Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cold: Snow/Ice - Sat 17th March Onward - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Registered Users Posts: 16,656 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

NAGDEFI wrote: »
    Ireland played England in Twickenham in 1986, March and snow was cleared to the sides of the pitch.

Big Dean Richards made his debut and scored 3 tries from No. 8 as the Irish pack was destroyed.

8339003.html

Check out at 56min 40sec on this Bill McClaren documentary. 15th March 1986!

I am getting an error message on that. Bill Mc Claren was a legend. The match will go ahead this weekend NAGDEFI;. The RFU makes too much money for it not to- about 10 million is what i've read. I can't believe England kept faith in Hughes and Lawes after they were bested by the Scottish forwards.

Oh wait this is the wrong forum for that discussion:o

To a snowy weekend and Ireland's fourth Grand Slam!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭screamer

Ah not surprised really. We had a good 6 inches of snow last march 23rd. March of many weather's.....
    Bit sick of winter though. I knew it was going to be cold and snowy but fed up of it now just want to feel the sunshine on my skin for a change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 755 ✭✭✭NAGDEFI

When you click Nacho then click on the part of the error message that says watch this video on youtube.

Or open youtube. Enter 'Bill McClaren's best bits'. At 56min 40sec you can see the snow :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

These snow events are like buses, none for 36 years and then boom two together!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

The latest appreciable snowfall I've ever seen came a full month after the warmest St Patrick's Day I've ever experienced, 1999 was the year.

http://www.wetterzentrale.de/maps/archive/1999/bra/BRA_1_1999041500_45.png

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭snowbabe

Ireland played England in Twickenham in 1986, March and snow was cleared to the sides of the pitch.

Mad seeing the snow all cleared to the side, might see it again on Saturday with a slightly better result too .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

In both 1982 and 1987 when there was a lot of disruption caused by snowfall, Ireland beat England in the rugby both times. Omens?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

We held the to nil in 1987 if i rem correctly?

Yep Keith crossan was flying that day. No snow just rain that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

For the first time ever in my life.... Feck no. Please no. I've had enough snow for a while!!

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Monkeynut

For the first time ever in my life.... Feck no. Please no. I've had enough snow for a while!!
    storm gEMMA says yes!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭spookwoman

It was snowing around the 21/22 of March last year if i remember correctly. Late March is a prime part of the year for snow. Easter mostly falls late March/early April and as we all know snow is more common at Easter than at Christmas. March many weathers.

I remember missing a day from Primary School for snow on 2nd April 1987. 2 weeks later an early heatwave began.

The latest i remember snow falling and lying at home was Friday 14th May 1993 with 2 inches on the ground at 5pm..mid May.

yep 22nd march 2017 good dumping of snow up the mountains. Big problem is if we get a load of snow again small businesses will kick up big time if they have to close
    33592666555_d72a267493_z.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭SD_DRACULA

as long as it doesn't stick and the whole country doesn't shut down again it's fine

• Registered Users Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭pauldry

Sure this snow is happenin Saturday night and Sunday. Wer all off so fine.

Will -7c be beat in this spell?

This Winters been the most exciting since 2010!

It just keeps giving which is why Summer will give too.

30c here we come!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭spoonerhead

Still parts of lying snow in parts of Dublin and Kildare, even at low levels! Goes to show the size of the drifts and amount of snow that fell. In 2010 all the snow at lower levels disappeared in 36 hours after a temperature rise. This has been over a week and it’s still white on both sides of the Greenhills Road!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,500 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Just want to say the forecast in the OP will be updated later today to reflect the latest computer model runs. I know a lot of lurkers who will have been badly disrupted previously will want clarity. The OP currently does not contain a forecast so to speak, it is only preliminary. :)

I can give a solitary update at this time as the first model out this morning would suggest a risk of possibly some disruption (at least discomfortingly cold) at the St Patrick's Day parade in Dublin.

icon-0-105.png?13-00

But that's only one. Need the whole set in the morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

Bloody foreigners bringing there snowy weather to Ireland :p

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

How likely would the currently modelled snowfalls be to disrupt (result in postponement of) the Ire v Eng rugby match in Twickenham on Saturday? Or is it too early to say?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,656 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

How likely would the currently modelled snowfalls be to disrupt (result in postponement of) the Ire v Eng rugby match in Twickenham on Saturday? Or is it too early to say?

It won't be postponed or disrupted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

Can you say that with confidence Nacho? I do hope you're right but some of these charts would suggest the weather may become a problem around London...

That... That is the chart I want to see at day 4 repeatedly in winter- Superb :cool:

ECM1-96.GIF?13-12

ECM continues the dream - A very cold weekend coming, rugby aside this will make up the main headlines for sure-

120_mslp850uk.png?cb=28

ECM1-120.GIF?13-12

• Registered Users Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭irishrover99

No premium league games were cancelled during the snow two weeks ago. Twickenham will be able to deal with it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭esposito

BLIZZARD7 wrote: »
    Can you say that with confidence Nacho? I do hope you're right but some of these charts would suggest the weather may become a problem around London...

Sure look at the NFL. They play in heavy snow regardless. An orange rugby ball might be needed in Twickenham.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I reported this post. The cheek of you!

Well said.. Spent that last blast of snow muttering COME WEST! I WANNA MAKE A SNOWMAN! Thought we the Cork snowshield idea too.. Tables have been turned now..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

But didnt someone say earlier it doesnt have undersoil heating? Every Premier League ground would so the EPL continuing untouched last time is no guarantee of the rugby going ahead. I would say there is a good 25% chance it won't. Best news this morning on that score is that the cold now only arrives in London at around 6am in Saturday which is a bit later than previously forecast.

RobertKK wrote: »
    Still have snow on the side of roads and in te ditches of fields around here and it won't be gone before we get more.

They say here that the lying snow on Croagh Patrick last weekend meant more snow. When I was on a North Sea island, the locals said that until the snow on a certain bank melted, it would snow again and they were always right.

wakka12 wrote: »
    Well they said snow free west and north the last cold spell and most areas in those regions got at least some snow, some areas got lots like galway

West Mayo got a tantalising sprinkling.. Never thought the day would come when I was muttering SNOW, NOW!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

This does not bode well for our bees this year, who need warmth at this time of the year. A spell like this we could call the Bee-st from the East.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Artane2002

That ECM chart for Sunday is jaw dropping. Especially because it is almost into the last third of March. Looks like highs of around -1 to 2C for most but there is slightly milder air in the far south so if there is sunshine there it may get up to 5°C.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Yawn, 2 weeks ago was enough - this weather can go **** itself at this stage. What are the chances of a nice 30c+ summer now to balance things out? :D