Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motorists intentionally spraying cyclists with windscreen washer

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Stick a pin in the passenger side washer jet and you can move it so it sprays to the left of the car.

So yes, it is possible and yes, I've come across it before. But not sure if it was done intentionally. I suspect once a driver realises that the washer jet is pointing towards the left, they spray a cyclist as a joke.

I may have intentionally done this in my MkIi escort I had when I was a student and I may have, on the odd occasion, intentionally sprayed pedestrians, cyclists, policemen, old people .......

• Registered Users Posts: 16,902 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Ken Tucky wrote:
    Car rental places normally use cars to transport people not vans.

In fairness to op, they use mini buses mostly. Many mini buses are vans with seats in them

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Will have to try this. Thanks for the tip OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,283 ✭✭✭positron

I get sprayed often when riding motorbike, usually when I catch-up with the car ahead and waiting for an opportunity to overtake, or waiting for them to move over from the overtaking lane on motorways etc. Its not too bad as I have full face helmet and waterproof gear head to toe, way more unpleasant if you get sprayed while out cycling.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,054 ✭✭✭buffalo

Pompous wrote: »
    I guess it's just a big joke to everyone.

On that stretch of road I regularly get beeped at and suffer through 'punishment passes', all because the road raging driver cannot understand that the 'cycle lane' is unusable.

And now this. Now I have to have unknown chemicals sprayed in my mouth and eyes because a man-child never learned to process emotions in a healthy way.

I'm not allowing myself to get upset about it, but it does disappoint me so, so much.

I've had it happen quite a few times. The times when it's combined with a punishment pass I presume it's deliberate, but occasionally it's happened out of the blue and probably by accident.

I don't think even perfectly aligned window-washers keep all liquid on the windscreen, especially while the car is in motion and there's wind whipping past.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,113 ✭✭✭homer911

I've received a lot more spray from cyclists without mudguards!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

more cyclist paranoia ... relax lads , the world isn't out to get you.... most people dont care about you .

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭AlphabetCards

I've thought about adjusting mine to spray cyclists, especially after coming home to Ireland for a break recently and had cyclists two and threes keeping me from passing on the way out to Glendalough for 30 minutes. Thought this kind of ****e was only in the imagination of boards.ie users and Kavanagh poems but I finally witnessed it myself.

Oops69 wrote: »
    more cyclist paranoia ... relax lads , the world isn't out to get you.... most people dont care about you .

...then along comes my post!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Ken Tucky wrote: »
    Are Enterprise not a van rental company.?? Random driver finds rental van washer jets are spraying outside windscreen area and acts the prick. Outrageous stuff indeed

They do long term lease too I think, I've seen them used by other companies when their branded vans have been off the road or the company needs extra vehicles.
    I've thought about adjusting mine to spray cyclists, especially after coming home to Ireland for a break recently and had cyclists two and threes keeping me from passing on the way out to Glendalough for 30 minutes. Thought this kind of ****e was only in the imagination of boards.ie users and Kavanagh poems but I finally witnessed it myself.

30 minutes? Didn't happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,014 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Don't come back. Thanks.

Lumen wrote: »
    Don't come back. Thanks.

Nah sorry mate the MTB is just too good in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,288 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I live on the Glendalough road. I've never been delayed unduly by cyclists. Other motorists on the other hand, pretty much every single day during tourist season, and weekends all year around...

As for misaligned sprays over shooting the top - they're not necessarily misaligned. If they're set too low they won't hit the windscreen at motorway speeds.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,419 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Happened to me 3 years ago. A car (which I thought was overtaking me) slowed down on the then empty Mt Merrion avenue to match my speed and I remained level with the front of the bonnet. Then it suddenly started to drown me. The jet came directly from the front light washer and was set only to the left of the vehicle, i.e. it didn't rebound off the lamp. Then I heard some laughter and a shout of "get off the road you pr*ck" and they sped off to the red light at the top of the hill.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Well folks, believe it or not, some people do do this on purpose. I understand your doubt... That cyclists tend to play the victim and overreact etc etc...

But today I was passing the airport and one of those enterprise van drivers came up along side me, sprayed me several times, and then took off.

When I chased him to his location and asked him why, he said because I was cycling on the bus lane instead of the cycle lane.

I have this all on camera but can't post it here, but it's proof he did it intentionally.

I didn't get mad, not even upset. The man driving that van is just frustrated with cyclists who are not using the cycle lane and has decided to start spraying them with windscreen washer. Yes, I could taste the chemicals. No, he didn't show any remorse for his actions.

To the people who find this behaviour hard to believe, I say try cycling in Dublin a little more often. Pigeons get more respect.

And finally, I would like to add, that if you know the stretch of road I'm talking about that passes the airport southbound, you know very well why I was not using the 'cycle lane'.

Pompous out.

Use it in an email to his superiors.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,458 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

This happened me some years back, way before helmetcams were a thing unfortunately. Four young lads in mammy's car came past, adjusted their position, sprayed me, roared laughing and took off. With my local knowledge, I headed round the corner, caught them trying to exit onto the main road, dropped the bike on the road in front of them, went round to the driver's window and we had a little exchange something like this, just without the choking;
    https://youtu.be/SO5r53i97eE?t=26s

They were fairly terrified, and 'we were only joking' was the best they could come up with. I think I may have reported them to the coppers, but I can't recall if it went anywhere.

I had a taxi man who gave me a mouthful of soapy water in traffic recently - not deliberate or directed at all, just careless timing. He was slightly incredulous at my suggestion that it would be a good idea to check his wing mirror before spraying the windscreen next time.
    Well folks, believe it or not, some people do do this on purpose. I understand your doubt... That cyclists tend to play the victim and overreact etc etc...

But today I was passing the airport and one of those enterprise van drivers came up along side me, sprayed me several times, and then took off.

When I chased him to his location and asked him why, he said because I was cycling on the bus lane instead of the cycle lane.

I have this all on camera but can't post it here, but it's proof he did it intentionally.

I didn't get mad, not even upset. The man driving that van is just frustrated with cyclists who are not using the cycle lane and has decided to start spraying them with windscreen washer. Yes, I could taste the chemicals. No, he didn't show any remorse for his actions.

To the people who find this behaviour hard to believe, I say try cycling in Dublin a little more often. Pigeons get more respect.

And finally, I would like to add, that if you know the stretch of road I'm talking about that passes the airport southbound, you know very well why I was not using the 'cycle lane'.

Pompous out.
    That's outrageous. If you have decent footage, and particularly if he admitted it was deliberate, you should take the footage to the Gardai by reporting it to the TrafficWatch phone line. At a minimum, you should report it to Enterprise, so they can take action with their customer or employee, whichever it is.
    Ken Tucky wrote: »
    Anyhow, I'm a driver and I can't understand why cyclists use roads around Dublin.
    For me, I usually use roads to get to and from work.

So you're thinking of being a bully, is that it? I'm thinking of landing a nice gozzy of phlegm on the windscreen of those drivers in heavy urban traffic who don't move out of my way, because I assume that my journey is more important than them. You'd concur with this approach, yeah?

For the record, no, I don't spit on windscreens and I'm not thinking about spitting on windscreens.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,121 ✭✭✭daragh_

Nah sorry mate the MTB is just too good in Ireland.

You should share your opinions with with some of the regulars up at Ballinastoe and Ticknock. None of them ever ride to the trails so I’m sure they will all think you are gas.

Or you might find yourself pushed in a ditch.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Why can't you post it here?

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Pompous

Why can't you post it here?

Ask the mods.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭lardzeppelin

Rain must be a problem then... Perhaps it's time to invent the all enclosed bicycle... (like them funny BMW scooter jobbies)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,458 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Rain must be a problem then... Perhaps it's time to invent the all enclosed bicycle... (like them funny BMW scooter jobbies)
    Closer to golden shower than rain.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Moflojo

I've definitely experienced this and believe it was intentional. I was cycling through Fairview in the bus lane, heading towards the city centre.

A taxi driver overtook me with about six inches to spare and sprayed his washer in my face as he passed.

The reason I believe it was intentional is that:
    A) As someone who spends most of his adult life sat in his precious car, I reckon the taximan knew exactly where his washer was directed.
    B) The incident took place at night, in dry weather, so there's no real explanation for a sudden use of the windscreen washers.
    C) Bus and taxi drivers are particularly precious about the Fairview bus lane. For whatever reason they see it as an affront to have to move out into one of the other two(!) traffic lanes to overtake cyclists there.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,307 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Pompous out.

if true rather than giving out on here, you say you have evidence send it to his employers i suspect any company would like to know if there drivers were behaving like this. i guess he wouldnt be driving up and dwn there much longer

• Registered Users Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Ask the mods.

Nah sure I'm asking you that made the statement.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,522 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Main thing to remember is that if you are getting a windscreen washer shower, is to keep your mouth closed as that windscreen fluid is soapy!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Main thing to remember is that if you are getting a windscreen washer shower, is to keep your mouth closed as that windscreen fluid is soapy!!

Actually it could be a lot worse than soapy.

Legionnaire's Disease is no joke.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,491 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Ask the mods.

You can post it here, video evidence is not defamation. On the other hand posting the claim without proof could be seen as such.

CramCycle wrote: »
    You can post it here, video evidence is not defamation.

Defamation is not the only reason a video may be taken down, nor is it the reason I expect it will be. Saying I can post it here without even screening it? Sounds to me like you just want to satisfy your own curiosity before removing it.
    On the other hand posting the claim without proof could be seen as such.

There is nothing defamatory about this thread. If you disagree, then take action.

I have no interest in posting the video. You've seen how the "community" (mods included) has reacted to my initial post. I don't know why I'm still bothering to post replies at all.

My apologies to most of the people on the cycling forum, I have found this to be one of the few sections of boards that has not devolved into a cesspool. I guess the title of this thread attracted quite a few people from elsewhere.

I imagine I have rustled enough jimmies by now so I'll take my leave before I get banned for incredulity.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,491 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Defamation is not the only reason a video may be taken down, nor is it the reason I expect it will be. Saying I can post it here without even screening it? Sounds to me like you just want to satisfy your own curiosity before removing it.

There is nothing defamatory about this thread. If you disagree, then take action.

I have no interest in posting the video. You've seen how the "community" (mods included) has reacted to my initial post. I don't know why I'm still bothering to post replies at all.

My apologies to most of the people on the cycling forum, I have found this to be one of the few sections of boards that has not devolved into a cesspool. I guess the title of this thread attracted quite a few people from elsewhere.

I imagine I have rustled enough jimmies by now so I'll take my leave before I get banned for incredulity.

Apologies, I was saying so as a mod, so long as you have not edited it there is no reason for me or any other mod to take it down.

One could argue that by not posting the video you are defaming a worker in Enterprise, the only reason that has not been called on is that you haven't given enough info to identify that specific worker.

Personally I don't care whether you put it up or not. I think it adds believe ability to your story. I know what you described happens as I remember a school "friend" doing it to pedestrians for sh1ts and giggles.

I'll take my leave before I get banned

I guess I just can't help myself...
    Apologies, I was saying so as a mod, so long as you have not edited it there is no reason for me or any other mod to take it down.

Again, you can't know that without seeing the contents of the video. Defamation is not the only reason to remove a video.

One could argue that by not posting the video you are defaming a worker in Enterprise

Indeed, one could argue that, but one would be wrong.
    the only reason that has not been called on is that you haven't given enough info to identify that specific worker.

I am very aware of that.
    Personally I don't care whether you put it up or not.

Based on your previous comment I find this hard to believe.
    I think it adds believe ability to your story.

It certainly does, but I think the trolls are the only ones who still need convincing, and I didn't come here to try to prove anything. Just trying to ask a simple question. But, oh, no, not on boards... xD it's never so simple...

Lastly:
    The worker has thus far not been identified. In the event that I posted the video, the worker would now be identified. But since the video is in agreement with my comments, no defamation has taken place.

So everything is grand right? Wrong.

The worker has now been identified and "internet shamed". I don't know if you are familiar with how such incidents have gone in the past, but I imagine you are. Often, the perpetrator suffers greatly undue consequences and unjust suffering.

I will not be a part of this culture and I am surprised to see a mod essentially encouraging a witch-hunt.

I did not come here to seek justice or sympathy or credulity. Nor am I a petty person. I understand that often times, the people who hurt us are the ones who are hurting the most. This is a sad angry man who has been beaten down by life in some way or another and spraying cyclists is one of his outlets. Bringing him undue suffering or shaming will not help anyone. The only thing I want to happen is for his windscreen washer nozzle to be properly aligned, and to stay that way. And maybe for the driver to seek out help or meditation or something...

I know how to deal with this incident and I am already in the process. Unfortunately I can't help him, but I might prevent this from happening again.