girlfriend and I attacked by teenage girls on Luas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Could you sue Transdev for failing to provide a safe environment for travelling in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Could you sue Transdev for failing to provide a safe environment for travelling in?

Yes.
    Shouldn't cost more than about 20 grand in legal bills for the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

Modern Ireland- lack of parenting,scrotes bringing more scrotes into the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭Relikk

Haven't been on the Luas since Thin Lizzy sang about a killer being on one

Pretty sure they were referencing Jerry Lee Luas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Been travelling on the Luas since it opened on both lines. Never had any problems.

Do you go into hospital wards and loudly declare "well I'VE never had a heart attack or cancer"? Ridiculous attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Been travelling on the Luas since it opened on both lines. Never had any problems.

I worked in city west for a while so used it as my main transport in and out of town for meetings. Most days in and out without incident but the few stuck out.

Shortly after starting, had a nack bag challenge me for my phone one morning. “That’s a nice phone and it’s mine bud”. Saw an Asian student surrounded and attacked for no reason by a gang of feral nacks. Security at heuston not interested.

Another afternoon I was at bluebell when about about 6 lads got on - covered their faces and helped themselves to whatever was available mostly from female passengers - mobile phones, hand bags. Off at the next stop as if nothing happened. Snatching mobiles was quite common.

Lots of ugly incidents with nacks and junkies in the city centre, intimidation and harassment of passengers. Saw a female and male Junky knock lumps out of each other. Open drug dealing at Rialto was common.

Two nacks in front of me got off another morning at kings wood - helped themselves to a bike that from some random guy at the stop.

Like any mass public transport system it has its issues, but certainly the lack of policing and general air of menace by a few nacks can make it a decidedly unpleasant experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,775 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

You should have knocked one of the cùnts out.

OP probably would then have been the one on the wrong end of a Garda charge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

namloc1980 wrote: »
    OP probably would then have been the one on the wrong end of a Garda charge.

Yeah, if that incident happend at all. I'm detecting a slight whiff of BS off this thread already. A post and run job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭recedite

They do their best. They have roving security men that look like a SWAT team.
    The difference between them and a real SWAT team is they are unarmed and they aren't allowed to hurt anyone.
    They can only ask the scumbags to leave the tram. Scumbags will usually then get off, and get onto the next one instead.

Job done.

recedite wrote: »
    They do their best. They have roving security men that look like a SWAT team.
    The difference between them and a real SWAT team is they are unarmed and they aren't allowed to hurt anyone.
    They can only ask the scumbags to leave the tram. Scumbags will usually then get off, and get onto the next one instead.

Job done.

the few times I've been on the red line the biggest take away was how gigantic the security guards were, their heads would almost be touching the ceiling, they grow em big in eastern europe that's for sure. commuted on the green line for nearly 2 years and cant remember much security, they probably need it now it extends out to broombridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

OP you should be ashamed of yourself.

These disadvantaged youth needed a mobile phone to barter for the latest adidas fashion so they can better integrate into society. And you had the cheek to say no?! And then complain about it?! How dare you.

As a well mannered tax paying citizen this is YOUR fault and you should immediately apologise and hand over your phone. I have a right mind to inform the Gardai of your outrageous carry on in this incident. These youths deserve better than not being allowed to harass and violently attack people with no consequences whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Still waters

When I read these types of threads which pop up regularly on boards it makes me happy to be living in the hills of Clare with the few cows and no knackers, junkies or scumbags. There's a load of dubs living around here and all have the same story of not wanting their kids growing up in Dublin and not have their kids mixing with the dregs of society, and reading the threads on boards lately its easy to see why quite country living is appealing to them

When I read these types of threads which pop up regularly on boards it makes me happy to be living in the hills of Clare with the few cows and no knackers, junkies or scumbags. There's a load of dubs living around here and all have the same story of not wanting their kids growing up in Dublin and not have their kids mixing with the dregs of society, and reading the threads on boards lately it easy to see why quite country living is appealing to them

Do you not get burgled senseless every night by gangs of.... family gangs? or have them turn up on your front garden and set up camp?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

El_Bee wrote: »
    Do you not get burgled senseless every night by gangs of.... family gangs? or have them turn up on your front garden and set up camp?

I believe they are known in the media as travelling gangs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

This would be considered tame for the red line OP. Heard of far worse.

Unfortunately the country has no police force or justice system so you take your chances.

There’s 120 of said Gardai keeping New York safe in the parade this weekend

I believe they are known in the media as travelling gangs.

I didn't want to offend anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Rural living is great (if you can stay out of your neighbour's septic tank)

I wasn't even joking before though, aren't burglaries endemic now in large parts of the country? As bad as Dublin is once your outside the pale it's essentially Mad Max territory.

Try traveling from the Red Cow to 3 Arena on a Friday evening! Talk of an eye opener! A violent fight broke out between 2 inebriated females. They then got stuck into their male companions for not standing up for them. The males continued drinking. One of the females dragged the other off the tram by the hair when it stopped next. Their male companions stayed put!

We got a taxi back to Red Cow after the concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

I wasn't even joking before though, aren't burglaries endemic now in large parts of the country? As bad as Dublin is once your outside the pale it's essentially Mad Max territory.

I always love listening to Paddy o’Gormans court reports from Ennis. Some real gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

I know this is a few years old
    https://www.newstalk.com/news/figures-show-wexford-as-county-with-most-burglaries-by-head-of-population-627632
    According to the figures published in today's Irish Independent, there are 256 burglaries per 100,000 people in Wexford - with Dublin, Kildare, Louth, Wicklow and Laois having the next highest rates.

Wexford has more than eight times the amount of burglaries than Monaghan, which is the lowest ranking county.

The figures suggest that counties in the Dublin commuter belt and ones connected to high quality road networks are the worst hit by robberies, with gangs using motorways for speedy getaways.

Donegal, Leitrim and Monaghan have the lowest recorded burglary rates - all with less than 50 burglaries per 100,000 people.

Cork also ranks quite low, with just 87 burglaries per 100,000.

That compares with 249 per 100,000 for Dublin, and 241 in Kildare.

So the most remote counties have the lowest burglary rates and that Dublin and counties near by with a motorway link to Dubln are the worst.
    Makes sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

I often go to Dublin for meetings and I use the train from Galway to Heuston. Getting the Luas from Heuston to the city centre is always an experience. Full of scumbags, druggies, beggars etc. I have seen a few minor incidents but nothing too serious (yet). I do find it ironic when passing the CCJ and the Four Courts that Dublin city centre is turning into a lawless kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Still waters

I was talking about my little part of the world, Ennis is 45 min away from me, obviously there's knackers and scumbags in Clare but what I meant is where I am is remote enough that we dont get the sort of trouble others get in close proximity to larger urban areas, I wasn't trying to be facetious

I know, and I envy your peace and quiet, I'd just be worried about living outside Dublin, because at least we have some semblance of a working police force here, and it's not like you can defend your property even, or your burglars will sue you.

But that's only the case if you go to one of the counties connected to Dublin becuase gangs from Dublin use the motorways to flee burglaries.
    If you go to the counties that are actually remote the burglary rates are only a small fraction compared to Dublin. Also the gardi can't un-burglarise your house and rarely catch anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

tuxy wrote: »
    But that's only the case if you go to one of the counties connected to Dublin becuase gangs from Dublin use the motorways to flee burglaries.
    If you go to the counties that are actually remote the burglary rates are only a small fraction compared to Dublin. Also the gardi can't un-burglarise your house and rarely catch anyone.
    Travelling gangs don't just come from Dublin.

pablo128 wrote: »
    Travelling gangs don't just come from Dublin.

Very true but they do tend to come from higher population areas and Dublin is the highest population area in Ireland. All you have to do is check the statics which back this up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Fifty grades of shay.

And why would you be in your neighbours septic tank, pretty stupid comment.
    Very sorry to read of your trouble op, but this type of behaviour is rife countrywide, not just on the luas.
    Our own county town here is a cesspit, that's Longford BTW, I avoid if possible for any social events, I tend to only use for business and shopping purposes.

And why would you be in your neighbours septic tank, pretty stupid comment.

You don't get the reference? This has been a very long trial and is still ongoing

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/farmer-killed-love-rival-and-hid-body-in-slurry-tank-to-restart-affair-court-hears-37744020.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Fifty grades of shay.

Ah right, that did escape me.
    But the canal in Dublin has probably turned up more of them too.