Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

girlfriend and I attacked by teenage girls on Luas

• 17-03-2019 6:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭

what is it with the scum around city centre.

riding the luas to city centre group of teenagers (mainly girls) tried stealing girlfriends phone

when they were unsuccessful they tried to attack herself and me and laughed and hurled racist abuse.

shocked tourists came to side but this is outrageous

where is the security this was 7pm in city centre crowded luas

beware of the teenage general scum around city centre

this makes my blood boil

move them out to timbuktu or out of Ireland- ashamed to be Irish with people like that being the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,263 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Any cctv that could be used for gardai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,918 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

This would be considered tame for the red line OP. Heard of far worse.

Unfortunately the country has no police force or justice system so you take your chances.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,264 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Parenting again. No doubt they thought they were at the library studying. Fear not, this lot will be breeding another load shortly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Force Carrier

The type of people who attacked you would use 'me' instead of 'I' in constructing that sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Giveaway

The type of people who attacked you would use 'me' instead of 'I' in constructing that sentence.

All new social housing to be built on the blaskets

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

You should have knocked one of the cùnts out.

Got attacked in Eyre Square by a bunch of teenage girls slapping me around the head. A big group of big lads waiting next to a tree for me to react so they could beat the crap out of me.

It must be weird going through life knowing you're scum and having no respect for yourself.

Then it would be about roving bands of foreigners attacking innocent Irish girls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Got attacked in Eyre Square by a bunch of teenage girls slapping me around the head. A big group of big lads waiting next to a tree for me to react so they could beat the crap out of me.
    I would expect behaviour like this from jackeens but that it happens in Galway too isn't on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

And its going to get worse. There is a clamour to build more social/council estates to house these people. And in decent areas as well...well they won't remain decent for long if a load of council estate types enter the area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

biko wrote: »
    I would expect behaviour like this from jackeens but that it happens in Galway too isn't on.

Could've been on a day trip. Too many buses and trains out of Dublin for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

The LUAS Red Line is a fantastic place for scumbags. They never ever pay, the thought wouldn't even cross their scummy little minds. Free on. Into town. Act the cu*t in there for the day hassling people and then back home for free. Meanwhile the people getting the abuse are paying on in and out of town after working a hard day's graft. It's a haven for scrotes. It also handily passes the 4 Courts too for them. Animals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Failed hard left policy of free money for life for welfare parasites is the root cause.

However, I don't understand why you wouldn't defend yourself physically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Been travelling on the Luas since it opened on both lines. Never had any problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The inter-generational welfare trap. Just another round of unloved and uneducated children reaching their teenage years and becoming what they’ve always been predestined to become - ugly scumbags with a chip on the shoulder.

The problem for the more polite sections of society is the scumbag tends to breed like rabbits, while the dumb fûcks who go to work and pay tax aren’t having enough kids. So the old welfare system is starting to burst slightly at the seams.

It’s all going to end in tears.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭jopax

mkdon wrote: »
    what is it with the scum around city centre.

riding the luas to city centre group of teenagers (mainly girls) tried stealing girlfriends phone

when they were unsuccessful they tried to attack herself and me and laughed and hurled racist abuse.

shocked tourists came to side but this is outrageous

where is the security this was 7pm in city centre crowded luas

beware of the teenage general scum around city centre

this makes my blood boil

move them out to timbuktu or out of Ireland- ashamed to be Irish with people like that being the future

I hope you don't mind me asking but what kind of racist abuse did they use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,767 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Sorry to hear Op unfortunately the red line is a magnet for nack bags. Other than a carefully targeted programme of eugenics, probably not going to change any time soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

The inter-generational welfare trap. Just another round of unloved and uneducated children reaching their teenage years and becoming what they’ve always been predestined to become - ugly scumbags with a chip on the shoulder.

The problem for the more polite sections of society is the scumbag tends to breed like rabbits, while the dumb fûcks who go to work and pay tax aren’t having enough kids. So the old welfare system is starting to burst slightly at the seams.

It’s all going to end in tears.

Kind of a crass and mean spirited way to describe it, but other than that nothing wrong with what you are saying. You have a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,721 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

It must be weird going through life knowing you're scum and having no respect for yourself.

They’ll never know or be conscious that they are scum though!

It’s like the old analogy about being stupid. It’s only difficult for other people, and not the stupid people themselves.

Omackeral wrote: »
    The LUAS Red Line is a fantastic place for scumbags. They never ever pay, the thought wouldn't even cross their scummy little minds. Free on. Into town. Act the cu*t in there for the day hassling people and then back home for free. Meanwhile the people getting the abuse are paying on in and out of town after working a hard day's graft. It's a haven for scrotes. It also handily passes the 4 Courts too for them. Animals

Yeh every major public transport initiative seems to cater for the scumier areas while the piblic transport to the working outer suburbs is cack. All future trams should be built to areas where the buses are all packed at 7am, not to areas where the buses only get busy after 11am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,940 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Isn't the LUAS Red line suggested as being the main mode of transport for many who will be going to the new children's hospital?

myshirt wrote: »
    Kind of a crass and mean spirited way to describe it, but other than that nothing wrong with what you are saying. You have a point.

You want a sterile version, retreat behind four walls. These vermin are multiplying at an alarming rate. Three generations under one roof that never worked a tap, incentivised by daddy government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Been travelling on the Luas since it opened on both lines. Never had any problems.

Like that.

I do find it brilliant for people watching though, some spectacles get on at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

spurious wrote: »
    Parenting again. No doubt they thought they were at the library studying. Fear not, this lot will be breeding another load shortly.

Like bacterium they do replicate quickly

Isn't the LUAS Red line suggested as being the main mode of transport for many who will be going to the new children's hospital?
    Brilliant. The kids will be robbing you on their way into seeing their specialist psychologist(they are not bad, they are "sick").

Like that.

I do find it brilliant for people watching though, some spectacles get on at times.
    Its all fun and games until you become the spectacle, bleeding on the ground while everybody looks away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Maybe that will incentivise the country to finally introduce a dedicated transport police, that would soon take the wind out of a few sails of the fare Dodgers and scummers.

I've a good bit of experience with using public transport in Australia, and the transport police there are efficient and professional - they're the probable sole reason that public transport over there is on the whole an absolute pleasure to use.

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Shocking stuff but at least you had the street smarts to know what was happening.
    I know of someone who was walking along a busy street on a Saturday night, passed a mixed group of young adults and got talking to one of the girls that was walking alongside him - not chatting her up, just being friendly- when suddenly one of the guys punched him to the side of the head and knocked him to the pavement and then just walked on.

Sad to have to say it for the day that's in it but given the amount of all day drinking today this evening will probably be particularly dangerous for street violence. Hope that Tourism Ireland makes our overseas visitors aware of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Haven't been on the Luas since Thin Lizzy sang about a killer being on one

Maybe that will incentivise the country to finally introduce a dedicated transport police, that would soon take the wind out of a few sails of the fare Dodgers and scummers.

I've a good bit of experience with using public transport in Australia, and the transport police there are efficient and professional - they're the probable sole reason that public transport over there is on the whole an absolute pleasure to use.
    New transport police will be useless unless the revolvinng door/concurrent sentencing court system is sorted out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,429 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Could you sue Transdev for failing to provide a safe environment for travelling in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Could you sue Transdev for failing to provide a safe environment for travelling in?

Yes.
    Shouldn't cost more than about 20 grand in legal bills for the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,708 ✭✭✭corks finest

Modern Ireland- lack of parenting,scrotes bringing more scrotes into the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Relikk

Haven't been on the Luas since Thin Lizzy sang about a killer being on one

Pretty sure they were referencing Jerry Lee Luas.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Do you go into hospital wards and loudly declare "well I'VE never had a heart attack or cancer"? Ridiculous attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,767 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I worked in city west for a while so used it as my main transport in and out of town for meetings. Most days in and out without incident but the few stuck out.

Shortly after starting, had a nack bag challenge me for my phone one morning. “That’s a nice phone and it’s mine bud”. Saw an Asian student surrounded and attacked for no reason by a gang of feral nacks. Security at heuston not interested.

Another afternoon I was at bluebell when about about 6 lads got on - covered their faces and helped themselves to whatever was available mostly from female passengers - mobile phones, hand bags. Off at the next stop as if nothing happened. Snatching mobiles was quite common.

Lots of ugly incidents with nacks and junkies in the city centre, intimidation and harassment of passengers. Saw a female and male Junky knock lumps out of each other. Open drug dealing at Rialto was common.

Two nacks in front of me got off another morning at kings wood - helped themselves to a bike that from some random guy at the stop.

Like any mass public transport system it has its issues, but certainly the lack of policing and general air of menace by a few nacks can make it a decidedly unpleasant experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,329 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

OP probably would then have been the one on the wrong end of a Garda charge.

namloc1980 wrote: »
    OP probably would then have been the one on the wrong end of a Garda charge.

Yeah, if that incident happend at all. I'm detecting a slight whiff of BS off this thread already. A post and run job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

They do their best. They have roving security men that look like a SWAT team.
    The difference between them and a real SWAT team is they are unarmed and they aren't allowed to hurt anyone.
    They can only ask the scumbags to leave the tram. Scumbags will usually then get off, and get onto the next one instead.

Job done.

recedite wrote: »
    They do their best. They have roving security men that look like a SWAT team.
    The difference between them and a real SWAT team is they are unarmed and they aren't allowed to hurt anyone.
    They can only ask the scumbags to leave the tram. Scumbags will usually then get off, and get onto the next one instead.

Job done.

the few times I've been on the red line the biggest take away was how gigantic the security guards were, their heads would almost be touching the ceiling, they grow em big in eastern europe that's for sure. commuted on the green line for nearly 2 years and cant remember much security, they probably need it now it extends out to broombridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,257 ✭✭✭Elessar

OP you should be ashamed of yourself.

These disadvantaged youth needed a mobile phone to barter for the latest adidas fashion so they can better integrate into society. And you had the cheek to say no?! And then complain about it?! How dare you.

As a well mannered tax paying citizen this is YOUR fault and you should immediately apologise and hand over your phone. I have a right mind to inform the Gardai of your outrageous carry on in this incident. These youths deserve better than not being allowed to harass and violently attack people with no consequences whatsoever.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

When I read these types of threads which pop up regularly on boards it makes me happy to be living in the hills of Clare with the few cows and no knackers, junkies or scumbags. There's a load of dubs living around here and all have the same story of not wanting their kids growing up in Dublin and not have their kids mixing with the dregs of society, and reading the threads on boards lately its easy to see why quite country living is appealing to them

When I read these types of threads which pop up regularly on boards it makes me happy to be living in the hills of Clare with the few cows and no knackers, junkies or scumbags. There's a load of dubs living around here and all have the same story of not wanting their kids growing up in Dublin and not have their kids mixing with the dregs of society, and reading the threads on boards lately it easy to see why quite country living is appealing to them

Do you not get burgled senseless every night by gangs of.... family gangs? or have them turn up on your front garden and set up camp?

El_Bee wrote: »
    Do you not get burgled senseless every night by gangs of.... family gangs? or have them turn up on your front garden and set up camp?

I believe they are known in the media as travelling gangs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

This would be considered tame for the red line OP. Heard of far worse.

Unfortunately the country has no police force or justice system so you take your chances.

There’s 120 of said Gardai keeping New York safe in the parade this weekend

I believe they are known in the media as travelling gangs.

I didn't want to offend anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Rural living is great (if you can stay out of your neighbour's septic tank)

recedite wrote: »
    Rural living is great (if you can stay out of your neighbour's septic tank)

I wasn't even joking before though, aren't burglaries endemic now in large parts of the country? As bad as Dublin is once your outside the pale it's essentially Mad Max territory.

Try traveling from the Red Cow to 3 Arena on a Friday evening! Talk of an eye opener! A violent fight broke out between 2 inebriated females. They then got stuck into their male companions for not standing up for them. The males continued drinking. One of the females dragged the other off the tram by the hair when it stopped next. Their male companions stayed put!

We got a taxi back to Red Cow after the concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

El_Bee wrote: »
    I wasn't even joking before though, aren't burglaries endemic now in large parts of the country? As bad as Dublin is once your outside the pale it's essentially Mad Max territory.

I always love listening to Paddy o’Gormans court reports from Ennis. Some real gold.