    eventually become cranky old man.

Blindboy is just another middle-class, middle age guy giving out about the world.

Emmet Kirwan is hot on his heels, a dose of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Yer woman Vogue, i do not understand why she is on tv, that fairy tv ad shes on makes me puke. She is the cliche of everything wrong with society today
    I've nothing against Vogue - I'm sure she's perfectly nice.

It's the segment of the entertainment industry that somehow annoys me: Vogue goes to the shops, Vogue has some friends around, Vogue chats about her day, Vogue plays with her kid.

I can't really blame Vogue for capitalising on a market for watching good looking people do nothing interesting. The problem is elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,590 ✭✭✭blue note

Amy Schumer.

I remember noticing her on a couple of things on comedy central because she was genuinely funny on them. The roasts were one I think and she was vicious on them. But now she's so bloody sensitive, she does nothing but feel like a victim. And she's no longer funny is the biggest problem. Not even a little bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Katie Hopkins.

She was a decent journo, I didn't agree with a lot of her opinions but admired her honesty. She had a very invasive brain surgery a few years ago, and I started following her recovery from that.

Then... well...

Part of me thinks it's a pity. She could have been great. She could have been an ambassador for epelectics. She could have used her business brain to do good things.

She turned out to be a racist biatch.

alta stare wrote: »
    Dont know if he can be classed as a celebrity but lately Blindboy does my head in. He has rampt up his pontificating on climate change...he is starting to sound like that other yoke Greta Thunburg.

I actually saw a live show of his a few months ago and it was good..but that was down to his guests. He didn't really say a whole load.

Ah he just jumps on whatever is the popular cause of the day (mental health, climate change, economic reform), same as them all really.

alta stare wrote: »

Another one that begs the question - why did you ever like him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,814 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

As people know I follow Fair City but one thing I do find is when I was younger I liked the actors but now from I see of them they all seem like nightmares. Some are very snotty and think they are the best actors ever and the others are similar to Emmett Kirwan.(Who was also in Fair City).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Mariah Agreeable Millipede

Another one that begs the question - why did you ever like him?

Tbf He was sort of amusing on republic of telly about a decade or so ago..... bit again it wasn’t a sustainable career to live off horse outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,261 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

blue note wrote: »
    Amy Schumer.

I remember noticing her on a couple of things on comedy central because she was genuinely funny on them. The roasts were one I think and she was vicious on them. But now she's so bloody sensitive, she does nothing but feel like a victim. And she's no longer funny is the biggest problem. Not even a little bit.
    I can't take her seriously any more since that video showed she ripped off other comics material wholesale. On phone so cant link but look up Amy Schumer joke stealing compilation on YouTube.

Do-gooder virtue-signalling crime-solving leftist 'ooh let's help the poor' git.

Sometimes you can forgive people (or dogs) for their obvious flaws and stupidity.

Tbf He was sort of amusing on republic of telly about a decade or so ago..... bit again it wasn’t a sustainable career to live off horse outside

Did he have the bag on his head at that point?

Robbie Keane.

Decent Footballer for Ireland in his day

I don't give a flying shít about the news coverage of his present woes as co manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭alias no.9

I agree with the sentiment but would struggle to find a time that I used to like him or something that he's done that I really like.

I suppose Inside I'm Dancing was good, but it didn't necessarily make me want to watch out for the next movie he was in. Dublin Oldschool was OK, but only in a pass the time on a transatlantic flight kind of way.

PARlance wrote: »
    Emmet Kirwan is hot on his heels, a dose of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,333 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

alias no.9 wrote: »
    I agree with the sentiment but would struggle to find a time that I used to like him or something that he's done that I really like.

I suppose Inside I'm Dancing was good, but it didn't necessarily make me want to watch out for the next movie he was in. Dublin Oldschool was OK, but only in a pass the time on a transatlantic flight kind of way.

Thread title is "celebrities you hate but didn't always dislike".... Emmet fits in perfectly. You don't have to like/love their early work.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 huddledDuke12

Ricky Gervais is a legend. The amount of work he does protecting innocent animals is pheunominal

I gained a whole load of new respect for him since he rightly called out celebrities for using events such as The Golden Globes to make political statements and virtue signal to us ordinary folk about various world wide issues.

While his work of protecting innocent animals could be considered a political statement, he doesn't lecture the world about it.

I used to like James Corden before he went mainstream. His recent complaints about being quarantined in his million dollar mansion made me dislike him more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Blaze420

Sam Smith - never particularly liked his music but it was alright in a “it’s on in the background” sense. Then he decided to refer to himself in pronouns and that was me out - have no time at all for people like that. If I even hear a note of his voice in a song now I’ll turn it straight off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Blaze420 wrote: »
    Sam Smith - never particularly liked his music but it was alright in a “it’s on in the background” sense. Then he decided to refer to himself in pronouns and that was me out - have no time at all for people like that. If I even hear a note of his voice in a song now I’ll turn it straight off.

He's a bore, everything about him is boring,his attention seeking antics are even boring,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I used to like James Corden before he went mainstream. His recent complaints about being quarantined in his million dollar mansion made me dislike him more.

No. He was always unlikeable. His fat Welsh 'comedy', whatever it was called, was terrible.