Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Akita, Family Pet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭jamesd

Have a 1.5 Yr old american Akita oursleves and he's always in the house, causes no damage int he house at all and only chews on his own chew ropes or toys we give him. We dont have kids but he has had many kids / strangers in the house and once we are about he has been very good and gentle.
    Excellent guard dog when outside and we know if he barks that there is someone or soemthing about.
    Every evening at half 5 he goes to the window and watches out until I am home, my OH said he knows when i am coming and just rests his chin on the window sill.

@adser @jamesd

What do you think? Would it be cruel for me to get an akita or two when myself and my girlfriend work 9 - 6/7 ? I want to get them, i'd even try get walkers in during the week to take them for walks etc. They'd get plenty of exercise in the evenings and weekends - it's just the loneliness during the days that would bother me. Is this cruel?

Would akitas do ok in dog day care?

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭adser53

@adser @jamesd

What do you think? Would it be cruel for me to get an akita or two when myself and my girlfriend work 9 - 6/7 ? I want to get them, i'd even try get walkers in during the week to take them for walks etc. They'd get plenty of exercise in the evenings and weekends - it's just the loneliness during the days that would bother me. Is this cruel?

Would akitas do ok in dog day care?

Personally speaking, it's my opinion that everyone has to work and if we didn't, we couldn't afford dogs in the first place. We were in the exact same situation as you and I would do nothing different if I had to do it all over again.

Say you get your pup, one (or both) of you would ideally take a week off (at least) to get the dog settled and to start on toilet training. TT won't be accomplished overnight so expect some accidents over the coming weeks but I'm sure you expect this with any pup. So your off for a week, dogs settled and training started, you should also start getting the dog used to being on their own for periods of time.
    99.9% of dogs sleep most of the day when their owners are away. Akitas are no different and pups will especially sleep more. They also say that a pups excercise requirements are 5 minutes per month of age (i.e 4 months old = 20 minutes of excercise) to prevent any damage to your pups joints.

Now I know some people on here will disagree with me but taking the above into account.... your new pup will be aclimatised to its new situation quite quickly, will sleep nearly all day and can only get 20 mins excercise a day anyway. By the time it's older, and needs more excercise, it will be perfectly used to being on its own during the day as it will know your home in the evening and thats when fun time is.
    The important thing really is that the dog is walked every night (and try for every morning too- even if it's only for 20 mins) and gets lots of time with you when you're home. I said already that Akitas "need" to be with their families but they are intelligent enough to realise when your not there and will sleep peacefully until you come home. Then they just want to be with you. Also, surprisingly for their size, their excercise requirements aren't huge and will do fine on short walks as well as day long hikes.

My situation is very like yours and the dogs are only in when I'm home (so my OH really might as well be still working). They are walked almost every night (I say almost because sometimes I'm just too feckin tired!) and get brought up the mountains and such at the weekends for a good run around but are in every night (like I said, thats the important bit).

I stand by my statement that you shouldn't get 2 together as pups as they will become too dependent on eachother and will most likely ignore you and they are hard enough to train as is. Get one, wait til he/she is a year or so old and then get another. Also I wouldnt recommend a same sex pairing as they seem to argue with eachother more so than a male-female pairing. I suppose thats the same for any breed really.

Ah sure look I'm rambling now, you shouldnt get me started on these amazing dogs!

Oh sorry,as for dog walkers, I've never used one but it can only help. As for doggy day care....hmmmm..... again I've never used them BUT being a restricted breed, they probably wont take akitas. It would do wonders for the dog if they did though as the socialisation it would get in a place like that would be brilliant. Training classes are also highly recommended to train you, your dog, develop a bond between yis and for socialisation.

Jesus I'm out of breath! :D GO for it man, just don't leave the dog to live alone all the time and make sure to make it part of your family. Any other questions, feel free to ask and I'll try keep the answers shorter...I swear ;) Click on my sig to see pics of my 2 American Akitas too:D

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭fishfoodie

Great pics on your site Adser !!

But don't you think you should warn other Akita owners about their obvious bog-hole problem :D

DFB0AB80161D403ABEC6E5BC0B5E9271-800.jpg

9AB25F05D3B14439BB49C65B81BC74F0-800.jpg

Always good to see these guys having fun !

fishfoodie wrote: »

But don't you think you should warn other Akita owners about their obvious bog-hole problem :D

Thanks fishfoodie :D and I said nothin cos the joy of a filthy, sopping wet Akita, fresh from a bog hole, is a joy that all new Akita owners should discover for themselves lol :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭lrushe

adser53 wrote: »
    As for doggy day care....hmmmm..... again I've never used them BUT being a restricted breed, they probably wont take akitas.

I know DTI take Akitas in their doggy daycare, DTI are 'friends' on my facebook page so I often see their pics of new dogs in daycare and there is definately an Akita there.

lrushe wrote: »
    I know DTI take Akitas in their doggy daycare, DTI are 'friends' on my facebook page so I often see their pics of new dogs in daycare and there is definately an Akita there.

Ah deadly! I happily stand corrected on that :D

A friend of mine has 2 akitas (2 yrs old now) and they are home alone all day in the back yard and seem very happy dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Angelmangle

I have to completely disagree with one of the earlier comments about Japanese Spitz and Akitas having similar temperaments. They don't!

We had three Japanese Spitz for many years and they are fabulous dogs, the breed were initially bred solely as companion animals. We showed all of our dogs and I've meet quite a few Akita owners and their dogs through that and while I really like Akitas in my opinion they are in no way similar in temperament to the Spitz. I've found Akitas to be much more aloof and self contained with strangers and from what I've been told by their owners they take a lot of work and training. My male spitz was very friendly with everybody and the girls tended to keep themselves to themselves until they get to know you but I really don't think that the two breeds are in any way similar in their temperaments in my opinion :o

I have to completely disagree with one of the earlier comments about Japanese Spitz and Akitas having similar temperaments. They don't!

We had three Japanese Spitz for many years and they are fabulous dogs, the breed were initially bred solely as companion animals. We showed all of our dogs and I've meet quite a few Akita owners and their dogs through that and while I really like Akitas in my opinion they are in no way similar in temperament to the Spitz. I've found Akitas to be much more aloof and self contained with strangers and from what I've been told by their owners they take a lot of work and training. My male spitz was very friendly with everybody and the girls tended to keep themselves to themselves until they get to know you but I really don't think that the two breeds are in any way similar in their temperaments in my opinion :o

You're dead right. They're completely different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

fishfoodie wrote: »

DFB0AB80161D403ABEC6E5BC0B5E9271-800.jpg

9AB25F05D3B14439BB49C65B81BC74F0-800.jpg

what are the halters on their muzzles?

They're dogmatic head collars that you clip the leash onto rather than onto their collars. Actually Kai (the smaller akita) is wearing a Halti headcollar but they're basically the same. They just give you greater control when walking them and cause no pain or discomfort

What size of a dogmatic head collar is it? Are they adjustable? Would like to get one for our's.

Ill check when I get home. The bit around the head is adjustable but the bit around the muzzle isnt. Im nearly sure it says american akita on the sizing guide on their webbie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,050 ✭✭✭✭tk123

lrushe wrote: »

Yep - he's friends with my golden retriever lol :pac::D

Ill check when I get home. The bit around the head is adjustable but the bit around the muzzle isnt. Im nearly sure it says american akita on the sizing guide on their webbie

Found that, it says 5L, can they open their mouth with it on?

jamesd wrote: »
    Found that, it says 5L, can they open their mouth with it on?
    I'm nearly sure that's the size I got. and yes they can. the muzzle bit is quite loose, asif they pull against you or attempt to drag you down the road, it tightens. Not in a painful, squeezing way, it just gives you more control over them

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭Tripp

I have a Female American Akita and id agree with everything that Discostuy said about the Pros and cons of the breed.

My akita is very loyal & protective of the Family and the House and will never bark unless something is wrong.
    They need so much attention when their pups , you have to train them from day 1 or your in for a tough time with them.

Heres some pics of my Akita

She's gorgeous!

Tripp wrote: »
    I have a Female American Akita and id agree with everything that Discostuy said about the Pros and cons of the breed.

My akita is very loyal & protective of the Family and the House and will never bark unless something is wrong.
    They need so much attention when their pups , you have to train them from day 1 or your in for a tough time with them.

She's actually the dead spit of our guy which we got from a woman that had to give him up. How old is your girl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭lrushe

Don't Akita's look so at home in the snow!!!:)

Shes 3 and yes they look so at home in the snow, Those snow pics where from the snow "The Big Freeze". She loved chasing snow balls and trying to eat them. Then wondering where the snow ball went when she caught it!

Might be a sister so :eek: they really are alike

What the hell they are the spitting image of each other :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭turbodiesel

<link to rescue removed>

I'm raising this thread from the dungeon in the hope that some of the Akita owners are still going to get a notification and ask how Akita ownership is going or went 10 years later.

I've just adopted Zanna on Saturday.

I don't have big dog experience but have read a lot of pros and cons over the previous 3 months before taking the plunge.

She's living with myself, wife, 19 and 17 yr old kids and seems to have slotted right in as if she was always part of the gang.

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭jinxycat

I still have my Akita Millie ten years later :). She’ll be 13 this October. She defies the odds at everything. I was told she wouldn’t live past eight, glad she has!!!
    I was told she’d severe hip dysplasia and by looking at her scans she shouldn’t be even walking but she’s a fighter and flies around the place when excited but does love her sleep too.

My guy only made it to about 6 years, took a fit and never recovered

He was calm around strangers and small dogs, great with kids. Not good with other large male dogs at all. Broke a lot of stuff around the house, including a door (long story). Very confident and curious, he'd would go out wandering if a gate was left open, did it twice and caused panic.

Great dog, miss him a lot.

One thing I found invaluable was a harness that clipped the lead at the chest so he couldnt pull on the on the lead, I got him at six months and he had very little lead training so I only had a short window to get him flying straight before his would have made him unmanageable

That said i was standing talking to another dog owner once, not paying attention, he saw a dog he knew coming up behind us and decided to charge towards it, caught me totally unawares and I was flipped 360 over onto my back. I would have been about 13 stone at the time....big strong dogs